QUOTE(m_angelo @ May 17 2010, 08:39 PM)
rofl
he's not joking about it.
paskal
post Sep 6 2010, 02:04 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 6 2010, 01:32 AM)
I use logitech dinovo keyboard with built in trackpad.
and i use a USB infrared remote control. can control from the kitchen hehe
paskal
post Dec 4 2010, 07:41 AM

2,801 posts

someone is pissed haha
you guys should have followed all the posts in all the threads to get a glimpse of the situation. logit got that coming.

but i do have to agree, a kampung man could (and would possibly) have more land than a city boy and still live in a hut wooden house and drive around in 15yo broken saga. land is cheap. you could get an acre of land with the price of some subwoofer.

different people with different priorities in life smile.gif
paskal
post Dec 12 2010, 07:37 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Dec 8 2010, 01:27 PM)
hey paskal where r u.. how come didnt reply my pm:P
sorry i was attending a 2 week training. next time call or sms me. if i don't pick up sms me. much faster reply. at least within the day tongue.gif

This post has been edited by paskal: Dec 14 2010, 07:11 PM
paskal
post Dec 22 2010, 09:53 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 22 2010, 08:52 AM)
Why you show setup with wire visible everywhere? later Yonggoh comes in and fail you.

tongue.gif
that's a shop's demo room, not a home HT room
paskal
post Jan 25 2011, 10:27 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Jan 25 2011, 08:17 AM)
I thought it's best to place sub at corner? no? hmm.gif
it's best to put the sub where it sounds best.
paskal
post Mar 3 2011, 10:37 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:20 PM)
ohh speaker per pair 100k if two speaker so be 200k wow so much expensive
thanks infomation htkaki
doh.gif
paskal
post Mar 5 2011, 08:52 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 5 2011, 07:42 PM)
Tuakeh, it has never been in my dream setup. Not even in my wet dream  sweat.gif
I would be very happy if I could own a 200w per channel multi channel amp.
didn't you already bought the XPA5 previously?
paskal
post Mar 6 2011, 05:50 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 5 2011, 09:30 PM)
Yes, he did and sold it off. The XPA-5 isn't exactly as good as what being claimed by many. So, he is aiming something better.
so multichannel power amp is overrated and not exactly an upgrade?
paskal
post Apr 8 2011, 09:53 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Apr 8 2011, 01:36 AM)
Yep. DIY. just need an Allen key the guy said.  whistling.gif  opening was the easy part. Getting the wires off was difficult.  blink.gif

Ever wondered what wire they use in the speakers? brows.gif
open it up and be surprised.
i've opened up the previous monitor 7 and have seen it. the wires are connected to the tweeters by a connector. simple to remove.
paskal
post Apr 9 2011, 12:18 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Apr 8 2011, 03:25 PM)
Connector hard to remove. Maybe I not so DIY.

Also there seems to be a lot of insulation sponge in there. Is that normal?
there's a simple locking pin on the connector. bend the connector a bit while pulling it out. easily done.
there's indeed lots of insulation sponge. normal i guess.

had a good look at the wires connecting the drivers?
paskal
post Sep 7 2011, 08:29 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Sep 6 2011, 01:00 PM)
mostly .mkv

now i running on 15TB of movies, 2TB series, 1TB tv programs, 3TB of *ahem*

so thats exactly 20TB... so better consider 30TB for expansion... but yea...
the price is a definite obstacle...

controlling my 30,000mp3s via ipeng was definitely easy enough tho smile.gif
why not build a htpc and plug all the hdd to it?
i'm running all 28TB on a single htpc with only 2GB of RAM. costs me less than RM1k to build it. the main components i mean. the hdd is another matter.
paskal
post Sep 10 2011, 12:06 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(otnuus @ Sep 7 2011, 08:21 PM)
wow paskal, thats impressive.
How you manage to do that? For 28TB you have easily over 10 HDD to fit in the single HTPC. Casing with that capacity should costs few hundred ringgit already. Another issue is the limited number of on board SATA ports.
Would you mind reveal your setup? Should be interesting.
not as impressive as it sounds. it's quite simple actually. all the hdd are just plugged here and there.
the case costs RM400 if i recall correctly. a silverstone htpc case.

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Sep 8 2011, 09:11 PM)
For <RM1k It could be something like this.. minus the HDDs and external enclosure..

6 x 2TB - On Board SATA Ports
2 x 4Bay External Enclosure (8 x 2TB) USB Connected?  hmm.gif
8 on board sata port, 4 running sata1, 4 running sata2.
a 4 port sata1 pci card (not pci-e) giving me full sata1 speed (50-60 MB/s speed in each drive)
a 2 port sata1 pci card (not pci-e) giving another full sata1 speed same as above.

i don't run external usb for my drives, it's too slow. all the drives are cramped inside a single htpc case, stucked inside a tv cabinet. no loose wire outside the htpc case, no external power supply.
pcie sata card used to be too expensive last year. them pci sata card are bought for under RM100 (the 4 port for RM90, the 2 port for RM30).

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 9 2011, 04:52 PM)
Most modern motherboard come with 8-10 SATA port. Or you can get a PCI-e SATA card to expansion your slot. You need a full tower casing to fit all 10 HDD inside. Still cheaper than a 10 HDD NAS.
you don't need a full tower sitting beside the tv cabinet. silverstone htpc cases could fit inside a tv cabinet and looks just like an avr. some even came with lcd display and remote control.

i've posted a pic (a few actually) in the htpc thread a while back.

