122 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Apr 17 2010, 05:36 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(GeorgeTown @ Apr 17 2010, 03:22 PM)
Hello West Wing,

We are the creators of http://noswiftlethousesingeorgetown.blogspot.com/

Thank you for providing comments on the blog.  As you know, your comment was published. 

The goal of the blog is to lobby for the removal of swiftlet houses from urban and residential areas, but everyone is welcome to provide comments.  All comments will be published.

We support open discussion on this issue, as all of you do, so please help to continue this debate on this forum and on our blog.

Thank you
Dear GeorgeTown,

Thank you and thank you as we now know that you have been following us and whatever you don't understand and wish to know the truth, the real truth about swiftlets, you can always welcome to email me or PM me. I will reply you at the earliest possible shortest time as I am with the swiftlets and may not share the same views as all BH owners.

Best of all, we, you and us shall do everything openly as both of us have nothing hidden agenda or reason behind us, do you? If you really understand the swiftlets and wish to preserve the lovely birds, we hope that you and your friends should sit down and talk with the owners of the heritage buildings at Penang or anywhere on how best to preserve the heritage of the old buildings and also to preserve the precious swiftlets.

If we look at history, these swiftlets are already with us in town long before you or I were born and they were staying in wooden shoplots and right under the sleeping rooms of the tenants and till today, the families in these shop house suffer no illness due to the swiftlets............and if you come to my town, I can introduce to you some families that live under the swiftlets and they are the living proof that the swiftlets are harmless..............unless we try to domesticate the swiftlets and hand feeding with artificial food which the ECO guys now try to do at large cheap land away from towns.

Without the income from the swiftlets nests, there will be no reason for these heritage building owners from demolishing the old buildings to make way for new buildings. Old buildings just suit the swiftlets well and the swiftlets tend to go for these old buildings...and these birds flourish in old buildings. Check out with the old buildings owners, some will tell you and show you proof that the swiftlets have been there long ago and why no one ever complaint about dirty five foot way cause by the swallows and pigeon dropping around the town.

I am not saying that all heritage BH building owners are all correct but at least with proper guildlines and rules, everyone will be happy and comfortable. As you are afraid of diseases, what do you think that my life isn't worth as much as your's? If the swiftlets do carry diseases, I shall be the first one to call it a day and even champion the removal of the swiftlets but then, we are more dangerous than the swifltlets as we indeed do carry diseases and create more rubbish.......

If you happen to drop by my town, phone me up and we will have friendly chat over all matters and I can assure you that at the end of the day, we shall be good friends.....and you would not have such thought and unhappy feelings about the whole matter.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Apr 17 2010, 06:18 PM
hackwire
post Apr 17 2010, 05:51 PM

4,256 posts

Hello West Wing,

Thank you for providing comments on the blog.  As you know, your comment was published. 

The goal of the blog is to lobby for the removal of swiftlet houses from urban and residential areas, but everyone is welcome to provide comments.  All comments will be published.

We support open discussion on this issue, as all of you do, so please help to continue this debate on this forum and on our blog.

Thank you
welcome to the low yat swiftlet discussion. finally, we can get you to come in and discuss your problems that you are highlighting. Im sure your facts and source also comes from the people who have knowledge in the industry . After all for some reasons, there may be a possibility of it to happen like the bird diseases but let's not be so quick to jump into the ending that human race will be wipe out by the bird flu virus when almost daily car accidents and even work accidents happened almost every years already. Even H1N1 virus is spreading among the people which mean everyone must be quarantine or starts curfew already.

im from penang and i can tell my fellow comrade that the food hygene in the wet market place and the cats that licks the plates on the dish bucket is more horrible than what swiftlet can do to us. How about the illegal dumpsite of factory waste into the sea. the weld quay jetty where special waste treatment is given to the already polluted sea.

And speaking of horrible sound , yes indeed they should be curb but this is enforcement and complaint job. Why the need to remove all the urban swiftlet farm away when the beauty of birds flocking back into the town reminds me alot of birds tweeting on the telephone poles those days in penang.

Before we start pointing fingers at the one who really made such loud noise, just look around you and almost all the transportation in this country also have loud noise above decibels in the city such as renovation and modified car or motor exhaust pipe. Can the animals or birds complaint to the authorities that they were living here first before we came in?

The law is there but if the bird farmers provides the nuisance to the people and neighbours than they should be taken action. This i will agree as we respect silence and privacy.

oh yeah , one more thing. y u need to remove urban farmers away using misguided information? I would rather remove the rats first .i mean who says rat and human race cannot be a carrier? you have to be smarter than those who said birds were the only want can carry viruses. human lagi dangerous.

