Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

htkaki
post Apr 17 2009, 10:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

My setup blush.gif

TV - Panasonic 43" RPTV (Living Hall)
HD projector - Optoma HD65 720p DLP projector (HT room)
screen : Draper Luma HDTV format 92" hi-contrast grey
DVD Player - Pioneer DV-400V-S, DV-676-S and GIEC HVD DVDP which can upscale to 1080i / 720p via component cable.
DVD/HDD Player - Liteon 160GB
Blu-ray Player - Panasonic DMP-BD60
Media Streamer - Dvico TViX 6500
AV Receiver - Yamaha RX-V1800
Front Speakers - Klipsch KG4.2 (Made in U.S)
Center Speaker - AAD C-305 (Made in U.S)
Surround L/R Speakers - KEF Coda 8 (Made in U.K)
Surround Rear Speaker - B&W DM600 (Made in U.K)
Subwoofer - SVS PC-12Plus, half dead Prime 12" sub (Velodyne CHT-12R sold to megatron007)
Digital Interconnects - QED Qunex SR75 Digital Coaxial Cable, Audioquest HDMI-A cable, Panasonic HDMI cables, Giraffe HDMI cable and a few generic HDMI cables.
Analog Interconnects - Wireworld Oasis II, MITerminator, Monster Cable, and Audioquest
Speaker Cables - CableTalk 3.1, Wireworld Horizon 5 Flat wire
Subwoofer Cable - QED Qunex Silver Reference SR-SW
Power cord - KimberKable PowerKord with Wattgates IEC and plug, 2 x Supra Lorad with MK plug, and Volex.
Mains : Tacima mains conditioner
Tuning/Calibration - RadioShack Analog SPL Meter, THX Calibration disc.

Next upgrade / wish list : Klipsch RF-82 speakers system and JVC RS10 Full HD projector. Probably add a Rotel multi-channel power amplifier.

Here's the photos (a bit paiseh to show. So, put spoiler) blush.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 11 2009, 05:33 PM
htkaki
post Sep 21 2009, 10:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Updated setup :

Display : Optoma HD65
AV receiver : Denon AVR-4310
Speakers : Klipsch KG4.2, SV Sound MCS-01, SV Sound MBS-01, KEF Coda 8
Subwoofers : SV Sound PB13-Ultra, SV Sound PC12-Plus (not for long)
Source : Panasonic DMP-BD60, Pioneer DV-676A and Dvico TViX 6500
Cables : Naim Audio cable, Kimber Kable, and Cable Talk 3.1
Power cords : Kimber Kable
Interconnects : MIT, QED, Wireworld, Audioquest, & Monster Cable

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 21 2009, 10:57 PM
htkaki
post Sep 21 2009, 11:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

That's the point. I knew. Coz' many did ask about hooking up a 7.2, which I think will simply overpower my room.

All speakers are being set to small. The front is being cut off at 60Hz, center at 80Hz and the surr at 100Hz. I am not using the PC12-Plus as the PB13-Ultra simply jaw-dropping.

I have yet to do full calibration using Audyysey. Once done, I shall check again the FR with the SPL meter.

htkaki
post Dec 17 2009, 10:43 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh mpyw,

I bet your next upgrade would be display panel

limpe's moderate setup :

Display : Optoma HD65 720p DLP pj
Screen : Draper Luma 92" HDTV manual screen

Equipment :

1. Panasonic DMP-BD60
2. Pioneer DV676-A (SACD & DVD-A)
3. Dvico TViX 6500

4. Denon AVR-4310
5. Emotiva XPA-5
6. SVS AS-EQ1 sub EQ

Loudspeakers :

Front : SVS MTS-01
Center : SVS MCS-01
Surr : SVS MBS-01
Rear surr : SVS SCS-01(M)

Sub : SVS PB13-Ultra

Accessories :

1. Auralex Subdude and Gramma
2. Kimber Kable Classic Power Cord, Supra Lorad power cords
3. HDMI cables : Audioquest, Giraffe, Panasonic, etc
4. RCA : Wireworld, MIT, Monster, Emotiva, Audioquest
5. Digital : QED SR-75
6. Sub cables : SVS, QED SR-SW, customised.
7. Speaker cables : Kimber Kable, Naim Audio, CableTalk, Belden

* still keeping most of the gears in my previous setup as in 1st page.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Dec 17 2009, 11:59 AM
htkaki
post Mar 1 2010, 02:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 1 2010, 12:03 PM)
how much is krp500 now. 13k?
way below that price whistling.gif
htkaki
post Mar 17 2010, 05:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rahavsmt @ Mar 17 2010, 12:22 PM)
The screen is 120" if im not mistaken but the image thrown by the projector is not as big as the screen because the front speakers and the bass trap are in the way. The image i think is maybe somewhere around 90" only right now.

