V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

aeiou228
post Apr 19 2010, 12:17 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 11:53 AM)
Just under the staircase.
You can actually extend addition 15' x10' floor in the 1st floor to the roving area so that you have a 15'W x 10'L conceal control room at ground floor and install a metal staircase at the side wall to go up to 2nd floor. Your birds can now fly without obstructions.
hackwire
post Apr 19 2010, 12:40 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 19 2010, 11:31 AM)
I have this feeling that when the new act comes out, all must be a member of an Association under this Federal Group as they are the one that the government negotiate with and that the assciation will sort of self govern the industry.

Above is my guessing and prediction of what would happen in the near future.

The Association has solve your export problem if yu are not aware of and other matters as the Fed. do listen to their opinions....
the export problem ? how about the maximum limit per kilo for tourist who buys in malaysia? i think the govt should not have the limit for this as well. it should be open up until supply level is low.

im sure soon all bird nest farmers will be tax for annually soon.

how is this going to change for now? im sure our govt will never let this go easily. every corner also they will tax u. will see what benefits they are going to give and support if they want to tax .

Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 12:43 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 19 2010, 12:17 PM)
You can actually extend addition 15' x10' floor in the 1st floor to the roving area so that you have a 15'W x 10'L conceal control room at ground floor and install a metal staircase at the side wall to go up to 2nd floor. Your birds can now fly without obstructions.
Thanks for the suggestions.
tuckfook
post Apr 19 2010, 01:01 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 11:23 AM)
Width of BH is 30 feet. Length is 60 feet.

Maybe I should increase to 10' ?
The total dimension of the building is important. If the building id a standalone farm then you have the opportunity to build to use the space efficiently.

The roving room should be at the same level as the in/out hole area. Maximize on the roving room and you'll get better results. Think 30ft x 40ft. or more for better light control. In my next house I will devote at least half if not the whole of the topmost floor as a roving room, it also acts as a heat control for the nesting room below.

Inter floor access should be aligned so that birds fly from one level to another without circling much. Small and narrow voids cause the birds to circle and it may be OK for old birds but that'll kill the young birds. Your doors are a sure killer.

I suspect you are trying to make a building that can become an office or such like in case the bird house venture fails. Positive thinking and all out effort make a success of the swiftlet venture. "I will not fail because I will make the best possible for the birds and will keep trying to improve."

hackwire
post Apr 19 2010, 01:12 PM

4,256 posts

anyone find any similarity with bee farms? can bees stay with swiftlet.
can use the ground floor to breed australian bees . i wonder if swiftlet can live with bees or not?
West Wing
post Apr 19 2010, 01:49 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 19 2010, 12:40 PM)
the export problem ? how about the maximum limit per kilo for tourist  who buys in malaysia? i think the govt should not have the limit for this as well. it should be open up until supply level is low.

im sure soon all bird nest farmers will be tax for annually soon.

how is this going to change for now? im sure our govt will never let this go easily. every corner also they will tax u. will see what benefits they are going to give and support if they want to tax .
From what I heard and get and how true they are, I realy don't know as I am just giving some information that I get lah to share with you all.

1.Formally, per Kilo @ Rm100 and now, Rm100 irrespectively of the amount and that's I think is reasonable and I presume that tourists are not be pull up for taking some nests out for gift or personal usage.

2. Export done thru Jabatn Veterinar and not Jabatn Perhilitan.

3. Other not nice things better not discuss here.

Kindly correct me if I am wrong.

Added on April 19, 2010, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 11:34 AM)
WW,

Good day to you !

Care to comment about the BH design ?
Much appreciated.
I am just going to discuss your BH just this one time only since I am the one that suggest to you that design for your agriculture land. I will try to explain the logic behind it.

1.Using the stairway to be the roving area has the advantage as it really save alot of space and you have the large area for you birds to play more than 30 feets high.
2. You need to widen the area ( roving area as they called it) to a larger space taking consideration that your stair take up some space. Consideration must be given to the swiflet ability to circle in the stairway used.
3. This design is most suitable for agriculture land as it protect your BH from being burglary as each floor become a individual BH and the thieves need to break into each floor to be able to steal your nests.
4. I have successfully using the special designed doors as entrance holes and it is so convenience cos in future when you have alot of birds and nests, you may want to close the door leaving small gaps in the metal doors to allow the birds in but keeping the thieves out. Initially, all doors need to be open as you wish to allow the birds free flow into your nesting area and you whole building now is a nesting which does not require a roving area in the BH.
5. Why use the door as the entrance to your nesting are is because no one told you that you need special opening for entrance as the more opening to your nesting area is bad for securities.
6. As I often said, using a airwell type, consideration must be given to a easy movement for the birds. Just imagine a 747 plane coming for landing and your runaway must be long enough or big enough for it to fly away incase it get frighten or scared. When your BH become successful, you not longer need this as your birds now can do a helicopter style to fly into the BH just like pouring water.
6. In all new BH, I rather prefer a larger entrance opening but due to the followings for BHs @ agriculture land, you need to consider