West Wing
post Apr 17 2010, 06:10 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 13 2010, 02:15 PM)
does anybody know when is the Selangor merchant meeting. seems like nobody know where and when it's held right?
I have receive a copy of the notice for the AGM

PERSEKUTUAN PERSATUAN PEDANGAN SARANG BURUNG MALAYSIA

BANDAR SUNWAY
DATE: 30/04/2010 TIME:2.30PM

PRESENT BODS

PRESIDENT: DATO' PADUKA BEH H.S.
D. PRESIDENT: DATO TOK T.S.
V. P: DATO LEE K.H.
SEC: MAK S.L.
A.SEC: OOI S.H.
TREASURER: JOHN CHEN J. O.
COM MEM:
TAN Y.T.
ALEX SIM K.C.
WONG T.H.
TSAI M.L.
KOH W.P
PHANG K.W.

As the incoming is Election for Executive Committee Members for the next 2 years, if there is a change in the setup, I will keep you all informed so that you may wish to write to them in future for National Issue on Swiftlets.....as your future depend on it.

ps: I still don't understand why the pedagang sarang burung is still being used as we are not all nest merchants but majorities are BH owners and our future depend on nests merchants as it seem..............Pengusaha Burung Walit should be a proper words, don't you think so. Just a suggestion and hope that it doesn't offend any of the VVIP and Dato Dato of the Association or else !!!!!

This post has been edited by West Wing: Apr 17 2010, 08:20 PM
tuckfook
post Apr 17 2010, 08:48 PM

360 posts

Hello West Wing,

Thank you
Hello Georgetown, nice of you to drop by into the "Devil's Lair" thumbup.gif

Let's get the ball rolling, What have you and your readers got against having swiftlet houses in Georgetown ?

Might be appropriate if we start a new topic or thread to be distinct from the present thread of swiftleet keeping. The present thread is very long and can be confusing to newcomers opposed to swiftlet keeping in Georgetown.

Something specific like " No Swiftlet Houses in Georgetown" ?

I'm sure the current forumers in this thread will keep it very active.

Jackygwh
post Apr 18 2010, 10:57 AM

1,131 posts

any one from kuching ? who invest in BH here? i heard my friend say there is a gov loan for those who do BH in sarawak.... is tat true ? they help u get loan from gov
calvinswiftlet
post Apr 18 2010, 11:22 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Apr 18 2010, 10:57 AM)
any one from kuching ? who invest in BH here? i heard my friend say there is a gov loan for those who do BH in sarawak.... is tat true ? they help u get loan from gov
hi bro ..r u melayu ?if not is not part of u ...only for melayu they have land...
hackwire
post Apr 18 2010, 07:42 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 17 2010, 06:10 PM)
I have receive a copy of the notice for the AGM

PERSEKUTUAN PERSATUAN PEDANGAN SARANG BURUNG MALAYSIA

BANDAR SUNWAY
DATE: 30/04/2010 TIME:2.30PM

PRESENT BODS

PRESIDENT: DATO' PADUKA BEH H.S.
D. PRESIDENT:  DATO TOK T.S.
V. P: DATO LEE K.H.
SEC: MAK S.L.
A.SEC: OOI S.H.
TREASURER: JOHN CHEN J. O.
COM MEM:
TAN Y.T.
ALEX SIM K.C.
WONG T.H.
TSAI M.L.
KOH W.P
PHANG K.W.

As the incoming is Election for Executive Committee Members for the next 2 years, if there is a change in the setup, I will keep you all informed so that you may wish to write to them in future for National Issue on Swiftlets.....as your future depend on it.
ps: I still don't understand why the pedagang sarang burung is still being used as we are not all nest merchants but majorities are BH owners and our future depend on nests merchants as it seem..............Pengusaha Burung Walit  should be a proper words, don't you think so. Just a suggestion and hope that it doesn't offend any of the VVIP and Dato Dato of the Association or else !!!!!
Thank you west wing. this might not be important for me right now as not a member yet. I still don't know what's the reason to be a member in association yet. Is there a purpose yet for those who are still new, into and already into.

Jo Yeo
post Apr 18 2010, 09:03 PM

52 posts

WW & Fellow Enthusiasts,

I seek your earnest comments on the DK design.

Level 1 door entrance is for future expansion of
nesting room which is now a void deck. Can the
birds flying in/or without much hassle ?

Thank you very much.Attached Image
aeiou228
post Apr 18 2010, 10:44 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 18 2010, 09:03 PM)
WW & Fellow Enthusiasts,

I seek your earnest comments on the DK design.

