123 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious

robinlim
post Jul 30 2009, 11:56 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 30 2009, 11:44 PM)
tomoro ask him again..sumthing he mentioned ISD one...  he said for below RM2k sub

notihng else he wanto complain lor
old model izzit? hmm.gif
htkaki
post Jul 31 2009, 12:18 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Probably a used unit / old model. The cheapest SVS sub in Singapore is PB/PC-12NSD at SGD1,099.

There will not be any 10" sub from SVS in Singapore (at least for now).
bongbo
post Jul 31 2009, 12:32 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 31 2009, 12:18 AM)
Probably a used unit / old model. The cheapest SVS sub in Singapore is PB/PC-12NSD at SGD1,099.

There will not be any 10" sub from SVS in Singapore (at least for now).
Guys, its an older model SVS PB1-NSD. Link is here

http://www.phing.com/listing/174783-WTS-SVS-PB1-NSD-850
http://www.svsubwoofers.com/images/popup_pb1_front.jpg
jchong
post Jul 31 2009, 10:03 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 31 2009, 12:18 AM)
Wah, so cheap there especially considering their purchasing power. No wonder so many Singaporeans going for SVS.

If we had the same kind of purchasing power, everybody can afford an SVS at 1.1k
lightning69
post Jul 31 2009, 02:29 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 30 2009, 01:31 PM)
What you talked about, this "lack of dynamic mid-bass" do you think it's due to the receiver or main speakers? To my thinking, better to experiment with the main speakers first, then next the amp. Of course, with enough moolah upgrade both!  biggrin.gif
I don't think its a issue with dynamic mid bass. If it is then even increasing the sub volume will not improvr that as the sub will never produce any mid bass as this frequency has been cut off by the avr crossover. My Denon sob crossover is set at 80hz so anything above that will not be generated by the sub.
htkaki
post Jul 31 2009, 04:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jul 31 2009, 02:29 PM)
I don't think its a issue with dynamic mid bass. If it is then even increasing the sub volume will not improvr that as the sub will never produce any mid bass as this frequency has been cut off by the avr crossover. My Denon sob crossover is set at 80hz so anything above that will not be generated by the sub.
Bro, they are talking about 100-300Hz lah sweat.gif and not abt the sub too tongue.gif (If you read pierreye's postings)
s6xs9x
post Jul 31 2009, 08:32 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 28 2009, 11:06 PM)
Seems like you have similar issue as s6xs9x. Your seating area might be a null area. Try to relocate the sub.
QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 30 2009, 01:24 PM)
I think you all might have an issue which is not because of your sub. Previously I'm having an issue as mention need to turn up the volume very high to feel the bass and kick from the system. In actual fact it's nothing wrong with sub not outputting enough bass. The problem is you lack of dynamic mid-bass (100hz to 300hz) to blend into your sub which is why you feel there is a gap in the system. My DD-12 is very dynamic and all the while the Onkyo 805 can't produce the dynamic sound to push my speaker to follow the sub. A dedicated power amp might help you to improve the integration of sub and your main speakers and improve your mid-bass punch.
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jul 31 2009, 02:29 PM)
lightning >
If you've been used to Velo all these while, I would say that you'll probably feel less bass throughout the entire movie. What you're getting from this SVS are just "I would say" cleaner, turning up the gain to feel the mid mass rumble would just get you confused *that what happened to me* 76db~78db for Music should be a good start, for movies try 78~80db. What it's meant to dig deep you would see it shine. What you could do is that crossover higher prehaps. I have mine 80hz for movies and 60hz for Music.

htkaki>
mine wasn't entirely null issue though, but it did improve when i rotated the whole setup. I've got to say Thanks alot bro.

pierreye >
yep, you're correct, as far for me in this case, I thought that it was the sub issue at first too. Never neglect the Mains! I can only say that, what's heard comes from the Mains and the extensions is the job for the sub. The Sub should blend will with the Mains, gaps will give u a problem, overshadowing will get you confused.