a) Burglary.
b) Wind
c) sunlight
d) Predators

Above, are my comments for my friend, Mr. Yeo and wish him the luck.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Apr 19 2010, 02:23 PM
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 02:36 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 19 2010, 01:49 PM)
From what I heard and get and how true they are, I realy don't know as I am just giving some information that I get lah to share with you all.

1.Formally, per Kilo @ Rm100 and now, Rm100 irrespectively of the amount and that's I think is reasonable and I presume that tourists are not be pull up for taking some nests out for gift or personal usage.

3. Other not nice things better not discuss here.

Kindly correct me if I am wrong.

Added on April 19, 2010, 2:23 pm
I am just going to discuss your BH just this one time only since I am the one that suggest to you that design for your agriculture land. I will try to explain the logic behind it.

1.Using the stairway to be the roving area has the advantage as it really save alot of space and you have the large area for you birds to play more than 30 feets high.
2. You need to widen the area ( roving area as they called it) to a larger space taking consideration that your stair take up some space. Consideration must be given to the swiflet ability to circle in the stairway used.
3. This design is most suitable for agriculture land as it protect your BH from being burglary as each floor become a individual BH and the thieves need to break into each floor to be able to steal your nests.
4. I have successfully using the special designed  doors as entrance holes and it is so convenience cos in future when you have alot of birds and nests, you may want to close the door leaving small gaps in the metal doors to allow the birds in but keeping the thieves out.  Initially, all doors need to be open as you wish to allow the birds free flow into your nesting area and you whole building now is a nesting which does not require a roving area in the BH.
5. Why use the door as the entrance to your nesting are is because no one told you that you need special opening for entrance as the more opening to your nesting area is bad for securities.
6. As I often said, using a airwell type, consideration must be given to a easy movement for the birds. Just imagine a 747 plane coming for landing and your runaway must be long enough or big enough for it to fly away incase it get frighten or scared. When your BH become successful, you not longer need this as your birds now can do a helicopter style to fly into the BH just like pouring water. 
6. In all new BH, I  rather prefer a larger entrance opening but due to the followings for BHs @ agriculture land, you need to consider

a) Burglary.
b) Wind
c) sunlight
d) Predators

Above, are my comments for my friend, Mr. Yeo and wish him the luck.
Thank you very much for the comments, WW. All's well. Air-well good!

West Wing
post Apr 19 2010, 03:27 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 19 2010, 01:12 PM)
anyone find any similarity with bee farms? can bees stay with swiftlet.
can use the ground floor to breed australian bees . i wonder if swiftlet can live with bees or not?
Hahaha...........I know about the bird and the bee children story but I rather not try it at my BH , my friend. Bird and bees don't mix, my simple brain tell me so, better go for sometime that mix like earth worms or eels farming or fish....anything but not the bees.
hackwire
post Apr 19 2010, 04:21 PM

4,256 posts

thanks for the advise. i guess so since bees are insect too.
honey and swiftlet so much different .
both also provide nutrient food but swiftlet have the aging protein and repair cells.

West Wing
post Apr 19 2010, 05:07 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 02:36 PM)
Thank you very much for the comments, WW. All's well. Air-well good!
Looking at your plan, you may put a high entrance hole for each floor if you think that you can't secure the door well against the human/birds. predators.

Again, as always, a suggestion only......
htc
post Apr 19 2010, 07:21 PM

110 posts

brother jo,

any design which has the internals right, birds will like and stay. some even have bird houses made out of the 20' / 40' containers.

so long as the bird can enter to the nesting area, then they can judge the internal conditions and if more interesting and comfortable than previous encounters, then you are king...

have fun and good luck!
GeorgeTown
post Apr 20 2010, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Apr 17 2010, 08:48 PM)
Hello Georgetown, nice of you to drop by into the "Devil's Lair"  thumbup.gif

Let's get the ball rolling, What have you and your readers got against having swiftlet houses in Georgetown ?

Might be appropriate if we start a new topic or thread to be distinct from the present thread of swiftleet keeping. The present thread is very long and can be confusing to newcomers opposed to swiftlet keeping in Georgetown.

Something specific like " No Swiftlet Houses in Georgetown" ? 

