126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

RJdio
post Nov 20 2008, 12:34 PM

127 posts

*Rant* - Ive applied 2 times for the Citibank Air Asia card via the email link sent to me (free bag). To date no has bothered to follow up call with me. Well once I was busy and asked them to call me at a different time..

I thought these CC card people were dying for business.

Scopio
post Nov 20 2008, 12:48 PM

♥ Need Love ♥
807 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 19 2008, 09:55 PM)
Your statement will only be issued once you hit your billing cycle. Call the CS and ask about the billing cycle and while you are at it, call and check whether your account is due for payment.

There ... very easy and no need to sweat or panic.
QUOTE(sassyset @ Nov 20 2008, 04:30 AM)
you're my agent oso after i got my card never contact nemore zzz shakehead.gif
i wanted to increase my CL. not that i'm going to spend much anyway, but at least if got emergency, the exit is there brows.gif
got mine today icon_rolleyes.gif
but will need to ask the CS on how the points thingy work...
call the cs until kl?? shocking.gif walao they din gv the statement den we need 2 call them.. cry.gif sad la.. i still haven got my statement.. My fren say if the charge me outstanding den go argue with them wor.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
hye
post Nov 20 2008, 12:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 20 2008, 12:17 PM)
anyone use credit card with paypal? can we sent money to someone normal account with our paypal? using the cc of course...and whats the charge?
No charge will be incurred by you when you load funds into your PayPal via cc. (Make sure you are using a verified credit card for the purpose. Login into PayPal and get your cc verified) However the fund recipient will be charged by PayPal.
hajimemashoo
post Nov 20 2008, 12:53 PM

151 posts

Hi guys Im planning to get a Maybank credit card. Ive visited their website and here are the choices:

Maybank Flex... the main page show annual fee is free but after click on more details it show need to pay annual fee under the annual fee section. So is it free or not?

Maybankard Visa Classic, needs annual fee... is it waivable?

Anyone have any idea the credit limit for those cards?

fikrie
post Nov 20 2008, 12:59 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 20 2008, 12:17 PM)
anyone use credit card with paypal? can we sent money to someone normal account with our paypal? using the cc of course...and whats the charge?
I've been using paypal for quite sometime..

Basically, I believe we can send money direct to another paypal account, i think all of u agree.. given that u have sufficient balance account in the account, or you have the cc to be charged with the transferred amount.. But to directly send money to a bank account, for Malaysia's case, it is not possible at the moment..

But i tried once transfer using moneybookers.. As matter of fact, I was experimenting it at that point of time.. I add fund into my moneybookers acc using my cc, and then transfer it to my bank account.. but in total it cost me more than RM50 just to experiment this process for an amount of RM5++ (dun quite remember, coz it was 7-8 months way back)..

Maybe some of you has different story.. Care to share?

Added on November 20, 2008, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(hye @ Nov 20 2008, 12:51 PM)
No charge will be incurred by you when you load funds into your PayPal via cc. (Make sure you are using a verified credit card for the purpose. Login into PayPal and get your cc verified) However the fund recipient will be charged by PayPal.
Ist really possible to load funds via cc? I.e to have a balance in the account by funding it via cc..?? The only thing i know, its kinda dual transaction, we buy somtin using paypal (subscriptions, ebook or somtin), then paypal will charge ur cc (fund the account to pay for the purchase).. Correct me if i missed somtin here..

This post has been edited by fikrie: Nov 20 2008, 01:05 PM
Asus
post Nov 20 2008, 02:20 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

i saw this in paypal...

** If your transaction involves a currency conversion, it will be completed at a retail foreign exchange rate determined by PayPal, which is adjusted regularly based on market conditions. This exchange rate includes a 2.5% spread above the wholesale exchange rate at which PayPal obtains foreign currency, and the spread is retained by PayPal. The specific exchange rate that applies to your multiple currency transaction will be displayed at the time of the transaction.

** Personal accounts may not receive payments funded by credit card, debit card or Buyer Credit for eBay or eBay Express transactions without upgrading to Premier or Business accounts.

This post has been edited by Asus: Nov 20 2008, 02:21 PM
fikrie
post Nov 20 2008, 02:33 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 20 2008, 02:20 PM)
i saw this in paypal...

** If your transaction involves a currency conversion, it will be completed at a retail foreign exchange rate determined by PayPal, which is adjusted regularly based on market conditions. This exchange rate includes a 2.5% spread above the wholesale exchange rate at which PayPal obtains foreign currency, and the spread is retained by PayPal. The specific exchange rate that applies to your multiple currency transaction will be displayed at the time of the transaction.

** Personal accounts may not receive payments funded by credit card, debit card or Buyer Credit for eBay or eBay Express transactions without upgrading to Premier or Business accounts.
meant for ebay..
i hav a premier account, bought n sold few items on international ebay..

