Credit Card Thread V6

hye
post Jun 4 2009, 10:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jun 4 2009, 10:45 AM)
I hear all of you say want to terminate the card, if terminate it now, it is can apply again, maybe a few year or month?
Definitely you can! Provided you are not a problematic customer, I don't see why they will not accept you. Take note, different bank have different cooling off period and varies from weeks to a max of 6 month. I only know one which is HSBC has a cooling off period 6 months - you can't reapply within that period once you cancel. Rest I'm have no info.

Added on June 4, 2009, 10:57 am
QUOTE(santaclaus @ Jun 4 2009, 10:52 AM)
so y shud i risk myself for an agent comm???
Yup ... why carry the risk just so that others can earn commission from you?

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 4 2009, 10:57 AM
winner
post Jun 4 2009, 11:16 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Jun 3 2009, 08:12 PM)
In the Just one application form stated that annual fee waiver subject to min transaction RM 42 per day. hopefully it can be accumulated as one year transaction of RM 15 K+++, otherwise I don't think many people can afford to use their card every day
Oh...I've just submitted my application without studying the T&C about the AF waiver. Can someone please confirm whether the AF waiver is based on yearly or daily spending?

Referring to one of my previous postings, is Shell included in the participating merchants for cash rebate? I thought the rebate is applicable to all retail purchases?

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Jun 4 2009, 12:55 AM)
To me, it is ok as I have nothing to lose. So, I cancelled it after 3 months...

If we have nothing to lose, why not we just let them earn the commission???
You are so kind! smile.gif I'll cancel whatever pre-approved cards that I never apply for.

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jun 4 2009, 06:39 AM)
hi i got call yesterday, from maybank. she told me that maybank offer their credit card petronas.. what is that?

no fee, just take the card for free, quite confusion..

should i take?
i got this offer coz my current salary with their bank
You can just accept it if it is the cc that most fulfills your requirements. Even though it is free for life, you may need to think twice if it does not really fit your needs, in order to reduce your financial risk.
ask_dino
post Jun 4 2009, 02:46 PM

DS is the name
741 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 3 2009, 08:59 PM)
yeah... the GSC One Utama setup the special lane for the GSC-EON card beside the gold class lane...
thanks for the info, as before i still need something that can enlighten me before applying for the card beside to watch movies, is it their ezy-payment plan from EON any good? how about their cash-back policies or rebate?

whoever had an EON CC before can help me with this? and also how is their track record? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

tinkerbel
post Jun 4 2009, 02:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ask_dino,
Track record in what?! Usually, banks are more concerned about oour track record and credit ratings.
hye
post Jun 4 2009, 02:59 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ask_dino @ Jun 4 2009, 02:46 PM)
thanks for the info, as before i still need something that can enlighten me before applying for the card beside to watch movies, is it their ezy-payment plan from EON any good? how about their cash-back policies or rebate?

whoever had an EON CC before can help me with this? and also how is their track record?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
EZ-Payment ... depends on the merchant. In this case, MBB are more widely available for EZ-Payment.
Cash-back policies / rebate - simple, Non-Existant.
Track record - this is individual preference. I had an EON bank card before and I didn't like the quality of their CS. Not to mention if you use it for overseas transactions, they are among the highest which is about 2% extra. So buying stuff from Amazon etc quickly becomes more expensive.

If you like this card so much (and watch a lot of movies) then go ahead. The card is targeted @ moviegoers and provides benefits to watch movies. Nothing more. (Maybe some dining and other priviledges but how often would you fine dine @ a fancy restaurant or stay @ a 5 star hotel?)
hibiki85
post Jun 4 2009, 04:20 PM

Is there any maybank credit card agent here? interested to apply for petronas visa.
plz pm me
jack2
post Jun 4 2009, 04:45 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Wonder UOB Platinum is easy to apply?
tinkerbel
post Jun 4 2009, 04:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jack2,
If U meet the criterias listed, it shouldn't be a problem biggrin.gif
jack2
post Jun 4 2009, 05:07 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 4 2009, 04:53 PM)
@jack2,
If U meet the criterias listed, it shouldn't be a problem biggrin.gif
I went to the bank to perform some banking transaction and asked the CS office to check for me. She saw there is one new cc account number in my profile held with them and is Visa Platinum.....

But till to date since I applied, I haven't received any phone call from them to verify my application.
anne1222
post Jun 4 2009, 05:16 PM

45 posts

just call the cs n ask wats going on
tinkerbel
post Jun 4 2009, 05:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jack2,
Yeah.. it's best if U asked them to check about it. U wouldn't want someone to be spending the $ and then U carrying the liability biggrin.gif
jack2
post Jun 4 2009, 05:31 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(anne1222 @ Jun 4 2009, 05:16 PM)
just call the cs n ask wats going on
UOB credit card application status enquiry is a bit lousy. You need to leave your telephone number and they will call you back after check.