Perhaps YCS can add up a little bit here. He was once a Velo-'d'ian
htkaki
post Jul 31 2009, 09:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, you are welcome. Are you a happy man now? Maybe I sld start my 'phase 2' poison for you.
ycs
post Jul 31 2009, 10:09 PM

4,242 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jul 31 2009, 08:32 PM)
lightning >
If you've been used to Velo all these while, I would say that you'll probably feel less bass throughout the entire movie. What you're getting from this SVS are just "I would say" cleaner, turning up the gain to feel the mid mass rumble would just get you confused *that what happened to me* 76db~78db for Music should be a good start, for movies try 78~80db. What it's meant to dig deep you would see it shine. What you could do is that crossover higher prehaps. I have mine 80hz for movies and 60hz for Music.

htkaki>
mine wasn't entirely null issue though, but it did improve when i rotated the whole setup. I've got to say Thanks alot bro.

pierreye >
yep, you're correct, as far for me in this case, I thought that it was the sub issue at first too. Never neglect the Mains! I can only say that, what's heard comes from the Mains and the extensions is the job for the sub. The Sub should blend will with the Mains, gaps will give u a problem, overshadowing will get you confused.

Perhaps YCS can add up a little bit here. He was once a Velo-'d'ian
aiyoh bro, i'm only beginner sweat.gif

anyway, i just use audyssey to calibrate and added +1db to sub's trim; svs gain at 12noon.
sound OK to me but i suppose need some 'expert ears' to drop by and have a listen. hmm.gif

comparing velo 10R with PB12NSD, simply outclassed by svs in all aspects really. the 10R was quite boomy in comparison and simply could not dig deep.
ronnt88
post Jul 31 2009, 10:12 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jul 31 2009, 10:09 PM)
aiyoh bro, i'm only beginner sweat.gif

anyway, i just use audyssey to calibrate and added +1db to sub's trim; svs gain at 12noon.
sound OK to me but i suppose need some 'expert ears' to drop by and have a listen.  hmm.gif

comparing velo 10R with PB12NSD, simply outclassed by svs in all aspects really. the 10R was quite boomy in comparison and simply could not dig deep.
funny that u say 12noon.. biggrin.gif

didn't know there was a diff betw 12noon or 12am tongue.gif
ycs
post Jul 31 2009, 10:19 PM

4,242 posts

12noon: i suppose i watched a lot of cowboy series during my younger days. the gunfights were invariably held at HIGH NOON after a few morning whiskies. brows.gif

who remembers the The High Chaparral and Bonanza. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ycs: Jul 31 2009, 10:19 PM
ronnt88
post Jul 31 2009, 10:31 PM

2,353 posts

ic ic ... cowboy style biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Aug 1 2009, 10:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Finally have time to do my PC-12Plus FR. Using realtrap.com's test tone and pink noise armed with SPL meter.

http://www.realtraps.com/test-cd.htm

Here's the graph. Anyway, will try other s/w as well to compare the result.

As you can see, there is a serious issue from 40Hz to 48Hz as it dips real low. Abt -26dB difference doh.gif The 'valley' is difficult as the PEQ only tackles peak. As you can see in this graph, the peak (28Hz) is being 'subdued' a bit. Any advice would be welcomed smile.gif

At 16Hz, it starts to roll off 'dramatically', hitting 60dB at 10Hz, which is the same reading that I got when 46Hz tone is played. Only at 47Hz, the reading flipped to 50dB. It shot up to 61dB for 48Hz. There must be something very wrong with the room acoustic or something is messing with it . Need to find out hmm.gif

When I have time, I'll do some 'tweaking' with the room. Then, re-do the graph again.

