123 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

jchong
post Aug 4 2009, 03:53 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 4 2009, 03:18 PM)
Just run the Audyssey MultEQ XT only for the sub without any other tools?
No more room treatment needed?
Can teach me how to do that? tongue.gif
Coz really confused on what u guys were talking about rclxub.gif
To run Audyssey you need all your speakers plugged in. You also need to plug in the Audyssey microphone into your AVR. Then just follow the instructions.

Audyssey is not the perfect cure. It helps but it cannot solve all your room's acoustical problems. So, yes there is still use for those room treatments.
anfieldude
post Aug 4 2009, 04:32 PM

3,858 posts

An example of a graph with and without Audyssey.

The 1st one is without Audyssey

The 2nd one, no change in anything except engaging Audyssey.

The graph without Audyssey has a sharp peak at abt 32Hz. There are also 2 dips at 50Hz and 70Hz.

With Audyssey, the peak at 32Hz is smoothened. The dips at 50, 70Hz are now less pronounced.

The 200Hz dip is seen without Audyssey and it is quite big. Whereas with Audyssey it is better.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Aug 4 2009, 04:37 PM
jchong
post Aug 4 2009, 07:05 PM

5,989 posts

Here's my graph for before and after Audyssey:

pierreye
post Aug 4 2009, 09:00 PM

1,308 posts

Looks nice. If you get an eq and tune down few dbs from 32 to 64hz then that would be much smoother. Looks like this sub is a good buy.
megatron007
post Aug 4 2009, 09:56 PM

4,000 posts

audisi multiEQ XT memang sedap biggrin.gif ..love to see those sifus here tame down the peak n drop biggrin.gif

u guys really hardworking to prepare the data plot biggrin.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 4 2009, 11:58 AM)
Current Audyssey MultiEQ XT will help in reducing the effect of the peaks and valleys. See my graphs in the subwoofer section. It is still there but flattened. Room treatments are the best way though.
fuyoo the power of audisi XT biggrin.gif drool.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 4 2009, 03:18 PM)
Just run the Audyssey MultEQ XT only for the sub without any other tools?
No more room treatment needed?
Can teach me how to do that? tongue.gif
Coz really confused on what u guys were talking about rclxub.gif
taukeh robin...still fuzzi n dizzi on ur audisi?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Aug 4 2009, 09:59 PM
jchong
post Aug 4 2009, 10:12 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 4 2009, 09:00 PM)
Looks nice. If you get an eq and tune down few dbs from 32 to 64hz then that would be much smoother. Looks like this sub is a good buy.
The F15 does come with a parametric EQ, but one band only so I have to choose which peak to tame. To do more, like you said I'd need an external EQ. But dang, one of those is like the price of a sub! Or an XPA-5 smile.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 4 2009, 09:56 PM)
audisi multiEQ XT memang sedap biggrin.gif ..love to see those sifus here tame down the peak n drop biggrin.gif
Part of learning about this hobby. Really, before I was also dizzy about all this stuff. Slowly as I try some of these things out I learn to appreciate it.
htkaki
post Aug 4 2009, 10:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Hz by Hz plotting :

This evening, I did some treament again. I loaded 2pcs of 2" foams into the back of the room. Done clapping test and some freq test.

Anyway, I will do some treatment on the stands first. I mean the 2 pairs of surr stands by filling it with sands / pebbles. Will make it near solid. Then, apply small foams on the downlight to stop any vibrations. The back wall will be tested with RPG diffusers. Have to look for big bean bags.

Next, it is abt shifting the DVD racks. Then, will do a FR check again.
robinlim
post Aug 4 2009, 11:15 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 4 2009, 03:53 PM)
To run Audyssey you need all your speakers plugged in. You also need to plug in the Audyssey microphone into your AVR. Then just follow the instructions.

Audyssey is not the perfect cure. It helps but it cannot solve all your room's acoustical problems. So, yes there is still use for those room treatments.
I did exactly the same for all my speakers hmm.gif
I thought need to do a separate run just for the sub? No?

btw, after running the Audyssey there's improvement on the sub
it's just that i know nothing about graph plotting, and frequency kinda things tongue.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 4 2009, 09:56 PM)

Added on August 4, 2009, 9:58 pm
fuyoo the power of audisi XT biggrin.gif  drool.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 9:59 pm
taukeh robin...still fuzzi n dizzi on ur audisi??  sweat.gif
me no taukeh lar
compare with u all elite taukehs sweat.gif
I'm still in the learning curve to know more on Audyssey cool.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 4 2009, 11:18 PM
lightning69
post Aug 4 2009, 11:27 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Aug 4 2009, 11:29 AM)
bro u didnt buy the spl meter? .. just try to do what htkaki did then it is much easier to solve..  if not u will get a hard attack like me last time during movies.. at the end found out i had +30db peak for certain frequencies
I did bought the SPL meter, but even with the SPL meter I still feel that nothing beats our ear when it comes to the final output. We could get the SPL meter to show all the speakers at the same sound level but in the end if we feel that it still does not give us the punch we wanted, then still need to calibrate with our ears.

