66 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB

mitodna
post Feb 1 2009, 06:18 PM

14,039 posts

how to know, almost died? using SMART? thanks.

errr, wow, when All IT close? look good price for 7200.12, may I know the date code? thanks drool.gif

edit: that was close, AFAIK, all drive starting from 3 January 2009 is only 3 years

This post has been edited by mitodna: Feb 1 2009, 06:21 PM
expertester
post Feb 1 2009, 06:49 PM

321 posts

I test my WD which is almost died using HardDisk Sentinel. It said that my hard disk (according to SMART) has :

There are 20 weak sectors found on the disk surface. They may be remapped any time in the later use of the disk.
It is recommended to examine the log of the disk regularly. All new problems found will be logged there.

It is recommended to backup often to prevent data loss.
Then, I download Western Digital Data Lifeguard Diagnostic. Fail test (Code 07)

Same result test in DOS mode.

-------------------------------------------------

As I said, I cross check with Seagate official website, key in my hdd model number and serial number. Warranty ended at 2 Jan 2014. I was shocked as I expect they will only support 3 years warranty. I quick check at other forum and found out that 3 years warranty only applied to OEM hdd not retail one.

Hope this will clear some misunderstanding.

--------------------------------------------------

AFAIK, All IT close at 9+ pm. I bought today (2pm). What do you mean date code?
expertester
post Feb 1 2009, 06:56 PM

321 posts

update screenies :

mitodna
post Feb 1 2009, 08:16 PM

14,039 posts

I see. Thanks for the info. I went to All IT to get 500gb, also the same expired date.
Er, I think it apply to all Barracuda to 3 years after 3 January 2009. Try to search for Product Warranty Matrix. You will see Enterprise range is still 5 years.
expertester
post Feb 1 2009, 09:17 PM

321 posts

3 Jan 09 eh...so those who get 2 jan 09 batch can enjoy 5 years warranty biggrin.gif:D:D
Cyclonechuah
post Feb 2 2009, 05:57 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

experttester, can you tell me how much is a barracuda 7.12 500gb price and onwards? i mean 640gb, 750gb, or 1tb.

7.12 500gb is RM190?
expertester
post Feb 2 2009, 06:17 AM

321 posts

yep RM190 for 500GB 7200.12. (single plate and 16 mb cache)

RM290 for 750GB, and RM395 for 1TB. (both has 2 plates and 32 MB)

Cyclonechuah
post Feb 2 2009, 06:35 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

hmm.. i'm thinking about getting 1tb, because i has a ticking time bomb here as well.. 7200.11 ST3500320AS SD15 firmware. was finding another harddrive to save my ass, because all my precious otaku data in it. >_>
andrekua
post Feb 3 2009, 02:12 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I have the 320GB. When I checked on Seagate using model number, it say its on the list BUT my firmware version is already at SD22 and its running fine. Thanks god I bought the 320GB after I saw review that the 500GB were somewhat slower. Looks like mine not affected. Been running 24/7 since day 1.
SUSspanker
post Feb 4 2009, 12:42 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

Hi guys, good news. I just revived my bricked 500 GB 7200.11 using the serial - TTL connection. It was a b**** finding the TTL connector (i searched entire Jalan Pasar and no one seems to know what it is) but in the end I used a modified DKU-5 data cable and following the MSFN barracuda fix did the trick.

Added on February 4, 2009, 12:54 amFor those of you who upgraded to the SD1A firmware, you're not out of the woods yet.

Apparently there's a problem with the fixed SD1A firmware (v2, the one which fixed the auto bricking of 500GB barracudas). Read on here:

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/messag...&thread.id=8569

http://stx.lithium.com/stx/board/message?b...cending&page=10

What can I say, back up your data now.

This post has been edited by spanker: Feb 4 2009, 12:56 AM
Cyclonechuah
post Feb 4 2009, 05:18 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

thanks alot for keeping us update spanker, hmm.. i was about to buy a new harddrive for backing up my drive, could anyone suggest me what hdd i should buy?

Caviar Black or Barracuda 7200.12
fariz
post Feb 4 2009, 06:46 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Feb 4 2009, 05:18 AM)
thanks alot for keeping us update spanker, hmm.. i was about to buy a new harddrive for backing up my drive, could anyone suggest me what hdd i should buy?

Caviar Black or Barracuda 7200.12
if just for backup.. just buy WD green, cheaper
expertester
post Feb 4 2009, 07:30 AM

321 posts

Yeah, Caviar black damn expensive. RM500 for 500GB... <sweat>
ericpires
post Feb 4 2009, 09:42 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 4 2009, 12:42 AM)

Added on February 4, 2009, 12:54 amFor those of you who upgraded to the SD1A firmware, you're not out of the woods yet.

Apparently there's a problem with the fixed SD1A firmware (v2, the one which fixed the auto bricking of 500GB barracudas). Read on here:

You mean to say the SD1A firmware is still causing problems? and its not a permanent solution to the firmware? Heh, time to buy another hdd, u guys and back up sweat.gif
Cyclonechuah
post Feb 4 2009, 10:45 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(expertester @ Feb 4 2009, 07:30 AM)
hmm? i heard people somewhere in this forum mentioning about 1tb Caviar Black(or was it?) from cycom is RM530.

RM500 for 500GB, i think that is really TOO MUCH.
masterz_man
post Feb 4 2009, 11:04 AM

409 posts

still got problem huh
aisehman
xelnamikaze
post Feb 4 2009, 01:08 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(expertester @ Feb 4 2009, 08:30 AM)
where got RM500 : 500GB for Caviar Black .
its RM500 : 1000GB lah ..
Calvin22
post Feb 4 2009, 01:40 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(expertester @ Feb 4 2009, 07:30 AM)
U price too over man ...
RM500 for 1tb .. smile.gif
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Feb 4 2009, 04:44 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 4 2009, 12:42 AM)
Hi guys, good news. I just revived my bricked 500 GB 7200.11 using the serial - TTL connection. It was a b**** finding the TTL connector (i searched entire Jalan Pasar and no one seems to know what it is) but in the end I used a modified DKU-5 data cable and following the MSFN barracuda fix did the trick.

There are actually 3 versions of SD1A firmware which is kinda confusing to which one of them is still causing problems
gamers maniac
post Feb 4 2009, 05:45 PM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

how to backup data now.. no money to buy new hdd.. change to green flag la like this..

66 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:57 PM