well, i dont seem to have battery issues with my phone. in fact, for me it is rather good, i listen to music and use FM transmitter often and the battery seems to last real good..
NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone
Jun 29 2009, 11:27 AM
34 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
well, i dont seem to have battery issues with my phone. in fact, for me it is rather good, i listen to music and use FM transmitter often and the battery seems to last real good..
Jun 29 2009, 11:31 AM
1,121 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Earth |
QUOTE(cheonwai @ Jun 29 2009, 01:54 AM) Whether with or without Java, the N97 just sucks!! one man meat is another man poison dude.My fren who has been using the phone for more than a week now also feel upset & frustrated with its laggy performance. The most disappointed thing is its battery, fully charge for a night then the next day the phone started to beep with low battery warning at about 9pm, damn it!!! Added on June 29, 2009, 11:34 am QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 29 2009, 01:28 AM) Ok, I got Iphone 2G and bought this N97 to my gf.. yeap i agree Iphone is idiot proof phone for normal people usage that's why so popular. even a small kid can use it.In short, N97 - Hardware Win [3G, FM, Video Call, Playback] Iphone - Apps, User-Friendliness, Win N97 user-friendly really bad. I believe apply to all Symbian as well. for Symbian gonna be This post has been edited by snakevenom: Jun 29 2009, 11:34 AM |
Jun 29 2009, 11:37 AM
310 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Ask me |
Nice V11 soon
Jun 29 2009, 12:03 PM
3,786 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
To me the battery life never dissapoint me till now.....hehehehe
Jun 29 2009, 12:05 PM
77 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jun 29 2009, 12:11 PM
Jun 29 2009, 12:46 PM
411 posts Joined: May 2005 |
To those who have complaints... wait and see whether the coming version 11 firmware solves your problems/bugs. I have complaints too but will wait and see whether the new firmware update solves all or at least the main problems...
Jun 29 2009, 01:09 PM
104 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
what are the main problemssssss ?
Jun 29 2009, 02:12 PM
23 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
added me to the list
got mine yesterday..white N97 still exploring the phone..all seems very different from nokia previous model.. i'm using e90 previously |
Jun 29 2009, 02:14 PM
17,053 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
firmware also need update 1 ah? is it hard? i scare later i simply flash then spoil lulz
Jun 29 2009, 02:48 PM
587 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
just came back from NCC, most ppl come there to send in their N97, reason hanged, battery fast drain out and others. Seems this set still new alot of bugs , i guess
Jun 29 2009, 02:50 PM
2,633 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(davidlian @ Jun 29 2009, 12:05 PM) To prolong battery life, I suggest you put the homescreen content to offline mode. Keeping 3G on all the time is what eats up battery life fast. I'm facing that problem.I do keep my 3G connected all the time because I'm streaming Facebook and The Star on my homescreen, plus my office email is constantly connected and retrieving new emails every 5 minutes. I may have shorter battery life but I guess it's worth it, at least I'm maximising the usage of my phone. I have one charger at home, one charger in my office and a car charger. I also have a spare battery so I think it's not too bad |
Jun 29 2009, 03:10 PM
209 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
did u guys notice.. when incoming call, you can turn down the phone makes the screen facing the table, it will be silent.. pretty cool lah.. this is new feature or 5800 already has this function?
Jun 29 2009, 03:13 PM
2,633 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(saiya @ Jun 29 2009, 03:10 PM) did u guys notice.. when incoming call, you can turn down the phone makes the screen facing the table, it will be silent.. pretty cool lah.. this is new feature or 5800 already has this function? It's the proximity sensor located on the top left.If you noticed, when you make a call, the moment your phone goes close to your face, the screen will turn dark, this is to avoid the large screen glaring your eyes. Neat. |
Jun 29 2009, 03:32 PM
209 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
oo yes yes.. that one i know when 1st time make a call using this phone..
Jun 29 2009, 04:19 PM
435 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: penang |
i heard that we can update the new firmware by *#0000# and follow the intruction on the screen?
Jun 29 2009, 04:45 PM
Jun 29 2009, 05:54 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(blinky @ Jun 29 2009, 03:13 PM) If you noticed, when you make a call, the moment your phone goes close to your face, the screen will turn dark, this is to avoid the large screen glaring your eyes. Plus turning off the touch screen to avoid disconnection if you accidentally pressed the "end call" button. |
Jun 29 2009, 06:56 PM
411 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(saiya @ Jun 29 2009, 03:10 PM) did u guys notice.. when incoming call, you can turn down the phone makes the screen facing the table, it will be silent.. pretty cool lah.. this is new feature or 5800 already has this function? 5800 sudah ade... its actually due to the accelerometer (the same meter when you turn phone horizontal and the screen auto rotates to landscape mode). You can also use it to silence your clock alarm. Its not the proximity sensor as blinky pointed out. That one is only used when there is a call active and the screen switches off when the sensor detects that the phone is close to something like your face. Its to prevent accidental presses of buttons or icons on your touchscreen, like accidentally pressing the "Call End" button or something while in the middle of a conversation. |
Jun 29 2009, 07:11 PM
1,870 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Okay guys..I might be flamed for posting my own review on this N97..
But anyway..I hope I don't get flame without a reason and I really hope it is out of my own stupidity of not knowing how to use the phone properly.. Here goes, Just got this phone yesterday, not very impressed, but rather, disappointed. -.- It get hangs and lag pretty badly and so frequently that I have to switch off and on the phone.. The touch screen isn't too smooth. (Well compare to iphone and such) Annoying loud clapping sound when pushing up the screen for the keyboard. Slow responsive accelerometer sensor. Backlitting for the keyboard is stupid as well. Could be the light sensor isn't sensitive enough, it lits up even though its exposed under the bright room light, and making me even harder to see the words on the keyboards. Without the backlitting, every words is black and it's so easy to see rather than backlitted. Though, in the dark, the backlitting is very nice. I don't know why but the removal of the usual charging port annoys me, and the fact that they changed the usb port as well, but this is personal, nothing to do with overall of the phone. And the SDHC micro SD memory slot is just lame, you have to remove the back plate for access and what even lamer is, it is very hard to remove the memory card once you put it in place (I'm not sure if this is my phone problem or not or that I'm not doing it right) And another thing that I noticed is the music player, it's even worst than N95, in terms of interface, there is some improvement, but for music quality, it's downright lousy. (Well, I've got my proper portable music player so this isn't a big deal for me anymore) Hope the future firmware will fix these issues. 77mb for the phone memory is just bad...(Even lesser than N95 which have around 140mb+) I get a lot of "Phone memory low" warning messages quite frequently too.. 32Gb Onboard is sweet though. But that's about it, I'm not sure how am I gonna fill them up lol. The web browser..I wouldn't say it's great but yes it's now usable comparing to N95's one (LoL) Anyhow, the large sized screen is nice, bright and sharp (Too bad touch screen isn't good/responsive enough) I like the front face design of N97, it's why I even consider this device, I just can't get myself to like iphone, they look stupid to me. N97 has at least some sense of fashion with it, iphone? Ermm no. I should consider selling it..soon perhaps. Thank you for reading. And I hope someone can enlighten me regarding the problem I mentioned above.. |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:55 AM |