122 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

birdfarm
post Jun 20 2009, 11:17 AM

19 posts

smile.gif Thanks for the compliments from Lucas 1 & DL, it is sign that we are in the right direction. Continuing with why some some Federal Government & State Government are SCARE/FEARFUL to license & support this wonderful business:

2) Protest/Backlash from the Public: This is another TRULY UNFOUNDED fear by the Politicians & certain government officers. How can the public protest/angry with a business which is clean, envrionmentally friendly, lucrative & blessed(BERKAT), HALAL, and have great potential to provide Jobs, Jobs, Jobs, bring in Billion ringgit of foreign exchange, create many other Businesses spinoffs, and best of all provide free delicious & healthy "Birdnest soup" fit for Emperor only in olden times!!! Also this business is "EXCLUSIVE" to Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and few other nations only, like Oil is exclusive to Arab countires. This UNFOUNDED FEAR originates from the actions of a few selfish, inconsiderate, ignorant Swiftlet Farming black sheeps Farmers who will blast the bird sound like in the DISCOTECH causing nuisance & irritation to the neighbours! Also some will modify the shoplot to look like Building from the outerspace! Also there is so much of bad PUBLICITY by the national press which print "letter to editors", many of the letters are talking rubbish but some are genuine compliants! Let us affirmatively say that this can be easliy resolved by having clear, proper Swiftlet farming Guidelines drafted & approved by Parliament, according to the requirements/needs of the Swiftlet Farming Industry. Once this done, strictly enforce and stop all this inconsiderate, selfish black sheep and PROBLEMs solved lah!Similarly with the chemical industires, there are some Blacksheep factories that continue to pollute the rivers, DOES THE GOVERNMENT STOP/BAN ALL THE FACTORIES or asked them to relocate to the Agriculture land??? Also, 1 very important guideline is NO SWIFTLET FARMING ALLOWED IN RESIDENTIAL AREAS ie cannot in the residential Houses! So most of the people in Malaysia are not affected as swiftlet farming is done in SHOPLOT only! For those who are staying on top of the shoplots, they have an option to move out and convert to "Birdhouse"! which is more lucrative. Talking about birds, I would like to ask the people who compliant and Goverment esp. Local Authority what about those "sparrows" sitting by the thousands and thousands in every towns that shit on our cars every days under the Telephone/Electricity Poles & Wires? Also the nuisance "Crows" every where causing nuisance. Can you do something about it ? Man & Birds have been lving together in harmony for hundred of years and we do not have any problems. So Goverment, Federal and state alike, please don't be fearful of Public backlash, there is NONE! if we all do our jobs properly without FEAR or FAVOR!

To be continued! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:07 AM)
Well done, birdfarm. DL compliments you. He said this is good input. Keep it up and continue with the good work. More people should contribute in this way in this forum. Present in the justified arguements. This can be used to educate and convince the govt rule makers and departmental heads to have more understandings of our trade and thus make right policy. We do need to pool in a lot of justifications and substantiated reasons as to why the govt should view our trade very seriously for the long term and sustainable benefit and survival to the country and the people. This trade should be able to bring in a lot of foreign revenue to the people. When the people becomes rich, the nation becomes strong. Therefore, in order to maximise the potential, the govt should consider to simplfy all the procedures and do away the bureaucratic red tapes to convenient the flourish of the industry as soon as possible. This is the input and arguement presented by DL during the Bengkel to convince the authorities.
aerohead
post Jun 20 2009, 11:43 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Jun 19 2009, 02:17 PM)
I think the problem of those bloggers is they only show their successful record but never mention about their failed story...or they never failed??? is it possible???? 

Correct correct correct......
hi guys

it is good to share our experiences out here. Bloggers would of course would not publish the negative remarks from readers/customers so we have to take the hyped up stories with a handful of salt.

I bought LP after reading about its miraculous effect in James blog. I applied it to my BH which has a number of birds already staying. It was a real dud. I didn't see any positive effect at all. Maybe some birds even left but I can see from my cctv that they don't really like it. On top of that I contacted James about the result but was told that the problem is with my BH rclxms.gif . I can't really be bothered with this kind of mercenarious behaviour.

Like everyone else I still keep a lookout on what & how I can make the bird stay. It is quite an interesting challenge trying to find the silver bullet and I don't think there are any silver bullets for sale around town. good luck everyone.
tongserseng
post Jun 20 2009, 12:11 PM

112 posts

hi guy any body interested buying BH 800 nests with one million ringgit ? Location in Segamat Johor
swift4ever
post Jun 20 2009, 12:46 PM

263 posts

...in terms of Eco-Tourism, we strive to show it to the world that

our precious heritages not just from Penang and Melaka can co-exist

with these birds, they can also complement one another and appeal to

ecotourists of the world.

