|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)
kokocrun
May 27 2009, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(ron4 @ May 27 2009, 10:56 AM) Last saturday i bought new iPhone 3G from MacStudio shop without Maxis contract for any package. I just need to buy a maxis prepaid 3G(hotlink) for value Rm8 only (free 500mb data transfer, if im not mistaken) just to official unlock this iPhone, and can throw away my hotlink prepaid if i dont want and used my existing Celcom. They inform me that this only valid within promotion time. But you have to buy this iPhone full price, not like value plan that Maxis currently offered. full price =? rm2960 as maxis selling now? thank
HellJoker
May 27 2009, 01:47 PM

hi, can someone tell me if I'm buyng a 2nd hand maxis iphone, if I wanna claim warranty, can i just take the receipt of the 1st buyer and claim from maxis? or what else i need?
PeeEl
May 27 2009, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 27 2009, 01:47 PM) hi, can someone tell me if I'm buyng a 2nd hand maxis iphone, if I wanna claim warranty, can i just take the receipt of the 1st buyer and claim from maxis? or what else i need? If I may, this is one of the questions that begs to be asked but no one ever did. However, I remember reading in one of the posts that someone did mention that Maxis requires 'the owner of the plan' to submit the phone for warranty claim. That was the only post on this and I read every posting every day. So, for the sake of those who have bought used Maxis iPhones or plan to, can someone who owns a second hand Maxis unit and has actually gone to them for a warranty claim please offer us your insight? Or can a Maxis rep give us the low-down? It would be appreciated, to say the least.
stringfellow
May 27 2009, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(ron4 @ May 27 2009, 10:56 AM) Last saturday i bought new iPhone 3G from MacStudio shop without Maxis contract for any package. I just need to buy a maxis prepaid 3G(hotlink) for value Rm8 only (free 500mb data transfer, if im not mistaken) just to official unlock this iPhone, and can throw away my hotlink prepaid if i dont want and used my existing Celcom. They inform me that this only valid within promotion time. But you have to buy this iPhone full price, not like value plan that Maxis currently offered. This is OT, but I didn't know the boys at MacStudio are doing that! Certainly not in accordance of their stature as an approved Apple Premium Reseller, probably broke a few rules there too. Unless there is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan that I have not heard of....
nokia2003
May 27 2009, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 27 2009, 09:18 PM) This is OT, but I didn't know the boys at MacStudio are doing that! Certainly not in accordance of their stature as an approved Apple Premium Reseller, probably broke a few rules there too. Unless there is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan that I have not heard of.... yes, they are apparently (according to davidgary73)
davidmak
May 27 2009, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ May 27 2009, 04:20 PM) If I may, this is one of the questions that begs to be asked but no one ever did. However, I remember reading in one of the posts that someone did mention that Maxis requires 'the owner of the plan' to submit the phone for warranty claim. That was the only post on this and I read every posting every day. So, for the sake of those who have bought used Maxis iPhones or plan to, can someone who owns a second hand Maxis unit and has actually gone to them for a warranty claim please offer us your insight? Or can a Maxis rep give us the low-down? It would be appreciated, to say the least. Hmmm... isn't there a Service Card which accompanies the iPhone 3G? That card is used for maintenance/servicing/warranty service. They usually recognize the card rather than the owner. And that card is listed as originating from one of Maxis's plan. Isn't that the case?
Mr. Green
May 27 2009, 09:30 PM

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 27 2009, 09:18 PM) This is OT, but I didn't know the boys at MacStudio are doing that! Certainly not in accordance of their stature as an approved Apple Premium Reseller, probably broke a few rules there too. Unless there is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan that I have not heard of.... There actually is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan. You don't need to buy a Hotlink simcard if you're already using Hotlink. They also give 500MB/month data usage for 12 months. This post has been edited by Mr. Green: May 27 2009, 09:30 PM
stringfellow
May 27 2009, 09:36 PM
Hot damn, I stand corrected.  So far out of the loop, that I didn't know that you have one without contract. Apologies.
PeeEl
May 27 2009, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(davidmak @ May 27 2009, 09:27 PM) Hmmm... isn't there a Service Card which accompanies the iPhone 3G? That card is used for maintenance/servicing/warranty service. They usually recognize the card rather than the owner. And that card is listed as originating from one of Maxis's plan. Isn't that the case? You are absolutely right in what you have stated. But the thing here is that there are people who sign the contract, buy the iPhone and sell it. So a buyer of one of these phones, when he/she presents it for a warranty claim faces a problem as Maxis requires the original buyer to be the one sending in the iPhone for warranty claims. I am actually against this for so many reasons but would not react yet until the above is confirmed lest it be superfluous.
patience18
May 28 2009, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 27 2009, 01:47 PM) hi, can someone tell me if I'm buyng a 2nd hand maxis iphone, if I wanna claim warranty, can i just take the receipt of the 1st buyer and claim from maxis? or what else i need? I am a user of a 2nd hand maxis set.Well I have sent my white iphone 3g for warranty as it developed hairline cracks out of nowhere lol. Maxis staffs said its the first time they have encountered such problems. So they agreed to send in for warranty. Yes they require the previous owner to be for warranty purposes. Im not sure why but the last time I went with the service card it wasnt enough. So I went through all the trouble to get the previous owner to help me claim. I've asked Maxis staffs whether they allow to transfer ownership lol in case anything happens again and the staff told me.. Dun worry I can recognize you. LOL I was like..dude following black and white the iphone is still not mine. Anyways if those of you who bought 2nd hand maxis sets you need the previous owner to be at the maxis centre for warranty purposes. I've gotta wait for 2 weeks to get my iphone back!! Hope this is useful! Owh ya they'll keep your warranty card during your wait for the replacement. They require the previous owner's hp number (the one with the contract), the owner's ic and the owner himself to be present for warranty claims. This post has been edited by patience18: May 28 2009, 03:11 PM
HellJoker
May 28 2009, 03:14 PM

hmm...thx for sharing. it makes me decide to get a new iphone instead.
patience18
May 28 2009, 03:18 PM