Asus
post Nov 20 2008, 02:37 PM

VXR 200
2,800 posts

yes i want to sent money to an ebay seller but he only holds personal account...so i cant sent the money to him is it?
fikrie
post Nov 20 2008, 02:56 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Nov 20 2008, 02:37 PM)
yes i want to sent money to an ebay seller but he only holds personal account...so i cant sent the money to him is it?
yup, thats true..

He'll be asked to upgrade his account to premier if he's to accept the money, if i'm not mistaken la..

btw, this is CC thread.. maybe u can find another specific thread for paypal in LYN..

Sorry guys, we both might juz a little bit out of original topic here..

This post has been edited by fikrie: Nov 20 2008, 03:06 PM
aeronlim
post Nov 20 2008, 03:04 PM

370 posts

Want to get 1 American Express Card since last week,after thinking i would like to take a Credit Card instead of Charge Card to speed up my point earning.

There are 2 choices for Maybank AMEX Credit Card
1) Ikhwan Maybank AMEX
2) Maybankard Classic AMEX Card

Want to know more about the Maybankard Classic AMEX Card.

For the Treatpoint earning, is that 2x for Maybankard Classic AMEX Card?

cute_boboi
post Nov 20 2008, 03:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Nov 20 2008, 03:04 PM)
Want to get 1 American Express Card since last week,after thinking i would like to take a Credit Card instead of Charge Card to speed up my point earning.

There are 2 choices for Maybank AMEX Credit Card
1) Ikhwan Maybank AMEX
2) Maybankard Classic AMEX Card

Want to know more about the Maybankard Classic AMEX Card.

For the Treatpoint earning, is that 2x for Maybankard Classic AMEX Card?

Yes, 2x TP for MBB Amex Credit Card for all purchases, including at petrol station (any brand, Petronas, Shell, Mobil/Esso, etc.)

The only difference I see between spending with Amex Charge and Credit card are:
1) Both has 2x TP forever. However, Charge card need to pay RM25 every year for the so called 2x turbo points. Credit card in default is free for 2x points collection.
2) Credit limit - so called higher/unlimited credit limit for Charge card
3) Recognition - my opinion is only recognisable outsite M'sia. But so far I have to problem swiping MBB Amex Credit card overseas. Definitely no problem swiping it inside M'sia, if to compare between Amex Charge or Credit.

For the two MBB Amex Credit card you list above, it is same to me to use/spend, only different 'packaging'.

yks8845
post Nov 20 2008, 04:17 PM

317 posts

anyone have any idea of how this work ? = CIMB BANK_Card Protection Premier (CPP) ,recently keep received call to askin me purchase this kind

of product. besides cimb bank, citibank did keep callin me to offer somekind of insurance.

OMG, i was dizzy about those product and the way they chasing me to subcribe. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by yks8845: Nov 20 2008, 04:18 PM
aeronlim
post Nov 20 2008, 04:34 PM

370 posts

Thanks Cuteboboi, you answered most of my doubt.

Actually just decided to get the AMEX Ikhwan, but afraid of something is can't buy by using it. (Wine, Pork, Gamble, perhaps i not meant to, but i m afraid 1 day if i m out of cash and need to buy it, then it will be my worst nightmare)

Thanks for the answer, i try to apply for Maybankard Classic Credit Card now smile.gif
cute_boboi
post Nov 20 2008, 04:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Nov 20 2008, 04:34 PM)
Thanks Cuteboboi, you answered most of my doubt.

Actually just decided to get the AMEX Ikhwan, but afraid of something is can't buy by using it. (Wine, Pork, Gamble, perhaps i not meant to, but i m afraid 1 day if i m out of cash and need to buy it, then it will be my worst nightmare)

Thanks for the answer, i try to apply for Maybankard Classic Credit Card now smile.gif
You are welcomed. My experience using MBB Amex Credit Card for >2 years:
1) No problem swipe local or overseas at all (Asean & Europe), as long as they accept Amex icon_rolleyes.gif
2) Sometimes local shops have problem swipe/approval MBB Amex Credit card, but no problem with MBB Visa/Mastercard. doh.gif
3) No issue with credit limit, as it is more than enough to use.
4) CL is combined with other MBB Visa/Mastercard. MBB Amex Charge Card CL is separate though.
5) Recognition/status/class/etc - I don't care, as long as can swipe and collect MORE points than normal.
6) Benefits - not much. I seldom use for promotion or airport lounge or etc. I don't like to hang around airport for too long. 1-2 hours for shopping/walk around/wash eyes rolleyes.gif

Coming back to Ikhwan/basic Amex credit card, I read above posting Ikhwan is rebate % ? Do a simple calculation, nowadays MBB TP 8500 = RM50 voucher, which means need to spend 8500/2 = RM4,250 to get RM50 voucher.

If Ikhwan is 2% rebate, spend RM4,250 x 2% = RM85 !!! More worth it.

