122 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

tangsn
post Jun 28 2009, 06:56 PM

37 posts

To all johor farmer and swiftlet lover:

Please don't suport the swiftlet Eco part .If the support Swiftlet ECO park is supported by the buyer,that mean who are in the wining situation,then what will happen to the town swiftlet house?
ChanK
post Jun 28 2009, 09:46 PM

451 posts

Its been days we posted the docs...anyone with any other comments on those docs??

Use this forum to group our strenghts .....no point each of us liked making one blog and talk the same thing and still ends up at the same point.

we are just liked those bn associations where each of them want recognition or they are THE ONE instead of concentrating in the issue itself.....

This forum is one of the most read in Malaysia by farmers n govt officers, use it !!!......

If we ourselves can't even be a strong team and fight the evils as a team, don't blame anyone !...

This post has been edited by ChanK: Jun 28 2009, 09:49 PM
birdfarm
post Jun 28 2009, 11:50 PM

19 posts

smile.gif Fully agreed with ChanK & Tangsn that we need to work as a team to expose the evil intentions of the ECO Park Developers. In this respect I proposed to write a elaborate paper to alert our Swiftlet Farming Associations and Government and potential investors and the Public on the impending Financial Scandal/Economic Disaster for the country & innocent investors where Billions of Ringgit will be wasted to build "White Elephants" Bird houses in the middle of No-where called Eco Parks. This scandal may be bigger than the 12.5 Billions Ringgit PKFZ( Port Klang Free Zone) Scandal currently hotly debated. The Eco-park is conceptually non viable business which will fail from Day 1 because the Return of Investment(ROI) is too long and the Financial Returns is too low to justify the Construction costs of the Eco Parks. As a Swiftlet farmer and knowing many Swiftlet Farmers, we all know how difficult & frustrating to make a Sucessful Birdhouse with a decent income. Typically less than 30% of all BHs are successful and normally take many years except those "very lucky" early Swiftlet Farmers with NO COMPETITION near the coastal areas. Most Town Swiftlet Farmers do not spend much investment in the property because they either bought the unused properties before the Currency Crisis in 1997 and the shoplot is idling. So they convert them to Birdhouse. OR they bought the 2nd/3rd floor at dirt cheap price because owner cannot rent out. However it is a different story for ECO PARKS. Hundred of Millions/Billions of ringgit of investment to build this BH Building in the ECO park from scratch i.e. Piling cost, Concrete, Steel, etc, Construction costs, Infrastructure such as roads, electricity, water etc... and those "Hidden costs" for the licenses etc!!! As there will be many ECO Parks springing up every where in Malaysia. hence Billions of Ringgit invested. The OUTCOME: After 3 years only a handful fo the Birdhouse in each ECO PARK will be successful and majority left HIGH & DRY parting with few hundred thousand ringgits debt to the Bank which they need to service the loan! many will be bankrupt & commit suicide and leaving many broken famillies. Also because of this Selfish ECO PARKs Developers , they will ask the Government to stop all the Legitimate Town Bird Houses which will cause Billions of ringgit investment go down the drain and cause hardship and suffering to thousands of innocent hardworking swiftlet farmers. Finally all this "Rat" Ecopark "BAST#### will disappear in thin air making millions of "dirty money".

Please PM to me all the infomation that all honest people have and we will pen down a"Official" Document to expose this potentially serious NATIONAL SCANDAL of the Swiftlet Farming ECO PARK Rubbish! and to prevent another scandal similar to PKFZ scandal!!! To be Continued! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE(ChanK @ Jun 28 2009, 09:46 PM)
Its been days we posted the docs...anyone with any other comments on those docs??

Use this forum to group our strenghts .....no point each of us liked making one blog and talk the same thing and still ends up at the same point.

we are just liked those bn associations where each of them want recognition or they are THE ONE instead of concentrating in the issue itself.....

This forum is one of the most read in Malaysia by farmers n govt officers, use it !!!......

If we ourselves can't even be a strong team and fight the evils as a team, don't blame anyone !...
West Wing
post Jun 29 2009, 05:25 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Jun 27 2009, 09:27 PM)
Hmm..look like we Johorean are being put at crossroad. While we are having sleepless nights trying to catch a thief in front, some developer of swiftlet eco park is trying to stab us from the back. What would you do if that occurred to you?  Which one will you tackle first?

In my humble opinion. For thieves, when we see them running off with our nests, we fight till the last breath. As for developers,  we will fight with them when they show up themselves undisgulsed. On other note,  If our senior has shown strong interest in eco park recently, surely he can tell the good developer from the bad and we can take cue from there, can't we?  icon_question.gif
So, you are Johorean, what are you going to do and actually, what are you all Johoreans going to do?? Be one cos' no one can help you if you didn't help yourself....even God only help those who help themselves.

