126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

abasan
post Oct 29 2008, 02:07 PM

43 posts

Please don't flame me but I need to ask this...

I've been on a 40gb PS3 for some months now but after so many games installed I have less then 5gb left.

I know how to replace the HD after reading the 1st page of this FAQ. But right now I'm concerned on how to back up my files to the new HDD.

1. Is it possible to just replaced the HDD with the new one. Let PS3 do the formatting etc. then.
2. Buy an external HDD enclosure like Link, Imicro etc (Or can anyone recommend me a brand/model I can get locally in KL)
3. Put the ori HDD into the enclosure and back up restore from the ori HDD?

If cannot, what would be the best/easiest way of getting all my old data from the Ori HDD into the new one. My understanding is the new HDD will be formatted once I put into the PS3.

I seriously wouldn't want to download all my COD maps and Game patches again...
SSJBen
post Oct 29 2008, 02:17 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(abasan @ Oct 29 2008, 02:07 PM)
Please don't flame me but I need to ask this...

I've been on a 40gb PS3 for some months now but after so many games installed I have less then 5gb left.

I know how to replace the HD after reading the 1st page of this FAQ. But right now I'm concerned on how to back up my files to the new HDD.

1. Is it possible to just replaced the HDD with the new one. Let PS3 do the formatting etc. then.
2. Buy an external HDD enclosure like Link, Imicro etc (Or can anyone recommend me a brand/model I can get locally in KL)
3. Put the ori HDD into the enclosure and back up restore from the ori HDD?

If cannot, what would be the best/easiest way of getting all my old data from the Ori HDD into the new one. My understanding is the new HDD will be formatted once I put into the PS3.

I seriously wouldn't want to download all my COD maps and Game patches again...
Yes its possible to replace your current HDD with the new one without doing anything prior, the PS3 will format the new HDD.

However, it is then not possible to take out your 40GB HDD then insert your new HDD into your PS3 and only then backup your files from the 40GB. You have to select the backup utility to backup your files from your 40GB HDD first.

The easiest way is to copy your backup your 40GB HDD files onto another external storage device first, I assume you do not have another external HDD though.
yujin86
post Oct 29 2008, 02:34 PM

1,737 posts

any sifu got any solution for how to connect my ps3 to my amp which only hav coax in?
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 29 2008, 02:40 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Bro, the converter you're trying to bulk would be the best way. I was looking for an opposite one (ie Coax-->Optical). Found some on ebay, but they'll require a step down transformer.
yujin86
post Oct 29 2008, 03:00 PM

1,737 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 29 2008, 02:40 PM)
Bro, the converter you're trying to bulk would be the best way. I was looking for an opposite one (ie Coax-->Optical). Found some on ebay, but they'll require a step down transformer.
ya lo
tats y i am looking for another solution now....
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 29 2008, 03:09 PM

1,495 posts

OMG, Resistance 2 Reviews are out.
jsc_tidus
post Oct 29 2008, 04:06 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 29 2008, 03:09 PM)
OMG, Resistance 2 Reviews are out.
better hands-on it la then reviews.. thumbup.gif
mDinie
post Oct 29 2008, 04:18 PM

136 posts

To all Ps3 sifu:

Recently there was the Official PS3 launch at One Utama and there was also the Soul Calibur 4 24 hour marathon competition. My friend won second place so his prize was a 80Gb Ps3. As I know the 80GB and the 60GB is included with the card reader on the left compartment of the Ps3. Thing is, me and my friend cant even open it. So we come to the conclusion that its not there. Anyone can explain why? Btw..his Ps3 is Ntsc J.
csk3984
post Oct 29 2008, 04:25 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Oct 29 2008, 04:18 PM)
To all Ps3 sifu:

Recently there was the Official PS3 launch at One Utama and there was also the Soul Calibur 4 24 hour marathon competition. My friend won second place so his prize was a 80Gb Ps3. As I know the 80GB and the 60GB is included with the card reader on the left compartment of the Ps3. Thing is, me and my friend cant even open it. So we come to the conclusion that its not there. Anyone can explain why? Btw..his Ps3 is Ntsc J.
Bro, if not mistaken the new 80GB console do not come with build in card reader
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 29 2008, 04:25 PM

1,495 posts

Nope. The Malaysian 80GB set is a completely different machine, WITHOUT the card reader and only TWO USB slots.

vorchiel
post Oct 29 2008, 04:31 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

http://www.edepot.com/playstation3.html
mDinie
post Oct 29 2008, 04:36 PM

136 posts

Serious? Yea..there are only two USB ports. Haha..too bad for me friend I guess. Thanks!
vorchiel
post Oct 29 2008, 04:41 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

msian set is cechk
GamersFamilia
post Oct 29 2008, 04:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Oct 29 2008, 04:36 PM)
Serious? Yea..there are only two USB ports. Haha..too bad for me friend I guess. Thanks!
not that bad actually...even there is no memory card reader its okey , cause it still can transfer any kindda data to the console by using a thumbdrive via USB.

may be u said too bad for him cause his PS3 didnt have the memory card reader , yet he will say to u too bad that u have to send ur PS3 to singapore cause he got 1 year warranty from Sony Malaysia.

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Oct 29 2008, 04:53 PM
SSJBen
post Oct 29 2008, 04:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Oct 29 2008, 04:36 PM)
Get a 13-in-1 USB card reader from any IT store for less than RM20. Instant win.
csk3984
post Oct 29 2008, 04:57 PM

321 posts

jz buy a 8GB pendrive bro, cost u RM57 only

This post has been edited by csk3984: Oct 29 2008, 04:57 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 29 2008, 05:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Oct 29 2008, 04:57 PM)
jz buy a 8GB pendrive bro, cost u RM57 only
i bought 16GB SanDisk pendrive @ thumbdrive... bout 100++
mDinie
post Oct 29 2008, 05:47 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 29 2008, 04:50 PM)
not that bad actually...even there is no memory card reader its okey , cause it still can transfer any kindda data to the console by using a thumbdrive via USB.

may be u said too bad for him cause his PS3 didnt have the memory card reader , yet he will say to u too bad that u have to send ur PS3 to singapore cause he got 1 year warranty from Sony Malaysia.
Haha..actually I dont even own a PS3 machine, yet. Not the correct time to get it yet for me I guess..
csk3984
post Oct 29 2008, 07:54 PM

321 posts

To all bro, help me
I want to ask. Issit possible to use Computer Monitor (eg:samsung wide scree) to play PS 3?? what should i need to do it?
sphiroth
post Oct 29 2008, 08:10 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Oct 29 2008, 07:54 PM)
To all bro, help me
I want to ask. Issit possible to use Computer Monitor (eg:samsung wide scree) to play PS 3?? what should i need to do it?
If not mistaken, a VGA box if the monitor only has VGA input. IF got DVI, you can use HDMI to DVI converter+HDMI cable. hmm.gif

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:57 PM