Level 1 door entrance is for future expansion of
nesting room which is now a void deck. Can the
birds flying in/or without much hassle ?

Thank you very much.Attached Image
As far as I can see, there is no hassle to fly out because there is no hole for the birds to fly into the the nesting room. You use the stair area for roving ?
Jackygwh
post Apr 18 2010, 11:49 PM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Apr 18 2010, 11:22 AM)
hi bro ..r u melayu ?if not is not part of u ...only for melayu they have land...
shocking.gif ......... sad.gif i m not melayu.... so not my part... vmad.gif
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 09:30 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 18 2010, 10:44 PM)
As far as I can see, there is no hassle to fly out because there is no hole for the birds to fly into the the nesting room. You use the stair area for roving ?
There are only 2 levels of nesting areas now. Level 2 & 3.
The hole going in and out of the nesting area is the door
opening. Will leave it open all the time. Yes. the area above
the staircase if for roving. 8' wide.
hackwire
post Apr 19 2010, 09:57 AM

4,256 posts

i think u should put the entry hole on the other side since yor staircase is there . the ground floor is gonna be open space for car park ?
aeiou228
post Apr 19 2010, 10:19 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 09:30 AM)
There are only 2 levels of nesting areas now. Level 2 & 3.
The hole going in and out of the nesting area is the door
opening. Will leave it open all the time. Yes. the area above
the staircase if for roving. 8' wide.
I'm not sifu but I can only say the birds won't like your BH.
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 10:19 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 19 2010, 09:57 AM)
i think u should put the entry hole on the other side since yor staircase is there . the ground floor is gonna be open space for car park ?
Entry hole on the other side means 1 door for human access and another just for birds.
For now the ground floor is open space but not for car park.

Added on April 19, 2010, 10:21 am
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 19 2010, 10:19 AM)
I'm not sifu but I can only say the birds won't like your BH.
Flying path in and out too many twists and turns ?

This post has been edited by Jo Yeo: Apr 19 2010, 10:21 AM
aeiou228
post Apr 19 2010, 11:13 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 10:19 AM)
Entry hole on the other side means 1 door for human access and another just for birds.
For now the ground floor is open space but not for car park.

Added on April 19, 2010, 10:21 am

Flying path in and out too many twists and turns ?
The 8' roving is narrow,
The entrance hole to nesting room placement. ( it only designed to accommodate your convenient but not to the birds)
The stair case obstructing flying path for 1st floor.
1st floor entrance door at the center ? What is the width of your BH ?

Added on April 19, 2010, 11:17 amAs a rule of thumb, think a min of 4mx4m for a comfortable fly path when you design your BH.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Apr 19 2010, 11:21 AM
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 11:23 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 19 2010, 11:13 AM)
The 8' roving is narrow,
The entrance hole to nesting room placement. ( it only designed to accommodate your convenient but not to the birds)
The stair case obstructing flying path for 1st floor.
1st floor entrance door at the center ? What is the width of your BH ?

Added on April 19, 2010, 11:17 amAs a rule of thumb, think a min of 4mx4m for a comfortable fly path when you design your BH.
Width of BH is 30 feet. Length is 60 feet.

Maybe I should increase to 10' ?
West Wing
post Apr 19 2010, 11:31 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 18 2010, 07:42 PM)
Thank you west wing. this might not be important for me right now as not a member yet. I still don't know what's the reason to be a member in association yet. Is there a purpose yet for those who are still new, into and already into.
I have this feeling that when the new act comes out, all must be a member of an Association under this Federal Group as they are the one that the government negotiate with and that the assciation will sort of self govern the industry.

Above is my guessing and prediction of what would happen in the near future.

The Association has solve your export problem if yu are not aware of and other matters as the Fed. do listen to their opinions....
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 11:34 AM

52 posts

WW,

Good day to you !

Care to comment about the BH design ?
Much appreciated.
aeiou228
post Apr 19 2010, 11:51 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Jo Yeo @ Apr 19 2010, 11:23 AM)
Width of BH is 30 feet. Length is 60 feet.

Maybe I should increase to 10' ?
30'w should be ok to place entrance at the center if the length can increase to 10'.

To suit your staircase cum roving room cum control room design, use metal zigzag staircase instead of concrete one for space saving and less obstructive to the birds. But where is your control room ?
Jo Yeo
post Apr 19 2010, 11:53 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 19 2010, 11:51 AM)
30'w should be ok to place entrance at the center if the length can increase to 10'.

To suit your staircase cum roving room cum control room design, use metal zigzag staircase instead of concrete one for space saving and less obstructive to the birds. But where is your control room ?
Just under the staircase.

122 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:23 AM