Added on September 10, 2011, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(otnuus @ Sep 9 2011, 05:44 PM)
Thanks pierreye, this is exactly what I have been thinking about.
I have come across a PCI-e x4 to 8 SATA expansion card. All 8 SATA port can run at full speed.
Unfortunately my current Mobo only have free PCI-e x1 slot for the expansion. I am getting a PCI-e x 1 to 5 SATA expansion card with JMB636 chip set. Bandwidth will be limited by the PCI-e 1x slot. Will be getting the card by end of the month. Trying to get all the HDD running as independently with JBOD mode. Don't want to mess around with the cheap software RAID that comes with the card.
after testing quite a few sata card, i would say best to avoid jmicron, via and other non-drive controller producer.
silicon image chips is the best. their products used to be a premium, but now lots of china makers are using their chip and slapping a very low price. i've tested 2 (IINM) jmicron card and 3 via card and they suck when you have more than 1 card handling multiple transfers between drives. unlucky and you'll get <8MB/s transfer speed. that's worse than through USB.

This post has been edited by paskal: Sep 10 2011, 12:12 PM
paskal
post Oct 12 2011, 01:30 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 12 2011, 01:26 PM)
Master bedroom air-con 1.5hp every night from 10.30pm -7am
when watch movie, 2hp for 2-3 hours
Freezer, electric water pot, water heater, seldom iron, mostly living room ceiling fan...
yup....RM50 - RM70 per month consistantly for the past few months
that is freakking cheap! consistently RM50-RM70 per month is like living with bare necessity. i take it nobody is at home during work hours?
paskal
post Oct 14 2011, 08:18 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 14 2011, 06:29 PM)
Start with 5.1 first. Later on can add another pair of rear speakers to become 7.1.

You might consider splitting your budget like this:

AVR = 2500 - 3500 (consider Onkyo if priority for movies)
Sub = 3000 - 3500 (e.g. Paradigm 3400, Rythmik F12)
Front + center spk = 4000 - 5000 (depends on your taste)
Surround spk = <1000 (depends on your taste)
the budget proposed by jchong is really good. that should provide you with lots of choices.

i would like to add, take lots and lots visit to friend's setup and audit their setup and know your preference. the setup at shops are usually not calibrated properly and sub par.
and if you could, get an avr that have preout section. usually would cost more than an avr without, but this allows you to add in a poweramp later.
paskal
post Oct 14 2011, 10:31 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 14 2011, 10:20 PM)
with that budget... no money left for a display yawn.gif
he did say specifically for an avr with 5.1 or 7.1 setup with a budget of RM10-RM12k
paskal
post Oct 15 2011, 12:09 AM

2,801 posts

getting an avr with preout section is worthwhile since you could change the sound signature entirely by adding a poweramp.
like when people associate marantz as being too laid back? sure, add an amp with a forward signature and you'll get a great synergy. or yamaha as being too bright, which could be changed by hooking a warm amp to it.

usually it's a couple hundred more comparing an avr with and without preout capability. an avr that costs RM3k-3.5k should usually have them as standard.
paskal
post Nov 16 2011, 12:28 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 15 2011, 06:13 PM)
nod.gif
It's a damn good amp. I like the SQ from the setup very much.  wub.gif
Running full XLR connections would give extra 3 dB yield, save half on amp power!
The extra clarity is priceless.
3db on the amplifier gain, it doesn't change anything on the maximum current drive/power output.
paskal
post Nov 16 2011, 03:05 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 16 2011, 12:51 PM)
Yeah, the maximum current drive/power output is unchanged.

I think only the signal voltage gain is 3dB extra. Do you know what effect this has? Is it beneficial or not?
other than allowing less turn on the volume knob? probably none.
tho signal transmission using balanced xlr allows for higher noise rejection during transmission as any external noise will affect both the hot and cold terminal and this will cancel each other out during summation. the summation process is the reason for the 3db gain.

but the summation process is essentially converting the balanced to unbalanced so you lose the benefit of any balanced amplification after the summation process as everything is operating in the normal, cheaper unbalanced mode.
using balanced xlr wouldn't translate to much improvement if you already have a short interconnect and good shielding.

'true' fully balanced amplifier are hard to come by, and are very very expensive. the amp needs to have double of everything, with symmetric precision in everything, and must be designed to be stable with an impedence of less than 1 ohm. this adds to the cost of such design exponentially. and if you're running true fully balanced there's no 3db gain as there's no signal summation anywhere on the chain.

your current power amp supports bi-amping. and in by bi-amping i mean active bi-amping. why not try that first. bet you'd get more benefit by running active than by running balanced.

Added on November 17, 2011, 7:18 amfor advocates of Class D amp, this would be a great read. and with measured response but of course.
http://www.hificritic.com/downloads/Class-D.pdfhttp://www.hificritic.com/downloads/Class-D.pdf

didn't know that class D had that bad habit of injecting high frequency noise into the electrical line, ground connection and speaker.

This post has been edited by paskal: Nov 17 2011, 07:18 AM
paskal
post Nov 17 2011, 11:52 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Nov 17 2011, 09:50 AM)
very few pre-pro has true balanced xlr.  from what i know, only denon a1hd and primare sp32 are true full balanced design.  all others, like my marantz av7005, onkyo 5507/8/9, anthem d2v (they never answer full balance when u ask them) are not full balanced.

wonder if krell's 1200 and 707 are full balanced or not leh?  arcam av888 (seems only have outputs)?

cheers,
wps
if it's true fully balanced, they will brag about it. as it's very complicated to design and make stable.

the thing is, it's not hard to convert from balanced to unbalanced and vice versa. you just need a single chip to do the job. so most manufacturer just use this to provide balanced xlr connection and say that their amp has balanced output. but in reality, they do all the processing in unbalanced (even tho the DAC outputs balanced signal, as most high end DAC do) to save cost and convert the signal to balanced just before the output jack.

which is perfectly fine if you're not fussy.

0.0508sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:03 AM