I can only give you moral support and prayers, too and so are many in the forum. We don't know of any strong Poilticians and VVIPs in Johor to give you the leverage and support needed.

In Eco-Parks owners are the culprits, boycott them by not buying into their bird parks and also refusing to supply them with the new birds. Buyer knowing that they will fail if they invest in the bird park will not buy; then the Eco guys will not dare to disturb the peace............By supporting the town BHs will be a Win Win way out for otherwise, there will be no new birds to share.

Eco Park Bosses, you should know that your future lie with us, we live, you live and if we are to be force out, we will prepare to take you with
us....................

Small size Eco Parks will have a very bright future if they are willing to work hand in hand with the town's BHs with the Ecoparks as the future with the BHs@town as the present so without the PRESENT, there will be no FUTURE. Secure PRESENT, Secure FUTURE. Remember this, my Ecoparks friends.

Otherwise, Dome Days for the town's BHs now, Dome days for tomorrow's Ecoparks. Mark my words.........
birdfarm
post Jun 29 2009, 11:12 PM

19 posts

smile.gif Although the "Working Paper" posted by ChanK specifically targeting the Johor State, the problem for the ECO Parks is going to be a National one as GREED knows NO BOUNDARY. Our Johor Swiftlet farmers network are beginning to act on this "Working Paper" and to ensure that the lies & inaccuracies describe in the Working Paper are being disputed and shot down at the Johor State level. As a additional strategy, we need to urgently draft a factual & convincingly "Paper - Fraud in the Swiftlet Farming ECO Parks "(in Bahasa, Chinese, English) to highlight the "economic & financial suicide" this Eco Parks going to bring to the unsuspecting investors, public & country because this EcoParks conceptually is Flawed, UNWORKABLE", Non-Viable Business proposition bordering on "Cheating" investors money". This "Paper" should be written with all the facts & figures. As I mentioned earlier, I am willing to volunteer for this Task But I will need all the "info" from all our Swiftlet Farming friends, Goverment supporters, Public all over Malaysia! Please PM me for any assistance you can offer, DON"T JUST SIT AND READ THIS BLOG, DO SOMETHING! As I mentioned earlier this BATTLE for our Swiftlet Farming is only the Beginning!" Let us all put our Heads together to win this WAR! To be Continued! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE(West Wing @ Jun 29 2009, 05:25 PM)
So, you are Johorean, what are you going to do and actually, what are you all Johoreans going to do?? Be one cos' no one can help you if you didn't help yourself....even God only help those who help themselves.

I can only give you moral support and prayers, too and so are many in the forum. We don't know of any strong Poilticians and VVIPs in Johor to give you the leverage and support needed.

In Eco-Parks owners are the culprits, boycott them by not buying into their bird parks and also refusing to supply them with the new birds. Buyer knowing that they will fail if they invest in the bird park will not buy; then the Eco guys will not dare to disturb the peace............By supporting the town BHs will be a Win Win way out for otherwise, there will be no new birds to share.

Eco Park Bosses, you should know that your future lie with us, we live, you live and if we are to be force out, we will prepare to take you with
us....................

Small size Eco Parks will have a very bright future if they are willing to work hand in hand with the town's BHs with the Ecoparks as the future with the BHs@town as the present so without the PRESENT, there will be no FUTURE. Secure PRESENT, Secure FUTURE. Remember this, my Ecoparks friends.

Otherwise, Dome Days for the town's BHs now, Dome days for tomorrow's  Ecoparks. Mark my words.........
Lucas 1
post Jun 30 2009, 12:45 AM

236 posts

Well done, birdfarm. By the way, where are you from? Swift4ever, we know you are from Johor. Who else in this forum is from Johor? Would any of you mind physically to help the Johor Association to share out the burden? Presently, this Johor Bird’s Nest Industry Merchants Association is headed by a PHD, Dr Tan Boon Siong who is a semi retiree. Dr Tan is a very dedicated, sincere and committed committee who is tasked to make a counter proposal. He would need a lot of positive ideas and inputs. If any of you is prepared to share in, please pm me for his contact. Dr Tan lives in JB. David Lim is doing his best to help in too. Meanwhile, the rest of us can help in by continuing to find positive solutions and inputs through the discussion here as suggested. So far only a few responded positively. What happened to the rest?

ChanK
post Jun 30 2009, 08:14 AM

451 posts

If you read the paper properly, their arguments are so weak that we can tackle it so easily if we group in a few caliber farmers to write a counter proposal..in fact we don't have to if we make used of David Lim paper in bahasa malaysia where most of the issues already been discussed and with solutions.

