6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

illegaldragon87
post May 14 2009, 02:00 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 14 2009, 01:43 AM)
Add me to the D40 list~
D40's kit lens not VR! Handheld with slow shutter speed still a problem for me.

BTW im using nissin di622 flash, so far so good, but when I hang my D40+di622 on my neck the camera becomes unbalanced... the whole camera points downwards... Too heavy...

I wanna ask something. If shooting macro in somewhere indoor and insufficient lighting, the Di622 cannot illuminate the subject completely! The flash is too far away frm the lens, so only the upper part of the object is illuminated. I use bounce card lagi teruk. If i use wireless, I need someone to hold the flash for me T_T

Anyone can teach me some tips?
thr is a flash stand tat comes wit Nissin Di622...
illegaldragon87
post May 14 2009, 02:46 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ May 14 2009, 02:12 AM)
yup buy a flash stand or just make your own.

but here's the problem:

1. Nissin 622 is the only current 3rd party flash that CANNOT work with phottix PT-04II in wireless flash mode.

2. Nissin 622 can work in manual mode and would fire WIRELESSLY ONLY IF u use the built in flash. Point the nissin in the same direction and make sure that the nissin can detect the built in flash fire. THE problem with this method is the picture will almost certainly be overexposed because both the built in flash and nissin firing at the same time.

Other flashes like cybertik and falcon eyes can be used with phottix PT04II and dont need to fire the built in flash for the cybertik/falcon eyes to fire.
no need to buy... it comes with the flashgun... n not necessary tat u need to point in the same direction de... u can point the flashgun upwards so it wont make it overexposed....
illegaldragon87
post May 29 2009, 04:09 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 29 2009, 04:05 PM)
of course the SB-600...last unit available...i just grab first hehe...
9/10 ppl i ask all recommend get the flash first... takkan still dowan to listen?
tongue.gif
wise move... laugh.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 17 2009, 12:10 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

i am an ex-D40 user... if thr is anyone that is new to DSLR and wanted to get serious wit it, den i would suggest to get at least a DSLR with internal motor... there are few reasons why i said so....

1) we can use almost all of the lenses no matter itz with or without motor
2) u will save a lot in the future ( getting lenses with built in motor so that it is compatible wit a non-motor DSLR body is more expensive than those lenses without built in motor
3) using non-motor lenses on a non-motor DSLR is simple... but itz not as easy as u think... the method is sounds simple but applying it is totally different story....

above jus some of my humble opinions through my experience.... if u found tat my opinion is not useful, please ignore it... icon_rolleyes.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 17 2009, 02:20 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jun 17 2009, 12:57 PM)
Yeah. The D90 is nice, but the D5000 also uses the same sensor as the D90/D300  rclxm9.gif . Not having internal motor isn't such a big deal. If you're new and you don't have old Nikkors, then note that out of 14 DX lenses produced by Nikon, 13 are AI-S. Only the Fisheye dun have motor in the lens. You can still slap it on but have to manual focus la.

Next question is, how many lens you wanna buy?  shocking.gif

Finally ... manual focus is not such a bad thing. It slows you down, and as a result, you probably end up with a better composed photo.  thumbup.gif

List of DX lens
ok... let me use a simple example...

compare

1) AF NIKKOR 50MM F1.4D vs AF-S NIKKOR 50MM F1.4G and

2) Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G Zoom Telephoto AF vs Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G Nikkor AF-S VR

as u can see, the price difference between the AF and AF-S is quite huge... ya, i kno the difference for (2) aso becoz Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G Nikkor AF-S VR is with VR... but, for me, i think rm1.5++ difference is HUGE...

if i m using any DSLR wit internal motor and planning to buy this 2 lenses, i can save more than RM2k.... tatz the reason i said "u will save a lot in the future"

and ya, i agree tat MF is a good practice... but sometimes MF will jus make u miss some good shot tat only appear at certain time...

p/s: i m not saying D40/D40x/D60/D5000 is not good... but in fact, itz GREAT... i love the color produced by my ex-D40 more than my D80.... but i think it is lack of something without the internal motor

p/s : above jus some of my humble opinions through my experience.... feel free to correct me if i m wrong...
illegaldragon87
post Jun 18 2009, 09:28 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(Kent Goh @ Jun 18 2009, 12:43 AM)
i m totally new in photo line, i just like to snap picture.
currently using canon ixus 850IS. it serve me well, but i wan better shot.
so my frd recommend me to get D60. good enough for entry level.
so i doing some homework now and learn more about DSLR here.

If i prefer portrait, which should i choose?
most like to snap my gf picture and view.
let us kno ur budget 1st... smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 18 2009, 03:42 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Jun 18 2009, 03:33 PM)
i think i'm not going to buy any additional lens because my budget is only 2k,just enough to buy the kit....so there's no need to worry about the internal motor? smile.gif
lol... i had the same thought as u when i wanna buy my 1st DSLR... but seems lik the poison in LYN is too strong... in the end, u will automatically buy more lenses from time to time.. tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 18 2009, 06:06 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(Kent Goh @ Jun 18 2009, 05:53 PM)
illegaldragon87
Rm2-Rm2.5k

project-o

how much for the lens?

kevyeoh
i try my frd D60 before, i think i focus to the dolphin right? really duno how to use. lol

