Seagate 7200.11 hard drive firmware woes, Barracuda 7.11, FW:SD15, 1.5TB/1TB/500GB
ar188
Jan 17 2009, 02:17 PM
I wonder if the extrenal HDD 1TB Maxtor basics is using the DiamondMax 22 drive.. just brought this unit.. damn if it's using the 22. which is also the group listed in the seagate knowledgebase in the affected HDD.. http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=207931Barracuda 7200.11 DiamondMax 22 Barracuda ES.2 SATA SV35
ar188
Jan 17 2009, 10:41 PM
firmware not released yet right? according to the people posting in seagate forum..
ar188
Jan 18 2009, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(InfiniteX @ Jan 18 2009, 01:45 PM) Great news, but yet can't get the firmware yet? the US fellas on the seagate forum already called the 1-800 tech support number last 2days, no firmware yet..
ar188
Jan 18 2009, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 18 2009, 03:31 PM) New Seagate harddisk in Lowyat already have the newest version of firmware, SD1A but now Seagate is only 3years waranty rite? better stick to the cheaper WD for new purchases until the smoke clears..
ar188
Jan 18 2009, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 18 2009, 08:06 PM) Shit! I'm using ST3500320AS-SD15 on my torrent server. Bought on 01/01/09 after the 500GB WD died on 31/12/08 (exactly 3 months). Now what? wah WD also died? now using SEAGATE with this problem? then looks like have to try Hitachi or samsung lor..
ar188
Jan 18 2009, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 18 2009, 08:48 PM) btw, how to update the firmware for the seagate 500GB HDD?? The link provided up there has the batch file and all, but i've three drives in my PC....how does it know which to flash? Furthermore, is is safe to do? I'm afraid if i do it, it kills it immediately even faster than let it die naturally
if you flash wrong one.. then.... erm..
ar188
Jan 19 2009, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(one_guy @ Jan 19 2009, 12:25 AM) From the serial checker below, i try to check my serial and it's said that "Your drive is NOT affected". http://support.seagate.com/sncheck.htmlBut then i try one by one the serial from msfn forum, many of the fail hard disk also said said "Your drive is NOT affected"... How come???? http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=128514Here i wrote some fail hard disk that reported at msfn forum but Seagate Serial Checker said Your drive is NOT affected".. 1) 5QJ03R2M 2) 9QM8BLTQ 3) 5QJ0JRE3 S*hit....is the serial checker very2 reliable??? Now make me more miserable because i also using firmware SD15 from Thailand.. It's just waiting the timebomb to explode... I also tried, both 1TB and 750G of mine not affected.. is this like a standard response? not taking chances, now doing backup ..
ar188
Jan 20 2009, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(amiranna @ Jan 20 2009, 10:30 PM) so the conclusion, there is no proven solution for our firmware problem yeah sadly it seems like it..
ar188
Jan 20 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 20 2009, 10:32 PM) the best solution is, Seagate recall those HDD, and give free exchange to newer and problem free HDD but then, if Seagate does that, but not applicable to OEM drives, then i  recall also I will need many extra drives to move the data mah.. how to recall and give up all those TBs.. sigh.
ar188
Jan 20 2009, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(nkphnx @ Jan 20 2009, 10:40 PM) I think the quality problem with Seagate drives lies in the ST power regulator ICs on the controller boards, particularly the UL97 device.. They are of substandard specs.. Whatever it is, just try to stay away from Seagate for now... har? UL97 ? what IC is that?
ar188
Jan 20 2009, 11:59 PM
yeah have to masuk hospital liao..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 21 2009, 12:10 AM) more like masuk keranda as seagate cannot even rectify the problem now they said the data on the platter is intact (only firmware causing it to disappear from computer OS), but only seagate's data recovery services (or other pro HDD recovery) can recover them.. so masuk hospital lor.. if keranda then cannot even recover the data mah..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(corad @ Jan 21 2009, 01:23 AM) wtf wtf wtf ? built a data storage solution for a company (free lance) a few months ago. I used 8x1Tb n 12 x750Gb barracuda7200 in RAID. anyway to prevent this? so far i havent heard any complaints. but their have my head if everything suddenly dissapears  raid which version? with redundancy? one die still can rescue.. Added on January 21, 2009, 1:25 amQUOTE(cyew86 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:20 AM) haha, lucky you then i am praying hard that my HDD won't brick on me, i need it to do my works, i don't mind if it wanna brick in May (touch wood) wah if die in may can get new 7200.12 series ar? This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 21 2009, 01:25 AM
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(corad @ Jan 21 2009, 01:32 AM) RAID 10. so these things happen on random ? or do they have a "timer"?
random rate of 40%..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 21 2009, 09:31 AM) It'll be ironic if we are trying to avoid a brick, but in the quest to prevent the brick, we actually bricked it.  yeah, maybe if we didn't kacau it will work for a year, but after kacau, die next day after reboot..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 21 2009, 09:23 PM) read here guys to get the inside story on what's going on : http://slashdot.org/~maxtormaninteresting blog...by maxtorman (seagate insider I guess) "*ONLY* if the drive is powered down having just written the 320th log file. After Log file #320, it rolls back around and overwrites log file #1. So, on Log files 1-319, you're okay. only in the case that it has just written Log #320 AND is power cycled, will it lock up. If it is on #319 or rolled around to #1, then it's fine. one in a million chance. "hmm.. so it's a time bomb then..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 10:31 PM
so this is the summary of the SD1A firmware.. Seagate Firmware Fix Turned Barracudas into Paperweights http://i.gizmodo.com/5135916/seagate-firmw...to-paperweights
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Jan 21 2009, 11:18 PM) please do tell us if your RMA'ed HDD have further problems in future .. if yes .. then Seagate very lousy already .. firmware also not settled as of today how the RMA drive can improve over the previous unit? summore RMA is some body's used HDD..
ar188
Jan 21 2009, 11:28 PM
maybe you can get a prize if it lasts over 1year..hahaha!
ar188
Jan 22 2009, 08:01 PM
wah all so fast to update firmware... anymore surprises? (I'm still gonna buy 1-2more WD 1teras this weekend.. better not take risk..