90 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

michael9413
post May 26 2009, 10:57 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes you got it rite... but still i insist that the phone with contract here is overly priced...

compare to SG... well we are neighbors... and you can feel the difference...

that is my point of view... cheers... -=/\/=-
suns8630
post May 26 2009, 11:08 AM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(graneon @ May 24 2009, 12:31 PM)
if it's true that to date maxis only sold 11,000 units, then they still have stocks about 139,000 units. in terms of value that's RM139 million (assuming maxis cost is at dirt cheap of RM1,000 per unit). at this rate they will lucky if maxis can sell another 50,000 units. if the maxis new plans doesn't push sales, i'm sure another plan will be introduced or maybe maxis may just reduced the price. if we can be patience for another 1 or 2 months, we maybe we'll in for some better deals from maxis. i maybe wrong but only time will tell. anyway not able to use iphone now does not make your life miserable, no money makes my life miserable.

its inevitable for us to compare prices, even with neighboring country (i don't dare to uses the taboo word S**g**l). it help us decide whether we want to buy iphone from maxis. In my opinion that's not off topic.
PS:i have mentioned maxis many time here so that some people does not think my opinion is off topic. i rarely write so much, i hope some people does not get offended with this statement and decided to flame me or delete my post. i am just like all low yat forumers, just wanted to express my sincere, honest and humble opinion. thank you and have a nice day.
yaaahhhh ...i assume that our "maxis" is doing a "jual Mahal" marketing planning during the 1st launch ... now ... the marketing plan kena back fire laahh ..

just looking at the plan from launch of " i value" then to " no contract " prepaid (now ) ... it is very clear that ... they need to "get rid" of the stock ...

who knows .. it maybe going for " buy one free one " tactic ...lohhh...

kawan kawan semua ... let's play the waiting game .. and see what "maxis " will be up to .....

patience18
post May 26 2009, 11:50 AM

204 posts

Lol buy one free one!?? Impossible, anyway maxis has agreed to replace my iphone with hairline cracks developing. It seems they have never encountered such problems before. I think they really are getting rid of their stocks. Was afraid they categorized those cracks under wear and tear. But it all rounds down to their staffs. If you get someone who knows bout this major issue in white iphones, you'll definitely get a replacement.

Added on May 26, 2009, 11:52 amowh ya another thing. they said have to wait for 2 -3 weeks for stocks to arrive...is this true? If maxis is having trouble to get rid of their iphones how come got no stock lol!!

This post has been edited by patience18: May 26 2009, 11:52 AM
michael9413
post May 26 2009, 11:58 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i think they need to send back to Apple or some one else to Verify...
the dare not replace for you 1 to 1 la...
patience18
post May 26 2009, 12:22 PM

204 posts

lol i duno but they already print the receipt thingy and the reason for repair for me
russ
post May 27 2009, 03:08 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ May 26 2009, 10:57 AM)
yes you got it rite... but still i insist that the phone with contract here is overly priced...

compare to SG... well we are neighbors... and you can feel the difference...

that is my point of view... cheers... -=/\/=-
If you convert SG currency to MY currency their prices are similar. No difference
michael9413
post May 27 2009, 08:38 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

??? 400 converted... not even RM1000... tongue.gif for the lowest plan not stand alone...
cheers... don wan to argue about that...
davidmak
post May 27 2009, 09:33 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Actually its very hard and complicated to compare dollar to dollar or dollar to conversion because these prices are obviously positioned in consideration of their social structure, purchasing power, various tax structure, culture, etc which is different. We're just picking one component from one country and compare with ours. I have to agree that because of this, one type of product is cheaper in some countries and what is not. I mean, lets not even compute purchasing power parity (because thats the most accurate apple to apple comparison, by computing everything orange, lemon, watermelon you name it into a baseline comparison).

I think its a bit funny to just look at how Apple iPhone is cheap in a country while it is expensive in the other because their individual social structure is different (other goods are expensive, for example). You may say that I'm going too far as out of topic but the conclusion is simple:

Don't look elsewhere. If you're residing in Malaysia and want an iPhone, get it from Maxis (not because you may say I work for Maxis and support it, but because it is the only sound choice available). Malaysian consumers value one thing, product support and Maxis can give that to us. Singapore may have better pricing and also a warranty, but unless you live in Johore, I don't see a point of troubling yourselves to go there and get support. Lets not even say, ooo my sis stays there and can do for me. Lets talk general practicality.

Tell you the truth, I notice that Apple products all baseline to their selling USD prices. That is convert it to your local currency and you get a selling price for your country (most of the time). The iPhone price strategy has hidden costs as in it is partnered to a service plan. Dig deep enough, you will see that all these cost eventually add up and is similar from country to country one way or another. Apple's cut for every iPhone their telco partner sell is the same. They're built the same and from the same places in the world (China, etc). The LRAC (long run average cost) is quite consistent.
ron4
post May 27 2009, 10:56 AM

1,123 posts

Last saturday i bought new iPhone 3G from MacStudio shop without Maxis contract for any package. I just need to buy a maxis prepaid 3G(hotlink) for value Rm8 only (free 500mb data transfer, if im not mistaken) just to official unlock this iPhone, and can throw away my hotlink prepaid if i dont want and used my existing Celcom. They inform me that this only valid within promotion time. But you have to buy this iPhone full price, not like value plan that Maxis currently offered.

