Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

todak
post Sep 27 2008, 11:42 PM

138 posts

Well, I just signed up with S'pore PSN and managed to register my maybank visa using my full malaysian address as stated in my cc statement (without the s'pore postcode or city name) for the billing address.

Gonna browse there now and see what they got..
todak
post Nov 24 2008, 11:20 AM

138 posts

Some guy already bought and installed a 500gb hd on their ps3.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822152114

I'm looking to do the same soon, anyone else?

This post has been edited by todak: Nov 24 2008, 11:46 AM
todak
post Nov 25 2008, 11:34 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Nov 25 2008, 08:35 PM)
I changed d,also cannot.remember tat was 3 option in audio setting,hdmi,digital out n multi av.I tried all,also cannot.even tv speaker oso no sound.help....
I have a similar setup. PS3 connected via hdmi to samsung lcd and just use a 3.5 audio line from lcd to my altec 2.1

Works fine for me.
todak
post Dec 4 2008, 11:10 AM

138 posts

I'm ready to upgrade my ps3 hd this weekend.

Equipment:-
PS3 MY
Portable HD 80GB
2.5" 500GB WD HD
Philips screwdriver set

Preparation:-
Format portable hd using swissknife to FAT32 (I've backed up the data on it to my desktop pc)

Operation:-
1- Access ps3 menu, use "backup" function and choose the formatted portable hd on usb connection. Wait to finish,
2- When finished, deactivate ps3 and unplug everything. Pry open back panel, use screwdriver to unscrew and take out hd. Unscrew 4 screwdrivers and replace new hd into casing. Screw back and pop back into ps3 and close.
3- Start ps3 and choose yes when asked to format new drive. After restart ps3 might asked for latest firmware so have usb drive with fw with you. Choose "restore" from menu and choose the portable hd connected on usb. Wait to finish.
4- Done

Let me know if I'm missing anything here, thanks.

This post has been edited by todak: Dec 4 2008, 11:11 AM
todak
post Dec 4 2008, 11:16 AM

138 posts

RM405 including postage. I figured its now or never to upgrade.

Theres always going to be something "cheaper", "better", "bigger" just round the corner but you gotta buy sometime. smile.gif
todak
post Dec 4 2008, 12:12 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 4 2008, 11:22 AM)
Wow 500GB HDD...How much arr now , the price for the HDD ( 500GB ) ? well make sure u choose 5400 RPM HDD 2.5" SATA HDD ( recomended )..or u can try the 7200RPM , slightly faster..
I did my homework like a good little boy wink.gif

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136314

You only save few seconds in load time with 7200rpm and no difference in in-game performance. And the extra heat generated can be trouble after a while, who knows?

This post has been edited by todak: Dec 4 2008, 02:02 PM
todak
post Dec 4 2008, 01:59 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 4 2008, 01:38 PM)
72k or 7,200 RPM?

Quite confusing here
Aiyah, extra zero typo lor
todak
post Dec 5 2008, 10:44 AM

138 posts

Since I got the ps3 I've spent many hours reading up on networking. DMZ, Port forwarding, MTU tweaking etc...I've done it all. I've concluded that at the end of the day you are at the mercy of your streamyx line. Right now I'm trying to figure out if certain ip blocks gives better connection...
todak
post Dec 11 2008, 10:00 AM

138 posts

Hi people.

I have a 80gb ps3 and a 80gb USB portable hdd ide Hitachi. I want to backup the ps3 to the portable hdd in order to upgrade ps3 hdd to 500gb.

I've formatted the portable hdd to FAT32 to a single 80gb partition using latest swissknife and my pc can recognize it, no problem.

However, when I plug it to my ps3 and switch on, the portable hdd would blink & make a loud clicking noise simultaneously about every 3 seconds. And the ps3 does not see the portable hdd.

I've read on 1st page that it might be due to the usb casing not drawing enough power and need 2 ports to provide sufficient power to the hdd. But I dont want to get a 2 port usb casing (?)just to find out that it might not work either.

Any ideas? Thanks.

todak
post Dec 20 2008, 09:31 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Dec 11 2008, 10:00 AM)
Hi people.