Incidentaly, salute also goes to those who helped in resolving the

Penang BHs deadlock with the new administration without any BHs of

their own existed there. Their perseverance in the face of

adversity and integrity in all matters and dealings are certainly

worthy of our praises....

birdfarm
post Jun 20 2009, 01:04 PM

19 posts

smile.gif Before I deal with the 3rd Point, let me re-ask the question about the thousands and thousands of "sparrow/minor" sitting on top of telephone and electrical poles, trees and the nuisance crows, shitting and making noises every evening and in every town & city??? Can the local authorities/government do something to "RELOCATE" them to agricultural land away from Town & City!!! Ths is what some idiots are asking Swiftlet farmers to do with the Swiftlets birds, relocating them from Shoplots to agricultural land. How lah?? The Swiftlets birds can and is absolutely free to fly few thousand feets high in the sky so how to relocate them? To those idioits, may they are thinking of using Helicoptors, Build Wings for people to fly to catch this birds in cage and then move to agricultural land away from town and then release them. Every one should know that the bird will fly back again in the same spot!" So for idiots who advocate the relocation of swiftlet farms from shoplots to agricultural land, I have a challenge for you. Please relocate the "sparrows" and crows first. Please talk only if you are successful, if not please stop the rubbish talk!

3) ECO-SWIFTLET FARMING in Agricultural land: Lately there are some businessmen together with Federal/State government approval beginning to build so call ECO-Swiftlet farm Complex centralizing all the Bird house in agricultural land. This is not a issue if you have alot of money to waste! and NOT AT THE EXPENSE of VICTIMIZING THE pioneering swiftlet farmers in the Shoplot & Commercial areas who has spent Billions of ringgit of investment in the shoplots. In fact, ECO-SWIFTLET FARMING is a very bad business decision because you have to build the Birdhouse Building from scratch, where we already have thousand & thousand of vacant shoplots in the whole of Malaysia. It does not make any business sense. Also the agriculture land is very far from Town with no INFRASTRUCTURE like electricity, water, Internet, telephones etc. and you have to drive to the jungle roads which is a safety & security hazards to the owners! Also when you need to harvest the precious Birdnest, robbers may follow you to the isolated area, robbed you of the birdnests and kill you off. Don't let personel gain/selfishness cause suffering to legitimate swiftlet farming in Shoplets/Commercial who has pioneered through blood, sweat & tears to make this swiftlet farming successful! Federal & State Goverment must be fair & brave to resist some selfish businessmen/politicians who want to MONOPOLIZE this business! This LOWYAT group & all legitimate swiftlet farming people will not allow this and fight to the end! So Government(YAB Prime Minister) be brave to do the right thing(BERANI KERANA BENAR) support 100% the shoplot swiftlet farmers who are the TRUE PIONEERS OF THIS INDUSTRY!!!!!

QUOTE(birdfarm @ Jun 20 2009, 11:17 AM)
smile.gif Thanks for the compliments from Lucas 1 & DL, it is sign that we are in the right direction. Continuing with why some some Federal Government & State Government are SCARE/FEARFUL to license & support this wonderful business:

2) Protest/Backlash from the Public: This is another TRULY UNFOUNDED fear by the Politicians & certain government officers. How can the public protest/angry with a business which is clean, envrionmentally friendly, lucrative & blessed(BERKAT), HALAL, and have great potential to provide Jobs, Jobs, Jobs, bring in Billion ringgit of foreign exchange, create many other Businesses spinoffs, and best of all provide free delicious & healthy "Birdnest soup" fit for Emperor only in olden times!!! Also this business is "EXCLUSIVE" to Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and few other nations only, like Oil is exclusive to Arab countires. This UNFOUNDED FEAR originates from the actions of a few selfish, inconsiderate, ignorant Swiftlet Farming black sheeps Farmers who will blast the bird sound like in the DISCOTECH causing nuisance & irritation to the neighbours! Also some will modify the shoplot to look like Building from the outerspace! Also there is so much of bad PUBLICITY by the national press which print "letter to editors", many of the letters are talking rubbish but some are genuine compliants! Let us affirmatively say that this can be easliy resolved by having clear, proper Swiftlet farming Guidelines drafted & approved by Parliament, according to the requirements/needs of the Swiftlet Farming Industry. Once this done, strictly enforce and stop all this inconsiderate, selfish black sheep and PROBLEMs solved lah!Similarly with the chemical industires, there are some Blacksheep factories that continue to pollute the rivers, DOES THE GOVERNMENT STOP/BAN ALL THE FACTORIES or asked them to relocate to the Agriculture land??? Also, 1 very important guideline is NO SWIFTLET FARMING ALLOWED IN RESIDENTIAL AREAS ie cannot in the residential Houses! So most of the people in Malaysia are not affected as swiftlet farming is done in SHOPLOT only! For those who are staying on top of the shoplots, they have an option to move out and convert to "Birdhouse"! which is more lucrative. Talking about birds, I would like to ask the people who compliant and Goverment esp. Local Authority what about those "sparrows" sitting by the thousands and thousands in every towns that shit on our cars every days under the Telephone/Electricity Poles & Wires? Also the nuisance "Crows" every where causing nuisance. Can you do something about it ? Man & Birds have been lving together in harmony for hundred of years and we do not have any problems. So Goverment, Federal and state alike, please don't be fearful of Public backlash, there is NONE! if we all do our jobs properly without FEAR or FAVOR!