The other thing i won't want to do is acoustic treatment for my room. getting the room treated usually requires placement of silly looking things which I cannot compromise for my living room. And moving my sub around to odd places is out of the question too. To me , i am not after the best sound but sound that is appealing to me is ok oledi.
htkaki
post Aug 4 2009, 11:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If that's the case, you need to buy SVS AS-EQ1 or something similar to this
pierreye
post Aug 5 2009, 12:31 AM

1,308 posts

Anyone know how much is this?

http://www.rpginc.com/products/hemiffusorw1/index.htm

Looking for 4 pieces. If expensive, maybe get one and ask the carpenter to duplicate the design.

Added on August 5, 2009, 8:40 am
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 4 2009, 11:32 PM)
If that's the case, you need to buy SVS AS-EQ1 or something similar to this
Or you can get this mult-band eq.
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/produ...izer?sku=180584

This is poor man sub eq. Note that it is not as advanced as SVS AS-EQ1 as it can't correct phase or time-domain issue. Only can help to tame those peak. I wouldn't advice on boosting the valley too much as this would limit your sub headroom.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Aug 5 2009, 08:40 AM
htkaki
post Aug 5 2009, 08:57 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

pierreye,

Since it is wood, I think it should exceeds RM500 mark easily.

This RPG diffuser already abt RM300 (IIRC, it's a pair) Made from styrofoam.

http://www.hiwaylaser.com/diffuser

nadky
post Aug 5 2009, 09:05 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Aug 4 2009, 11:27 PM)
I did bought the SPL meter, but even with the SPL meter I still feel that nothing beats our ear when it comes to the final output.  We could get the SPL meter to show all the speakers at the same sound level but in the end if we feel that it still does not give us the punch we wanted, then still need to calibrate with our ears. 

The other thing i won't want to do is acoustic treatment for my room.  getting the room treated usually requires placement of silly looking things which I cannot compromise for my living room.  And moving my sub  around to odd places is out of the question too.  To me , i am not after the best sound but sound that is appealing to me is ok oledi.
You can now have use Acoustic Resonator to treat your room now. No more traditional room treatment stuff anymore. CMY is the sole distributor now. It's amazing if you attended Frank Tchang's presentation during KLIAV.
mys_terious
post Aug 5 2009, 09:06 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 5 2009, 08:57 AM)
pierreye,

dont know stick some mahjong on the wall can work or not smile.gif
htkaki
post Aug 5 2009, 09:46 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

ROTFLOL.... Darn funny.

I will do 2nd treatment today. Shall see how it goes.

nadky, any link / info on that? TIA
nadky
post Aug 5 2009, 09:59 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 5 2009, 09:46 AM)
ROTFLOL.... Darn funny.

I will do 2nd treatment today. Shall see how it goes.

nadky, any link / info on that? TIA
htkaki, here u go..

http://acousticsysteminternational.com/asi/Home.html
http://desirableaudio.blogspot.com/2009/08...nck-tchang.html
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/acousti...resonators.html
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/acousti...tem4/sugar.html

pierreye
post Aug 5 2009, 10:25 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 5 2009, 08:57 AM)
pierreye,

I had seen the styrofoam but didn't pull the trigger cause styrofoam might not be a good material to diffuse sound. The styrofoam might not be good for lower freq. But maybe I'm wrong, any data or test that show styrofoam is as good as wood?
htkaki
post Aug 5 2009, 10:53 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

tks, nadky.

pierreye, here's the co link :

http://www.rpginc.com/products/skyline/index.htm

I think that wood is better too (One of the reason why my billy bookshelf is at th back of my listening positioning with lots of books and mags.)

I seriously need bass traps.
mys_terious
post Aug 5 2009, 11:58 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Aug 4 2009, 11:27 PM)
I did bought the SPL meter, but even with the SPL meter I still feel that nothing beats our ear when it comes to the final output.  We could get the SPL meter to show all the speakers at the same sound level but in the end if we feel that it still does not give us the punch we wanted, then still need to calibrate with our ears. 

The other thing i won't want to do is acoustic treatment for my room.  getting the room treated usually requires placement of silly looking things which I cannot compromise for my living room.  And moving my sub  around to odd places is out of the question too.  To me , i am not after the best sound but sound that is appealing to me is ok oledi.
oki doki thumbup.gif

Added on August 5, 2009, 9:13 pmi used to think it very hard to get the right placement for svs coz its so bulky.. but .. http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii168/m...00/DSC_0066.jpg see his chair also toolan

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 6 2009, 02:32 AM
htkaki
post Aug 6 2009, 06:55 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

WOW!!!!

Btw, I just got 2 huge pieces of sort of 'rubberised at 1 side' foam. Nearly an inch thick. More on that later once I get it done in my room.

123 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0317sec    1.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:22 AM