I have a 80gb ps3 and a 80gb USB portable hdd ide Hitachi. I want to backup the ps3 to the portable hdd in order to upgrade ps3 hdd to 500gb.

I've formatted the portable hdd to FAT32 to a single 80gb partition using latest swissknife and my pc can recognize it, no problem.

However, when I plug it to my ps3 and switch on, the portable hdd would blink & make a loud clicking noise simultaneously about every 3 seconds. And the ps3 does not see the portable hdd.

I've read on 1st page that it might be due to the usb casing not drawing enough power and need 2 ports to provide sufficient power to the hdd. But I dont want to get a 2 port usb casing (?)just to find out that it might not work either.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Thanks vorchiel and neoardi for suggestions.

Reformatting to ntsf and to fat32 again did not work. Using a 2 cable usb also didnt work, the clicking is still there just slower. From what I gather its a power issue and someone suggested getting an ide casing with power supply. However, I opted to use the slightly more tedious way as suggested by acougan. I'm transferring the backup data from my pc to the old ps3 hdd right now and the new 500gb hdd is already installed.
todak
post Dec 29 2008, 07:48 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2008, 11:51 PM)
a couple of months/weeks ago i used opendns to see if it can make me stay on PSN longer than 5 minutes

didnt realise opendns makes the ps3 downloads crawl...literally!
I used opendns too a while back and keeps getting dc. Nowadays I use streamyx dns and hardly ever get dc from psn on my wired connection.
todak
post Jan 4 2009, 08:49 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Jan 4 2009, 03:47 PM)
i formatted my external hard disk(80gb) to FAT32,but it doesnt work rclxub.gif

the hard disk goes on and off (like it's a connection issue)

video:

rclxub.gif anyone know what could be the problem?

thx

the hdd works fine on my pc(and a friend's pc)
Bro, I'm assuming you are using IDE. I had the exact same problem before and as far as I can tell, it's a power issue in that the ps3 is unable to supply enough juice. Using a 2 headed usb cable didn't solve it either although the clicking is less frequent.

My suggestion is to use sata instead of ide. You can try a ide-to-sata converter or an ide casing with its own power supply but theres no guarantee that it will work.

This post has been edited by todak: Jan 4 2009, 08:52 PM
todak
post Jan 4 2009, 09:19 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Jan 4 2009, 08:56 PM)
did you manage to get yours to work?
or did you go and get a new hdd? sweat.gif
Well, I wanted to use the ide drive to backup my ps3 data before changing to a new 500gb hdd. In the end I decided not to invest anymore money to solve the problem. I just borrowed a sata casing from a friend and used the transfer to pc method using the original ps3 80gb hdd.

I don't recommend backing up ps3 data to your pc though. I had problems retransferring the data back from pc to the portable drive and gave up in the end after a few days trying causing me to lose all game downloads.
todak
post Jan 12 2009, 09:23 AM

138 posts

Pepperboy, if I remember correctly you have to manually add the media in WM11 for sharing. Its possible that the ps3 and pc can "see" each other already but not displaying anything since theres no media in the shared folder of WM11. I have the same setup as you and had no problem though I don't use the facility anymore.

This post has been edited by todak: Jan 12 2009, 09:33 AM
todak
post Jan 19 2009, 04:59 PM

138 posts

Anyone uses usb headsets with their ps3? I'm looking to buy a sub RM100 wired headset either with 3.5mm jack plugged to the lcd tv or usb direct to the ps3. Which one is better?

This post has been edited by todak: Jan 19 2009, 05:01 PM
todak
post Jan 21 2009, 09:55 AM

138 posts

I think its here :

http://dus01.ps3.update.playstation.net/up...ce/PS3UPDAT.PUP

Its dated 21/01/2009 so probably ver 2.60

Very fast dl now and maxing out my connection, get it quick!

This post has been edited by todak: Jan 21 2009, 10:02 AM
todak
post Jan 21 2009, 10:52 AM

138 posts

Just dl the latest one.

0.0236sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:36 PM