SVS subwoofer, How many users here? Just courious
pierreye
May 23 2009, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(cougar richard @ May 23 2009, 08:34 AM) bro, dont mind if i ask bring back such a big thing from SG, never kena tax? or gv "duit kopi" btw, never hear of its sound b4. anywhere in SG selling n can let me experience it? Throw away the box. Put the sub at the back of the car and treat it as installed in JB ah beng bengkel.
pierreye
Jun 26 2009, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 24 2009, 02:28 PM) I have ask Erik about excluding the shipping charges on the invoice and he said it can be done. So that way we need to pay tax on the price of the sub only. 2 units PC12-Plus = USD949 x 2 = USD1898 Door 2 Airport = USD355 ------------- Total USD2253 x 3.50 -------------- RM7885 Plus 15% tax RM1182 -------------- RM9067 plus 10% sales tax RM906 -------------- RM9973 ======== So for each PC12-Plus = RM4986 Is my calculation correct? Actually it's quite useless to exclude shipping fee from invoice. Our custom now will estimate the shipping fees if the shipping fee is not included. The best way to reduce tax if he is willing to declare lower value. Or if you are buying 2 of the same unit, ask SVS to send the first one. Once you received the first one, ask SVS send the second unit but declare as RMA. With the first invoice, you can convince the custom that this is RMA unit so no tax. I know China/Hong Kong supplier had no problem doing this. This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 26 2009, 09:37 AM
pierreye
Jul 10 2009, 09:31 PM
Cool. Can't wait for your review. I'm into different type of speaker. Check out JTR speakers. It's a pro audio speaker. Currently try to work out the shipping cost to Malaysia.
pierreye
Jul 11 2009, 06:48 PM
Not getting the the JTR sub. That one too big. I'm getting JTR T8 speaker. It's very efficient speaker so I'm getting emotiva XPA-5 to drive it. It's sure looks butt ugly but the review by some of the users that immediately sell off their USD 10k plus speaker after listening to JTR speaker demo. Been compare to B&W 800D, Revel, Klipsch THX Ultra speaker. Check it out at avsforum speakers section.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 12 2009, 09:01 AM
pierreye
Jul 20 2009, 09:15 AM
So you manage to listen to MTS-01?
pierreye
Jul 20 2009, 10:34 AM
Cool. Did you manage to workout a deal with SVS or the Singapore Distributor on the bulk purchase? If we can save on tax and shipping fees I might be interested to get another sub for my living hall. Time to retire my Paradigm PDR-10.
pierreye
Jul 25 2009, 07:16 AM
How much for a PB-13Ultra in Singapore compare to buying direct from US? If it is not much then it's going to be a good buy. Hope we can order in bulk and find a way to bypass local ketam. Some forwarder got jalan to do it.
pierreye
Jul 28 2009, 09:14 AM
Ketam kacau you or not. If no tax, it's a very good price you get it.
pierreye
Jul 28 2009, 01:12 PM
htkaki, you should find a way to bypass ketam. Just check around with some transporter who can find jalan to maybe pay a bit to bypass. Anyway, wait for your pricing. If very sui, then get from you. If not, need to ask my brother in singapore to get a unit and bring in through car.
This post has been edited by pierreye: Jul 28 2009, 01:14 PM
pierreye
Jul 28 2009, 07:08 PM
I get my speaker and amp from China and HK, never pay ketam. They somehow had a way to bypass ketam using certain forwarder.
pierreye
Jul 30 2009, 09:23 AM
There is another easier way if you don't want to carry your sub around. Put your sub at seating position and move around with your mic. If you get the position will less peak and valley, then that would be your best position. If you don't have mic, then you need to crawl on the floor. In NULL area, you will feel that the bass feel hollow. For peak area, you will feel the bass is very strong.
