127 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone

jpaq
post Jun 29 2009, 07:42 PM

411 posts

For the slowness, the lags and the hangs and backlighting probs... try to the new firmware update when its out and see.. hopefully it will improve RAM management as well. It won't give you more RAM, but maybe it can free up more RAM.

I dun get the clapping sound when I flip up the screen. Maybe its the way your are doing it?

As for the memory card slot and having to open the back cover to access the slot, well, with 32GB onboard (which you also have said that you dunno how to fill up), most users will seldom have to access the card slot. In a way, its good that the card slot is not on the "outside'. If its outside and there is a cover, there may be a worry about the cover accidentally breaking off. And if there is no cover, there is a worry the slot is too exposed. With 32GB built-in, Nokia probably decided to put the card slot under the back cover to also avoid the aforesaid possible issues.
toughnut
post Jun 29 2009, 08:06 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 29 2009, 07:11 PM)
And another thing that I noticed is the music player, it's even worst than N95, in terms of interface, there is some improvement, but for music quality, it's downright lousy.

WOW shocking.gif shocking.gif

I thought N97 has better SQ via headphone output than 5800 based on multiple reviews. And i think 5800 is a lot better than N95, N82, N81 generation SQ. A lot bettter till i decided to sell my Sony DAP.
firstknight
post Jun 29 2009, 08:07 PM

2,681 posts

we'll see about it.. i have already posted it up for sale.. cos me beh tahan liao.. but it will run till 21 july... so see how... if reserve price not met then possibly dun sell... hehe...
awyongcarl
post Jun 29 2009, 09:00 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 29 2009, 08:06 PM)
WOW  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

I thought N97 has better SQ via headphone output than 5800 based on multiple reviews. And i think 5800 is a lot better than N95, N82, N81 generation SQ. A lot bettter till i decided to sell my Sony DAP.
Really? I've tried on my own headphones (Grado SR-60 and Altec Lansing iM716, both amped) and they sucked sorta bad, especially the Bass, it basically screwed up all the trebles/vocal entirely and left you some muddy low quality bass. I don't know, it could be that I'm used to Sony X-1060 mp3 player recently and thus feeling this N97 music playing ability sucked. (But honest to god, N95's equalizer is better, raising up the bass doesn't makes it screwed like N97's.)

QUOTE(jpaq @ Jun 29 2009, 07:42 PM)
For the slowness, the lags and the hangs and backlighting probs... try to the new firmware update when its out and see.. hopefully it will improve RAM management as well. It won't give you more RAM, but maybe it can free up more RAM.

I dun get the clapping sound when I flip up the screen. Maybe its the way your are doing it?

As for the memory card slot and having to open the back cover to access the slot, well, with 32GB onboard (which you also have said that you dunno how to fill up), most users will seldom have to access the card slot. In a way, its good that the card slot is not on the "outside'. If its outside and there is a cover, there may be a worry about the cover accidentally breaking off. And if there is no cover, there is a worry the slot is too exposed. With 32GB built-in, Nokia probably decided to put the card slot under the back cover to also avoid the aforesaid possible issues.
I sure hope that is true. Basically you have around,30mb+ of free memory after the phone is booted, and that is really bad lol.

I'm not sure if it's my problem but I've read some reviews around also stating the same problem.
It's not a big problem, so long it doesn't snapped in half after 1 year of usage.

You are probably right about the memory slot, I have to agree with you, but I was just saying the fact as well, it's really goddamned hard to remove the card once you put it in place nicely.
I only tried inserting it once and I swear to god I'll not do the second time.

cheonwai
post Jun 29 2009, 09:10 PM

180 posts

As what i have mentioned before, the N97 just purely sucks, sell it off as quick as you can to avoid further price depreciation...

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 29 2009, 09:00 PM)
Really? I've tried on my own headphones (Grado SR-60 and Altec Lansing iM716, both amped) and they sucked sorta bad, especially the Bass, it basically screwed up all the trebles/vocal entirely and left you some muddy low quality bass. I don't know, it could be that I'm used to Sony X-1060 mp3 player recently and thus feeling this N97 music playing ability sucked. (But honest to god, N95's equalizer is better, raising up the bass doesn't makes it screwed like N97's.)
I sure hope that is true. Basically you have around,30mb+ of free memory after the phone is booted, and that is really bad lol.