Only we need to add in some local flavors.... Johor.....your area, u know more than us why the govt should let town farms exist forever......

why so many peoples build farms in town....

I only know of one case, Kota tinggi, after crossing the bridge...the area is prone to flood. and the govt already urge those who do business to move out as it is dangerous for them to operate there. So, If the farmers can't even keep swiftlets there...why don't u ask PBT what they want to suggest to make use of that area???.....Jurassic Park????....

THere are many many many many many many many abandon shops in JOHOR!!....Thats why There are so many farms there....

AND THIS INCLUDING SELANGOR!!!.....AND IN WHOLE MALAYSIA!!!...

In fact the govt should arrange a site trip to all PBT officers to show them around Malaysia and let them COUNT HOW MANY ABANDON PROPERTIES IN MALAYSIA !...

As we always said...we need two hands to clap...Eco Park cannot do the evil things alone, they needs support from the Mighty Power. So, we need to Convince the Mighty Power, which is actually Titanic waiting to hit the `Ice Cube' to fall....we need to convince them that they needs us TOO to survive...

50 50 is far better if u ask me ...... we should not always remember the old times ....if we can forgive Annuar, we can forgive anyone as long as they Take good cares of us.... No one is perfect....

Birdfarm, good points.

This post has been edited by ChanK: Jun 30 2009, 08:26 AM
Bobby C
post Jun 30 2009, 09:57 AM

663 posts

Some of the points in reply to the working paper:-

i. Claim of unmanned BHs potential cause of short circuit and fire.
Ans:- Short circuits can happen any where not just BHs. If the claim was true, many unmanned warehouses, substation etc would have caught fire and burnt down.

Solution to prevent short circuit is to install earth leakage circuit breaker (ELCB) and miniature circuit breaker (MCB). Fauty circuit either phase to phase or phase to earth can be cut off immediately upon detection.

ii. % of unoccupied office/shop/upper floor in Johor based on Rehda/ERA... reports. BHs in town actually help many landlords to recover from their financial losses since the last financial crisis. Property boom experience in many towns around the country since 2005 was mainly due to this new found industry. Property price in some abandoned projects in country has risen double since the discovery of this new found industry. Town councils in fact would be benifitted from this industry through licensing and assessment fees.

iii. Swiftlets are actually natural habitants of the towns in Peninsular/Sabah/Sarawak prior to discovery of its value. Breeders are only capitalised on what already in existence in the towns ie swiftlets and empty shoplots/ untenanted upper stories to invite the birds to stay. In fact many successful BHs actually discovered by accident by the owners/developered prior to demolition. Swiftlets flew in naturally and breed in these abandoned houses. Government should encourage fellow Malaysians to explore this new found industry right at their door step/kampungs without the need to spend another tens or hundreds of billions to develop Ecopark.

iv. Based on the paper, number of registered premises in Johor around 1918. If only 20% of the BHs in Johor managed to obtain council's license, total number of BHs in Johor should be around 10,000.

If another new 10,000 BHs to be constructed at the Ecopark in replacement of the existing with average cost per unit around RM400,000.00, this will sum up to additional investment of FOUR BILLION RINGGIT RM equivalent to PFKZ current losses!

v. BH industry is considered a high risk industry with probability of failure of 75-80% based on figure obtain from the market. If 4 BILLION RINGGIT RM to be invested in the state of Johor alone for Ecopark with the risk of failure of 75-80%, this figure alone tell us this is not a viable investment. With 75-80% of the property in Ecopark fail to recover from the investment, this potentially turn the Ecopark to another abandoned project similar to many areas in the country like Bukit Beruntung/Lembah Berdingin/Nilai....(quote the ones in Johor).

vi. Many breeders in towns are currently looking for buyers due to slow growth. Property in town in fact is much lesser risk as ground level can be rented out to pay for the bank loan. Security wise it is much safer than Ecopark and farm land. The fact is bank would not give out any loan for construction of BH in farm land explains the banks aware of the high risk their are exposed to as standalone building in the middle of no where like Ecopark or farm land of no value to the bank.

vii. Ecopark in Manjung is the best business model to rebuke Ecopark. Anyone has any update in Manjung?

Anyway, just my half cent hope can be of good use. Feel free to edit.

ChanK
post Jun 30 2009, 10:22 AM

451 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

YES !!!!.....THATS WHAT WE NEED....POSITIVE, CONSTRUCTIVE, WELL WRITTEN ARGUMENTS!!!...

DL....MAYBE U ARE RIGHT...WE CAN FIND SOME GOOD CALIBER FARMERS HERE ...
West Wing
post Jun 30 2009, 12:37 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Jun 30 2009, 10:22 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
YES !!!!.....THATS WHAT WE NEED....POSITIVE, CONSTRUCTIVE, WELL WRITTEN ARGUMENTS!!!...

