burn into dvd lo.
Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB
Feb 4 2009, 06:09 PM
2,126 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kedah |
burn into dvd lo.
Feb 4 2009, 07:43 PM
2,657 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Highbury House, 75 Drayton Park, London |
Feb 4 2009, 09:22 PM
2,126 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kedah |
Feb 4 2009, 11:23 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
firmware still not 100% resolved..
I'm not updating my perfectly good SD15 drive yet.. (use them as back storage only) |
Feb 5 2009, 02:54 AM
1,070 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
now just pray it can survive.. keep it below 40c should do it..
Feb 5 2009, 03:29 AM
2,972 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: OSINT |
If those newest SD1A (January 09) firmware for SD15 user to upgrade still got a problem, what happen to the HDD that origininally came out from factory with the SD1A firmware (as early by December 08)?
This post has been edited by Irzani: Feb 5 2009, 03:31 AM |
Feb 5 2009, 03:33 AM
108 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KK, Sabah |
just for sharing, i've updated 2 of my 1TB SD15 to SD1A, seems to be working. Im running RAID 1 with them. Will update my 750G soon.
Feb 5 2009, 06:32 AM
1,726 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Taiping Perak |
QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 5 2009, 03:29 AM) If those newest SD1A (January 09) firmware for SD15 user to upgrade still got a problem, what happen to the HDD that origininally came out from factory with the SD1A firmware (as early by December 08)? as far as i know, only december 08 november 08's SG HDD are affected(the ones that are from thailand and china), newer hdd of different model number are not affected.Added on February 5, 2009, 6:38 amabout the Firmware SD1A on ST3500320AS 500GB SG HDD. hmm.. i read alot on other forum says that buffering size memory cache, hdd detecting size 0gb problem and blah blah blah regarding to firmware failure, that they say second version of SD1A doesn't fix the problem yet. is there a 3rd version of SD1A ? please do not confuse us, because afaik, the third version is firmware SHA1(for other type of SG HDD), please do not confuse with SD1A that is suppose to fix Barracuda 7200.11 with SD15 firmware failure. This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: Feb 5 2009, 06:39 AM |
Feb 5 2009, 06:49 AM
866 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: "Pak Pak Kangku Noh" |
seem there are no data for firmware upgrading on seagate website..anyone have the latest firmware for 1TB?
Feb 5 2009, 10:19 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:23 PM) firmware still not 100% resolved.. Update lah. After i update my SD15 drive, there's no more clack-clack sound on boot up. I'm not updating my perfectly good SD15 drive yet.. (use them as back storage only) Anyway, i've bought a WD 640GB and a WD External 320GB the last 2 months.....skipping Seagate for a while until all this is resolved. btw...hmm 1TB backup to DVD...1000/5=200 DVDs??? |
Feb 5 2009, 11:19 AM
321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Should be 250 disc la.... then need to consider fail burn also
Better buy green WD to backup (low power usage, low temperature). No need 7200 RPM for storage hdd what |
Feb 5 2009, 11:22 AM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Hi, all! I am using the same ST3500320AS 500GB SG HDD as well. On my 1st day installed it, I was thinking my m/board has problems, so I made a changes in the CMOS, but it works. Normally the preset QUICK BOOT UP MODE is enable, just disable it, and the HDD is back to normal and using it for months until now. This my sharing here, hope that it will helps you guys.
Feb 5 2009, 05:42 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(expertester @ Feb 5 2009, 11:19 AM) Should be 250 disc la.... then need to consider fail burn also nowadays very few coasters liao (fail burn)Better buy green WD to backup (low power usage, low temperature). No need 7200 RPM for storage hdd what I just used up my 50pcs Sony DVDR (over 1-2year period) , I think zero failure so far that I can recall.. Green WD, got 3 variant. EACS (2 variant, later one, around nov/dec/jan is better) and EADS latest with 32MB buffer.. but agreed, dem cool, compared to my 7200.11 Heaters.. |
Feb 5 2009, 06:27 PM
226 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: PG - Sunway |
Feb 5 2009, 06:37 PM
7,606 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang |
QUOTE(jasonchuah @ Feb 5 2009, 11:22 AM) Hi, all! I am using the same ST3500320AS 500GB SG HDD as well. On my 1st day installed it, I was thinking my m/board has problems, so I made a changes in the CMOS, but it works. Normally the preset QUICK BOOT UP MODE is enable, just disable it, and the HDD is back to normal and using it for months until now. This my sharing here, hope that it will helps you guys. Your scenario reflects that you have a configuration problem of your BIOS, not a HDD problem. |
Feb 6 2009, 04:18 AM
4 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 5 2009, 06:37 PM) Sorry for I didn't make it clear, actually when start up the machine, can't even detect the SG HDD, always showing no HDD. But with my old 160Gb HDD no such problems........only the SG HDD has problems, once disable the quick boot...then all okie. But does it mean the m/board has error? or the HDD has error? |
Feb 6 2009, 10:47 AM
926 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Johor&Penang |
I'm one of the Seagate user that still not update my firmware from SD15 to SD1A.. I've own 1TB, ST31000340AS.