West Wing
post Jun 20 2009, 06:03 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(woojia @ Jun 18 2009, 09:22 PM)
share a sad but true experience.
"i read the JAMES blog, he said how good n how powerful  the love portion in his blog, so i try it, but the end result really bad, i found that my bird leave my farm after apply it."
my friend try the LOVE Portion n told me the result are bad.
he call james n james said my frien use wrongly.wht a f*** excuse.
KNMCCB, pls beware

Added on June 18, 2009, 9:34 pm

Ths is the real experince of uncle BEN with the BULLSHIT LOVE PORTION.
(for ur all info, the green looking hormones is LOVE PORTION)
not only my frien, Uncle BEN also another victim.
See...I did told you so, didn't I.....always be careful. LP or PL, what's today may not be the same as tomorrow.....cos it's mixture made in the kitchen like my XO ortion which till now, I cannot come out or remember the correct formula which was successful the first time that I use it otherwise, I will be giving you all at the cost of making it........what are friends for, I mean friends of swiftlets....hahaha

ps....my mixture is not very cheap....with main ingredient, birdnests lah......l

Added on June 20, 2009, 6:18 pmWell, we did our job @ Seremban and at least I did my best. I am really very tired and will try to rest more.

Dr. F has listened to my explaination the the altra sound is useless and she may stick to 40D at 10 M from BH.
In the workshop, I was in Workshop 1 which deal in the BH in town, Desa and Eco-P and I think that we successfully provented the demolise of BH in town and the present ones are allow to remain forever except for some not following the guildlines and some touch ups to be done. At least, we are allowed to stay in town which I beleive that's the most importance of all and for that. we need to compromise like painting our BHs, no DK or open window or bullets holes and and............... what we want is be allowed to remain in town and we will do what are require like no disturbing noice, night sound shorter time and proper maintenance and smell provention which I think we should have done and have already did if not for some F***** who don't listen and think that they only have the rights and the raayat have no right to complaints......which are the reasons that the DBL disallowed in the first place..

Our main opponants are DBT group which insist that we move but at least we have a PM and his team on our side.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jun 20 2009, 06:18 PM
Lucas 1
post Jun 20 2009, 11:45 PM

236 posts

Our main opponants are DBT group which insist that we move but at least we have a PM and his team on our side.

West Wind, I beg your pardon, it is not DBT, it is PBT (PIHAK BERKUASA TEMPATAN) or LOCAL GOVT AUTHORITIES under the KPKT (KEMENTERIAN PERUMAHAN DAN KERAJAAN TEMPATAN or the MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND LOCAL GOVT. In another word, we are talking of the Local Councils or the Majlis Tempatan.

According to DL, it is not all the Majlis officials objecting to this industry in town. It is only a fraction of the officials who failed to have the correct understanding and knowledge of this industry and what benefits this industry can bring to Malaysia. During the discussion, it was the Setiausaha of the Seramban Council invited who spoke against BHs in town. He was referring to the old proposals of the Perancang of January and March failing to know that that proposals were already amended in May. But, what ever it was, the latest amended proposal allows existing BHs to continue to operate in town centre but subjected to further detailed conditions to be negotiated. Therefore the objection by that SU in the Bengkel was un-called for and excited many participants. The Pengarahs of the JPV esp the Legal Advisor of JPV were defending the BH owners. West Wind and few others were furiously arguing and defending too for the existing owners. This SU, according to BH owners in Seramban is dead against BHs in Seramban town. Our Tiger Lee is having headach from him.

In fact, during the Bengkel, DL highlighted and corrected that the organiser, JPV (JABATAN PERKHIDMATAN VETERINAR) was given by the KPKT the outdated proposal for the Bengkel.

The PM office has decided very recently to groom and to maximise this industry as one of the three HVI (HIGH VALUED INDUSTRIES) beside Arowana and the sea weed by instructing JPV under Ministry of Agriculture to play the lead role in the coordination of all depts and research study for a full report to be presented to the PM by mid July. That was the main objective of the Bengkel in which all key representatives were invited in last minutes to 'teach' them the knowledge of the industry. In fact, all reps who attended have to pay for own hotel and other expenses and some even paid for own meals. Looks like the other depts such as PERHILITAN and PBT etc are now the supporting roles. DL doubts that these depts are going to be happy and he thinks that there could be silent sabotages from them. The Bird's Nest industry in Malaysia is going to be the official 'BABY' under the JPV's care soon. DL says it is in better hand and he regards the JPV as very much more professional and friendy to the industry. All the top JPV officials are very friendy, sincere, humble, committed and dedicated. A few of the Pengarahs were so sincere, humble and honest to admit that they were new and lacked of knowledge of our trade and they invited the reps to guide and teach them so that they could help the industry to the best. DL says he couldn't believe there exist such good officials in Malaysia's Govt dept. Most of the officers he met for the past decades were arrogant and talked nonsence.