DL....MAYBE U ARE RIGHT...WE CAN FIND SOME GOOD CALIBER FARMERS HERE ...
Like I said in the workshop @ Seremban, 80% of the EBN are from the Towns and therefore the future lie with the the town's BHs in EBN or new birds. Without the BHs @ town and their supports, our PM's ambition of making Malaysia a top producer of EBN will fail.

Hate to say, We must admit also that the truth fact that we also need alot of new BHs to produce enough EBN to make Malaysia one of the biggest producer and if possible the no.1 producer of EBN. This news hundreds of BHs cannot be all coming from from the towns as that will make the whole town blacken with swiftlets so Desa or Ecoparks will need to play a role in this industry but without the town BHs providing the supply of new birds, all of these Desa and Ecoparks will fail although too big a Ecopark will fail anyway. The best way is to spread the BHs into smaller scale of Birds Parks and with the support of the town's line of supply of new birds for the parks, the dream of making Malaysia as the top producer of the EBN may succeed aver a period of time. My suggestion is to build a smaller scale of bird parks at many locations near every one of the successful BHs town, tapping the recources from the town. Getting the town's BHs owners to invest, thereby, encourage them to provide 100% commitment to ensuring the success of the birds parks nearby.

A successful BH of 5000 nests will generate a pool of at least 20,000 new birds and with each successful town will be able to support more than 20 time the number of new BHs only if the town BHs owners are supporting the cause; just you calculate the number of new successful BHs?????? What if the towns aren't supportive or have no reason to support or even denial the existing of the bird parks , zero new bird with zero growth of new BH and all new BHs wil fail everywhere in Malaysia unless birds do come from the sky.

No matter from what angle you look or examine, the final conclusion is that no matter what and why, the town's BHs are here to stay not 3 years but forever. Building wealth for the owners and the nation

Share the wealth...Alhamduellah, .Allah bagi, kami terima as Allah is graceful to provide us with it. IshaAllah, we will be successful to make our PM's ambition come true.

That's my personal argument and comments in the matter and other may have different opinions and best do post and share.

Assalam maualaikom

Added on June 30, 2009, 12:54 pm
Electricity for amplifiers and other electricity items will only be required during the early stages of the BHs and after that, the BH will be self sustained, the only thing needed maybe just water to keep humidity so that the quality of nests be maintained. Even that, you don't need electricity as you can have dry cells water flow control to set the time for the water to flow over the floor of your BH to keep them moist. With the hugh birds population in the Bh, there will be a live band playing and why need any amplifier. Oyes, birds keep the temperature of their nests by circulating around the hatching area in hugh number during hot weather.

That's my humble comments on the matter concerning electrical short circuit

Added on June 30, 2009, 1:14 pmFrom a reader,

1. i read the blog from pak henry from indonesia,i dunno him,but he have mention aroma pemikat DIY from his seminar,actually how u think about it??

Answer: Someone with information on the matter may want to assit this friend.

2. is his seminar will teach us how to do DIY for best aroma pemikat for ourself???
Answer: same as above, please do help as I never attended his seminars at all.

3:and how u think about aroma in BH??actually aroma pemikat is needed in BH???

Aroma, sure especially in new BH and more in unsuccessful ones. Sound to attract their attention and smell to keep them in, must be of right smell or otherwise will keep them away.

4.i am newbie ,really dunno .so just ask u old man advice,actually i am 25 years old young man ,but i like swiftlet farming..

ANswer: Me, no old lah, just bigger than you, hahahaha

5.what is the good method to insulate the heat from rooft at afternoon?? i use pond in my rooft of BH ,is it ok???how deep the water should i put in my pond??

Answer: Read the old postings and you will find many ways to do it. And as for water pood, I don't know if it is allowed or not but you must have at least 16 ins of water or otherwise, you want have steamed fish. Keep very tiny fishes that feed on mosquitoes' larvae and not big one that attract predators to the pood. Personally, I love water pood as temperature control is easy.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jun 30 2009, 01:14 PM
Swiftsarikei
post Jun 30 2009, 01:24 PM

QUOTE(ChanK @ Jun 26 2009, 11:27 AM)
yes..keep cool...click the forum music player n listen to heal the world by jacki.....
Three issues :

1) Noise pollution
2) Hygience
3) worry too many farms in town

these are none issues anymore....

1) open roof type stop the polution
2) clean the birds shits every month.
3) how to deal with this?
first let me thank all those friends taking active role in recently sucessful concluded Bengkel. We, farmers from Sarawak really appreciated all ur effort contributed to fight for the same cause... to keep going bh in urban areas. we understand that the seminar in Seremban was to provide full report to be presented to PM office for his consideration by mid july.

