4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

raptorclans
post Jun 11 2009, 08:49 PM

333 posts

Wow... integrated liao... me still classified as "future owner" as I'm still saving up... torn between the D5000 and the D90. My budget leans more towards the D5000, and I love it's rotating screen cos I like taking odd angles... only sad part is the lack of battery grip and pentaprism, which I wonder how much diff wud it make. I did stumble upon a shop which claims to have 3rd party batt pack for the D5000 tho...
raptorclans
post Jun 12 2009, 05:48 AM

333 posts

wow... wish we could know the prob... sounds scary...
raptorclans
post Jun 13 2009, 01:11 AM

333 posts

wah... so rich ar the ppl there?
raptorclans
post Jun 16 2009, 08:10 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(rickylaw86 @ Jun 15 2009, 08:14 PM)
is it just me or i don't see any driver in the car?  blink.gif
lol it's an autobot!

btw, nice shots kimura... very sharp rclxms.gif
raptorclans
post Jun 25 2009, 06:02 PM

333 posts

Me surveying around still... if all goes well I hope to have my transition from film to digital slr next month... biggrin.gif

Any places with good prices you guys recommend ar?
I can go have a look smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 1 2009, 03:48 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 1 2009, 12:24 PM)
Maybe read this will change your mind tongue.gif
http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2009/archives/5202

Scott Kelby actually sold off his D300 after he purchase D5000 tongue.gif
dat's cool man... makes me more confident of getting it... me still surveying around for balance of price and after-sales service. any recommendations?
raptorclans
post Jul 20 2009, 03:44 PM

333 posts

Guys I finally made the big leap...

Still experimenting with the settings, shots, etc... love it so far smile.gif

Btw I wanna ask other owners, when you click halfway, it should focus lock with a beep right? But mine snaps a photo the moment it gets a lock and beep. I thought one should press all the way down to snap. But no matter how softly I press, it still focus locks then snaps. Not really a problem, just a lil annoyance. I didn't face this prob with my film SLR... Any idea guys? blink.gif

I'm planning to go back to the shop after work to ask the fella... unsure.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 20 2009, 04:41 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 20 2009, 04:17 PM)
of coz it can half press to focus first...

the beep u can set in the settings...
d5000 body only ka or kit?
no no... i meant I press half but it focus and snap right away... sad.gif
I didn't even fully press...

I bought body smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 20 2009, 05:01 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 20 2009, 04:58 PM)
since u bougth body only, i assume u using your old lenses?
using non AF-S lenses or using manual focus maybe is resulting in wat is happenning to u
cos when dun have/not using auto focus, the cam will usually snap right away i think
mine's an 18-105mm VR... it's AF-S if not mistaken... worrying la guys... unsure.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 20 2009, 05:40 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 20 2009, 05:08 PM)
jz to b sure, ppl can make careless mistakes sometimes
jz check wont hurt, is your lens set to AF mode or MF mode?
not thinking u noob here, but there's a possibility u forgot...  icon_rolleyes.gif

if it is in AF mode, then i dunno wat else can cause the problem
better send for checkup...
no worries bro, i appreciate any help i'm getting... altho I'm pretty new to having lens with built-in autofocus...
btw, checked, it is in AF mode. i tried manual focus and it snaps when half-pressed too.

going to the shop soon... wish me lots of luck smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 21 2009, 07:35 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 21 2009, 01:35 AM)
better send back to shop to check the prob la...it shouldnt do that
Ok, update... I went back to the shop, he tested, shot a lot of photos, and every time half press, the camera shot a pic. At first he said the camera is sensitive, new cameras faster to take photos la... etc. Then he took out the demo D5000 unit then he realise the prob. The demo unit could half-press, focus, press down only shoot. So he went and snap-snap and change settings, etc until finally came to the conclusion dat my cam something wrong. He said bring back the warranty and he'll change the body 4me... So I'm going again today... unsure.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 21 2009, 09:41 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 21 2009, 09:28 AM)
he change the body for you? sounds fishy..

1. If he sends it for warranty to NIKON then the BODY serial number MUST be the same as before..

2. If he really replaces it with a new D5000, REMEMBER TO CHECK the image number... he could easily swap it and changed it to the demo/used unit without u knowing. If he formats your card then the image number will be zero again..

3. SO to be absolutely sure, after u get your camera..go back home, check the shutter count..if the shutter count is much higher than the number of pictures you tested/took at the shop, then it could be a used/demo set.
e.g. PIC TAKEN: around 30 shots , REAL SHUTTER COUNT: 120 shots

Check the shutter count using this program : Opanda IExif
http://www.opanda.com/en/iexif/download.htm

4. IF he really change the body to a new one:
- Make sure serial number on card same as on body.
- The shutter count must be zero bacause it's new and because this is body only..no lens attached..
- Make sure the body has no scratches at all even slight ones..
- Make sure the neck strap is not attached when the box is opened, because it will be separate if new (when i bought D60 & D90 like that)
Thanks for all the good advice bro... I will keep note... lots of this is pretty new to me smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 21 2009, 01:18 PM

333 posts

Oh, almost forgot... can someone add me to the D5000 owners list? smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 22 2009, 07:40 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 22 2009, 12:54 AM)
so how did your case go?
touch wood, so far so good... replacement body, new unit... warranty replaced with the one from the new unit.
can focus lock half-pressed, snaps normally, etc... smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 27 2009, 07:38 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Jul 25 2009, 09:12 PM)
hi~
newcomer here...just got my d5000 yesterday ^^
hope can learn more here biggrin.gif
woot... another d5000 owner! hi-5~ biggrin.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 27 2009, 04:28 PM

333 posts

^ yeah i got myself the 18-105 cos it gives some flexibility smile.gif
raptorclans
post Jul 30 2009, 01:26 PM

333 posts

wah... the D3000 darn easy to use... lol
raptorclans
post Jul 31 2009, 09:50 AM

333 posts

is i better to get the 35mm f1.8 or wait for the f1.4 one?
a part of me wants the 50mm instead T_T
raptorclans
post Jul 31 2009, 01:35 PM

333 posts

dunno la... thot of going to test off my D5000, but family concerned bout A(H1N1) ler... crowded summore T_T
raptorclans
post Aug 3 2009, 09:05 AM

333 posts

wow the time-lapse thingy is so cool... how didya do that? (nvr done be4 hehe)

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:01 PM