9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

GamersFamilia
post Aug 18 2008, 11:38 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(Star_Scream @ Aug 18 2008, 11:33 AM)
ehem.. trying to be smart here...

i noticed that we can actually switch on the console by pressing the PShome button on the controller.. hehe

and i often ejected disc and off the console thru XMB, so i cant remember when was the last time i actually physically touch my ps3...  hhmmm

u all know about this oredi aarr??
we know liaw... drool.gif

Added on August 18, 2008, 11:39 am
QUOTE(ayenz @ Aug 18 2008, 11:05 AM)
how about uncle Bernard's shop? still located at Jalan TAR opposite Pertama Complex rite?
Damansara is very far for me to go...dont have enough time....(coming to KL today on company's training...huhu)
bernards also good....yes rite.

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Aug 18 2008, 11:39 AM
GamersFamilia
post Aug 18 2008, 12:26 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

this thread totally helpfull for the beginners like me , lots of info i can get , keep it up
GamersFamilia
post Aug 19 2008, 07:21 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

yeap , for me hdmi cables one of the important part , so me also make sure bought a expensive hdmi cable for my ps3 , cause i know the expensive once better quality.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 20 2008, 02:42 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(manchild @ Aug 20 2008, 02:13 PM)
Should be ok coz it's designed for it and also it can upscale. Just don't use the caplang dvds from the roadside.
yeap totally rite...its designed to play games , blue-ray movie and also dvd movie etc...so whats next ( rumors ) cant play games cause it will destroy the ps3?

i wont listen to this kindda rumors...not only ps3 , even xbox360 also had this rumors...come on...btw im using my ps3 for games and blueray movies....
GamersFamilia
post Aug 20 2008, 02:57 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(viruscai @ Aug 20 2008, 02:48 PM)
R u using ur PS3 for DVD movies? as u stated only blu-ray movies...
so after all ur DVDs movie, ur PS3 still in tip top condition for ur games n blu-ray movie?
many thanks...
well so far i dont have any probs...cause im not using any pirated disc with my ps3.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 20 2008, 06:58 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

fieewh...i guess im one of those ps3 40GB which had the dual lens..cause i bought the lastest batch of 40GB from Gamers Hideout.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 22 2008, 10:57 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

since the charger cable kindda short , do pc shops selling this kindda cable? i need long once to charge my dual shock 3 while playing games
GamersFamilia
post Aug 24 2008, 05:41 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(wmconan @ Aug 24 2008, 05:32 PM)
Guys, wan to ask....if I wan to connect my PS3 to LCD TV...do I need any cable for it? or just use normal standard PS3 cable...Thx.... smile.gif
U can use normal standard PS3 cable also + or u can use a HDMI cable.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 11:37 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

Can PS3 japan edition upgrade with version 2.42 firmware which is (US) ? well just wonder cause ive seen someone post it...
GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 01:28 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 25 2008, 12:10 PM)
Now it is possible, because the md5 hash for every update since 2.0 works for every PS3 region.

Still, keep an eye out. While I don't expect this to change, always check the md5 hash first before you update.
like me i prefer the right way...if asia console then update the asia 2.42 version...even though can use US update.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 01:50 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

nOOb question here...

since HDMI include audio and video signal , if i wanna to connet to my LCD tv , i just need to plug-in HDMI cable from PS3 to LCD tv is it? just that? or i need some extra cables?

cause from what i know...LCD tv had AV sound output rite? so i just connect ps3 HDMI to LCD HDMI port 1...then use AV cable connect to sound output ( from LCD tv ) then connect to external speakers which have AV input....

GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 05:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 25 2008, 03:14 PM)
yes you are right, it will work that way.. or you can connect directly from your ps3 to your speakers.. go to the audio output settings in your ps3 and select the 3rd option (after HDMI and optic cable)
thanks...and what kindda external speakers seems the best ? edifier?
GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 05:28 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Aug 25 2008, 01:47 PM)
a. should i get a set now from shops or wait for the official launching here? unsure.gif any benefit apart from warranty?
b. 6axis controller can sell? how much shld i offer?
c. any 2.5" 500gb hdd here? thinking of maxing out the hdd sweat.gif
a. well for me better u get the console (PS3) now , get the SG unit better.
b. yeap.if its totally new i think around rm80 to rm90
c. yes there is one of the forummers here who already upgraded till 500GB ( slayerMY )

Added on August 25, 2008, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 25 2008, 05:26 PM)
If you are using PC speakers, then theres too many to say which is the best. It'll come down to your budget range.
thanks... rclxms.gif

Added on August 25, 2008, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Aug 25 2008, 05:05 PM)
like that dun have to ask sleep.gif
ok, next time i dont have to ask again..sorry

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Aug 26 2008, 09:40 PM
GamersFamilia
post Sep 2 2008, 09:34 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 31 2008, 08:44 PM)
hi guys,

today i just got my brand new ps3 frm singapore since mine was broken..

my question is how do i transfer my saved game to the ps3 without restoring everything (settings etc).. i just need the saved game.. i did full backup frm my previous ps3.

thanks.
larger capacity thumb drive needed to transfer ur saved games...last friday i just bought sandisk thumbdrive 16GB just for my PS3 , for update firmware & themes...or later to transfer games save...
GamersFamilia
post Sep 2 2008, 01:01 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 2 2008, 09:57 AM)
Get your facts straight man.I dont think you need a big ass thumbdrive for save data.The biggest data I have came across was about was around 4 megs. Unless for the game data, now thats another story. Both are different. Or if you are trying to back up your system, then yes you will need a big ass hdd. I backed up my system on an IDE hdd, 80 gb. so if my hdd screws up, I can restore my backup anytime.
ok boss..
GamersFamilia
post Sep 2 2008, 01:15 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 2 2008, 01:08 PM)
wadehell boss boss pulak laugh.gif come on, we share knowledge here nod.gif
i know....ok boss means i got ur info..thanks..cause im still new with ps3...
GamersFamilia
post Sep 6 2008, 02:27 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(MrBaka @ Sep 6 2008, 02:19 PM)
my ps3 froze for the first time. so I ejected the disc first then force it shut down. (hold down the off button for a few sec)

is this scenario is normal for ps3? and it will it effect the ps3 hardware?
i do think u will get the answer on the first page...its happen sometimes on ps3.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 7 2008, 02:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(ethecus @ Sep 7 2008, 11:48 AM)
hi guys,

my ps3 got some problem after my friend play mgs and turn off like usual.

when turn on the screen turn black and i turn on my gamepad ,

both of them seem din receive any signal from ps3 and keep 4 red light blinking.

i can on off by pressing I/O and the disc drive seems working ( can suck and eject disc )

i'm using HDMI 1080i res so far.

any of you guys here got the same problem like me?

sad .. just few months old
may be u can do this method, press and hold the I/O button keep on holding it till 2nd beeping sound..(reset the console)

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Sep 7 2008, 02:04 PM
GamersFamilia
post Sep 9 2008, 10:02 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(Scavengers @ Sep 9 2008, 09:55 AM)
heyya
just want to ask, does anyone here have a decent & non-ugly carrying case for the ps3, i might consider buying one for the raya migration biggrin.gif
if so can u guys point out some directions. i'm "chroming" it as we speak
any recommendation for local outlets selling it
thx

this one looks ok

im also searching for the carry case for the PS3 , but the bad news is most of them considered ugly...but i will go to GamersHideout today just browsing for it , incase they got it , ill PM u.
GamersFamilia
post Sep 12 2008, 05:33 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,820 posts

QUOTE(dcorperation @ Sep 11 2008, 01:26 PM)
hi wanna ask....what difference does it make if i put my ps3 standing and laying down?
is there any?
me put it horizontal position.... rclxms.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:55 PM