Generally, the Bengkel is something very special, positive, good and fruitful for the future of the Industry. Most participants had done their level best to give their best inputs in unity and worked real hard to rush through to complete the sacred mission. DL's comprehensive report on the industry had been printed and distributed to all participants and recommended as a 'must' reading material by the JPV. DL says this is the first time he saw real UNITY shown among all key representatives of the industry. Hopefully that such spirit should continue. This is the best and most important and productive meeting ever this industry has since its birth in Malaysia. This could be the beginning of the ending of the bureaucratic procedures with red tapes that haunted this industry since the past. Let's keep our fingers crossed to see if the JPV could really do wonder by going against the tide for the industry as promised by the Ketua Pengarah, Dato Dr Aziz of the JPV in his open ceremony speech. Indeed he is a really highly respectable, amicable, sincere and humble figure. All participants really gave him the high respect and regards after chatting with him. They are very fond of him. A truly rare breed.

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Jun 21 2009, 02:17 AM
chitchai
post Jun 21 2009, 02:06 AM

26 posts

Uncle westwing,
I know u r very tired after your hardwork fighting for bh in town. I thought this idea might help to "shorten the night sound" for people, and to reduce internal amp to just one. I don't know if anybody would be interested.

What I did (may be people already done that, sorry) was to make internal sound file of 1 hr. After that copy them and rename them to:
06,07,08,... upto 19, to conform with the actual time we play the internal sound (19 being 7pm). Secondly, use audacity to adjust the original file to lower output volume (50% output, use "amplify" command), and copy this in names of 20,21,22,23.

Doing this will play the loud internal from 6 - 19:00 and after that the sound will be low (very soft) from 20:00 to 23:00. No sound after 2300. This requires only 1 amp for internal; no need to switch amp at night, or to play 24 hrs. Reason behind this is that night sound may be not that important, according to your suggestion. I am using this system right now. If anybody interested I can elaborate more, or I can do your file for free (but I might keep a copy of your internal sound, hehe).

By the way, Could you tell us what kind of internal piezo tweeters you use in your BH? (with or without coil, the MQ or the cheap kind..?)

I think many, including me, would love to know that. Also the number of tweeters recommended for 1 floor too. Thanks.
Semuabumi
post Jun 21 2009, 10:00 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Jun 19 2009, 09:50 PM)
Semuabumi

Are you sure you are not James or Hairry Cok ??? also you broken enghish talk vali good eh! nice try .
How about I am kelvin heng, Mr.phang,james,harry,Josep,Hm, ck,jennete,chan, kok, chai,Tan,cheah,henry,jef,david,...wah can't finish lah. you see i can be anybody. Most important I on your side.
aeiou228
post Jun 21 2009, 11:00 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Jun 19 2009, 08:05 PM)
Now very susah, can not listen to anyone. Can not trust u also .Really soli ok. Hope not angry Try first then only i talk. soli ok. Some say very good , some say no good. So who to trust better trust what i see.

I see my friend farm in setiawan very good 500nests to 700 nests in 3 month using Lp.

So can not blame anybody only can blame myself. because my farm is DIY by me.
It is not susah at all. Since you don't trust those who posted the feed back about LP and pretty much convinced that your friend's BH in Setiawan was very good after using LP, I think you have come to a decision.
You should buy a small quantity of LP first to test it out in your BH and share your findings in this forum.

birdfarm
post Jun 21 2009, 11:44 AM

19 posts

smile.gif To quote Lucas1 earlier update on the Seremban Bengkel Quote " Our comrades, DL, GEM's Aziz, West Wind, ChanK, Alex Sim, John Low and his gang from Sarawak and Sabah, Dato Beh, Mah, Cheah and his gang from Penang, Dr. Tan, Dr.Lee from Johor, and many more working hand in hand....All key Pengarah and officers from Jabatan Veterinary Pusat to rush out a very crucial and most important presentation of all time deciding the fate of this industry. They are doing their best. One of the outsnading Dato Tiger Lee of Negeri Sembilan Association......" Unquote.

Let me as a Swiftlet Farmer personally and on record "thank & congratulate for a great job done & sacrifices" to all above and those not mentioned who directly and indirectly contributed to the success of this watershed Bengkel. Even for some of the PBT officers who did not support but at least they publicly say so and do not knife us from the back. We will convince them in due time. Terima Kasih & Thanks again. we are indebted to your sacrifices!

We are also fortunate we have a far sighted YAB Prime Minister Dato Seri Najib and his team( As West Wing commented) who is very supportive of this Birdnest industry together with Jabatan Haiwan Director General, Director & Officers in particular Dr.F, our Swiftlet Farming Angel. In fact 2 or 3 years ago, I witnessed YAB Prime Minister(he was Deputy Prime Minister then) at one of the PNB Seminar launching the "Blue Ocean Strategy" a world renowed book written by W.Chan Kim and his co author. I was impressed then by YAB Prime Minister extensive knowledge of the Blue Ocean Strategy in his speech. For those who are not familiar with the Blue Ocean Strategy book, in the nutshell, company should move away of deadly competition and craved a "niche market" so that there is little or no competition instead of the dog eat dog competition in the "red ocean", because of competition, all dead with blood spilled! In Blue Ocean, your company grow by leaps & bounds because NO COMPETITORS!