I'm not sure if it's my problem but I've read some reviews around also stating the same problem.
It's not a big problem, so long it doesn't snapped in half after 1 year of usage.

You are probably right about the memory slot, I have to agree with you, but I was just saying the fact as well, it's really goddamned hard to remove the card once you put it in place nicely.
blinky
post Jun 29 2009, 09:12 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jun 29 2009, 09:00 PM)

The clapping sound is made to be like that. It's a prove how solid the phone is.

Go search on youtube "Making of Nokia N97" and you'll understand.
jpaq
post Jun 29 2009, 09:14 PM

411 posts

Actually, I find that the N97's output through the headphones is louder than the 5800's. However, as to quality compared to dedicated music players, thats a different story.

But i for one think we shouldn't compare the N97's music quality to dedicated music players for obvious reasons...
TSsnakevenom
post Jun 29 2009, 09:17 PM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

QUOTE(cheonwai @ Jun 29 2009, 09:10 PM)
As what i have mentioned before, the N97 just purely sucks, sell it off as quick as you can to avoid further price depreciation...
wow u r really angry bout N97 huh? like i said b4 lor some will like some will not purely depends on people taste.
blinky
post Jun 29 2009, 09:40 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Wow I just discovered that Qik is such a great application.
xAndy7
post Jun 29 2009, 09:42 PM

104 posts

lolx. it remind me of "intel inside, idiot outside"
awyongcarl
post Jun 29 2009, 09:54 PM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Jun 29 2009, 09:14 PM)
Actually, I find that the N97's output through the headphones is louder than the 5800's. However, as to quality compared to dedicated music players, thats a different story.

But i for one think we shouldn't compare the N97's music quality to dedicated music players for obvious reasons...
I know we shouldn't. But there is no reason why it should be worst than it's ancestor N95 -_____-
BabyMilo_85
post Jun 29 2009, 10:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Jun 29 2009, 09:17 PM)
wow u r really angry bout N97 huh? like i said b4 lor some will like some will not purely depends on people taste.
same case in some ppl like to eat durian...but some ppl dont like it.... cool2.gif cool2.gif

ntg can be prefect.... sweat.gif most important it suit ur taste.... brows.gif
firstknight
post Jun 29 2009, 10:45 PM

2,681 posts

MY EXPERIENCE

Getting info over the net n the hype of the phone drove my desire to get the phone. For the first few days it was ok but later i encounter so many unwanted n unfriendly sights.

thumbup.gif Let me share what i like. thumbup.gif
1. 32GB space at disposal
2. 5MP camera + auto focus (led flash ok as it is not some camera phone)
3. Good screen n lighting even under sunlight
4. From stress test seen, tough body n great scratch resistance screen
5. 3.5in jack
6. Tilt screen
7. Good voice recognition - dun have to store your own voice tag to make call using voice.
8. Youtube can view Java thus youtube quality video playback (my fault on not hitting the desktop version on the main screen)