pierreye
Jul 30 2009, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 30 2009, 09:08 AM) I had the same issue with my Rythmik sub. Like you I had to turn up the volume to let the stronger bass come through. I think it's something to do with the pink noise and how it is reproduced through the sub and subsequently picked up by the SPL meter. I think you all might have an issue which is not because of your sub. Previously I'm having an issue as mention need to turn up the volume very high to feel the bass and kick from the system. In actual fact it's nothing wrong with sub not outputting enough bass. The problem is you lack of dynamic mid-bass (100hz to 300hz) to blend into your sub which is why you feel there is a gap in the system. My DD-12 is very dynamic and all the while the Onkyo 805 can't produce the dynamic sound to push my speaker to follow the sub. A dedicated power amp might help you to improve the integration of sub and your main speakers and improve your mid-bass punch.
pierreye
Jul 30 2009, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jul 30 2009, 01:31 PM) What you talked about, this "lack of dynamic mid-bass" do you think it's due to the receiver or main speakers? To my thinking, better to experiment with the main speakers first, then next the amp. Of course, with enough moolah upgrade both!  One thing for sure, Onkyo Receiver can't produce the dynamic sound needed. I previously own NAD T763 which is 100w per channel all driven and had quite a good amp section. The punch is better than Onkyo but doesn't come close to dedicated power amp. Previously I'm in the same boat as you whether to change my speaker first. Well, I'm making a right decision to get a separate amp as it unlock the true potential of my speaker. What speaker do you have? Why not try to loan a stereo power amp with at least 200watts per channel and try it out.
pierreye
Aug 4 2009, 09:00 PM
Looks nice. If you get an eq and tune down few dbs from 32 to 64hz then that would be much smoother. Looks like this sub is a good buy.
pierreye
Aug 5 2009, 12:31 AM
Anyone know how much is this? http://www.rpginc.com/products/hemiffusorw1/index.htmLooking for 4 pieces. If expensive, maybe get one and ask the carpenter to duplicate the design. Added on August 5, 2009, 8:40 amQUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 4 2009, 11:32 PM) If that's the case, you need to buy SVS AS-EQ1 or something similar to this Or you can get this mult-band eq. http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/produ...izer?sku=180584This is poor man sub eq. Note that it is not as advanced as SVS AS-EQ1 as it can't correct phase or time-domain issue. Only can help to tame those peak. I wouldn't advice on boosting the valley too much as this would limit your sub headroom. This post has been edited by pierreye: Aug 5 2009, 08:40 AM
pierreye
Aug 5 2009, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 5 2009, 08:57 AM) pierreye, Since it is wood, I think it should exceeds RM500 mark easily. This RPG diffuser already abt RM300 (IIRC, it's a pair) Made from styrofoam. http://www.hiwaylaser.com/diffuserI had seen the styrofoam but didn't pull the trigger cause styrofoam might not be a good material to diffuse sound. The styrofoam might not be good for lower freq. But maybe I'm wrong, any data or test that show styrofoam is as good as wood?
pierreye
Aug 6 2009, 11:10 AM
Only mid-30 and above married guys got time for this hobby. If I'm in my 20s still single, might spend more time and money on girls and flashy stuff (to impress girls).
pierreye
Aug 10 2009, 03:09 PM
You are the first one to mention increasing volume for music. Normally I will down the bass for music for better integration with the main. For movie, you want maximum kick from the system.
pierreye
Aug 11 2009, 09:54 AM
Most retailer will only stick to best selling brand. We are doing it as a hobby.
pierreye
Aug 11 2009, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2009, 08:40 AM) You miss my point. I'm not asking them to educate customers. If you're into HT you will know stuffs, not only what you're selling, and make efforts to cater customer's demands. Knowing more can expand yur business. My point here, they're not really interested into HT themselves, they're strictly doing business. If their answer was "That subwoofer really keng, but sorry, we don't sell that" then I'm OK, at least they know what I'm talking about. But their answer was "SBS? Apa tu?", would that give you confidence as a customer? If you guys fine doing business like that, I don't have any objections. Just stating my experience and opinions. As long as they know their product then I'm fine. If you ask SVS PC-13 vs DD-18, who keng? I can't answer. Cause SPL wise, PC-13 might win but from musical point of view, DD-18 might had advantage due to sealed sub, servo feedback and built-in EQ tuning. Most of the local retailer will never hear a SVS sub before, so all is hearsay until you have experience the sub. If I'm a sales person, even if I know SVS brand, I'll try to push product I have on hand. They are making a living, not making you feel shiok with your own purchase.