I'm sure the current forumers in this thread will keep it very active.
Hi tuckfook,

Good idea, please start a new topic or thread. You can also voice your opinion at:

http://noswiftlethousesingeorgetown.blogspot.com/

Thank you

tuckfook
post Apr 20 2010, 06:11 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(GeorgeTown @ Apr 20 2010, 03:51 PM)
Hi tuckfook,

Good idea, please start a new topic or thread.  You can also voice your opinion at:

Thank you
OK Georgetown, the Ball in in your court. I have started a new topic.

" No Swiftlet Houses in Georgetown, Are Swiftlet Houses good for Georgetown? "

this can be found under 'Finance, Business and Investment House' in this forum

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1397059

Georgetown, invite all your friends to post all your objections and we'll do our best to address them
West Wing
post Apr 20 2010, 07:05 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(GeorgeTown @ Apr 20 2010, 03:51 PM)
Hi tuckfook,

Good idea, please start a new topic or thread.  You can also voice your opinion at:

Thank you
Mr. GeogeTown,

I am not going to post anymore at your blog as you and your friends don't know anything about the swiftlets and sanctuaries so why bother at all to explain to those who keep their ears and mind shut. Nothing can help as your group have kept your eyes closed and so useless explaining if you aren't listening correctly. You need to check your facts first and don't just throw in anything you have cos we are not your enemy but wish to be your friends if you allow us to be. I just want you and your friends to have a clearer picture and the real facts but your friend said that I am a liar and that I can never accept and able to forgive him.

You are thinking that we are all uneducated ppl but please be reminded that most of the BH operators are professional by occupation and only providing swiftlet sanctuaries for retirement, family future and children further education.

All your complaints about the BHs in town can either be solved or they are just nonsenses just an example; decreasing market value for the properties. Just look around you and you will find that properties go up at least double since the industry come to town for without it, the town value will drop like bird shit but never swiftlet shit. It was the industry that help the town properties value and developers from going bankrupt during the last recession period. Without the industry then, many of other down stream biz will also suffer if you get your facts correctly.

Now, agriculture land at good swiftlets locations become so high price also due to this industry and many formally poor kampung folks have became instant millionaires because their land at least increase by 5 times since 10 years ago. My friend just sold a piece of his agriculture land for 50K an acre which he bought just 8K just 9 years ago........

hackwire
post Apr 20 2010, 10:55 PM

4,256 posts

Georgetown , I'm pleased that the Penang Lang had finally cleared the gurney drive beach after a 20 years wait under the bn govt that time. Nothing was done back then n now they discovered tractors tyre n refrigerator there. Ok the low yat forumers here have many educated people around from young to old. Some are so filthy rich n just research swiftlet their whole live. There are lawyers n doctors too who came in here. The blog u created is a shrink. One way . The birds are innocent. We all shit n goes back to ocean, can the shellfish and corals create a blog on anti human. We really wish that you remove some of the wrong facts you had injected to some of the mean people. I'm sure you have good judgement .
huaty
post Apr 20 2010, 11:10 PM

Latest new on Town BH. What shd the existing town BH owner do???

http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2010/04/20/19.html
West Wing
post Apr 21 2010, 10:23 AM

1,397 posts

Wish to inform that Jo Yeo has a excellent way to solve temperature at your BH on agriculture land. This method can isolate heat or cold from getting into the BH and able to maintain the constant temperature in the BH.

I believe that it will work.
Cergau
post Apr 21 2010, 12:01 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 19 2010, 01:49 PM)

Unc WW,
Perhilitan's website shows status quo
Export licence is still issued thru Perhilitan and not thru the vets services
http://www.wildlife.gov.my/index.php/bm/co...g-layang-layang
Cergau
post Apr 21 2010, 12:22 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 21 2010, 10:23 AM)
Wish to inform that Jo Yeo has a excellent way to solve temperature at your BH on agriculture land. This method can isolate heat or cold from getting into the BH and able to maintain the constant temperature in the BH.

I believe that it will work.
Jo Yeo,
Why dun you share what you are doing differently.
Most folks here like to tinker with new toys and methods.
At least it provides us momentary distraction frm all the worrisome events lately.

West Wing
post Apr 21 2010, 12:51 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Apr 21 2010, 12:01 PM)
Unc WW,
Perhilitan's website shows status quo
Export licence is still issued thru Perhilitan and not thru the vets services
http://www.wildlife.gov.my/index.php/bm/co...g-layang-layang
Dear Cergau,

Why not check with Jabatan Veterinari on the subject cos you cannot trust the website as most depts. don't keep their site up to date. I haven't got the time and if you find otherwise, inform me and I will try to contact the Federal Association for the reason and then come back to you on the matter concerned. OK?

122 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:09 AM