126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

DefecteD
post Nov 19 2008, 04:52 PM

207 posts

can i apply for CC if i dont have pay slip? i have steady income of more than 2k/month. n i dont hv epf too. but my old job got epf

can apply?
SUSsassyset
post Nov 19 2008, 05:05 PM

302 posts

can. do refer to the application form. i think they got say for situation like yours.
Reventon
post Nov 19 2008, 08:07 PM

2,921 posts

anyone here using Rhb visa plat card? It comes with a priorty lounge access card , and is the annual fee can be waived?
SUSDavid83
post Nov 19 2008, 08:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(DefecteD @ Nov 19 2008, 04:52 PM)
can i apply for CC if i dont have pay slip? i have steady income of more than 2k/month. n i dont hv epf too. but my old job got epf

can apply?
Usually they want payslip and IC.

Under special circumstances, they may request J-form or EPF statement.
wenjie86
post Nov 19 2008, 08:37 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(sassyset @ Nov 19 2008, 06:05 PM)
can. do refer to the application form. i think they got say for situation like yours.
actually, you can apply, some CC agent, they able to do so by using ur Insurance Policy detail and payment detail.
arsenal
post Nov 19 2008, 09:12 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

my DA gave me 10k credit limit....sad.gif
Scopio
post Nov 19 2008, 09:44 PM

♥ Need Love ♥
807 posts

wave.gif Hi guys,

until now i still haven get my 1st statement after i apply for the CIMB CC, y ne??? can i go on9 check?? So scare they will charge me outstanding..

hye
post Nov 19 2008, 09:55 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Scopio @ Nov 19 2008, 09:44 PM)
wave.gif Hi guys,

until now i still haven get my 1st statement after i apply for the CIMB CC, y ne??? can i go on9 check?? So scare they will charge me outstanding..
Your statement will only be issued once you hit your billing cycle. Call the CS and ask about the billing cycle and while you are at it, call and check whether your account is due for payment.

There ... very easy and no need to sweat or panic.
vin_ann
post Nov 19 2008, 10:31 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 19 2008, 08:07 PM)
anyone here using Rhb visa plat card? It comes with a priorty lounge access card , and is the annual fee can be waived?
when u r Platinum user, you wont bother about the annual already. if im not wrong, there are some Platinium's annual fee is un-waiveable...
Reventon
post Nov 20 2008, 01:55 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 19 2008, 10:31 PM)
when u r Platinum user, you wont bother about the annual already.  if im not wrong, there are some Platinium's annual fee is un-waiveable...
not the problem of bothering to pay the annual fee, what i mean is is rhb visa plat card annual fee is waiveable or not coz it come with a priorty pass. Most of my card are free except amex and it come with a prestige plat card ( reason for unwaiveable annual fee ) .

SUSsassyset
post Nov 20 2008, 04:30 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Nov 19 2008, 09:12 PM)
my DA gave me 10k credit limit....sad.gif
you're my agent oso after i got my card never contact nemore zzz shakehead.gif
i wanted to increase my CL. not that i'm going to spend much anyway, but at least if got emergency, the exit is there brows.gif

QUOTE(Scopio @ Nov 19 2008, 09:44 PM)
wave.gif Hi guys,

got mine today icon_rolleyes.gif
but will need to ask the CS on how the points thingy work...
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 20 2008, 10:04 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 14 2008, 02:31 PM)

Added on November 14, 2008, 2:38 pm

On several occasion, the currency exchange I got from CC is so low that it is available nowhere else in the world (because it's even lower than interbank rates). Heck, it is not even available to the bank themselves, let alone their customers. When you think about that statement, it's truly puzzling. Hence my original posting asking as to whether anyone here know something I don't.
Foreign merchant ----> VISA/MC -----> CIMB -----> You.
AFAIK, CIMB DA is one of the very few bank that do not earn anything from you for foreign transaction.

The merchant makes money from you. VISA/MC makes money from you. CIMB do not charge transaction fee so do not earn money from you.

Other banks do. HSBC add 1% on top of VISA/MC charges. PBB also 1%. EON adds 2%.
It's happening again.

