Credit Card Thread V6

aeronlim
post Apr 13 2009, 06:38 PM

370 posts

Today checked The Star newspaper,

Maybank offers 5x Treatpoint for the expenses at CARiNG pharmacy for AMEX card holder but not applicable at all tesco outlets, what's that means? Is it means at the same time, we can't use the AMEX at Tesco?

hye
post Apr 14 2009, 12:14 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Guys ... can anyone help to complete the International Transactions surchages imposed by the respective cc ?

We still don't have info for

1. AMBank
2. AffinBank
3. RHB
4. Alliance Bank

You can check the info in your T&C booklet or look out for this info at the back of your monthly cc statement.

Thank you
nahte83
post Apr 14 2009, 10:40 AM

51 posts

Hi everyone, I'm looking for a credit card that gives hotel accommodation or travel point rewards, preferably both. My minimum annual income is 18k, I don't mind whatever fees, I just want hotel accommodation & travel point rewards. Is there any recommendation? Thanks a lot.
fauzistt
post Apr 14 2009, 10:53 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 14 2009, 12:14 AM)
Guys ... can anyone help to complete the International Transactions surchages imposed by the respective cc ?

1. AMBank
2. AffinBank
3. RHB
4. Alliance Bank

You can check the info in your T&C booklet or look out for this info at the back of your monthly cc statement.

Thank you
i check my statements,

1. AmIslamic - 1%
2. not a member yet
3. up to 1%
4. no mention of admin fee - nil?

hye
post Apr 14 2009, 11:44 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(nahte83 @ Apr 14 2009, 10:40 AM)
Hi everyone, I'm looking for a credit card that gives hotel accommodation or travel point rewards, preferably both. My minimum annual income is 18k, I don't mind whatever fees, I just want hotel accommodation & travel point rewards. Is there any recommendation? Thanks a lot.
Sorry, never heard of such credit card which give out travel point rewards. Generally all credit cards will have occasional hotel or travel package promotions, so you need to be on the lookout for it.

Added on April 14, 2009, 11:46 am
QUOTE(fauzistt @ Apr 14 2009, 10:53 AM)
i check my statements,

1. AmIslamic - 1%
2. not a member yet
3. up to 1%
4. no mention of admin fee - nil?
Thanks Bro ... my Alliance cc T&C did not mention of any additional charges for overseas transactions. Will be looking out for my statement and confirm this later.

Anyone else who would like to confirm the info above ?

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 14 2009, 11:46 AM
he-sham
post Apr 14 2009, 12:43 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 14 2009, 12:14 AM)

1. AMBank
2. AffinBank
3. RHB
4. Alliance Bank

Thank you
ambank is 1%..not sure about others bcoz i dont have card from them...
as for hsbc is 1.25%
citibank 1%
cimb 1%
bank islam 1%
maybank 1%
eonbank 2%

no specific cc....i guess most cc in their rewards point redemption got travel & hotel package....for entry level, most easy to approve (and will be given generous credit limit) IMO is DirectAccess (assuming u're a degree holder)...pm me if u wanna apply... biggrin.gif
CoffeeDude
post Apr 14 2009, 12:48 PM

1,609 posts

Which credit card offers the best rewards for overseas spending?
ICDeadPeople
post Apr 14 2009, 01:59 PM

783 posts

I went to maybank2u web, and I just realized that they have a petronas visa platinum card. When was it launched?
The best thing about this card is no annual fee what so ever.
hye
post Apr 14 2009, 02:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Apr 14 2009, 01:59 PM)
I went to maybank2u web, and I just realized that they have a petronas visa platinum card. When was it launched?
Bro ... very long time back lor. The card has been around for about 1 year already.
ellimist
post Apr 14 2009, 03:24 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Question bout UOB overseas transaction admin fee. The website seems to imply there is

Click (page 3,4th item)

Is that outdated or something?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 14 2009, 03:52 PM

9,301 posts

If airlines there are. But not hotel, not that i know of anyway. As far as i know only banks in USA got many such cards which they team up with some of the world renown hotel chains such as Hyatt and Hilton.