The Swiftlet farming & Birdnest Industry is one of the Malaysian "Blue Ocean" business, besides Indonesia & Thailand, there is practically NO COMPETITION in the whole wide world! We must truly appreciate this God send business and henceforth move fast to have friendly Regulations, 100% Government & Public support for all Swiftlet Farmers and God Willing, in 20 years or so, the income from this Industry may exceed the "Crude Oil" Petronas revenue! The spin off businesses are also huge. We need also to have strategy to encourage our Bumiputera and Indian friends, Iban, Kadazan .... to participate in this business so that it is a truly Multi racial business not just the Chinese business.

For the first step, we need the National Swiftlet Farming Guidelines & Licences quickly approved and strict enforment after a few years of rehabilitation for non comforming swiftlet farmers, to ensure all Swiftlet Farms in the Town shoplots comply with all the Guidelines and have zero genuine compliants from the public. Later we need to have proper Regulation under the Jabatan Haiwan to have a National Swiftlet Farming & Birdnest Industry Council consisting of Government Agencies, Swiftlet Farming Assocaition rep, Experts group etc to formulate a "20 years Strategy to develop our Swiftlet Farming & Birdnest Industry to be the largest producer of best quality Birdnest and its associated products in teh world! Also Every time this National Council members meet, they must each be given a free bowl of genuine delicious Birdnest soup.

West wind, sorry to hear you are very tired, please rest enough to recover. We need you and more people to continue with the battle. This is only the beginning.

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jun 20 2009, 11:45 PM)
West Wind, I beg your pardon, it is not DBT, it is PBT (PIHAK BERKUASA TEMPATAN) or LOCAL GOVT AUTHORITIES under the KPKT (KEMENTERIAN PERUMAHAN DAN KERAJAAN TEMPATAN or the MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND LOCAL GOVT. In another word, we are talking of the Local Councils or the Majlis Tempatan.

According to DL, it is not all the Majlis officials objecting to this industry in town. It is only a fraction of the officials who failed to have the correct understanding and knowledge of this industry and what benefits this industry can bring to Malaysia. During the discussion, it was the Setiausaha of the Seramban Council invited who spoke against BHs in town. He was referring to the old proposals of the Perancang of January and March failing to know that that proposals were already amended in May. But, what ever it was, the latest amended proposal allows existing BHs to continue to operate in town centre but subjected to further detailed conditions to be negotiated. Therefore the objection by that SU in the Bengkel was un-called for and excited many participants. The Pengarahs of the JPV esp the Legal Advisor of JPV were defending the BH owners. West Wind and few others were furiously arguing and defending too for the existing owners. This SU, according to BH owners in Seramban is dead against BHs in Seramban town. Our Tiger Lee is having headach from him.
In fact, during the Bengkel, DL highlighted and corrected that the organiser, JPV (JABATAN PERKHIDMATAN VETERINAR) was given by the KPKT the outdated proposal for the Bengkel.
The PM office has decided very recently to groom and to maximise this industry as one of the three HVI (HIGH VALUED INDUSTRIES) beside Arowana and the sea weed by instructing JPV under Ministry of Agriculture to play the lead role in the coordination of all depts and research study for a full report to be presented to the PM by mid July. That was the main objective of the Bengkel in which all key representatives were invited in last minutes to 'teach' them the knowledge of the industry. In fact, all reps who attended have to pay for own hotel and other expenses and some even paid for own meals. Looks like the other depts such as PERHILITAN and PBT etc are now the supporting roles. DL doubts that these depts are going to be happy and he thinks that there could be silent sabotages from them. The Bird's Nest industry in Malaysia is going to be the official 'BABY' under the JPV's care soon. DL says it is in better hand and he regards the JPV as very much more professional and friendy to the industry. All the top JPV officials are very friendy, sincere, humble, committed and dedicated. A few of the Pengarahs were so sincere, humble and honest to admit that they were new and lacked of knowledge of our trade and they invited the reps to guide and teach them so that they could help the industry to the best. DL says he couldn't believe there exist such good officials in Malaysia's Govt dept. Most of the officers he met for the past decades were arrogant and talked nonsence.
Generally, the Bengkel is something very special, positive, good and fruitful for the future of the Industry. Most participants had done their level best to give their best inputs in unity and worked real hard to rush through to complete the sacred mission. DL's comprehensive report on the industry had been printed and distributed to all participants and recommended as a 'must' reading material by the JPV. DL says this is the first time he saw real UNITY shown among all key representatives of the industry. Hopefully that such spirit should continue. This is the best and most important and productive meeting ever this industry has since its birth in Malaysia. This could be the beginning of the ending of the bureaucratic procedures with red tapes that haunted this industry since the past. Let's keep our fingers crossed to see if the JPV could really do wonder by going against the tide for the industry as promised by the Ketua Pengarah, Dato Dr Aziz of the JPV in his open ceremony speech. Indeed he is a really highly respectable, amicable, sincere and humble figure. All participants really gave him the high respect and regards after chatting with him. They are very fond of him. A truly rare breed.
Engineer Lee
post Jun 21 2009, 03:40 PM

98 posts

Let's see who are our opponents?