However, the farmers esp from sarikei started to blast the sound like nobody business again. They r inviting complaints again after forgeting raids by Forestry in march. The farmers r told by association members (last Sunday meeting)attending the seminar that all r going to be fine with the farming in the town. How can these people tell the farmers here that we r allow to operate bh when it is only a proposal to pm office for consideration. In sarawak, we must be very careful as we r not aware of the next move by forestry dept.

Alex or John, or my dear friends fr w.msia, is it truth that we can operate like be4 or remain low profile as these assn heads give a different picture of what is happening in Bengkel. I believe the farmers esp in skei must cooperate by cooling the matter first rather than inviting complaints again. Look like the farmers here r selfish by blasting the sound, some even putting back the monkey house again, and few start the new bh again. We r playing with fire again as they have short memory about raid by forestry because of ill advise fr assn leaders. Please advise these leaders to fully understand the situation be4 informing members. Help please.

Lucas 1
post Jun 30 2009, 04:24 PM

236 posts

Bobby C, very good analysis. Please carry on with other topics.

In order for easy referencing, all of us shall quote the paragraph numbers so not to leave out any proposal unchecked. Some of the proposals are actually irrelevant and out of jurisdiction and considered constitutionally infringing into individual owner’s basic rights. Such proposals we may recommend to be taken out or deleted. What we want is a fair, just and friendly without bias guidelines to encourage and regulate the healthy development and smooth growth of the industry similar to the planting industry while at the same time, nuisances caused to the neighbourhood can be checked and reduced to the minimum. Generally, it should be a simplified and straight forward without undue lengthy bureaucratic procedures and red tapes that could hinder and jeopardise the industry.

Analogical to the agricultural planting industry, such as the oil palm and the rubber plantations, the individual BH that started in township is similar to the small holder while the ECO-PARKs are the big estate companies. Both the BHs in township and the ECO-PARKs could co-exist side by side to contribute to the economy of the country. The small holders initiated the planting industry in the early years and later with funds pooled in, started the big estate companies. Since the ECO-PARKs come later, therefore it is quite natural for its successful rate comes slower. But, eventually, as time passes, these parks would be successful too. However, there are some evil minded and greedy with no moral park owners who couldn’t wait, wanted to fly by night and thus instigated, misled or corrupted certain decision makers abusing their authority and power to faults finding with the BHs in townships to close down the BHs so that the swiftlets had no choice but to fly to these parks. We could imagine what is going to happen politically by 13th General Election, if the state authority really does that now.

It is only a certain unscrupulous ECO-PARK owners with strong connections corrupting and enticing certain politicians in power to collude with agenda trying to make fast kill to gain short sighted personal profit at the expense of the interest of the vast majority and the future economy of the country. Such malpractices of MONOPOLY seem to have become a Malaysian political culture. But this culture could no longer withstand the wrath of the victimised citizens. The Malaysians are starting to reject this evil and dirty culture. Their strong objection and disagreement can be reflected from the 2008 political tsunami with the unexpected fall of the many states considered most corrupted into the opposition’s hand.

Actually, the Johor BH owners should consider they are very lucky. Had it not because of this tsunami, 90 % of the existing BHs in Johor could be already shut down. The balance of 10% belongs to those with strong connection with the authority. There were signs and strong speculation before the 2008 General Election that the Johor Govt would and in fact planned to do so immediately after the election. But their plan was crippled because of the tsunami. Hopefully, the ruling party in Johor learned the lesson. The drastic change in the political scenario is caused by the spontaneous awakening of the people suffered and dissatisfied with the corrupted regime and thus caused the rise up of the PEOPLE’S POWER IN UNITY. This is very positive sign for a country as the mentality and awareness of the general public is starting to mature.

Not all the ECO-PARK owners and the politicians are bad guys. Majority of the park owners are normal businessmen who still have conscience and morality. Not all the politicians in the ruling parties are greedy and corrupted. There are still many good politicians around except that they are facing dilemma whether to fight their own corrupted colleagues or jump ship.

It is time for a change. Change for the betterment for this country. The rise of the PEOPLE’S POWER has proven that UNITY IS STRENGTH. It is time that all BH owners to be really united with one voice. But, please don’t be united only with slogan. Stand up, do something positive by joining in your local associations to give physical help with action. Offer your service voluntarily. Of course, not all the existing association leaders are sincere. In that case, either change them or start a new association. It is public interest matter and not private sedirian berhad. Don’t wait for official invitation card sent to you. Go and approach the committee voluntarily to voice out positive suggestions and helps. If all of you because of been tempted by the lucrative income of this trade, could take all sort of troubles to head hunt the best consultant or ‘SIFU’ and even paid to them to help you to start your BH, no reason you couldn’t have time to offer your help which eventually protects your life saving investment? The Johor situation is rather imminent; please try to contact directly Dr Tan, the President of the association to offer your contribution. Meanwhile, do help spread this message to all BH owners you know.

