Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

one_guy
post Jan 15 2009, 12:12 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(thh1212 @ Jan 14 2009, 09:08 PM)
After i read through all the forums and links, so far i only saw products of thailand are infected. AllnGap selling 1 is from China. Hopefully no problem gua~ coz i also owned 1
AllnGap is selling Seagate product of Thailand. And it's have SD15 frimware.. I already check...
Waaaa.... i also, buying from AllnGap last month.. And the warranty for OEM is only 3months. Should i ask for refund or just wait my hard disk to die??? This is crazy,all my important data in there... No money to buy new HDD anymore...
one_guy
post Jan 15 2009, 12:48 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Jan 15 2009, 12:20 AM)
FYI: I did not buy the HDD from AllnGap, and I'm sure he's not out to get you guys ok?
If AllanGap not pay attention to this matter,it only show that he is irresponsible seller.. mad.gif
At least he can longer the warranty first until Seagate have the solution for this matter because many people already buy the HDD from him last 2 month..
By the way, i already pin point this matter to him... icon_question.gif
one_guy
post Jan 15 2009, 07:56 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jan 15 2009, 02:23 AM)
its not his fault its seagate problem
Yes,we know it's seagate problem... But,at least he can prolong the warranty 1st until Seagate come to new firmware or something else...This is called win-win situation..Seller got the profit and buyer get their satisfied since many of us here buying from AllnGap.

This post has been edited by one_guy: Jan 15 2009, 07:56 AM
one_guy
post Jan 15 2009, 11:47 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 15 2009, 10:31 AM)
-Err, as far as I know, there're only mentions on 500GB and 1TB drives, but none on others (correct me if I'm wrong).

Regards.
750GB version also facing some problem but only small cases. Not many people using 750GB because Seagate not produce anymore 750GB version for unknown reason AFAIK..

This post has been edited by one_guy: Jan 15 2009, 11:47 AM
one_guy
post Jan 16 2009, 02:52 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

How to apply the new firmware after download it?
Can someone teach me how to update the firmware?
What software i must use....etc...
one_guy
post Jan 18 2009, 06:50 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 18 2009, 06:30 PM)
5 years at certain shop. 2 days ago I ask some of the shop and they said no more 5 years but when I check the warranty at home via Seagate Warranty Checker .. ya da ya da .. 5 years .. tongue.gif~ until 2013.

Factory date : 26 December 2008
Dateline for warranty : 26 December 2013
7200.11 - ST3500320AS (500GB) - SD1A . Most of the shop have it ..
If confirm SD1A can solve the problem, people can download here :
http://computerappblog.com/2008/12/02/seag...irmware-update/

But,no one know the result after apply the new firmware..
one_guy
post Jan 19 2009, 12:25 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

From the serial checker below, i try to check my serial and it's said that "Your drive is NOT affected".
http://support.seagate.com/sncheck.html

But then i try one by one the serial from msfn forum, many of the fail hard disk also said said "Your drive is NOT affected"... How come????

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=128514

Here i wrote some fail hard disk that reported at msfn forum but Seagate Serial Checker said Your drive is NOT affected"..

1) 5QJ03R2M
2) 9QM8BLTQ
3) 5QJ0JRE3

S*hit....is the serial checker very2 reliable???
Now make me more miserable because i also using firmware SD15 from Thailand.. It's just waiting the timebomb to explode...

one_guy
post Jan 19 2009, 10:09 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 19 2009, 10:05 AM)
Woo Hoo...Seagate reply me and responded already. They will send u a link and a certification validation. I've downloaded the file already...all in < 20 min after i called them....no need to e-mail to them...CALL IS MOST EFFECTIVE!

Here's the screenshot:
1) The certification link screen:
[attachmentid=769496]

2) After u key in the certificate no(which is included in the e-mail they sent to you), the download screen.

[attachmentid=769497]
I'll update tonight and see what happens...but must run backup before flashing!!

I still love Seagate.

thumbup.gif
Please share the firmware that u already download... Many of us still not getting any feedback from seagate..
Share also your experience after applied this new firmware ASAP..
one_guy
post Jan 19 2009, 10:01 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

Hey,seagate just update their link with firmware download... U can click the model listed to get the firmware..