1) Some PBT officials, PBT (PIHAK BERKUASA TEMPATAN) or LOCAL GOVT AUTHORITIES or LOCAL COUNCIL, under the Ministry of Housing & Local Government

2) PERHILITAN, The wildlife department, Ministry of Environment

3) Public complaint unit, Ministry of Prime Minister

Who are supportive of this trade?

1) PM

2) Dept of Veterinary Service (DVS or Jabatan Perkhidmatan Haiwan), Ministry of Agriculture.

3) Ministry of Finance

4) Ministry of Trade

Now, have you noticed it? Can you see the difference?

Ok, it is due to the public complaints again.

It all boils down to which department will receive the complaints and face the music from the top or pressure from the politicians who champion for the rakyat.

PBTs are the local "tai ko" or big brother who will be the first to be pressurized by the public if the BH creates social problems and mess up the relationship with their neighbors.

We should understand that without PBTs playing their roles in regulating and monitoring on this industry, nobody else can do that. This is because they are the local "tai ko" and like it or not, we have to live with the fact that they are the so-called little Napoleon who can affect our destiny. If they say can, sure "boleh", if they are 50-50, we must convince and sweet talk them to buy-in, if they insist saying ''no" then sorry to say that you have to say "sayonara" to your investment (jokinglah...). As such, making their lives unhappy is the last thing we should do & think of.

As a matter of fact, we can't deny and undermine the important roles of the PBTs.

Tell me,
Who should be held responsible if a BH collapses and takes away lives?
Who should be blamed if a BH causing fire hazard if the wiring is not properly done & causing short circuit?
Who should be sued if the water leaking from the pond is left unattended?
Who should be fine if the external sound blasts in the middle of the night due to malfunction of the timer?
and the questions go on...

The core problem and very fact is: most of the BH owners do not stay near to their BHs and do not leave any clue as how to get in touch with them during emergency. (may be due to security reason or fear to face the public wrath). They do not have the contingency plan, and they just sweep the problem under the carpet and let others (PBTs) to clean up their left over shit. This is really unkind and uncool!

Since PBT is the authority to legitimate the BHs and we do not want them to have negative impression on us, the onus is on us to prove to PBT that we can undertake to avoid or minimise public complaints by introducing some good control measures. Until this is done, where our domestic affair is well taken care of, we just do not have the audacity to ask for what we intend to ask for.

To me it is very important that do we accept the fact or not?

Our reputation is being tarnished year in and year out by the industry black sheep who does not give a damn on our neighbors' feeling.

I believe that all these years we have done quite well to teach and brief the PBT about our trade.

However, have we done the same the level best to educate our recalcitrant few or so called black sheep?

It's them, it's their arrogance & uncooperative attitude that bring our boat down together with them, sinking deeper and deeper..

I say we should fight for our own kind till the very end.

But, in the same time we should also go all out to despise the black sheep for their non-professional and non ethical practice.

How can we afford to accommodate and get associated with them?

Use whatever means to control them if not shut them down, if they still refuse to change or take action after all sorts of warning given : is the right thing to do now!

It's now or never, for they have given us a very bad name.

Again like to repeat and stress that the above is only my 6 cents

My sincere apology if It have hurt your feeling.

This post has been edited by Engineer Lee: Jun 22 2009, 12:01 AM
West Wing
post Jun 21 2009, 09:06 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jun 20 2009, 11:45 PM)

Sori, PBT OK, you see that I have this PBT guy fromSeremban on my Right and this smart gentleman on my left and only during the 2nd. days that I knew that he is PM's guy (VVIP from JPV) reporting to the PM on the workshop. I was nexst to him and he was very nice to me listening to me and telling to forward my points all the time...but this guy from PBT is dead against the BHs in town.......meaning over his dead body will he allow BHs in town until my right side guy went up to the front to explain to the floor that the PM allows the present BHs to stay and we are here to discuss ways on how to solve the problems facing the Industry and not to move the present BHs from town. After that, the 3rd. days, the PBT guy from Seremban didn't turn up. Harmonising the industry as they put it.

Most of the departments are nice to the industry although some participants don't understand much of the industry but I did explain to them during the workshop and even telling some to venture into this industry for their retirement with us giving free consultancy.....all except for this guy fom Seremban. He is gentlemen and very polite to me but 100% Anti BH in town so Seremban BHs are going to have plenty of raining days...........wet wet wet.

See, I told you all that we have our PM on our side and since the head with us, the rest do follow........with some exception hard headed. God bless PM to see us thru the storm.........

Added on June 21, 2009, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(chitchai @ Jun 21 2009, 02:06 AM)
Uncle westwing,
I know u r very tired after your hardwork fighting for bh in town.  I thought this idea might help to "shorten the night sound" for people, and to reduce internal amp to just one.  I don't know if anybody would be interested.