To make things complicated a bit tongue.gif , my MBB Petronas is 5x TP, which is 8500/5 = RM1,700 to get RM50 voucher.
If Ikhwan rebate 2% @RM1,700 = RM34 only. Means more worthwhile to use MBB Petronas CC at Petronas station, rather than MBB Amex. sweat.gif

BTW, your signature is Hong Leong Bank CC application ? rclxub.gif tongue.gif

SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 05:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 20 2008, 04:58 PM)
You are welcomed. My experience using MBB Amex Credit Card for >2 years:
1) No problem swipe local or overseas at all (Asean & Europe), as long as they accept Amex  icon_rolleyes.gif
2) Sometimes local shops have problem swipe/approval MBB Amex Credit card, but no problem with MBB Visa/Mastercard.  doh.gif 
3) No issue with credit limit, as it is more than enough to use.
4) CL is combined with other MBB Visa/Mastercard. MBB Amex Charge Card CL is separate though.
5) Recognition/status/class/etc - I don't care, as long as can swipe and collect MORE points than normal.
6) Benefits - not much. I seldom use for promotion or airport lounge or etc. I don't like to hang around airport for too long. 1-2 hours for shopping/walk around/wash eyes  rolleyes.gif

Coming back to Ikhwan/basic Amex credit card, I read above posting Ikhwan is rebate % ? Do a simple calculation, nowadays MBB TP 8500 = RM50 voucher, which means need to spend 8500/2 = RM4,250 to get RM50 voucher.

If Ikhwan is 2% rebate, spend RM4,250 x 2% = RM85 !!! More worth it.

To make things complicated a bit  tongue.gif  , my MBB Petronas is 5x TP, which is 8500/5 = RM1,700 to get RM50 voucher.
If Ikhwan rebate 2% @RM1,700 = RM34 only. Means more worthwhile to use MBB Petronas CC at Petronas station, rather than MBB Amex.  sweat.gif

BTW, your signature is Hong Leong Bank CC application ?  rclxub.gif  tongue.gif
Ikhwan got 2% rebate? Rebate on what? I didn't hear such thing also even though I have Ikhwan AMEX with me.
cute_boboi
post Nov 20 2008, 05:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 20 2008, 05:22 PM)
Ikhwan got 2% rebate? Rebate on what? I didn't hear such thing also even though I have Ikhwan AMEX with me.
What's the rebate/rewards with Ikhwan ? Just plain 2x TP ?

SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 05:57 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 20 2008, 05:39 PM)
What's the rebate/rewards with Ikhwan ? Just plain 2x TP ?
To my knowledge, it's just 2x TP.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 08:08 PM

52,874 posts

Get a chance to win this BMW X6 with every RM100 spend in a single receipt on your American Express Card. Plus, you continue to get 2x points for every Ringgit spent.

To apply for an American Express card, call 03-2295 8877 and get up to 50 instant entries to win this BMW X6 upon approval.

Promotion period is from 1 November 2008 till 30 April 2009. Offer is not applicable for Corporate card.

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
vin_ann
post Nov 20 2008, 08:50 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(hajimemashoo @ Nov 20 2008, 12:53 PM)
Hi guys Im planning to get a Maybank credit card. Ive visited their website and here are the choices:

Maybank Flex... the main page show annual fee is free but after click on more details it show need to pay annual fee under the annual fee section. So is it free or not?

Maybankard Visa Classic, needs annual fee... is it waivable?

Anyone have any idea the credit limit for those cards?
nowadays people did not go for the MBB Visa Classic instead go for islamic card like david83 having 1, or Maybank Petronas CC which is Free for life.

but if u insist wan Visa Classic, the annual fee is waivable if u swipe 2 times per months that was my last heard requirement, now im not sure.

QUOTE(yks8845 @ Nov 20 2008, 04:17 PM)
anyone have any idea of how this work ? = CIMB BANK_Card Protection Premier (CPP) ,recently keep received call to askin me purchase this kind

of product. besides cimb bank, citibank did keep callin me to offer somekind of insurance.
OMG, i was dizzy about those product and the way they chasing me to subcribe. rclxub.gif
if u thinks u need then get it.

it's protect you from paying outstanding balance when u are facing accident cause loss of income or whatever.

it's go by outstanding balance, example : for every RM100 outstanding charge some % as premium.
schrodinger_cat
post Nov 20 2008, 09:13 PM

85 posts

Hi guys,

I'm going to apply my 1st ever credit card in my life & I need yours advices to assist me in deciding which bank's CC i should apply. My criteria goes like this: low or nil annual fee, great customer service, near to my residential area so that easy payment to outstanding balance can be made, no hassle on internet transaction e.g. Amazon, paypal, etc and of course smooth transaction during international travelling.

My colleagues suggested me to apply for HSBC, any good? I'm also thinking of Public Bank as it's very near to my house, any good? Another question is that HSBC asks for Form J/EA, what exactly is that? Is it really compulsory? What if I don't have such applications? Sorry if it sound noobish because I just started my work barely a month. blush.gif

126 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:49 PM