Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

htkaki
post Jan 18 2011, 10:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jan 18 2011, 09:41 AM)
htkaki, one thing for sure when you bring in these Triangle speakers is they seem to lure more audiophiles than AV kaki  biggrin.gif .

It will be my best interest to see a Naim combo to drive up these speakers, especially the entry level one.

My Naim Int amp/cdp have been running in couple of days, and the sound is getting warmer and more opener each day! I slowly get to feel Naim's true characteristic as it communicates music as lively as possible as a whole. It is just like a group of band performing live in front of you. Every instruments have pace and space in between. When I first spin the cdp, I thought the cd is spinning faster than my previous NAD! There is a sense of high & low sound wave (not flat) which make any cd listening a thrill.

I know ProAc pair well with them but wont hesitate to open door to Triangle. We shall see.

WongKN is a fan of ribbon speakers. Our boxy stuff won;t suite him anyway.  tongue.gif
WongKN is a very open-minded audiophiles. He will still audition if time permits smile.gif

He and his many of the audiophile kakis are the BIG boys compare to ours blush.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2011, 10:20 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jan 18 2011, 09:41 AM)
htkaki, one thing for sure when you bring in these Triangle speakers is they seem to lure more audiophiles than AV kaki  biggrin.gif .

It will be my best interest to see a Naim combo to drive up these speakers, especially the entry level one.

My Naim Int amp/cdp have been running in couple of days, and the sound is getting warmer and more opener each day! I slowly get to feel Naim's true characteristic as it communicates music as lively as possible as a whole. It is just like a group of band performing live in front of you. Every instruments have pace and space in between. When I first spin the cdp, I thought the cd is spinning faster than my previous NAD! There is a sense of high & low sound wave (not flat) which make any cd listening a thrill.

I know ProAc pair well with them but wont hesitate to open door to Triangle. We shall see.

WongKN is a fan of ribbon speakers. Our boxy stuff won;t suite him anyway.  tongue.gif
The last time I heard a Naim many years ago, it has great rhythm and pace and make you want to get up and dance. But soundstage is 2 dimensional, no depth at all so no 3-D soundstage. So how's Naim nowadays?
mikapoh
post Jan 18 2011, 10:59 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:20 AM)
The last time I heard a Naim many years ago, it has great rhythm and pace and make you want to get up and dance. But soundstage is 2 dimensional, no depth at all so no 3-D soundstage. So how's Naim nowadays?
Well, nowadays Naim is more commercial and offering rca connection option in order for more compatible with other brands, unlike older models.

They say Naim is well known for its timing and rhythmic performance. Yes, I can feel it and enjoy the music piece as a whole while maintaining the sonic performance. For soundstaging it has depth too but I still believe others may fare much better in 3D feel like. It just presents music as closely to a live band you can imagine. My previous Cyrus amp is more masterful when comes to deep soundstage. Guess there is always a character for each hifi brand to present their kind of music. Like they say, either you love the naim sound or you dislike it.

Htkaki also mentioned there is no right or wrong in hifi world. It depends on your taste. The best is to bring them home to audition first. Fortunately Sound Fusion is kind enuf to grant me the test. Well, leave this for HT pic and we can move to audiophile section.

Cheers.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 18 2011, 11:17 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jan 18 2011, 10:59 AM)

They say Naim is well known for its timing and rhythmic performance. Yes, I can feel it and enjoy the music piece as a whole while maintaining the sonic performance. For soundstaging it has depth too but I still believe others may fare much better in 3D feel like. It just presents music as closely to a live band you can imagine. My previous Cyrus amp is more masterful when comes to deep soundstage. Guess there is always a character for each hifi brand to present their kind of music. Like they say, either you love the naim sound or you dislike it.

Ya, can't have everything. For me for HT, soundstage is not so important but for music I wanted wide & DEEP soundstage and panel speaker can be very very good at that.

nyquil
post Jan 19 2011, 09:43 AM

39 posts

Thank you all for the comments. I believe there are still room for improvements and i will need to learn more from all of you. Either sitting behind the screen watching how all the exchange of info happening in the forums or visiting 'poison' rooms drool.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 15 2011, 11:12 PM)
Doc, your HM gave you the green light to build a dedicated HT room. What are you waiting for (apart from the funding)?
Tq smile.gif Btw, your 'acoustic items' are with me. Got it today  smile.gif
Thanks! smile.gif Can i get it together when the SSS-02 is here?