What I did (may be people already done that, sorry) was to make internal sound file of 1 hr.  After that copy them and rename them to:
06,07,08,... upto 19, to conform with the actual time we play the internal sound (19 being 7pm).  Secondly, use audacity to adjust the original file to lower output volume (50% output, use "amplify" command), and copy this in names of 20,21,22,23.

Doing this will play the loud internal from 6 - 19:00 and after that the sound will be low (very soft) from 20:00 to 23:00.  No sound after 2300.  This requires only 1 amp for internal; no need to switch amp at night, or to play 24 hrs.  Reason behind this is that night sound may be not that important, according to your suggestion.  I am using this system right now.  If anybody interested I can elaborate more, or I can do your file for free (but I might keep a copy of your internal sound, hehe).

By the way, Could you tell us what kind of internal piezo tweeters you use in your BH? (with or without coil, the MQ or the cheap kind..?)

I think many, including me, would love to know that. Also the number of tweeters recommended for 1 floor too. Thanks.
The workshop @ Seremben disallow bird sound after 8pm and I didn't object to it and why sould I as I never use night sound for all my BHs.
As for the sound, I use my ears to determind if it is loud enough and I just tune it just the way I want and I start from there and adjust it only if the birds fail to respond....anyway, that's my way and most Sifus do feel differencely. Whether to use night sound, I determine by the shits and so far, all OK......think like a bird and from the point of the birds and you be OK, too. The workshop didn't allow DK or window type, I didn't object to that , too for all I am concerned is that they allow us to be pemanent and forever in town and not 1,2 or 3 years......and that's the only message that I want to delver and I am happy that we did......

Most importance of all, you have the rights but always remember that your neighbours do have rights, too. As the PBT guy said, you BH owners only a few hundreds, the raayat a few millions. Compromised and we want to stay but we will solve all the complaints...........think like your neighbors and you be OK, too.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jun 21 2009, 09:23 PM
Lucas 1
post Jun 22 2009, 12:13 AM

236 posts

It looks like our poor hero, West Wind was sandwiched with one pro and one con on each side. He together with the pro whacked and whacked till the con disappeared and dared not to appear the next day........wow, well done, West Wind......two hands salute to you.......hehehe.........West Wind even tried to convince the Pengarahs and the Pegawai of JPV to invest in BH for retirement fund.......wah lau......very smart strategy......another salute to you...... Btw, DL confirms that at least two approached him showing real keen interest, he referred them to Haji Aziz......never expected can have business there too.......hehehe.....

Mykc
post Jun 22 2009, 12:39 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Jun 19 2009, 10:18 PM)
My hometown is Alor Setar.

May I know which taman?

Thanks in advance for the info.
Wow..looks like many frens interested in my place.It's near river,outskirt of Alor Setar..Sorry I don't want to expose the exact location as there are many new comers here,just don't want to invite anymore.

I still want to emphasize 1 thing: only a very few BH grow really fast,most of the others not that fast.I guess location no problem,the key is its design.
West Wing
post Jun 22 2009, 01:25 PM

1,397 posts

Haji of GEM shouldn't have brought the topic of All C and only he was the only M there and make the industry look like a chinese owned industry and that the M weren't given the chance in the industry and were not given opportunity to represent themselve and also there is only or look like only one M is in the industry.

It make us all look bad, sound bad and discredit us for all the effort that we have tried and successfully in getting so many Ms into the industry.

I wasn't invited but I invited myself because at the last minute, DL told me that I should be there for BH industry and I begged my bag and leave everything including my buz to be there to lend a helping hand for the sake of the industry.....why can't the Ms be there, too............. I even told DL that I need to sound like begging for the meal coupon cos I wasn't invited to the workshop and so wasn't allocated the meal coupons and Rm58 for a hotel meal!!!! I rather eat outside...

All past and we have all done our best and maybe not to all expectations but then we cannot expect all to appreciate and understanding the reasons for our words and actions there.............
We cannot pleased everyone all the time cos if we do, we end up pleasing no one....what we need to do is what we think is correct and even if some are not pleased, at least we are pleased with ourselve.
Bobby C
post Jun 22 2009, 02:26 PM

663 posts

Thanks guys for all the hardworks.

Another half cent input.

Do agree window and DK (to certain extend) create noise issue. Why DK to certain extend?

Answer: Many times depend how the sound travels. How many feet away your DK from your building edge. If DK directly in front/at the edge of building it will be no different from window entry.

If DK locate >20 ft away from building edge (consider flat roof top) like staircase DK at the roof top that will be another story. Noise and asthetic issue can easily be resolved. Concrete DK can solve noise issue easier compare to zink DK as sound can be contain in certain direction. Whereas zink type sound wave blast thru all direction 360 degree.

Therefore town planning dept can contribute many guildlines how to treat DK rather than just one word NO without considering many other options / alternatives.

Window type cant think of any option to solve sound and asthetic. Any good suggestion. Window curtain etc?!

Know some creative guys just open normal window. Sound only turn on at certain time at certain angle. From outside cannot even differential BH or normal house. But again if too many birds then will be eye catching and invite more complaint.