Oh yes, to get the 70dB reading, the volume level is at -33.5dB on my 1900. Crossover setting is at 80Hz.

mys_terious
post Aug 2 2009, 09:11 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 1 2009, 10:23 PM)
Finally have time to do my PC-12Plus FR. Using realtrap.com's test tone and pink noise armed with SPL meter.

As you can see, there is a serious issue from 40Hz to 48Hz as it dips real low. Abt -26dB difference  doh.gif  The 'valley' is difficult as the PEQ only tackles peak. As you can see in this graph, the peak (28Hz) is being 'subdued' a bit. Any advice would be welcomed  smile.gif

At 16Hz, it starts to roll off 'dramatically', hitting 60dB at 10Hz, which is the same reading that I got when 46Hz tone is played. Only at 47Hz, the reading flipped to 50dB. It shot up to 61dB for 48Hz. There must be something very wrong with the room acoustic or something is messing with it . Need to find out  hmm.gif

When I have time, I'll do some 'tweaking' with the room. Then, re-do the graph again.

Oh yes, to get the 70dB reading, the volume level is at -33.5dB on my 1900. Crossover setting is at 80Hz.
I assume the svs is tuned to 15hz? any room treatment? if there is can u elaborate a bit abt the treatment done to the room.. kamsiah for your effort

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 2 2009, 09:11 AM
ycs
post Aug 2 2009, 09:13 AM

4,242 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 1 2009, 10:23 PM)

As you can see, there is a serious issue from 40Hz to 48Hz as it dips real low. Abt -26dB difference  doh.gif  The 'valley' is difficult as the PEQ only tackles peak. As you can see in this graph, the peak (28Hz) is being 'subdued' a bit. Any advice would be welcomed  smile.gif

At 16Hz, it starts to roll off 'dramatically', hitting 60dB at 10Hz, which is the same reading that I got when 46Hz tone is played. Only at 47Hz, the reading flipped to 50dB. It shot up to 61dB for 48Hz. There must be something very wrong with the room acoustic or something is messing with it . Need to find out  hmm.gif

you might want to re-position your sub to get better FR.
jchong
post Aug 2 2009, 11:02 AM

5,989 posts

Thanks for posting your chart htkaki.

I'm not too worried about the drop off after 16Hz. I assume that's your tuning point and ported subs are known to drop off quickly after that point. Besides 16Hz is plenty deep.

The big issue is the 40-48Hz range as you pointed out. A lot of audible bass in this region and that null is no good. My first gut reaction is to change the sub position. That might have more impact than tweaking your room.
mys_terious
post Aug 2 2009, 11:34 AM

882 posts

I came across this page while looking for brands of rockwool that is efficient agasint low freq http://www.bobgolds.com/AbsorptionCoefficients.htm .. just thought it might be useful for ppl who r interested in room treatment
ycs
post Aug 2 2009, 11:49 AM

4,242 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Aug 2 2009, 11:34 AM)
I came across this page while looking for brands of rockwool that is efficient agasint low freq  http://www.bobgolds.com/AbsorptionCoefficients.htm  .. just thought it might be useful for ppl who r interested in room treatment
useful info. i just hantam make my panels with 60kg/m3 and 80 kg/m3 rockwool. haha

looks like my bass traps not heavy enough. brows.gif
mys_terious
post Aug 2 2009, 11:59 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 2 2009, 11:49 AM)
useful info. i just hantam make my panels with 60kg/m3 and 80 kg/m3 rockwool. haha

looks like my bass traps not heavy enough. brows.gif
anyway at the end i also cincai order nia.. no choice in my home town.. i ordered 100kg/m3 .. have to wait coz not much stock for this.. they say 'no body buy this 1 la, tuakeh u buy 100kg/m3 for what'.. ehhe
ycs
post Aug 2 2009, 12:54 PM

4,242 posts

wth, you buy 100kg/m3... gila heavy. how many inch thick you wanna make?

btw, the table is for 2" thick and does it mean double the coeff. if 4" thick? tongue.gif

123 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0266sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:33 PM