shakehead.gif i dont like: unsure.gif
1. Keyboard layout - keys are quite small and too sensitive. often times i accidently press the sym key when pressing the blue arrow key. Do not fancy . being in the blue category. I like to put ... so have to double blue arrow and then have to blue arrow again to continue typing. Hope I can remap and then figure out why NOKIA choose this layout but for the sym key really unnecesary to put ther.
2. D-pad wastage of space. Sld have make bigger keys or add more keys. It is kinda useless. Arrow keys better
3. Why quick office not provided with editing. Winmo does why cant u?
4. Moved application goes back to original place it appeares after insrtallation i.e. Apps
5. One time one of my added music didnt appear as part of sms tones or ringing tones
6. No way to select a word or phrase. Touch screen cant even do it. In app such as officesuite
7. Messages cant use finger swipe to go to left or right tabs eg inbox to sent to email etc
8. When go to menu - messages, the messages menu dun appear but when you touch the screen it appears. when you scroll everything appears. some messages menu bug.
9. Why no kinetic scroll in phone? Kinetic scrol would be fun.
10. Place folder with music using mass media option - music dun recognise and not able to find it but file manager has it same with video. Place it with pc suite can. Wats the diff?
11. Music player dun go to music player but music library-irritating need to use as widget and have the music player running in bg
12. Camera setting dun go back to last used settings.
13. Processor slow - have faced hang app or slow showing of thumbnail.
14. Photos - slow opening of thumbnails. Slow open photo to preview. Some cant see and show broken photo icon eventhough photo taken by phone
15. Unlocking bug. fix with fw v11.0.0.021
16. Gps sucks. Diamond better using mapking with better real life navigation. I have experienced passing the junction befor it tells me to turn. Alot of recalculation due to loss tracking
17. Cusomisation/Personalisation lousy. Cant select from file manager. Have to rely on music app when customising sound/tones.
18. Plug in data cable sometime cos phone to restart

Thats for now. Will add in due course if it is still with me.
*DISCLAIMER*
This is my experience and it may not represent the true nature of majority of the phone. Your experience may be different so this post if for reference purpose.

This post has been edited by firstknight: Jul 7 2009, 10:59 PM
mannquin
post Jun 29 2009, 11:16 PM

351 posts

Only idiots will say N97 sucks. I've been using it for about a month and I am really pleased with it.
Don't ask me how many phone I've tested, if you don't like it, just throw it away and stop giving bad comments about it. You are just ruining its reputation and will stop people from buying it. Let them buy and let them decide. You know nothing

N97 is the best thing I've ever had in my pocket.
f a N z i
post Jun 29 2009, 11:27 PM

33 posts

Been using my N97 for nearly 2 weeks and It has only hanged like twice.
I don't see the point on making the model look bad because of this hanging issue.
Besides that, I'm all happy with its functions and performance smile.gif
mannquin
post Jun 29 2009, 11:36 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(f a N z i @ Jun 29 2009, 11:27 PM)
Been using my N97 for nearly 2 weeks and It has only hanged like twice.
I don't see the point on making the model look bad because of this hanging issue.
Besides that, I'm all happy with its functions and performance smile.gif
Agreed, in fact, mine never hanged. Maybe those who complaint here and there don't really know how to use this cool phone. Go for iPhone, it is idiot-proof. Perhaps it is much more suitable for you guys
tunertoobe
post Jun 29 2009, 11:38 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Jun 29 2009, 09:12 PM)
The clapping sound is made to be like that. It's a prove how solid the phone is.

Go search on youtube "Making of Nokia N97" and you'll understand.
Like a gun being locked and loaded. brows.gif
TSsnakevenom
post Jun 29 2009, 11:40 PM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

yeap gun loaded and robbed ur wallet for RM2k plus LOL

Added on June 29, 2009, 11:51 pmnow now guys don have to get worked up with those people who say N97 is bad and sucks. Nothing to get angry over la.

Besides the less people buy N97 the better cause more unique than the iphone which everyone have already tongue.gif

This post has been edited by snakevenom: Jun 29 2009, 11:51 PM
SUSadrian7386
post Jun 30 2009, 12:01 AM

628 posts

ya...so many people using iphone...so lame ass...==

we have the qwerty keyboard enough to pawn iphone user d...the sleek and elegance design...it absolute worth the penny...^^
firstknight
post Jun 30 2009, 12:09 AM

2,681 posts

yo mannquin... chill out.. i am telling my experience... you can put your experience and tell us your experience and your like... this is wat you call phone review.. so wats your review mannquin?? instead of criticising ppl for bad reviews you should give good reviews then....

beside ppl have the right to know before they get into the phone.. thats what makes internet research is all about.... you want other ppl to MAY suffer like us unlucky fellas???

This post has been edited by firstknight: Jun 30 2009, 12:16 AM

127 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:21 PM