Why consider DK to certain extend? Asthetic and sound can be resolved. Open roof depend how you do also. Made it like an airwell or broken roof ie asthetically not acceptable. Reason for requesting for consideration for DK to certain extend is security is the main headache for a say 2-storey linked shophouses doing open roof. May be some security experts share view.

West Wing
post Jun 22 2009, 03:10 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Jun 22 2009, 02:26 PM)
Thanks guys for all the hardworks.

Another half cent input.

Do agree window and DK (to certain extend) create noise issue. Why DK to certain extend?

Answer: Many times depend how the sound travels. How many feet away your DK from your building edge. If DK directly in front/at the edge of building it will be no different from window entry.

If DK locate >20 ft away from building edge (consider flat roof top) like staircase DK at the roof top that will be another story. Noise and asthetic issue can easily be resolved. Concrete DK can solve noise issue easier compare to zink DK as sound can be contain in certain direction. Whereas zink type sound wave blast thru all direction 360 degree.

Therefore town planning dept can contribute many guildlines how to treat DK rather than just one word NO without considering many other options / alternatives.

Window type cant think of any option to solve sound and asthetic. Any good suggestion. Window curtain etc?!

Know some creative guys just open normal window. Sound only turn on at certain time at certain angle. From outside cannot even differential BH or normal house. But again if too many birds then will be eye catching and invite more complaint.

Why consider DK to certain extend? Asthetic and sound can be resolved. Open roof depend how you do also. Made it like an airwell or broken roof ie asthetically not acceptable. Reason for requesting for consideration for DK to certain extend is security is the main headache for a say 2-storey linked shophouses doing open roof. May be some security experts share view.
PDL's objection is because they do not want any modiication and damage the appearance of the township, even the bullet holes must go. Although, noice is a serious matter and maybe you can solve the problem but can you assure that all wil follow and abide and what promises can you give. I can't or can you. Even at present, Iam facing diffiuties in gettng the BHs in to reduce th sound that cause complaints from the neighbours. One even dare me to report the matter to autorities. What I want it that the town's BHs remain not one, two or three but forever. Like using the urtra sound reccommended, although that it solve the sound problem but we all know that it's useless. Why????? What the birds hear, we hear...but what we hear,the birds hear too......so, it need the high and low to make sense to the birds............

woojia
post Jun 22 2009, 04:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Jun 19 2009, 11:37 PM)
Yes, Brother Semuabumi is right. He is on our side.
ha,ha. i think u all get whti meant, our fren is here
u broken engelish is very good. but the more u try to misleading us, the more u tell us u r JA.... whistling.gif rclxub.gif

Added on June 22, 2009, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Jun 19 2009, 10:43 PM)
Uncle ben  ai ya how can I am James or Harry Cok . I just tell the true what I see . Do not worry I am always on your side one.
sure ah??
dare u swear u r not james??
if u r james, then ur farm will "koyak" , all the bird are "pergi".wht ever farm u do never success. u r family.......
if u r not james, then u no need to wori abt ths
but i knw u dare not to swear
now i "tembuk" u already, every1 knw who r u n ur true "perangai"

hi every body, i not going to respond again. hope u all be carefull with ths guy

This post has been edited by woojia: Jun 22 2009, 04:24 PM
Bobby C
post Jun 22 2009, 06:46 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 22 2009, 03:10 PM)
PDL's objection is because they do not want any modiication and damage the appearance of the township, even the bullet holes must go.  Although, noice is a serious matter and maybe you can solve the problem but can you assure that all wil follow  and abide and what promises can you give. I can't or can you. Even at present, Iam facing diffiuties in gettng the BHs in to reduce th sound that cause complaints from the neighbours. One even dare me to report the matter to autorities. What I want it that the town's BHs remain not one, two or three but forever. Like using the urtra sound reccommended, although that it solve the sound problem but we all know that it's useless. Why????? What the birds hear, we hear...but what we hear,the birds hear too......so, it need the high and low to make sense to the birds............
Agree, bullet holes, cannon holes all must go. These are all asthetic problems which can be solved prior plan / photos submission for license approval. Asthetic issues can always be resolved, failure which license can be withheld/withdrawn. That's reason why town planning approval/input is important how to treat or hide the DK. Architects are good in doing these job. Simplest way is to say all DK must go but there are alternatives which solve asthetic issues and also improve(not full prove) security issue. Window hole can also improve but no way to solve sound issue unless no tweeters allow for window. Tweeters only allow for open roof or DK with council approval etc.

Sound is the most tricky part. You can comply to 40db today tomorrow after getting approval full blast 100db, complaint next week, tuned down full blast again next mth.

With licence registered BHs, council get down the owners handphones/house phones/office phones full blast their phones if owner refuse to comply. Failure which letter of warning 1, 2 and last 3 warning letter closure/suspension like traffic offence. So council can take note/keep track/identify some of the blacklisted BHs and mostly good ones (assuming all with licenses in future) and take necessary action.

Hey, rather than saying all harams, giving license actually help the councils to keep track and control BHs in town.

Just some half cent opinions.

122 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:12 PM