AlphaBeta
i wish it too. lol

mixologist84
Have a lot thing wanna ask you during gathering d. teach me more. 2.7k still affordable.
if u would ask for my opinion, i would suggest to u to get a 2nd hand D40.... den play wit it 1st... if u feel lik photography is interesting to u, den try to hunt for new D80 (altho ppl said hard to find, but i still manage to get it at reasonable price) or any used DSLR wit internal motor....
illegaldragon87
post Jun 19 2009, 07:39 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 19 2009, 06:55 PM)
Sorry for the long wait
dug out my old Olympus PnS cam to take this pic  tongue.gif
stupid old cam keep focusing the background instead of my D5000  doh.gif
n took so long cos darn Olympus xD card read & transfer speed is so slow!  mad.gif

y wan c D5000 + SB900?
wan compare to D40/D40X/D60+SB900 size?  tongue.gif
same here, the flash look too big on my D5000...
wow... the size is almost lik my Nissin i622
illegaldragon87
post Jun 19 2009, 10:56 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Jun 19 2009, 09:45 PM)
Hi guys.. I have a Nikon D60.. I would like my name to be added to the list of D60 owners please biggrin.gif

Does anyone know where to buy lens hood..? The one I use for my 18-200 VR is broken already >.<

Also, can anyone recommend which 3rd-party flash gun would be better, a Nissin Di622 or a Falcon Eyes DPT-386 AFZ..?
i havent use falcon eyes be4, but i owned a Nissin i622... i lik the outcome tat it produced... for me, i think itz a good flash... the oni prob for me is itz too bulky... sad.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 19 2009, 11:29 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jun 19 2009, 11:02 PM)
im not that old(dun wan to admit old  tongue.gif )
im only a year older than u, i'll be 19 in July  brows.gif
too bulky?
to some of us the bulkier the better...  brows.gif
then y dun u get the smaller Nissin? Di422 rite?
for Di422, u can twist the head of the flash.... so, i cant point the flash upwards when i m shooting vertically... tat why i chose Di622... blush.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jun 19 2009, 11:03 PM)
Your AF assist light is it accurate? i mean is it on the focal point when shooting in extremely dark condition?
Mine is slightly above the focal point, very annoying >.<
Yeah sometimes ppl think your are more pro when u have bulky gears doh.gif
Last time when i went pc fair and shot chicks with my n73 they dont care about me, then in april 09 pc fair I shot with my d40 + di622 they posed for me lol...
*grammer mistakes corrected
i tried to switched off light n snap be4, but seems lik it doesnt really have any prob... so, i think i din face tat prob as most user experienced *touchwood*

illegaldragon87
post Jun 19 2009, 11:37 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Jun 19 2009, 11:33 PM)
Wondering if I should get the Di622 or SB-600...
if u got enough budget, go for SB600 without regret...
illegaldragon87
post Jun 22 2009, 08:48 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Jun 22 2009, 07:21 AM)
I've done some googling and found out that d60 has 3-focus point and d5000 has 11-focus point..
what actually this 'focus point' do, is it important?
and i currently decided to buy d5000 but my friend said that dslr that come with a video recording features will affect the picture quality...is it true?
focus point is to determine the subject tat u focus... since D60 got 3 focus point, means u can focus ur subject left, middle n right... for 11 focus points means thr r 11 points tat u can choose for ur cam to focus...

for the video thingy, i m not too sure coz i din own a video recording DSLR be4.. smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jun 24 2009, 02:33 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jun 24 2009, 02:23 PM)
Why you sell it? upgrade?
ppl r using D80 now... laugh.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jul 1 2009, 11:34 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Jul 1 2009, 11:20 AM)
I wanna ask izit D5000 is good buy? Compare to D90 / 500D (or 450D)
if u r going to compare D5000 with D90/500D/450D, i think itz totally unfair... thr r actually in different level... D5000 is the entry-level DSLR which falls into the D40/40x/60 category...

i think itz not necessary for u to compare D5000 if u can afford to buy D90/450D/500D... jus buy D90/500D/450D if u got enough budget... smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jul 1 2009, 12:19 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jul 1 2009, 12:10 PM)
Not really...as price range a few hundred RM difference (body to body) between D90 and D5000. D5000 is already a step higher than the D40/60 like the D50 was to the D70. 500D is also in about the same price range of the D5000. It's like.... lower end body + extra lens vs higher end body pricing.
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 1 2009, 12:11 PM)
D5000 is not entry level la doh.gif
Noise control can par with D90. And price also not entry level price.
ok... mayb tatz my misunderstand... thanx for correcting me... but anyway, i still would suggest one to get D90/450D/500D if one can afford... smile.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jul 1 2009, 01:01 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 1 2009, 12:24 PM)
Maybe read this will change your mind tongue.gif
http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/5202

Scott Kelby actually sold off his D300 after he purchase D5000 tongue.gif
lol... kelvin, den u should change ur gear to D5000 so i can experience the noise control in low light condition myself... tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post Jul 1 2009, 01:37 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 1 2009, 01:07 PM)
D700 better tongue.gif
den i wait for it to come lo.. lol... by tat time, dun forget to come to kl.... tongue.gif

but i tot u wanna change to canon 1??
illegaldragon87
post Jul 3 2009, 04:24 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

actually i would say buying prime lens will be good for u.... since u like portrait n bokeh so much... n i think kit lens will be enough for u to go travel...

actually kit lens can perform quite well... try to play around wit it 1st be4 getting any lenses...
illegaldragon87
post Jul 3 2009, 04:40 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 04:31 PM)
actually im facing 2 limitations now wif my kit lens, which oso cause the headache im having now
1)kit lens aperture not high enaf for bokeh shots
2)most significant, zoom not enaf! really hate cant zoom in on subjects when i went HK recently >.<
i guess u really need to see wat is the thing tat u enjoy to shoot?? landscape?? macro?? portrait??

for me, i love food... i like to shoot any food tat is nice n share wit other ppl... tatz the reason i get a prime lens... afterall, itz still depends on wat u really wan... smile.gif

p/s: my frenz jus went to aus wit D40 + kit lens only... n all the pic tat she took look nice to me...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0541sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:26 PM