btw u need an mpv or convertable seats..... dont think sedan can fit
Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
Oct 28 2008, 03:50 PM
727 posts Joined: May 2005 From: KL |
btw u need an mpv or convertable seats..... dont think sedan can fit
Oct 28 2008, 03:52 PM
633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere on a planet called EARTH |
Oct 28 2008, 03:59 PM
i think, not tall enought, my friend. the thing is its not recomand to 'sleep' the plasma
Oct 28 2008, 04:00 PM
251 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Puchong |
The thing is... Plasma TVs should be transported upright, never sideways. You do NOT want to put stress on that large 42" plasma glass and subject it to all the bumps of a road. If you accidentally crack that glass, no 5-year warranty is going to cover it.
Better to pay a bit extra and get the seller to transport to your house. If they break it on the way, you can ask them for a new one. You break it yourself... |
Oct 28 2008, 04:02 PM
ask for free delivery.
Oct 28 2008, 04:07 PM
thanks for the advices. will ask for the free delivery. initially wanted to carry it myself as the delivery will need to wait.
Oct 28 2008, 04:09 PM
1,314 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Tumpat,Shah Alam,Bangi,Dengkil. |
im just curious though.
is SHARP LC-32A33M is good to watch astro and movies from dvd player? and i dun understand about this tuner thingy.. Tuner in UHF/VHF 75 Din Type is that mean i can tune the channel from antenna like old skool one to find rtm1, rtm2 etc2 ? sorry. im just helping my grandpa here as he asked about lcd tv and i completely have no idea about it. Added on October 28, 2008, 4:09 pmhttp://www.sharp.com.my/product.php?ProductID=LC32A33M&show=specifications This post has been edited by camel90: Oct 28 2008, 04:09 PM |
Oct 28 2008, 04:11 PM
y wanna carry yrself. u can alway ask for sameday. ofcouse have to let them knw early lah eg b4 lunch.
remember to ask for basic fixup....the tbbbbbeeee is >30kg dont think u wanna fix yrself. |
Oct 28 2008, 04:23 PM
295 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 27 2008, 10:52 PM) I am using one as PC Monitor but its for HTPC , to watch videos , to view photos and to listen to songs. Depending if you're going to get a full HD TV or HD Ready TV Set. I am using HD Ready TV set and so far so good. I can game at 720p or at 1080i (meaning that I can choose resolution in between 720p to 1080i) as opposed to connecting my PC using VGA ! I always KNEW S-video is analogue. My laptop don't have HDMi connectivity thats y i use the only connection available. I am using 30Hz (60 ?) regular HD Ready LCD (Panny) and I don't get any lags when I am playing games such as MMORPG and RPGs. For me it looks fine , maybe my eyes aren't sharp enough to see I wonder why you didn't use HDMI instead ! S-video is analogue , you should be using DVI to HDMI for pure digital to digital connectivity if I got HDMi y would i use the analogue one? This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 28 2008, 04:28 PM |
Oct 28 2008, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Oct 28 2008, 04:11 PM) y wanna carry yrself. u can alway ask for sameday. ofcouse have to let them knw early lah eg b4 lunch. noted.remember to ask for basic fixup....the tbbbbbeeee is >30kg dont think u wanna fix yrself. also to panny pv80/pv8 users, what's the best setting for watching normal dvd and divx? thanks This post has been edited by atah: Oct 28 2008, 04:53 PM |
Oct 28 2008, 05:00 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Oct 28 2008, 04:23 PM) I always KNEW S-video is analogue. My laptop don't have HDMi connectivity thats y i use the only connection available. Dont tell me your laptop doesn't have DVI. Even my 5 year old iBook has DVI Out , and it can connect to my HDTV just fine (With DVI TO HDMI Adapter) and I'm set. I am sure your laptop has DVI Out or just use VGA. IMO , at least its not going to overscan the display and you'll get pixel perfect on VGA (eventho its analogue) if I got HDMi y would i use the analogue one? If you ask me , skip S-Video , and go for VGA Straight or just use DVI TO HDMI Adapter , that would do the trick. DVI is digital and HDMI is digital. Its just that you wouldn't be carrying HD Sound via DVI , just the image only. For sound , i am sure you can use analogue Then notice the umphness of the video , especially when you can use softwares to upscale the quality (not soo good0 but it will give you a good image) |