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 16 2011, 07:36 AM)
Nice nyquil.. 2 thumbs... any pic of you rear and seating arrangement?
Nope, never take a pic of the rear. Will upload it once i snap one. smile.gif
FallenOut
post Jan 23 2011, 08:42 PM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

my new arrangements to my old set tat was posted a few months ago

yonggoh
post Jan 24 2011, 07:32 PM

1,314 posts

well i guess this qualified as Home Theater items right? biggrin.gif

popcorn anyone? hehehe...

dariofoo
post Jan 24 2011, 07:39 PM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jan 24 2011, 07:32 PM)

popcorn anyone?  hehehe...

Your room just keeps getting better and better,bro. icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Jan 24 2011, 11:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

When are you going to get those cinema seats complete with alphabets and numbers laugh.gif

Btw, it is a nice touch with the popcorn machine there thumbup.gif
nyquil
post Jan 24 2011, 11:52 PM

39 posts

Fuuuyoohh thumbup.gif

Have you started the machine yet?!?! Now's that's a REAL popcorn hour you got there in your room!
yonggoh
post Jan 25 2011, 12:30 AM

1,314 posts

hi guys... not yet fired up the thing..in fact...not even decided where i'm gonna put the damn thing yet... *shrugs*

definitely NOT on the floor like as shown in the pic...

need to buy a metal scoop and those cardboard boxes for the authentic cinema feel smile.gif
WereWolf84
post Jan 25 2011, 08:17 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jan 23 2011, 08:42 PM)
my new arrangements to my old set tat was posted a few months ago

I thought it's best to place sub at corner? no? hmm.gif
dariofoo
post Jan 25 2011, 10:12 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jan 25 2011, 12:30 AM)
hi guys... not yet fired up the thing..in fact...not even decided where i'm gonna put the damn thing yet... *shrugs*

definitely NOT on the floor like as shown in the pic...

need to buy a metal scoop and those cardboard boxes for the authentic cinema feel smile.gif
Soon you'll have a ticketing system with numbered seating and, if budget permits, even a part-time usherer to check ticket stubs laugh.gif
paskal
post Jan 25 2011, 10:27 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jan 25 2011, 08:17 AM)
it's best to put the sub where it sounds best.
FallenOut
post Jan 25 2011, 09:14 PM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

if put at corner
it will b very loud
i hav tested it at the corner spot
behind the front speaker spot
bt tis spot is btr
to my ears
jchong
post Jan 25 2011, 09:34 PM

5,989 posts

Corners are best for the most gain since the sub is near 2 boundaries. But it might sound too boomy.
yonggoh
post Jan 26 2011, 03:06 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(nyquil @ Jan 24 2011, 11:52 PM)
Fuuuyoohh  thumbup.gif

Have you started the machine yet?!?! Now's that's a REAL popcorn hour you got there in your room!

ok i fired it up and it works beautifully biggrin.gif

really really fun... but guess what... it REALLY stinks up the place of butter! yawn.gif

Ah yor....
dlyz
post Jan 27 2011, 09:03 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Maybe you can find a spot outside the room. The decorate that hallway with movie posters. So when you go into your AV room got cinema feel. smile.gif
ronaldkwok
post Jan 28 2011, 11:32 AM

656 posts

I think this will also qualify as part of my HT setup.
For my 60th birthday, the wifey bought for me an exclusive permanent Gold Class seat (admit one only) for my BD viewing pleasure; how sweet of her! rclxms.gif
See, it is even diamond studded that looks like plastic!
This is a far cry from my previous 3rd class seat that I bought for myself, sigh. Just leave it to the ladies to do the shopping.
You are free to copy the photo (the first one or the second one, depending on your wish) to show to your wife or gf as suggetion for Valentine Day's gift. rclxm9.gif
Good luck.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 28 2011, 02:08 PM
geforce1999
post Jan 28 2011, 05:25 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jan 28 2011, 11:32 AM)
I think this will also qualify as part of my HT setup.

For my 60th birthday, the wifey bought for me an exclusive permanent Gold Class seat (admit one only) for my BD viewing pleasure; how sweet of her!  rclxms.gif
See, it is even diamond studded that looks like plastic! 
This is a far cry from my previous 3rd class seat that I bought for myself, sigh. Just leave it to the ladies to do the shopping.

You are free to copy the photo (the first one or the second one, depending on your wish) to show to your wife or gf as suggetion for Valentine Day's gift.  rclxm9.gif 
Good luck.
Boss, your room so narrow one meh? blink.gif In case you need to access those items at the back, how do you bypass the chair and cross over? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Jan 28 2011, 05:26 PM

193 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:12 AM