4,637 posts

edwin, it's normal
General_Nic
post Aug 27 2009, 04:51 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Aug 27 2009, 12:32 PM)
Hi All, i have a question.

I just realized that on my d5000, the AF assist light will not light up when the focuspoint is not at the center position. is that normal?
And when i attached my sb600 to the camera, the AF assist light on the speedlight will not light up when the focuspoint is not at the 4 positions that not on the center horizontal and vertical line. is that normal?

Do other D5000 user faced the same issue or is that normal?

usually the body AF assist light lights up only when its dark

but SB600 AF assist light will not light up i dunno
cos my SB900 AF assist light always lights up
alpha_company
post Aug 27 2009, 09:54 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 27 2009, 04:51 PM)
usually the body AF assist light lights up only when its dark

but SB600 AF assist light will not light up i dunno
cos my SB900 AF assist light always lights up
what he is asking is when the focus points are at different places ie the middle..the sides etc.. the built in af assist light and the sb600 af light will only turn on at certain points..

test it yourself and you would understand.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Aug 27 2009, 10:02 PM
General_Nic
post Aug 27 2009, 11:17 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 27 2009, 09:54 PM)
what he is asking is when the focus points are at different places ie the middle..the sides etc.. the built in af assist light and the sb600 af light will only turn on at certain points..

test it yourself and you would understand.
i know wat he is asking, but i dunno y it happens
i oni say wat i know, that is the body AF assist lights normally is for low light condition(as stated in manual)
this may not answer his question but its jz my comment/opinion
n i nvr use SB600, so i dunno how its AF light works
but my SB900 AF light always lights up
alpha_company
post Aug 27 2009, 11:34 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

how about the built in af assist light? does your light up when u select the side focus point and not the middle one?
General_Nic
post Aug 28 2009, 12:25 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 27 2009, 11:34 PM)
how about the built in af assist light? does your light up when u select the side focus point and not the middle one?
now that u mentioned it, i realized i nvr actually took notice when the build in AF light got light up or not sweat.gif
i will try test maybe 2moro, now too lazy take out camera tongue.gif
mindkiller6610
post Aug 28 2009, 02:42 AM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

long time didnt snap photos.. hopefully my skills are not rusty sweat.gif

General_Nic
post Aug 28 2009, 02:52 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Aug 28 2009, 02:42 AM)
long time didnt snap photos.. hopefully my skills are not rusty sweat.gif

wow, cun man your pic~
more than good enaf for advertisement d thumbup.gif
raptorclans
post Aug 28 2009, 08:43 AM

333 posts

Darn... the defect with the D5000 happened to my camera... just as I was covering my event. Fully charged battery, worked normally before dinner, after that suddenly as if there's no power whatsoever... Thankfully our official photographer decided to come, then he jokingly teased my cam, "that's why, use Nikon~!" (he;s a professional using a Canon 1D Mk II) =.="
illegaldragon87
post Aug 28 2009, 09:05 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Aug 28 2009, 08:43 AM)
Darn... the defect with the D5000 happened to my camera... just as I was covering my event. Fully charged battery, worked normally before dinner, after that suddenly as if there's no power whatsoever... Thankfully our official photographer decided to come, then he jokingly teased my cam, "that's why, use Nikon~!" (he;s a professional using a Canon 1D Mk II) =.="
haven bring ur cam for services??
wbk
post Aug 28 2009, 09:21 AM

17 posts

Really worried my new D5000 suddenly dead as well. Crossing fingers.
project-o
post Aug 28 2009, 09:52 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Just to note...the SB-900 has a different and much better AF illuminator than the SB-600 and responds to the focus point selected. The SB-600 will work on all points where the lens is set between 28-85mm.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 27 2009, 11:17 PM)
i know wat he is asking, but i dunno y it happens
i oni say wat i know, that is the body AF assist lights normally is for low light condition(as stated in manual)
this may not answer his question but its jz my comment/opinion
n i nvr use SB600, so i dunno how its AF light works
but my SB900 AF light always lights up
raptorclans
post Aug 28 2009, 10:19 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:05 AM)
haven bring ur cam for services??
haven't... going to try send today... the prob is I dun have the 1-2hours to spend waiting...
and I need the cam for this weekend T_T
TSkimurastanley
post Aug 28 2009, 10:21 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

hope the new D3000 and D300s will not have this problem
paparock
post Aug 28 2009, 11:08 AM

28 posts

Hi..d5k user reporting in.... rclxms.gif

mine is 1 of d faulty batch,n just got back my cam yesterday after it suddenly 'kaput' during 1 event in putrajaya...

izit true that they take only 2 hours to repair?bcos in my case, they take about 3 weeks !! mad.gif
i've called them every week to check my camera status, but they said not yet,still got long Q..n hav to wait for my turn...

waloa...either bad service or too many d5k sent to repair...

p/s; can sum1 add me to d users list? whistling.gif whistling.gif
illegaldragon87
post Aug 28 2009, 11:24 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Aug 28 2009, 10:19 AM)
haven't... going to try send today... the prob is I dun have the 1-2hours to spend waiting...
and I need the cam for this weekend T_T
i dun think u can possibly get it today... mayb afte national day... since today must be a lot of them taking leave...
mindkiller6610
post Aug 28 2009, 11:28 AM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 28 2009, 02:52 AM)
wow, cun man your pic~
more than good enaf for advertisement d  thumbup.gif
thanks for thumbs smile.gif

btw, D5000 got defective batch ?? hmm.. gotta warn my friend since he interested to get a D5000.

btw, all nikon entry level DSLR are great thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Aug 28 2009, 11:28 AM
alpha_company
post Aug 28 2009, 12:42 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Hehe..i already mentioned this a couple of times...better send in your camera now rather then it dying when u need it most. tongue.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(project-o @ Aug 28 2009, 09:52 AM)
Just to note...the SB-900 has a different and much better AF illuminator than the SB-600 and responds to the focus point selected. The SB-600 will work on all points where the lens is set between 28-85mm.
i havent tried this but i think the Sb600 could work on focus points below 28mm when you open up the built in wide angle diffuser.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Aug 28 2009, 12:44 PM
raptorclans
post Aug 28 2009, 02:47 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Aug 28 2009, 12:42 PM)
Hehe..i already mentioned this a couple of times...better send in your camera now rather then it dying when u need it most.  tongue.gif
Yeah I've been wanting to, but the nature of my job means I need it on an almost daily basis... anyways sent liao... summore had to fill up form, take temperature and wash hands in weird substance... sweat.gif
alpha_company
post Aug 28 2009, 02:57 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

yeah.. i understand.. some people need their cameras almost everyday..i do too biggrin.gif

so when will it be ready?

126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:43 AM