If in UOB phone banking, enter your IC and then key in your phone. They will call you. Not checking through CS.
GHz
post Jun 4 2009, 06:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 4 2009, 04:45 PM)
Wonder UOB Platinum is easy to apply?
I used to have their preferred platinum card. Their starting credit limit is only RM15k compare to many other bank which is RM20k. I guess it should be easier to apply.
jack2
post Jun 4 2009, 06:33 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jun 4 2009, 06:13 PM)
I used to have their preferred platinum card. Their starting credit limit is only RM15k compare to many other bank which is RM20k. I guess it should be easier to apply.
From the computer system the CS showed me while I was there, it shows 30k limit given. rclxm9.gif
Reventon
post Jun 4 2009, 07:02 PM

2,921 posts

Uob is one of the most paranoid bank in malaysia, usually offer funny CL , which is extremely low, and not to mention their policies.
winner
post Jun 4 2009, 07:11 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jun 4 2009, 07:02 PM)
Uob is one of the most paranoid bank in malaysia, usually offer funny CL , which is extremely low, and not to mention their policies.
Another bank which offers super LOW CL is Alliance. They are aggressive in innovation and marketing, but conservative in certain aspects.
hye
post Jun 4 2009, 07:13 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 4 2009, 07:11 PM)
Another bank which offers super LOW CL is Alliance. They are aggressive in innovation and marketing, but conservative in certain aspects.
Totally agree on that coz I experience the same thing with these 2 banks. I cancelled UOB within 1 month that I received the card. Luckily that time they had problems with the delivery thus I used that as an excuse not to take up the card.
Alliance CL is shockingly low and I have been banking with them for years! I don't see why they should see me as a risky customer. Probably I now hold the lowest CL for a Platinum card in Malaysia coz I ask Alliance to lower it to about to accomodate the maximum monthly cash rebate limit.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 4 2009, 07:19 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 4 2009, 08:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

My first credit card from a local bank was from UOB in 1991 or 1992, a gold Visa then. When they introduced Visa Plat they upgraded me automatically in 2002. Never paid a single sen of annual fees to OUB. The CL limit given to me back in 2002 for my Visa Plat was RM40K if not mistaken and they have subsequently incresed my credit limit.

So far I find their service to be very good but I do agree that they have stupid policies. Since 2-3 years back, to save the hassle of calling them every year for annual fee waiver, they asked me to get a Mastercard and swipe 6 times for both Visa and Mastercard to get automatic waiver. So I will swipe my Mastercard 6 times and then put it in my drawer until the following year and then swipe again 6 times before it goes back into my drawer.

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 4 2009, 07:11 PM)
The CL for my Alliance Visa Plat is same as my HSBC and UOB Visa Plat. Alliance Visa Plat has a pretty good tiered cash back but up to RM5000 only (something like max RM68+). I do tend to use my Alliance often as I get reward points on top of cash back.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 4 2009, 08:24 PM
lcl832002
post Jun 4 2009, 09:42 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 4 2009, 09:52 AM)
If you consent to it then it is OK. Most of us here (including myself kena b4), got sent unsolicited credit cards which shouldn't have happened in the first place. The agent did that either to gain additional commission or to meet their targets and unfortunately @ the consumers expense. Plus, it is the consumers right to do what they want but again there are cases where the agent lies that the bank requires you to keep the card for a certain xx period.

Saw the link to a blog .... what if you sign up for additional insurance packages without the consent of your customers? Don't you think you will be thrown out of work @ lightning speed?
Other people I don't know. If I am given something free without having to pay any thing, why not??? In addition, the agent was very polite when she answered my questions regarding the CC...

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Jun 4 2009, 11:52 AM)
well ... if the agent honestly told me he would pick a master n visa , i mayb obliged to his request.
but now the problem is , the visa never been applied by me nor mention by the agent tht he will tick tht column. if he doesnt do tht , and its solely scb policy to issue 2 cards , then it shudn't affect the agent comm since im not canceling all the cc ...

moreover tht damn cs who hanged up my call make me damn tulan ... before tht his voice tone oso like threatening saying "u must keep it for 1 yr or at least 6 mths" ... thts the point when i start questioning him til he proceed with my cancellation.

after 1 exp of helping agents , i dunwan to do it again. last time keep all the cc not using in home , thief come in , take it n swipe kaw-kaw. becoz of the cc havent been use so long , the bank called to verify the usage as it was a shopping spree ( damn they buy watever they c ). then onli i knew something wrong. although ask them to block , some transactions stil go thru.make police report , 3-4 appeal letters , 3 times visiting their hq , onli dispute.

i definitely dun wanna go thru this anymore.yes,they say they will responsible for the fraud case.but did they do any investigations? i doubt they could do anything , it was ourself who had to prove we r innocent by asking the shops cctv records , explaining. so y shud i risk myself for an agent comm???
Ya, if I think the service is very poor, I will cancel the CC without thinking twice even it is free....

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 4 2009, 12:16 PM)
You are so kind! smile.gif I'll cancel whatever pre-approved cards that I never apply for.
It is not easy to earn money nowadays. So, why must I do something that may affect their income. Furthermore, I have nothing to lose... Of course, if the service is very bad, I will not give them any face...
CodeBasic
post Jun 4 2009, 11:59 PM

60 posts

EON Bank Credit Card Free GSC Movie Ticket?, up to 50% discount?

i have googled out and found this link http://imdavidlee.com/free-gsc-movie-ticke...nk-credit-card/
but i still do not understand about the 50% discount...

platinum cardholder can get rm100 free? dog card holder rm60? may i know how to calculate?

127 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:37 AM