Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion
panda-man
Dec 20 2008, 03:32 AM
QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Dec 19 2008, 06:47 PM) so if i buy an asian ps3 set..i can send to malaysia sony for warranty? if must send singapore then gg lo... it depends where you bought your ps3. malaysia set or singapore set. hk set or what not. i said check warranty card above.  hahah. but i guess no warranty card. you can check the serial number. dont know too much about this. but the guy at the shop you buying from should tell you. QUOTE(BreauxBloody @ Dec 20 2008, 03:05 AM) hi all sifus, i need help, i just got my ps3 and i wish to hook my ps3 on my LCD monitor. 1. do u guys know where to buy cheap DVI-HDMI cable, because i see lowyat.net ppl only sell the adaptor. don't they have cable together with the adaptor? 2. I wish to buy the Y splitter to hook up my 2.1 pc speaker.what is the splitter full named called?.do u guys know where can i get it?i lived at serdang. any nearby place can buy these kind of stuff thanks in adv check out play-asia bro. or just go ronda jalan jalan at digital mall or lowyat.
todak
Dec 20 2008, 09:31 AM

QUOTE(todak @ Dec 11 2008, 10:00 AM) Hi people. I have a 80gb ps3 and a 80gb USB portable hdd ide Hitachi. I want to backup the ps3 to the portable hdd in order to upgrade ps3 hdd to 500gb. I've formatted the portable hdd to FAT32 to a single 80gb partition using latest swissknife and my pc can recognize it, no problem. However, when I plug it to my ps3 and switch on, the portable hdd would blink & make a loud clicking noise simultaneously about every 3 seconds. And the ps3 does not see the portable hdd. I've read on 1st page that it might be due to the usb casing not drawing enough power and need 2 ports to provide sufficient power to the hdd. But I dont want to get a 2 port usb casing (?)just to find out that it might not work either. Any ideas? Thanks. Thanks vorchiel and neoardi for suggestions. Reformatting to ntsf and to fat32 again did not work. Using a 2 cable usb also didnt work, the clicking is still there just slower. From what I gather its a power issue and someone suggested getting an ide casing with power supply. However, I opted to use the slightly more tedious way as suggested by acougan. I'm transferring the backup data from my pc to the old ps3 hdd right now and the new 500gb hdd is already installed.
Gilthoniel
Dec 20 2008, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 20 2008, 02:35 AM) was trying the US one
kelvin5353
Dec 20 2008, 11:44 AM
bro acougan, can u show me the guide or link How to Transfer media file from Pc to PS3 using network??? Thks & highly appreacite
blurkia
Dec 20 2008, 12:03 PM

hi all, anywhere i can get a goood budget 5.1 speaker that has optical input? i heard pple say creative 5.1 5700 is good.. but i cant seem to find it.. any idea or suggestions?
colt_508
Dec 20 2008, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Dec 20 2008, 09:54 AM) same as well... sign at M'sia Id.. was no problem..
defaultname365
Dec 20 2008, 12:38 PM
Hello PS3 veterans, I am brand new to the PS3 gaming scene.
I have updated everything... and signed up for PSN. However, where do I download all those game demos ? I mean, everything I do something, it says "Not available in your area / region etc. etc."
I signed up with my home address... Malaysia that is. Why can't I do so ? My Internet Browser works perfectly.
I really want to get cracking on the latest game demos... etc. etc.
PS : Is it me or is Streamyx connection to the PS3 really bad... like it showed error updating my firmware and had to restart again and again. I tried it at night (about 2.30am) and it was a lot quicker and completed the update.
TSacougan
Dec 20 2008, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(kelvin5353 @ Dec 20 2008, 11:44 AM) bro acougan, can u show me the guide or link How to Transfer media file from Pc to PS3 using network??? Thks & highly appreacite  there is a way to transfer file larger than 4GB to the PS3 using PC and servers but i don't know how. can anyone help? sorry haven't been keeping up with this thread for awhile.
panda-man
Dec 20 2008, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 20 2008, 12:38 PM) Hello PS3 veterans, I am brand new to the PS3 gaming scene. I have updated everything... and signed up for PSN. However, where do I download all those game demos ? I mean, everything I do something, it says "Not available in your area / region etc. etc." I signed up with my home address... Malaysia that is. Why can't I do so ? My Internet Browser works perfectly. I really want to get cracking on the latest game demos... etc. etc. PS : Is it me or is Streamyx connection to the PS3 really bad... like it showed error updating my firmware and had to restart again and again. I tried it at night (about 2.30am) and it was a lot quicker and completed the update. you need to log on to the PSN store. if you signed up under malaysia, then i dont think PSN is online yet. or is it? havent tried in a while. you need to make a new account for singapore or hk or japan or us or something in order to access their PSN. front page should have all this stuff.
kelvin5353
Dec 20 2008, 01:06 PM
Added on December 20, 2008, 1:27 pmQUOTE(kelvin5353 @ Dec 20 2008, 01:06 PM) Found this website for transferring file via network to PS3, testing now : ) http://www.di.co.nz/PSMediaTunnel/index.htmTEsted.....Ran Smoothly & perfectly  , even transferring file >4GB, only that about <10 min....after my PS3 been upgrade to 500GB, then bro acougan post for converting MKV to MP4,(it work nicely also using gotsent), now finally can transfer the converted movie to my PS3 This post has been edited by kelvin5353: Dec 20 2008, 01:29 PM
shahreza2000
Dec 20 2008, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Dec 20 2008, 12:38 PM) Hello PS3 veterans, I am brand new to the PS3 gaming scene. I have updated everything... and signed up for PSN. However, where do I download all those game demos ? I mean, everything I do something, it says "Not available in your area / region etc. etc." I signed up with my home address... Malaysia that is. Why can't I do so ? My Internet Browser works perfectly. I really want to get cracking on the latest game demos... etc. etc. PS : Is it me or is Streamyx connection to the PS3 really bad... like it showed error updating my firmware and had to restart again and again. I tried it at night (about 2.30am) and it was a lot quicker and completed the update. Since u have aldy signed up with Malaysian PSN id... thats great.. the PSN store for Malaysia not available yet... so u want to download latest demos and more stuff, create a new user id (US or SG account).. both aldy have PSN stores ...plus dont delete the user id u've created, just leave there for future purposes... Since u say streamyx is slow, why not download ps3 updates on pc then u can update it using USB thumb drive for convenience.. here is the link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/769411/+1680
colt_508
Dec 20 2008, 01:49 PM
AND... also if u wanna create US.. u must enter US address as well.. and remember one e-mail is for one acc only.. which mean.. if u wanna create US acc.. u must have another e-mail.. address..
same as well for S'pore Acc..
jenniferjen
Dec 20 2008, 04:07 PM
Quick question Can you play games while downloading demo? Will the gameplay become lag? THe the download become affected? Thank
colt_508
Dec 20 2008, 04:17 PM
never tried it before.. when download a demo ijuz leave it and i'm going sleep.. next morning.. Tada.. 100% complete DL
GamersFamilia
Dec 20 2008, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Dec 19 2008, 06:47 PM) so if i buy an asian ps3 set..i can send to malaysia sony for warranty? if must send singapore then gg lo... how many times should i explain it...its not that difficult to think...if u wanna buy asian ps3 ( which edition ? ) if u buy Singapore Edition then u must send to Singapore to claim the Warranty , SONY MALAYSIA WILL NOT ACCEPT ANY A/P SET , SONY MALAYSIA ONLY ACCEPT PS3 MALAYSIA EDITION.PS3 Asian :Singapore > Must Send to Singapore ( Sony ) > For Warranty
HongKong > Must Send to HongKong ( Sony ) > For Warranty
Japan > Must Send to Japan ( Sony ) > For Warranty
Malaysia > Must Send to Malaysia ( Sony ) > For Warranty
shahreza2000
Dec 20 2008, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 20 2008, 04:19 PM) how many times should i explain it...its not that difficult to think...if u wanna buy asian ps3 ( which edition ? ) if u buy Singapore Edition then u must send to Singapore to claim the Warranty , SONY MALAYSIA WILL NOT ACCEPT ANY A/P SET , SONY MALAYSIA ONLY ACCEPT PS3 MALAYSIA EDITION.PS3 Asian :Singapore > Must Send to Singapore ( Sony ) > For Warranty
HongKong > Must Send to HongKong ( Sony ) > For Warranty
Japan > Must Send to Japan ( Sony ) > For Warranty
Malaysia > Must Send to Malaysia ( Sony ) > For Warrantyshould put this at the front of the beginners FAQ ... @jen if u played offline/single-player games, downloading demo while playing should be no prob (i've done it a lot of times) so far no lag in gameplay... unless u want to play online multiplayer its diff story
jenniferjen
Dec 20 2008, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 20 2008, 04:28 PM) should put this at the front of the beginners FAQ ... @jen if u played offline/single-player games, downloading demo while playing should be no prob (i've done it a lot of times) so far no lag in gameplay... unless u want to play online multiplayer its diff story Aww... thank for the advice, been sitting here like an idiot for the pass 1 hour looking the the demo % up little by little.. Better ask than be sorry.... Thank again...loading into my Dead Space again now Cheer
shahreza2000
Dec 20 2008, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Dec 20 2008, 04:34 PM) Aww... thank for the advice, been sitting here like an idiot for the pass 1 hour looking the the demo % up little by little.. Better ask than be sorry.... Thank again...loading into my Dead Space again now Cheer i like the background downloading ... make life easier for us... wish game updates can be done in background downloading.... nonetheless sony doesnt want that to happen... xmb is flexible... can watch movies, hear music, play games... while waiting for download to finish
neoardi
Dec 20 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 20 2008, 04:40 PM) i like the background downloading ... make life easier for us... wish game updates can be done in background downloading.... nonetheless sony doesnt want that to happen... xmb is flexible... can watch movies, hear music, play games... while waiting for download to finish yeah, i still remember the first time i got my PS3 (Jan 2007), there was no such thing as bg downloading....  try imagine downloading GTHD...up to 90%, got disconnected.....sigh
shahreza2000
Dec 20 2008, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(neoardi @ Dec 20 2008, 04:56 PM) yeah, i still remember the first time i got my PS3 (Jan 2007), there was no such thing as bg downloading....  try imagine downloading GTHD...up to 90%, got disconnected.....sigh  the most annoying patch to download has to be the GT5P.... its so big... disconnected and redownload...headache