18-Oct. BNM rate 6.1108. DA rate 6.102
28-Oct. BNM rate 5.5856. DA rate 5.56
11-Nov. BNM rate 5.6031. DA rate 5.621

As you can see, only the last conversion rate is normal, aka above the wholesale rate. And only marked up by 200 base point whereas bank normal marked up by 400 to 500 base point.

It seems it's actually cheaper to use DA credit card than buying GBP bank draft. I simply couldn't figure it why.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=6...ype=Mid&unit=rm

SUSsassyset
post Nov 20 2008, 10:15 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 20 2008, 10:04 AM)
It's happening again.

11-Nov. BNM rate 5.6031. DA rate 5.621

As you can see, only the last conversion rate is normal, aka above the wholesale rate. And only marked up by 200 base point whereas bank normal marked up by 400 to 500 base point.

It seems it's actually cheaper to use DA credit card than buying GBP bank draft. I simply couldn't figure it why.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=6...ype=Mid&unit=rm
is that good or bad?
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 20 2008, 10:24 AM

12,696 posts

I posted this in another tread. A summary of my experience so far.

This is incredible and I have a hard time understand why. But it could be very significant for those having to study overseas.

Now, when you needed money to pay for UK university tuition or accommodation, you typically go buy a bank draft from Malaysian bank and send it to UK. But here is another incredible method: It's may actually be cheaper to use your Malaysian credit card to pay for those thing in term of foreign currency conversion. Not sure of other CC.

I have used my DA credit card to pay for several things in UK and here are the records:

23-Sep. BNM rate 6.305. DA rate 6.249
30-Sep. BNM rate 6.225. DA rate 6.359*
11-Nov. BNM rate 5.6031. DA rate 5.621*

BNM indicative rate is supposedly the wholesale rate or Interbank rate. That is supposedly the price your local bank pays for GBP. So when the bank sell you the GBP, they will typically mark up by 0.04 ot 0.05 (400 to 500 base point) to the wholesale rate and sell it to you.

2 of the transaction is considered normal (*) in the sense that there is a mark up of 1400 (highly excessive) and 200 base point (considered super cheap).

But what I could not figure out are the other 3 transactions. They are 600, 100, 300 base point BELOW the wholesale rate. It is like as if your bank is subsidizing your GBP purchase. Instead of marking up 400 to 500 base point, they actually make a lost of 100 to 600 base point on those transaction. For bank to make a lost is most ridiculous and impossible but the records seem to say otherwise.

What's up? Anyone got an explanation?

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=629

joenjill
post Nov 20 2008, 11:25 AM

1,015 posts

so, which bank cc offer the best rate?
victorboy
post Nov 20 2008, 11:30 AM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(sassyset @ Nov 20 2008, 04:30 AM)
you're my agent oso after i got my card never contact nemore zzz shakehead.gif
i wanted to increase my CL. not that i'm going to spend much anyway, but at least if got emergency, the exit is there brows.gif
got mine today icon_rolleyes.gif
but will need to ask the CS on how the points thingy work...
sassy.. the limit that you having now is just right for you.. no need to increase so much... nod.gif
SUSsassyset
post Nov 20 2008, 11:36 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Nov 20 2008, 11:30 AM)
sassy.. the limit that you having now is just right for you.. no need to increase so much...  nod.gif
care to elaborate?
victorboy
post Nov 20 2008, 11:45 AM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

affraid that you will have hard time for paying those amount...
event you are paying installment but the interested rate very high...
you will never finish paying up until you pay full of the amount... hmm.gif
Asus
post Nov 20 2008, 12:17 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

anyone use credit card with paypal? can we sent money to someone normal account with our paypal? using the cc of course...and whats the charge?
SUSsassyset
post Nov 20 2008, 12:32 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Nov 20 2008, 11:45 AM)
affraid that you will have hard time for paying those amount...
event you are paying installment but the interested rate very high...
you will never finish paying up until you pay full of the amount...  hmm.gif
point taken, but being the stubborn person i am, still going ahead.
dun worry vboi, i got 2 great financial advisors to refer to happy.gif

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 20 2008, 12:17 PM)
anyone use credit card with paypal? can we sent money to someone normal account with our paypal? using the cc of course...and whats the charge?
yeah, interested to know as well

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:28 PM