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 14 2009, 12:48 PM)
Which credit card offers the best rewards for overseas spending?
Rewards as in ? Point accumulation ? Overseas discount ? If overseas discount it's HSBC. If you are talking about point accumulation it's Standard Chartered. Why ? Because you'll get 3X points for each Ringgit transacted overseas rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 14 2009, 02:39 PM)
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Apr 14 2009, 01:59 PM)

Bro ... very long time back lor. The card has been around for about 1 year already.
Yeah. Around February if i'm not mistaken.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 14 2009, 03:53 PM
hye
post Apr 14 2009, 03:53 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 14 2009, 03:24 PM)
Question bout UOB overseas transaction admin fee. The website seems to imply there is
Should be the updated version coz in Page 2 (Finance Charges) it states the new interest rates for credit card to be effective 31 March 2009. I dunno about you but I'll take the B&W version to be the confirmed information, whatever the CS says.

We could double confirm this via the monthly cc statement. It should be printed on the back. Anyone could check this out ?
ICDeadPeople
post Apr 14 2009, 04:15 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 14 2009, 02:39 PM)
1 year aa? paiseh, im so outdated.......
ellimist
post Apr 14 2009, 05:24 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 14 2009, 03:53 PM)
Should be the updated version coz in Page 2 (Finance Charges) it states the new interest rates for credit card to be effective 31 March 2009. I dunno about you but I'll take the B&W version to be the confirmed information, whatever the CS says.

We could double confirm this via the monthly cc statement. It should be printed on the back. Anyone could check this out ?
Hmm true. Thought they were the only free one around (based on our list in front). If it does indeed have the admin fee, it looks like the one with the lowest admin fee now is Maybank laugh.gif
CoffeeDude
post Apr 14 2009, 05:52 PM

1,609 posts

What card offers the best deal for movie tickets?
arsenal
post Apr 14 2009, 06:54 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

Checked alliance statement...no charges for overseas transaction..
CSS
post Apr 14 2009, 07:12 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 14 2009, 05:52 PM)
Think UOB CC is giving 5% for GSC ticket purchases and Maybank's CC has treatpoints that can be traded for 2 tickets to TGV...

CrOmer
post Apr 14 2009, 08:07 PM

76 posts

hye everybody

i would like to have a cc but i do not know what is the best cc..b4 this i never use or have cc..i just want to use cc for urgent case like to repairing my car..

anyone can suggest?
CSS
post Apr 14 2009, 08:12 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(CrOmer @ Apr 14 2009, 08:07 PM)
hye everybody

i would like to have  a cc but i do not know what is the best cc..b4 this i never use or have cc..i just want to use cc for urgent case like to repairing my car..

anyone can suggest?
Maybank Petronas Visa and CIMB Petronas MasterCard are free for life... Won't cost you a single cent even if you don't touch it for 10 years thumbup.gif

Plus, always good for petrol rebates...

This post has been edited by CSS: Apr 14 2009, 08:13 PM
ellimist
post Apr 14 2009, 08:22 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 14 2009, 05:52 PM)
QUOTE(CSS @ Apr 14 2009, 07:12 PM)
Think UOB CC is giving 5% for GSC ticket purchases and Maybank's CC has treatpoints that can be traded for 2 tickets to TGV...
And UOB Vox has buy 3 free 1 at Cathay. (limited per month, so basically u gotta do this early of the month)

QUOTE(CrOmer @ Apr 14 2009, 08:07 PM)
hye everybody

i would like to have  a cc but i do not know what is the best cc..b4 this i never use or have cc..i just want to use cc for urgent case like to repairing my car..

anyone can suggest?
There's no best. Depends on what you look for in a card and what are your needs. But since you won't be swiping much, one of those free for life ones should suit you. (eg : Maybank Petronas, and a number of CIMB cards, including Direct Access.) Refer to the frontpage, think there's a list there

This post has been edited by ellimist: Apr 14 2009, 08:23 PM

127 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:19 PM