66 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

vearn27
post Feb 9 2009, 01:06 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 9 2009, 12:27 AM)
Hey,hey...where u get that statement "firmware upgrade not available for OEM units" ??
I already told to seagate person that my drive is OEM..
But they still surely confirm my drive is not affected after they check the serial..
Wonder here whether seagate person "really" do their job to check my serial even they know my drive is OEM..
Read the first post please...

Recommended Firmware Update:
SD1A

So far, the firmware update doesn't work for OEM drives (P/N) ending with 303. And some claim the firmware update DOESN'T fix the bricking issue, just the cache issue. It's up to you to decide whether or not to update. You are responsible for your data.
I guess I put the wrong information, I shall edit my post smile.gif
one_guy
post Feb 9 2009, 08:59 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 25 2009, 10:26 AM)
-Just updated my ST1000340AS! After connecting to PC only realized that the actual firmware is SD15, not SD35 as printed on the drive. And the latest firmware updater also will update all drives, no matter retail or OEM, any part numbers (-300, -303, -568, etc.) - as stated on the updater screen.
Regards.
Musafir_86 is OEM unit and he succesfully update to SD1A... doh.gif
And the updater also support retail or OEM with any part numbers (-300, -303, -568, etc.).... tongue.gif
Err...forgot to mentioned,i already read all the post include the 1st post... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by one_guy: Feb 9 2009, 09:01 AM
Vanquish
post Feb 9 2009, 11:30 AM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 8 2009, 10:26 PM)
My suggestion:
1) Back up your data
2) Make sure you have all the tools necessary for restoration in case the HDD gets locked in BSY or LBA0 mode
Yeah, I'll keep that in mind if I decide to update the firmware, thanks. smile.gif
ar188
post Feb 9 2009, 02:58 PM

9,206 posts

update also may kaput in the future,
dun update also may kaput anytime..

so just use Seagate (non updated working perfectly for the past months) as redundant backup and transfer/continue to WD is best solution.. but costly $$$
vanguish
post Feb 9 2009, 04:09 PM

704 posts

I took back a few of the drives and run HD TACH on it...
take a look at the graphs..

these drives are just less thn 7 days ...

Wratch
post Feb 10 2009, 12:52 AM

deleted

This post has been edited by Wratch: Feb 10 2009, 12:52 AM
frostmourne
post Feb 10 2009, 12:53 AM

219 posts

if this 7200.11 dead, it can claim warranty or not?
if can, all our data in this hdd will burn or not (in case not just in time)?

i successfully upgraded to SD1A last month but still worry coz my hdd started showing signs right now...

ar188
post Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(vanguish @ Feb 9 2009, 04:09 PM)
I took back a few of the drives and run HD TACH on it...
take a look at the graphs..
these drives are just less thn 7 days ...
are these 2 graphs for the same HDD? they were taken 1+hours between each other.
meaning before and after the firmware update ar?
or both graphs represent different units of the same model with SD15 or updated firmware?

Added on February 10, 2009, 8:53 am
QUOTE(frostmourne @ Feb 10 2009, 12:53 AM)
i successfully upgraded to SD1A last month but still worry coz my hdd started showing signs right now...
Aiks! what kind of signs?

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 10 2009, 08:53 AM
ericpires
post Feb 10 2009, 10:04 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM)
are these 2 graphs for the same HDD? they were taken 1+hours between each other.
meaning before and after the firmware update ar?
or both graphs represent different units of the same model with SD15 or updated firmware?

Added on February 10, 2009, 8:53 am

What do the graphs mean - someone explain... ? izzit better or worse after upgrade to SD15 firmware?
Shoot@M3
post Feb 10 2009, 10:23 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

on Data, they will always say they are not responsible for it, so better back it up now before something happens especially you have critical data inside

QUOTE(frostmourne @ Feb 10 2009, 12:53 AM)
if this 7200.11 dead, it can claim warranty or not?
if can, all our data in this hdd will burn or not (in case not just in time)?

crap I already have a unit of the model stated with SD15 cos bought it few weeks back for standby, will try update the firmware before using it then. I guess some of you have updated but not really sure if it fixes the problem, becos need to wait till the time comes when someone's drive, even after updated, will not be detected in bios?

This fix really works?
frostmourne
post Feb 10 2009, 11:31 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 10 2009, 08:52 AM)
suddenly when in windows, my pc slowing down.. hang a while..
then i restart, appear bla bla bla and ctrl+alt+del to restart.. something fail,BOOTMGR or what i don't remember it.
and i see in bios, still detect my hdd 1tb 7200.11 SD1A, but can't boot.. i restart 2,3 time but still happen.
then i try use my other hdd (old seagate 320gb), it successfully logon to windows without any problem.. 2,3 times already tested it and successfull with this hdd.
then i try again use my 1tb 7200.11 SD1A hdd, the problem comes again. i shut down pc and watching TV for a while. ekekekek
after that, i on back my pc and successfully logon to windows with 1tb 7200.11 SD1A.

but i don't know 100% this problem comes from 7200.11 SD1A or not.

This post has been edited by frostmourne: Feb 10 2009, 11:32 AM
chanws8
post Feb 10 2009, 04:24 PM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

Is this problem only happen to seagate 1tb which made in Thailand? Or it's depend on the firmware version?
frostmourne
post Feb 10 2009, 09:30 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(chanws8 @ Feb 10 2009, 04:24 PM)
Is this problem only happen to seagate 1tb which made in Thailand? Or it's depend on the firmware version?
depend on the firmware version i think. 7200.11 SD15.
vanguish
post Feb 10 2009, 10:12 PM

704 posts

First sign is slow down.... sometimes random slow down..

Next the drives will stopped once a while.. meaning it will go missing from the windows os.. if you restart, your hdd will be back again..

Supplier sent me all new 7200.12 drives to do backup and data transfer today..

After this, i'll return the rubbish 7200.11 to them...

ar188
post Feb 10 2009, 11:43 PM

9,206 posts

still send you Seagate?? change to WD lor.. haha!
ericpires
post Feb 11 2009, 12:11 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 10 2009, 11:43 PM)
still send you Seagate?? change to WD lor.. haha!
Seriously, Seagate really should have known better than to release faulty firmware with the hdds... until now some say their hdd is ok, some not after updating to the SD15 firmware
jimmylim85
post Feb 11 2009, 12:57 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

is seagate 7200.12 version of hdd safe to use?

Is it only affected by seagate 7200.11 only?
ericpires
post Feb 11 2009, 09:02 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Feb 11 2009, 12:57 AM)
is seagate 7200.12 version of hdd safe to use?

Is it only affected by seagate 7200.11 only?
Dont use seagate anymore bro... just go western digital to save urself from any headaches in the future smile.gif
jimmylim85
post Feb 11 2009, 09:22 AM

iPhone world....
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Feb 11 2009, 09:02 AM)
Dont use seagate anymore bro... just go western digital to save urself from any headaches in the future  smile.gif
But Seagate 7200.12 series have at least 32mb cache compared with WD just 16mb cache. Don't you think the performance is going to be affected?

DEz012
post Feb 11 2009, 10:35 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 9 2009, 08:59 AM)
Musafir_86 is OEM unit and he succesfully update to SD1A... doh.gif
And the updater also support retail or OEM with any part numbers (-300, -303, -568, etc.).... tongue.gif
Err...forgot to mentioned,i already read all the post include the 1st post... tongue.gif
I'm using the OEM 1TB with P/N -303 & Made in Thailand still i update to SD1A firmware, no problems so far.

66 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:56 PM