The drive still working now.. In the middle of January 2009, i email to Seagate Support about concerning my firmware because i'm also using SD15 like all of u... But, just today they reply my email... Here i quote the email... QUOTE Thank you for your recent communication via our on line forums/portals. This is a great way of giving our customers a way of expressing themselves directly, and we intern try to address those concerns or issues valued customers like your self may be experiencing. I have read your post and I will be happy to reply to you personally pertaining to the issue that you are having. I want to apologize for the late reply, we have had some system issues that were not allowing our emails to come in to our server, the issue has now been resolved and we are working hard to get caught up. You have mentioned that you are having concerns with obtaining firmware for your drive. I have checked your drive via serial and model number and have found that this drive is not affected by the firmware issue, and that you have the most current version of the firmware for this drive. You Should continue to use your drive as normal. If you are experiencing issues with your drive, please call in to support for troubleshooting assistance. Once again, I want to thank you for your business.. If you still need further assistance, or the information provided was not of good use, please feel free to contact Seagate Technical Support at 800-SEAGATE ( 800-732-4283). Thanks Edgar J. Seagate Technical Support Oklahoma City, OK USA Phone: 800-732-4283 (North America) 00.800.4.SEAGATE (Europe) 1 800 759 109 (Asia, Australia and New Zealand) Web: www.seagate.com/support/index.html ref:00D0hhzl.50035ujGU:ref QUOTE I have checked your drive via serial and model number and have found that this drive is not affected by the firmware issue, and that you have the most current version of the firmware for this drive What the hell is it... Still tell me that some SD15 is not affected... QUOTE If you are experiencing issues with your drive, please call in to support for troubleshooting assistance. If my drive brick already, there is no meaning to call Seagate because my drive is OEM.... |
Feb 6 2009, 11:01 AM
183 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Damansara Damai/Diamond Bay |
QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 6 2009, 10:47 AM) I'm one of the Seagate user that still not update my firmware from SD15 to SD1A.. I've own 1TB, ST31000340AS. actually not all drives with sd15 firmware r affected by this bug...as per instruction in the seagate site...u hv tgo run DriveDetect software to determine if u need to update ur firmware or not...follow the procedure in the SG site...u only hv update ur firmware if both ur model number AND ur serial number r listed as potentially affected drives. therefore, if ur model number is listed as one of the potentially affected drives BUT ur serial number is not then u dont hv to update ur firmware...i'm hv one of the affected drives and i updated my firmware and my HD works fine...not that it doesn't b4 this...just wanna b on the safe side...i updated my firmware...MOST IMPORTANTLY...FOLLOW THE UPDATE PROCEDURE TO THE LETTER...otherwise there could be problem later on... The drive still working now.. In the middle of January 2009, i email to Seagate Support about concerning my firmware because i'm also using SD15 like all of u... But, just today they reply my email... Here i quote the email... What the hell is it... Still tell me that some SD15 is not affected... If my drive brick already, there is no meaning to call Seagate because my drive is OEM.... |
Feb 6 2009, 11:17 AM
926 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Johor&Penang |
QUOTE(chimera @ Feb 6 2009, 11:01 AM) therefore, if ur model number is listed as one of the potentially affected drives BUT ur serial number is not then u dont hv to update ur firmware... You may right,but you also may be wrong..Many cases happen their using SD15 but from seagate check serials say their drive is not affected. But later, their drive also brick.... What you want to say??? |
Feb 6 2009, 11:38 AM
183 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Damansara Damai/Diamond Bay |
@one_guy:
well the only way then is to backup ur HD and get a non-Seagate HD...return the seagate HD for RMA if it is bricked ...that's the only option i can see if that's the case...there's always a way to unbrick the HD...google around or head to seagate forum for solution...i'm no fan of seagate HD...hv always been using WD user...but i think this problem hv been blown out of proportion...even the simplest problem hv been blame on seagate when the problem lies elsewhere...however, having said that...seagate too is at fault concerning their response to the 7200.11 HD and the subsequent release of their buggy sd1a firmware update to replace the buggy sd15 firmware on selected drives... |
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:21 AM |