Swiftsarikei,

The Bengkel was conducted by the JABATAN PERKHIDMATAN VETERINAR (JPV) as officially instructed by the PM Dept to make a full report on the industry. JPV will be playing a lead role in coordinating all the other depts involved as there are too many guidelines and red tapes from different depts claiming to govern the industry. The main reason is this govt under the PM Dept is considering our industry as a very potential foreign exchange yielder and thus intend to tap its potential by studying ways to nurture it and to help the players to maximise it to compete in the international market for its share. At the meanwhile, the govt also wants to ensure that this industry is properly regulated and flourish in the right direction with no untoward nuisances caused to the public, ecology and the environment locally.

The objective of the Bengkel was for the JPV to meet the key and experienced market players to learn the in-depth knowledge and also the numerous problems and obstacles faced by this industry. Many realistic solutions were proposed by the representatives. The Bengkel was considered the most beneficial and fruitful with a lot of positive signs to the industry.

The JPV will be submitting a very comprehensive report to the PM’s office on the 07.07.09. Generally, the report should be friendly and positive to the future of the industry.

Till the official approval and announcement by the Govt made officially with details spelt, this is still just a proposal.

Nonetheless, even if the govt approves and encourages the industry eventually, there is no immunity for this industry to cause nuisances such as noise pollution to disturb the peace of the neighbourhood or to flout the building by laws etc. Also, there shouldn’t be any reason for the BHs to be high profile like the advertisings of the entertainment industry or unless the owner is feeling itchy asking for unnecessary troubles. As a matter of fact, the situation in Sarawak is most problematic as the State Govt of Sarawak has its own agenda. It is trying not to be governed under ONE MALAYSIA’S LAW. So, the Sarawak owners are most vulnerable and should be extra careful. It is best for the Sarawak owners to be cooperative and united now with one voice and discard away any individual personal not so good agenda so that all could survive. Only with UNITY, the evil would not dare you.

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Jun 30 2009, 04:27 PM
Swiftsarikei
post Jun 30 2009, 06:22 PM

Thank so much for the info.,lucas. why the skei assn leaders who had attended bengkel dare to inform members that bn r allowed in the town. As a head, info given must be correct as most farmers here think that they can do like be4 blasting the sound as they like. look into bn near the wharf, near methodist school, opposite sugarbun and opposite civic centre are the ones going to invite trouble soon. Can the assn do someting for those sincere farmers following the laws.

I wish to advise the skei assn that is only proposal drawn by good team of farmers plus supportive govt official to our bn industry. Dont be smart to tell members all r fine for bh. We stil have state govt n those selfish politicians wanting to introduce eco park in mukah to block our way. Lucas is correct to say sarawak state land code is different which meant that our state may not respect the federal bh guidelines introduced.

I appreciate & thank our assn leaders 4 taking part in the seminar but please do inform us what is actually happening not simply counting chick be4 hatch. In sarawak, esp central region, bn business is hot topic in every coffeeshop. Most farmers r not aware of what is happening depending on assn 4 info. We, sarawak bh farmers must be united as new guidelines if accepted may not be implement here. Then, we got another battle to fight as our state govt is also coming out with new laws strictly prohibited bh in town. If dont believe go ask forestry or state planning unit.

We must remain low profile as with less complaints, the longer we buy time 2 operate town bh. As most of you agreed with me that our bh industry r spoilt due few selfish farmers. I salute to our sarawak team,alex,john,ben,others and w.msia bro 4 wonderful contribution to this beautiful bn industry. We r confident & believe bright future ahead esp with encouraging response fr PM. Look forward good news.

[/quote]

West Wing
post Jun 30 2009, 06:38 PM

1,397 posts

Again and again, we hear complaints about irresponsible BHs owners and sometime, I wonder if we are doing the right thing.

That's the reason that I didn't object when the DK and window type entrance were bought up....cos, our Local authorities and the local Association received so many complaints that I am shameful to mention them all. Again and again, we give advice, and they follow it for a a week or two, then come again the Saturday's night fever and all cause by those from the opened window types and DKs. Although, the open roof or air well sometime has loud sound but they are directed toward the sky and cause no complaint. When no complaint, we sleep well so why should I protest at the workshop as some @ workshops did asked me why I didn't protest on DK or open window type but why should I? If they think that it should be allowed, then they should rise up to present their own case.