This post has been edited by ron4: May 27 2009, 11:00 AM
kokocrun
post May 27 2009, 11:28 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ May 27 2009, 10:56 AM)
Last saturday i bought new iPhone 3G from MacStudio shop without Maxis contract for any package. I just need to buy a maxis prepaid 3G(hotlink) for value Rm8 only (free 500mb data transfer, if im not mistaken) just to official unlock this iPhone, and can throw away my hotlink prepaid if i dont want and used my existing Celcom. They inform me that this only valid within promotion time. But you have to buy this iPhone full price, not like value plan that Maxis currently offered.
full price =? rm2960 as maxis selling now?

thank tongue.gif
HellJoker
post May 27 2009, 01:47 PM

241 posts

hi, can someone tell me if I'm buyng a 2nd hand maxis iphone, if I wanna claim warranty, can i just take the receipt of the 1st buyer and claim from maxis? or what else i need?
PeeEl
post May 27 2009, 04:20 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 27 2009, 01:47 PM)
hi, can someone tell me if I'm buyng a 2nd hand maxis iphone, if I wanna claim warranty, can i just take the receipt of the 1st buyer and claim from maxis? or what else i need?
If I may, this is one of the questions that begs to be asked but no one ever did.

However, I remember reading in one of the posts that someone did mention that Maxis requires 'the owner of the plan' to submit the phone for warranty claim. That was the only post on this and I read every posting every day. So, for the sake of those who have bought used Maxis iPhones or plan to, can someone who owns a second hand Maxis unit and has actually gone to them for a warranty claim please offer us your insight? Or can a Maxis rep give us the low-down?

It would be appreciated, to say the least.
stringfellow
post May 27 2009, 09:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ May 27 2009, 10:56 AM)
This is OT, but I didn't know the boys at MacStudio are doing that! Certainly not in accordance of their stature as an approved Apple Premium Reseller, probably broke a few rules there too. Unless there is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan that I have not heard of....
nokia2003
post May 27 2009, 09:26 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 27 2009, 09:18 PM)
This is OT, but I didn't know the boys at MacStudio are doing that! Certainly not in accordance of their stature as an approved Apple Premium Reseller, probably broke a few rules there too. Unless there is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan that I have not heard of....
yes, they are apparently (according to davidgary73)
davidmak
post May 27 2009, 09:27 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ May 27 2009, 04:20 PM)
If I may, this is one of the questions that begs to be asked but no one ever did.

However, I remember reading in one of the posts that someone did mention that Maxis requires 'the owner of the plan' to submit the phone for warranty claim. That was the only post on this and I read every posting every day. So, for the sake of those who have bought used Maxis iPhones or plan to, can someone who owns a second hand Maxis unit and has actually gone to them for a warranty claim please offer us your insight? Or can a Maxis rep give us the low-down?

It would be appreciated, to say the least.
Hmmm... isn't there a Service Card which accompanies the iPhone 3G? That card is used for maintenance/servicing/warranty service. They usually recognize the card rather than the owner. And that card is listed as originating from one of Maxis's plan. Isn't that the case?
Mr. Green
post May 27 2009, 09:30 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 27 2009, 09:18 PM)
There actually is a Maxis Prepaid iPhone plan. You don't need to buy a Hotlink simcard if you're already using Hotlink. They also give 500MB/month data usage for 12 months.

This post has been edited by Mr. Green: May 27 2009, 09:30 PM
stringfellow
post May 27 2009, 09:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Hot damn, I stand corrected. notworthy.gif So far out of the loop, that I didn't know that you have one without contract. Apologies.
PeeEl
post May 27 2009, 10:43 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ May 27 2009, 09:27 PM)
Hmmm... isn't there a Service Card which accompanies the iPhone 3G? That card is used for maintenance/servicing/warranty service. They usually recognize the card rather than the owner. And that card is listed as originating from one of Maxis's plan. Isn't that the case?
You are absolutely right in what you have stated. But the thing here is that there are people who sign the contract, buy the iPhone and sell it. So a buyer of one of these phones, when he/she presents it for a warranty claim faces a problem as Maxis requires the original buyer to be the one sending in the iPhone for warranty claims.

I am actually against this for so many reasons but would not react yet until the above is confirmed lest it be superfluous.
patience18
post May 28 2009, 03:02 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 27 2009, 01:47 PM)
I am a user of a 2nd hand maxis set.Well I have sent my white iphone 3g for warranty as it developed hairline cracks out of nowhere lol. Maxis staffs said its the first time they have encountered such problems. So they agreed to send in for warranty. Yes they require the previous owner to be for warranty purposes. Im not sure why but the last time I went with the service card it wasnt enough. So I went through all the trouble to get the previous owner to help me claim.

I've asked Maxis staffs whether they allow to transfer ownership lol in case anything happens again and the staff told me.. Dun worry I can recognize you. LOL I was like..dude following black and white the iphone is still not mine. Anyways if those of you who bought 2nd hand maxis sets you need the previous owner to be at the maxis centre for warranty purposes.
I've gotta wait for 2 weeks to get my iphone back!! Hope this is useful!

Owh ya they'll keep your warranty card during your wait for the replacement. They require the previous owner's hp number (the one with the contract), the owner's ic and the owner himself to be present for warranty claims.

This post has been edited by patience18: May 28 2009, 03:11 PM
HellJoker
post May 28 2009, 03:14 PM

241 posts

hmm...thx for sharing.
it makes me decide to get a new iphone instead.

90 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:39 PM