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=207931

Below link Firmware Update for ST3500320AS, ST3640330AS, ST3750330AS, ST31000340AS

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=207951

Hope someone can post the result...
one_guy
post Jan 19 2009, 10:09 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Jan 19 2009, 10:06 PM)
I tried to update my 500GB SD15 Seagate drive, but failed with the picture above.
Is that a new one compared to the firmware available earlier in the day?
I just realize just now...
Sorry if this repeated post.. sweat.gif
I thought the earlier forumer get their firmware through email...
BTW, how many people already success with this firmware?
If the update fail,does the data inside the disk also corrupt? icon_question.gif
one_guy
post Jan 21 2009, 11:02 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 21 2009, 10:06 AM)
-Hmm, any drive owner with -568 Product Code and/or SD35 firmware have any problem(s) with the HDD? Mind to share?

-Also, anyone who bought from AllnGap and faced a problem & RMA'ed the HDD already, please share too. Not try to ruin his sale, only want to know.
If there's no case (beside mine  sad.gif  ), then maybe his batch could be safe.

-FYI, my HDD is ST31000340AS with 9BX158-568 Product Code and SD35 firmware.
Regards.
I'm also buying from AllnGap 1TB ST31000340AS, SD15... So far no problem since December... But, still hope for the new firmware from Seagate to prevent my hard disk failure also... sad.gif
one_guy
post Jan 29 2009, 11:51 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(gjoey @ Jan 29 2009, 11:08 PM)
I've updated my 3750330AS 7200.11 from SD15 to SD1A successfully using a PC. I'am currently using it as my external drive using Vantec casing (E-Sata).

Unfortunately, before I update the firmware, I have never knew (I forgot to check) whether the drive did have constantly increased in Raw Read Error Rate, Seek Error Rate & Hardware ECC Recovered or not. Only after I've updated it, than I noticed the SMART like below :

I've read over the web that Seagate do have problem with a third party SMART reader that interpret the value incorrectly. I'am using Everest for the above result.

So, could someone that haven't updated the firmware, check about this. Just to confirm that this new firmware doesn't do any harm.... hmm.gif
Haiyya bro... Don't scared la...
Me still using SD15 firmware and still not update with SD1A..
Here my SMART reading...

ID Attribute Description Threshold Value Worst Data Status
01 Raw Read Error Rate 6 116 100 110729696 OK: Value is normal
03 Spinup Time 0 91 89 0 OK: Always passes
04 Start/Stop Count 20 100 100 594 OK: Value is normal
05 Reallocated Sector Count 36 100 100 0 OK: Value is normal
07 Seek Error Rate 30 62 60 5316141 OK: Value is normal
09 Power-On Time Count 0 100 100 291 OK: Always passes
0A Spinup Retry Count 97 100 100 17 OK: Value is normal
0C Power Cycle Count 20 100 100 596 OK: Value is normal
B8 <vendor-specific> 99 100 100 0 OK: Value is normal
BB <vendor-specific> 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
BC <vendor-specific> 0 100 99 262167 OK: Always passes
BD <vendor-specific> 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
BE Airflow Temperature 45 61 49 672989223 OK: Value is normal
C2 Temperature 0 39 51 39 OK: Always passes
C3 Hardware ECC Recovered 0 31 29 110729696 OK: Always passes
C5 Current Pending Sector Count 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
C6 Offline Uncorrectable Sector Count 0 100 100 0 OK: Always passes
C7 Ultra ATA CRC Error Rate 0 200 200 0 OK: Always passes

one_guy
post Feb 6 2009, 10:47 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

I'm one of the Seagate user that still not update my firmware from SD15 to SD1A.. I've own 1TB, ST31000340AS.
The drive still working now.. In the middle of January 2009, i email to Seagate Support about concerning my firmware because i'm also using SD15 like all of u... But, just today they reply my email... Here i quote the email...

Thank you for your recent communication via our on line forums/portals. This is a great way of giving our customers a way of expressing themselves directly, and we intern try to address those concerns or issues valued customers like your self may be experiencing. I have read your post and I will be happy to reply to you personally pertaining to the issue that you are having.
I want to apologize for the late reply, we have had some system issues that were not allowing our emails to come in to our server, the issue has now been resolved and we are working hard to get caught up.

You have mentioned that you are having concerns with obtaining firmware for your drive. I have checked your drive via serial and model number and have found that this drive is not affected by the firmware issue, and that you have the most current version of the firmware for this drive.  You Should continue to use your drive as normal. If you are experiencing issues with your drive, please call in to support for troubleshooting assistance.