Now and for the present period, we should all follow some sort of self restrain for a better future and avoid causing pain and ill feeling from our good neighbours.who so far have been very understanding and considerate toward our BHs....but never take that or them for granted as they can turn the table against us before the recommendations really become any Laws or conditions for the BHs.

A Win Win way out is what I advocate but I really don't know if you all do share the same feelings. We have rights but the public do have rights.
As the PBT representatives said that We, the BH owners are thousands but the non BH owners are millions but for any objection, there must be a reason and we @ the workshop have be able to produce a solution to all the complaints whereby we can coexistent in harmony and peace. Let us share and make friends and love among neighbours by solving and help our neighbours to understand us better. We were able to defend our industry at the workshop well with the great support of many of the friendly government departments whom share our goal. Can this last ? It won't if the a few present BHs owners aren't going to cooperate but selfish and greedy or what have you.

Sometime, I wish that I am not in this trade, then I can complaint or throw chemical into the BH behind my house to destroy his BH who are giving my family sleepless night but then I am in the trade and only way is to tell him to lower his sound and that's will only last a week or two. So, if the government ban open window type, I will be the first one to be really happy.

Anyway, that's my personal view in the matter and any offence is unintended at all.

Bobby C
post Jun 30 2009, 06:48 PM

663 posts

Thks guys, didnt know half cent also got some value ... hehe.

Too busy to earn a living no time to do detailed study on the old property reports. If we can find the reported figures in Johor may be can help to substantial our claim.

Anyway for brain storming purposes just throw out any idea. Forumers feel free to debate, discuss and direct if idea doesnt make sense.

ChanK
post Jun 30 2009, 06:58 PM

451 posts

swiftletsarekei,

maybe the association just want to calm u guys n did not intentionally gives out wrong message to u.

The only problem we might face is newcomers....all those in this industry already know what we need to do.

we need to restrict/advice/ensure all newcomers do the right things when they build new farms in town.

One : They need to register as member of bn association.

Two : BN association need to have a senior member to brief them what they can do and cannot do. failing so, bn association can report this newcomer to the majlis to take action if the newcomer do not take the advice and go kacau the neighbourhood by turning on sound loud or erect monkey house.

We need to do it to saveguard all our rice bowl. just make sure this is not been make use by evil pioneer president's or committee members from restricting newcomer entering into this trade.

Sarekei bn association should use this n implement it on their own...instead of waiting for troubles......
birdfarm
post Jul 1 2009, 12:01 AM

19 posts

Thanks Bobby C, Lucas 1, ChanK, West Wing for continuing to pen your thoughts on the issue of the Ecoparks and the rubbish working paper. As Lucas 1 earlier query, I am a Swiftlet Farmer from Johor and are working with a network of Johor Swiftlet farmers including Dr Tan, a good dedicated President of the Johor Birdnest Association which has 11 Districts Associations to fight for the legitimate swiftlet farming primarily in Johor but in spirit throughout Malaysia. We will do battle anywhere where this is injustice to the Swiftlet Farmers! I have a vision that one day we will have a strong Malaysia Swiftlet Farming Association led by a capable Leader. However currently we need to focus on the paper on the ECOPARK Fraud & Scandal and publish as many articles as possible about the potential billions ringgit disaster to unsuspecting investors. To be Continued biggrin.gif .
QUOTE(ChanK @ Jun 30 2009, 06:58 PM)
swiftletsarekei,

maybe the association just want to calm u guys n did not intentionally gives out wrong message to u.

The only problem we might face is newcomers....all those in this industry already know what we need to do.

we need to restrict/advice/ensure all newcomers do the right things when they build new farms in town.

One : They need to register as member of bn association.

Two : BN association need to have a senior member to brief them what they can do and cannot do. failing so, bn association can report this newcomer to the majlis to take action if the newcomer do not take the advice and go kacau the neighbourhood by turning on sound loud or erect monkey house.

We need to do it to saveguard all our rice bowl. just make sure this is not been make use by evil pioneer president's or committee members from restricting newcomer entering into this trade.

Sarekei bn association should use this n implement it on their own...instead of waiting for troubles......
swift4ever
post Jul 1 2009, 12:02 AM

263 posts

So the ball is in Johor court now and we should play it well and make no mistake about it!

We have full confidence in our state association to work out a thorough working guideline in due time albeit it has been delayed for sometime which is not intended for on the association part most time.

On Eco Park, we can assure you the feasibility studies will be conducted further and revealed to show that it is another version of get-rich-quick scheme for benefit of just a handful of people, leaving others roped in to the dream of $$$ never comes true.

To developer who tried to use dirty tactics to lure us into this high risk game plan, I would counter propose to him to have all the cake to himself and eat it too! If foreigners targeted as the buyers only, and given time, return is not as good as you claimed it should be, Aha! you can tell them to wait til birds are aplenty in town!