Oct 28 2008, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2008, 05:00 PM) Dont tell me your laptop doesn't have DVI. Even my 5 year old iBook has DVI Out , and it can connect to my HDTV just fine (With DVI TO HDMI Adapter) and I'm set. I am sure your laptop has DVI Out or just use VGA. IMO , at least its not going to overscan the display and you'll get pixel perfect on VGA (eventho its analogue) I'm telling you AGAIN, my laptop doesn't have DVI or HDMI. If you ask me , skip S-Video , and go for VGA Straight or just use DVI TO HDMI Adapter , that would do the trick. DVI is digital and HDMI is digital. Its just that you wouldn't be carrying HD Sound via DVI , just the image only. For sound , i am sure you can use analogue Then notice the umphness of the video , especially when you can use softwares to upscale the quality (not soo good0 but it will give you a good image) I know the s-video not so good but what i can i do. I'm searching for the VGA cable at the moment, so i'm using the s-video cable. Still no hope for DVI to Hdmi. Huhuhu This post has been edited by elwwmatrix: Oct 28 2008, 06:02 PM |
Oct 28 2008, 05:53 PM
114 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(99below0 @ Oct 28 2008, 04:00 PM) The thing is... Plasma TVs should be transported upright, never sideways. You do NOT want to put stress on that large 42" plasma glass and subject it to all the bumps of a road. If you accidentally crack that glass, no 5-year warranty is going to cover it. Not only that you might accidentally crack the panel, but those tiny cells are filled with gases. If you lay it down, it is going to affect the cells.Better to pay a bit extra and get the seller to transport to your house. If they break it on the way, you can ask them for a new one. You break it yourself... I seen it with my own eyes. One plasma transported like sleeping beauty, and the plasma remained as sleeping beauty, just couldn't turn it on. Have to send back to the manufacturer, luckily they still can do something about it. DON'T EVER TRANSPORT YOUR PLASMA SIDEWAYS |
Oct 28 2008, 06:10 PM
369 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
It depends on the car.
I transported my 42-inch plasma laying down on the back of the rear seat. So far it is still kicking alive. I don't know if there is any difference in the packaging for the PY800 vs PV80/8. The styroforms used to hold the PY800 are definitely strong enough to sustain a bit of bump and shake on the way home. Maybe the PY800 is fully imported so it is better protected from vibration! |
Oct 28 2008, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Oct 28 2008, 05:50 PM) I'm telling you AGAIN, my laptop doesn't have DVI or HDMI. Funny , judging from your specifications , the graphics card supports HDMI anyway. I guess Dell didn't enable it. That's sad. Go get a VGA Cable and make full use of progressive scan. Anyhow , do let us know the quality once you have swapped the cable I know the s-video not so good but what i can i do. I'm searching for the VGA cable at the moment, so i'm using the s-video cable. Still no hope for DVI to Hdmi. Huhuhu |
Oct 28 2008, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2008, 06:40 PM) Funny , judging from your specifications , the graphics card supports HDMI anyway. I guess Dell didn't enable it. That's sad. Go get a VGA Cable and make full use of progressive scan. Anyhow , do let us know the quality once you have swapped the cable Yep. Thanks prasys for the recommendation. I agree, Dell is weird.They offer good gaming graphic cards and even got options for BLu Ray Reader/Burner, but no DVI or HDMi connection. |
Oct 28 2008, 07:04 PM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Oct 28 2008, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Oct 28 2008, 06:51 PM) Yep. Thanks prasys for the recommendation. Sure if you're in the KL Area you can get it easily. Go to any PC Computer store and you can get VGA Male to VGA Male cable. You got a Full HD Display and you're using s-video thats like having a Ferrari and using a R92 , good car with cheap maintenance (can't get the equivalent term - its something like that). Plus your Graphics card supports HD as well. Gaming and watching HD Movies would be much more better I agree, Dell is weird.They offer good gaming graphic cards and even got options for BLu Ray Reader/Burner, but no DVI or HDMi connection. Do share your experience once you have made the switch. |
Oct 28 2008, 09:43 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak. |
Yeah better to get the seller to deliver the heavy plasma to ur home. Normally they should not charge for extra transport fee coz they already earned ur margin in the tv set.
I noticed my plasma was transported upright position to my house. This should be the correct way to move it, not lay side way. Be warned. |
Oct 28 2008, 09:48 PM
197 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 28 2008, 09:43 PM) Yeah better to get the seller to deliver the heavy plasma to ur home. Normally they should not charge for extra transport fee coz they already earned ur margin in the tv set. did u fixed to the wall or on the tv cabinet. how much do they sell the wall bracket - 42' plasma, found some at HN so expensive. I noticed my plasma was transported upright position to my house. This should be the correct way to move it, not lay side way. Be warned. |
| Change to: | 0.0214sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:17 AM |