No prob. At first I was scared that the previous owner wont be around. Thankfully she was willing enough to help me out. Some sellers dun even bother bout you after you bought their sets. Yes get a new one at all cause,unless you have responsible dealers like xfree or chinamobile (sg sets of course) to help you claim warranty. Buying it off from non-dealers is a risk but hey it ends up to be our decision.
This post has been edited by patience18: May 28 2009, 03:19 PM
jind86
May 28 2009, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Green @ May 27 2009, 09:30 PM) There actually is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan. You don't need to buy a Hotlink simcard if you're already using Hotlink. They also give 500MB/month data usage for 12 months. yupp, check it out here: http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone/rateplan3.asp#ratebut personally i'd wait another month till the keynote for an updated iPhone
Scissorshand
May 28 2009, 08:53 PM
any1 here got their rebate from the advance payment made? I've yet to get my rebate from my ivalue 1 plan. A quick call to MAXIS i was informed that there is a condition for the refund over 5 mths. That i willl need to ensure i pay my bills b4 due date?
Rate Plan Terms & Conditions 1 Port-in customers are not eligible to sign up for the iValue Plans with a 24 month contract. 2 The minutes of usage included in iValue Plans applies to on-net and off-net domestic voice calls only. 3 Data included in iValue Plans applies to mobile Internet usage only and excludes SMS, and other subscription based services. Data bundle is for local usage only. The maximum charge for local usage is up to RM250. While roaming overseas, the prevailing data roaming charges will apply. 4 Advance payment is waived for existing Maxis Postpaid customers with tenure of more than 6 months AND current monthly commitment of RM250 and above. Advance payment will be refunded from the 1st month onwards over the next 5 months. The account must be active at the time of refund. • Non-Malaysians without an existing Maxis service will have to pay an additional RM1000 refundable deposit. Existing non-Malaysian customer will have to top up to a RM1000 refundable deposit. • Purchase of iPhone 3G must be accompanied with any of the above contracted rate plans. Maxis reserves the right to rescind some of the privileges of the rate plans should the registered line not be used with the purchased iPhone 3G. • Downgrade of rate plans will be subjected to penalty. • Customer needs to ensure that their line is active at all times in order to receive the free data in the Value Plus plans (6 month contract). • Use of the iPhone constitutes acceptance of the iPhone terms and conditions and other third party terms and conditions found in the iPhone box. • If your Maxis mobile service is under a myMaxis Phone Deal contract and you have more than 2 months to fulfill a 12 month contract or more than 4 months to fulfill a 24 month contract, you are not eligible to re-contract to a new iPhone rate plan. • For Value Added Services, respective Terms and Conditions applies. • Other Terms and Conditions apply.
I was not inform of such condition neither do i remember coming across any when i pick up my phone in KLCC. Hope members share experience.
davidgary73
May 29 2009, 06:12 PM
Music Producer
Todays news: You can trade in your 2G iPhone for a new 3G iPhone.
Link: http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone/index.asp@teikwing, do update your first post with this when you're free. Cheers
=Hanxz=
May 29 2009, 06:25 PM
wowow!! this is seriously some good news for the people hanging on the 2G, its time for you guys to change!  but from another POV, maxis is desperate to dump stocks to fulfill their commitment to Apple, and there might be some even further extreme measures taken by maxis (this is speculative) so guys, anyone of you wants the 3G or the upcoming iPon??
davidgary73
May 29 2009, 06:45 PM
Music Producer
As for the trade in, there's a small catch.
Trade in only valid from 28thMay till 18th June
1) It depends on the condition of your iPhone and how old is the phone. 2) They require all items as per the Original box set (USB, Dock etc)
APR, MEP and Maxis Centre will validate the condition of your iPhone and they will proceed to trade in with a certain amount.
To trade in and get a 8GB 3G iPhone, you need to pay either
RM770 - device and headset only RM 820 - no box but allUSB cable, dock etc available RM 870 - Complete Set
To trade in and get a 16GB 3G iPhone, you need to pay either
RM950 - device and headset only RM1000 - no box but all USB cable, dock etc available Rm1050 - Complete Set
You don't have to singup a contract. Is optional.
This post has been edited by davidgary73: May 29 2009, 07:36 PM
SUSMike3300
May 29 2009, 07:32 PM
Oh my goodness, this is seriously a very catchy and good deal. I'm considering!  Added on May 29, 2009, 7:35 pmI have a full set unit of my iPhone classic, so I have to pay just RM870 for an 8GB iPhone 3G? This post has been edited by Mike3300: May 29 2009, 07:36 PM
frozzbyte
May 29 2009, 07:57 PM
Hahahaha ... a very desperate attempt by maxis to unload its stock. Next time maxis ... get on the bandwagon early when its still hot, not when the product already reaching the End Of Life cycle.
SUSMike3300
May 29 2009, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 29 2009, 07:57 PM) Hahahaha ... a very desperate attempt by maxis to unload its stock. Next time maxis ... get on the bandwagon early when its still hot, not when the product already reaching the End Of Life cycle. IMO, this offer is quite attractive for those who want to let go their 2G version and get 3G version. I'm still confuse with the payments though.