To the heads and working committee of all associations in the state, maybe good to keep a distance from developer. Your association with them will mislead your members into thinking all is sound and well prior to the counter proposal.

Make a home run for us, Dr. Tan before you go on retiring fully, Just to lighten you little. Hehe.

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Jul 1 2009, 12:17 AM
ChanK
post Jul 1 2009, 08:41 AM

451 posts

We have to explain to the govt officers, it is not easy to make a place becomes swiftlet haven where all farms are successful.

it takes time to grow the birds.

it takes time.

Thats why most eco park failed as they build 50 to 200 units in one shot and all buyers turn on sound in one shot.

WHERE GOT SO MANY BIRDS FOR ALL TO ATTRACT ???

Thats why if u go to eco park now, u will see a very similar situation where...all the farms turn on the external sound SO DAMN LOUD THAT

U CAN'T EVEN HEAR YOU SHIU SHIU WHEN U GO TOILET LATER !!!....

THE PLACE IS NOT WHAT I CALLED SOUND WAR.....BUT FINALE SOUND WAR - EITHER U DIE OR I DIE TYPE !!!....

WHY??.....because all farms not doing well!!!....

When we do build our farm in town, the situation different ..

one pioneer renovated the shop in top floor into swiftlets farm and operate quietly for few years.....

then he told his friend his success.....his friend then tell his friend who stay in the same area....then his friend happen to have one empty shop there renting merely rm100 a month....renovate and turn on sound at minimal n operate for over a year...

then his neighbour saw what he did....get consultant to do it for him..
now, outstation consultant do the design and turn on the sound .....

then all the neighbours saw what he did...then they laugh at his neigbour that where got soh hai go n let birds stay in the shop !!!...

after one year, when the neighbours see the result of this friend...then quietly....all the neighbours searching for consultants to renovate their shops quietly.....and one by one those neighbours who laughed at him all converted their shops into farms...

then after three years, these neighbours friends, relatives all see their relatives farms so successful start to buy up all unused shops n converted it into farms.

SO, DID U SEE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TOWN FARMS N ECO PARK FARMS??

UNLESS THE ECO PARK DEVELOPER SELL THEIR UNITS 3 UNITS A YEAR..THEN I NOT GOING TO OBJECT TO IT.

BUT IF THEY THINK THEY CAN CON/MANIPULATE/MISGUIDE/SETTING TRAPS TO NEWCOMERS INTO BELIEVING THAT ALL FARMS IN ECO PARK WILL SUCCEED !!!...

then we better do some promotion for all eco park in malaysia and teach all newcomers AND ADVICE THEM NOT TO BUY ANY FARM FROM ECO PARKs.

We need to have a paper specifically written to argue/advice/educate all new investors on ECO PARK INVESTMENT ...write it in MANDARIN, MALAY,
TAMIL ....TO WARN/HIGHLIGHT TO ALL NEW INVESTORS OF THE MAIN CON OF ECO PARK.

UNLESS THE ECO PARK IS SITUATED IN THE TOWN ITSELF....I GOT NO OBJECTION AS THE INVESTORS CAN USE THE GROUND FLOOR FOR BUSINESS AND WAIT FOR BIRDS TO COME !!...

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ChanK: Jul 1 2009, 08:48 AM
A ZUO
post Jul 1 2009, 12:56 PM

yo brothers doing bh.........i'm kinda new here and can see that e atmosphere is pretty tense in here. maybe i should write a joke to break e ice brows.gif

A guy is suffering from severe headaches for years with no relief. After trying all the usual cures he’s referred to a headache specialist by his family doctor. The doctor asks him what his symptoms are and he replies, “I get these blinding headaches; kind of like a knife across my scalp and...’’
He is interrupted by the doctor. “And a heavy throbbing right behind the left ear?”

“Yes! Exactly! How did you know?”

“Well I am the world’s greatest headache specialist, you know. But I myself suffered from that same type of headache for many years. It is caused by a tension in the scalp muscles. This is how I cured it: Every day I would give my wife oral sex. When she came she would squeeze her legs together with all her strength and the pressure would relieve the tension in my head. Try that every day for two weeks and come back and let me know how it goes”.

Two weeks go by and the man is back. “Well, how do you feel?” the doctor asked.

“Doc, I’m a new man! I feel great! I haven’t had a headache since I started this treatment! I can’t thank you enough. And by the way, you have a lovely home blush.gif

FYI, i'm not trying to make a fool/clown of myself, just do think dat brothers here need to relax a bit.

This post has been edited by A ZUO: Jul 1 2009, 01:25 PM

122 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:00 PM