The system was bought when I was in another house and if fitted perfectly. Right now that's the best I can do if I want to do a dedicated room. I can put the system in the living room but then have to use only 42" tv as it will be difficult to control external light for projection and I dont want to disturb other family member everytime terminator, transformer etc is on play. Besides the room is acoustically treated and I guess sounds way better than the living room. I also like the feeling when watching a projection system. There is no way i'd sacrifice the theater like feeling from projection system eventhough my projector is not the best. When I have the fund or the bulb go kaput I will probably upgrade to a 1080p projector.
Impressive acoustic treatment that you have there.

arremie, it does looks like Auralex to me. Is it Lernd at the front wall? hmm.gif

Yes, nothing beats a projector if you have the suitable environment / room for it thumbup.gif As my own setup was being moved to my showroom, I am no longer eligible to post my setup here until I have enough moolah to build a similiar setup again in my home.
htkaki
post Mar 17 2010, 10:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I actually have my old setup with me. Just need to plonk in an avr and a sub. That's it. Then again, I am getting used to the AQ of my current setup now sweat.gif

I am only a small fry. So, it ain't easy for me to have a similiar system sad.gif

Btw, pls drop by again as the current system is more complete than before and the AQ is a lot better than the last time you came. I am still trying to do more improvements in it.
htkaki
post Mar 18 2010, 11:28 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

rahavsmt, how much did LENRD cost you? I am thinking of having it on 4 corners. Tqvm.
htkaki
post Mar 19 2010, 02:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Mar 19 2010, 09:12 AM)
I checked end of last year was RM280 per pc, min 2 pcs.
I got the quote for dst LERND for RM200/pc. Thinking of getting 4pcs.

heavenlySTF, wrong place to post. Try garage sales wink.gif
htkaki
post Mar 19 2010, 04:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 19 2010, 03:56 PM)
4 pieces hardly not enuf bro. that's why i cancel the idea last time. my place need at least 12 pieces sweat.gif
Bro, I have get the carpenter to do 6x wooden frame (T 3"+ x 2' W x 4' H) to house the CSR Rockwool 80kg/m3 as 'bass trap'. Just need to get the cloth to cover it. So, I won't be needing that many. I just want to put LENRD up on the front wall.

I might doing more frames as I intend to sell it too. Will see how it goes.
htkaki
post Mar 19 2010, 09:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 19 2010, 08:19 PM)
Want to arrange for a group buy? Together with studio foam + adhesive.
I might go there tomorrow afternoon after setting up the PC12-NSD for a fellow forum member here. Grab it and heads back to install it.

htkaki
post Mar 19 2010, 10:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 19 2010, 10:00 PM)
Eilek.

Added on March 19, 2010, 10:07 pm
He would have ready stocks?
At one time, I went there. He didn't have ready stocks.
Checked already this evening. Ada.

zerorulez, UGPM. I did not get a single photo from ronaldjoe too sweat.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Mar 19 2010, 10:18 PM
htkaki
post Mar 22 2010, 02:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Mar 22 2010, 12:05 PM)
Max,
You still using the acoustic foams?

Remy,
I'm waiting for your new setup picture too ..
Yes, but I will be using better acoustic panel. DIY 6pcs 3" x 2' x 4' frame to house rockwool 80kg/m3 to reduce standing wave. The existing 4 panels will be use at 1st reflection point and at the back wall.

Next week, I will probably do a thicker frame; 6" to put 4" thick rockwool in it. That is meant for bass trap.

remy's new toys eta tis Sat and hopefully there is no delay sweat.gif

btw, I am now on Audyssey DSX Wide. A whiole new watching experience thumbup.gif Will post the new setup. erm, maybe not here since not 'qualify' sweat.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Mar 22 2010, 02:24 PM
htkaki
post Mar 22 2010, 10:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Using glove to handle it. Waiting for final touches on the 6 panels.

Yes, it will be both corners at the front wall. It would be 2' W X 8' H. The upper corners will be treated with Auralex LENRD. Once it is done up, I shall post the photo.
htkaki
post Mar 28 2010, 09:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Mar 22 2010, 12:05 PM)
Zero,

Where's your new setup with your newly added member?

Max,
You still using the acoustic foams?

Remy,
I'm waiting for your new setup picture too ..
Bro,

Here is the photo with the acoustic foams and panels (big THANK YOU to Mr Tan for lending his hands thumbup.gif ) Auralex LENRD is right up at the front corners.

htkaki
post Mar 29 2010, 04:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Tq, bro. I'll 'darkened' the screen casing when I am free to make everything almost 'invisible' when watching movie.

The surround is on SCS-01(M). It is basically a 7.1 setup with Front Wide. Still doing some tweak on LFE.

Please do come over whenever you are free.

htkaki
post Mar 29 2010, 11:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Ok, no prob. Will post it later.

Here are another 2 shots :

Will take photo of the back of the room.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Mar 30 2010, 09:11 AM
htkaki
post Mar 30 2010, 11:00 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 30 2010, 10:31 PM)
yeah running in both speaker n tube amp at low volume sweat.gif
that speaker is 97db with 1w. only 4 clicks of volume needed from the 12w tube amp n bloody loud already.

yeah me peasant no money can only afford to buy single speaker instead of a pair tongue.gif
Heard a lot abt horn speaker partnering with tube amp. Must be singing nicely to your ears smile.gif

When are you going to take the other speaker? tongue.gif Btw, did you invite our friend over for an audition? Then, he'll poison you back with his newly acquired ATS rack laugh.gif

Btw, the new RF-62 member must be busy unpacking it now along with his RC-62 biggrin.gif

My home theatre/hifi setup finally complete! rclxm9.gif Just got my HTPC last week

I can only envy your setup. Nice and tidy thumbup.gif
htkaki
post Apr 2 2010, 12:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(thy1533 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:02 AM)
almost 50 years old man mana laku lagi and all the organs sell half price,people have to think twice hahaha.i can make my dream come through is on tuesday,wednesday,saturday and sunday.
Pardon my ignorance. Why these 4 days? hmm.gif

htkaki
post Apr 3 2010, 06:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

here are another few photos including rear view :

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled