Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

defaultname365
post Dec 13 2008, 03:51 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Total PS3 noob here. Never touched a PS2 in my life let alone a PS3... (siggy says it all...)

Question :
1. Can someone give me the name of the shop/contact in which I can purchase a genuine PS3 console unit.
2. Just the first one would suffice.

Only this officially in Malaysia (80Gb PS3 ?) :
http://www.sony.com.my/product/playstation+3+80gb

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 13 2008, 03:58 PM
defaultname365
post Dec 14 2008, 02:49 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 13 2008, 06:35 PM)
Sony Style & Sony Centre the best place to get the Sony Playstation 3 80GB MY edition...Bought mine at Sony Centre Ikano Mutiara Damansara..and there`s also Sony Style Level 1 at The Curve also at Mutiara Damansara...

At the moment only 80GB PS3 for Malaysia Edition...but ive heard soon there`s satin silver and ceramic white PS3 for Malaysia Market by Sony Malaysia , which is also 80GB.
edit

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/746894

Thx for the replies...

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 14 2008, 02:55 PM
defaultname365
post Dec 20 2008, 12:38 PM

1,098 posts

Hello PS3 veterans, I am brand new to the PS3 gaming scene.

I have updated everything... and signed up for PSN. However, where do I download all those game demos ? I mean, everything I do something, it says "Not available in your area / region etc. etc."

I signed up with my home address... Malaysia that is. Why can't I do so ? My Internet Browser works perfectly.

I really want to get cracking on the latest game demos... etc. etc.

PS : Is it me or is Streamyx connection to the PS3 really bad... like it showed error updating my firmware and had to restart again and again. I tried it at night (about 2.30am) and it was a lot quicker and completed the update.

defaultname365
post Dec 21 2008, 08:03 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 20 2008, 01:32 PM)
Since u have aldy signed up with Malaysian PSN id... thats great.. the PSN store for Malaysia not available yet...

so u want to download latest demos and more stuff, create a new user id (US or SG account).. both aldy have PSN stores ...plus dont delete the user id u've created, just leave there for future purposes...

Since u say streamyx is slow, why not download ps3 updates on pc then u can update it using USB thumb drive for convenience.. here is the link
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/769411/+1680
So slow internet speed has got to do with updating ? I mean, since it is brand new my PS3, I popped Fallout 3, and it started to update. However, it updated to 2.5x (can't remember). Then I updated again and this time, to the latest, 2.54 (I believe...). So, I dun see how it can get any newer than this update as it already states it is the latest.

... Have not created a US PSN id yet... will try. Any chance of signing up Singapore / Japan id for 'improved connection speed' or they're all the same?

defaultname365
post Dec 21 2008, 03:31 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Dec 21 2008, 11:55 AM)
for ps3 there are 2 types of updates: firmware and game update (patch)

firmware is usually shipped with a game (not necessarily the latest)
ps3 prompts to update the firmware if it is connected to psn network and there is a new version on the server
normally people just download the update using computer and then transfer it to any usb drive to update the ps3
ps3 firmware is not incremental; so you can just update straight to the latest version
connecting to the psn requires you to have the latest firmware

game patches is downloaded according to the disc region (isnt affected with console region/psn id region)
once you pop in the game disc, it will prompt you to update firmware first (in disc, if your firmware is older than in the disc)
then it will check with the server if there are any patches

nothing you can do about the slow speed, except cycling your IP (assuming you use screamyx)
or download the patches using pc (proxy app). the details are in the first page. ctrl-f -> proxy
Yeah. When I played Fallout 3 for the first time (when I was yet to update my PS3), it updated the firmware. Once it was done, it updated the game.

When I checked for System Update, it updated to the latest version. So yeah, Fallout 3 did update my firmware but not the latest, but it did update to a newer one than the one originally on my PS3. Had to manually update in order to get the latest firmware.

As for my internet connection speed (Streamyx), I believe it is the fastest at night. During the day, it is really dreadfully slow.

defaultname365
post Dec 21 2008, 08:46 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 21 2008, 05:37 PM)
Yea streamyx must fix cepat2 cause new firmwares nak out v2.54
shocking.gif

That's funny... just two days ago I updated to 2.54 !

defaultname365
post Dec 22 2008, 07:42 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 21 2008, 09:32 PM)
yeah..u r special...that why u get 2.54  rclxms.gif  doh.gif
only 2.53 ok??
recheck la bro
Yo dudes ! It really is 2.54 ! Fallout 3 installed upto 2.53, then I check with "System Update, and it updated to 2.54 !!

Don't marah me when I check again ah... haven't played PS3 for the day... busy with assignments... biggrin.gif

Yeah, Google oso no 2.54... tongue.gif

I'll check... I'll check

How to check what version ah ?

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 22 2008, 07:50 PM
defaultname365
post Dec 28 2008, 06:03 PM

1,098 posts

Tsk tsk tsk...

I can't believe how slow downloading from PlayStation Store really is...

I wanted to download... err... MGS 4... its like 1.3Gb. I saw the amount increase 16kb every 1 second.

That's... 16kbps for a 1.3Gb download = 22 hours !!

WTH ? doh.gif Using Streamyx 1Mbps...

I created a new profile over my Msian profile (Msian PS3..) of US profile... state New York.

Is creating a profile lets say in Hong Kong or Japan or Singapore (assuming they have PS Store) make my downloads a lot quicker ???

Thx...

- - > would love to noe what country + state you guys put for your PS account to access PS Store...
defaultname365
post Dec 28 2008, 06:18 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(disket @ Dec 28 2008, 06:16 PM)
PSN downloads are generally very fast. Blame the current slow speed to our beloved ISP/the broken cables.
Oh really ? That' great news... I thought I had to live with excruatingly slow PSN speeds... oddly... I was able to play Motorstorm 2 online for a good few hours

... wat about the country + state ?

defaultname365
post Dec 28 2008, 08:01 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Dec 28 2008, 07:55 PM)
This is normal I guess? It took me one night to finish download MGS4 demo. I'm using a US account btw.

Normally, I would multi-downloads demos,trailers, etc etc at night, left to them to download while i sleep. Then on next morning, everything finished downloading already.
Wow... overnight. I fear of leaving my PS3 turned on all night... sweat.gif

Damn those US folks... gaming and downloading over 4Mbps even 8Mbps connection !

0.0448sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:37 AM