Once again, I want to thank you for your business.. If you still need further assistance, or the information provided was not of good use, please feel free to contact Seagate Technical Support at 800-SEAGATE ( 800-732-4283).

Edgar J.
Seagate Technical Support
Oklahoma City, OK USA
Phone: 800-732-4283 (North America)
00.800.4.SEAGATE (Europe)
1 800 759 109 (Asia, Australia and New Zealand)
Web:  www.seagate.com/support/index.html
ref:00D0hhzl.50035ujGU:ref

I have checked your drive via serial and model number and have found that this drive is not affected by the firmware issue, and that you have the most current version of the firmware for this drive

What the hell is it... Still tell me that some SD15 is not affected... doh.gif

If you are experiencing issues with your drive, please call in to support for troubleshooting assistance.

If my drive brick already, there is no meaning to call Seagate because my drive is OEM.... vmad.gif vmad.gif
one_guy
post Feb 6 2009, 11:17 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(chimera @ Feb 6 2009, 11:01 AM)
therefore, if ur model number is listed as one of the potentially affected drives BUT ur serial number is not then u dont hv to update ur firmware...
You may right,but you also may be wrong..
Many cases happen their using SD15 but from seagate check serials say their drive is not affected.
But later, their drive also brick.... sweat.gif
What you want to say???
one_guy
post Feb 8 2009, 11:20 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

Can anyone here up the screenshot if your serial is not affected?
I check my serial but no result... This is OEM unit buy from AllnGap..
The earlier post i said that seagate support email me and inform that my drive is not affected..
How they so sure since the serial checker show no result... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Or they just simply check my serial and come no result and then make the conclusion " Owh, don't worry. Your drive is not affected..." hmm.gif

one_guy
post Feb 9 2009, 12:27 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 8 2009, 11:29 PM)
Since firmware upgrade not available for OEM units, I guess OEM's result wouldn't affect anything gua? unsure.gif
This indicate the drive is safe?

Hey,hey...where u get that statement "firmware upgrade not available for OEM units" ??
I already told to seagate person that my drive is OEM..
But they still surely confirm my drive is not affected after they check the serial..
Wonder here whether seagate person "really" do their job to check my serial even they know my drive is OEM..
one_guy
post Feb 9 2009, 08:59 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jan 25 2009, 10:26 AM)
-Just updated my ST1000340AS! After connecting to PC only realized that the actual firmware is SD15, not SD35 as printed on the drive. And the latest firmware updater also will update all drives, no matter retail or OEM, any part numbers (-300, -303, -568, etc.) - as stated on the updater screen.
Regards.
Musafir_86 is OEM unit and he succesfully update to SD1A... doh.gif
And the updater also support retail or OEM with any part numbers (-300, -303, -568, etc.).... tongue.gif
Err...forgot to mentioned,i already read all the post include the 1st post... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by one_guy: Feb 9 2009, 09:01 AM
one_guy
post Feb 19 2009, 10:27 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ Feb 19 2009, 01:43 AM)
My Harddisk really funny...=.=

im totally suffer from the krek krek sound from my HD...
really damn annoying..but juz now,really cannot tahan already..
so i juz ketuk the HD bcoz damn tension...not so harsh actually...
and walla..the HD now quiter then ever..hahaha....

luckily nothing bad happen... sweat.gif
Haha... just the krek,krek sound,u hit the hard disk.. Maybe this time is just your luck.. If not,maybe the hard disk will fail...
Like malay said " kerana marahkan nyamuk,habis kelambu dibakar"
one_guy
post Feb 21 2009, 05:03 PM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

OK guys...
It's already a month since Seagate release the SD1A to replace the SD15 firmware..
Anyone facing problem after update to SD1A?
Or,anyone here still using SD15 and feel their drive still strong even not update to SD1A??

*I'm on of the user still using SD15... No problem so far...
one_guy
post Feb 28 2009, 10:02 AM

Ethuasiast!!
926 posts

Anyone here have SD15 firmware?
I feel tension after updated to SD1A 5 days ago...
The sound krek+krek sound very annoying even i already turn off the indexing services.. Seems like the HDD working in the background...
Last time SD15 very quite...

This post has been edited by one_guy: Feb 28 2009, 10:03 AM

0.0372sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:15 AM