Household [Home Appliances] Air-con
weikee
Nov 15 2011, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 15 2011, 03:11 PM) Yupe, bro weikee correct, inverter copper piping is much thicker as compared to non-inverter. Unless your copper pipe is concealed, if not concealed one, you can change anytime in future. The A/C ppl told me conceal the drain pipe only, copper pipe can hide without conceal (according to some house structure, can hide nicely) as in the case of any problem, easier to troubleshoot. Regarding the wiring, I didnt know Sharp has secondary control signal until I saw weikee's post, did you ask the sharp fella that secondary one used to control what?  Not sure, but is good to pull 5 wires. Won't cost much. Another method i learn from the A/C installer is use the earth wire as secondary controller wire, and use the copper pipe as Ground. So 4 wire is possible to use Sharp too.
leeyung
Nov 15 2011, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 15 2011, 03:41 PM) Not sure, but is good to pull 5 wires. Won't cost much. Another method i learn from the A/C installer is use the earth wire as secondary controller wire, and use the copper pipe as Ground. So 4 wire is possible to use Sharp too. Herm, copper pipe as ground ar? In the case of any gas leakage, then it will be troublesome lor?
weikee
Nov 15 2011, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 15 2011, 04:31 PM) Herm, copper pipe as ground ar? In the case of any gas leakage, then it will be troublesome lor? Nope, cause wires also made of copper. But you plan to use inverter, just put 5 wires better.
leeyung
Nov 15 2011, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 15 2011, 04:47 PM) Nope, cause wires also made of copper. But you plan to use inverter, just put 5 wires better.  You are correct, add on a wire from 4 wires shouldn't cost u much too.
Jo_da48
Nov 15 2011, 08:37 PM
Damn...I been told that Inverter / Non inverter copper cant be mixed, hence I didn't install Inverter version....but from above Inverter piping can use by Non Inverter??? If true...too late
kelvyn
Nov 15 2011, 08:44 PM
Copper piping for inverter AC is slightly thicker than those for non-inverter. If you have install the thicker piping for the inverter, you could still use for the non-inverter. But not vise versa.
phoenix69
Nov 15 2011, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 15 2011, 01:39 PM) Not same wiring. You need minimal 4 wires. 1 - Live 1 - Neutral 1 - Ground 1 - Control signal 1 - Control Signal secondary. Some need 5 wires. Best is get 5 wires. My Panasonic need 4 wires, when i ask for Sharp, it need 5 Wires. So best put 5. And if possible use all Inverter copper piping future to change A/C is much easier. I did a mistake by saving only RM 500+-, Should have use all Inverter piping. 10 Years later maybe hard to get non inverter, and got to redo piping. Yeah, My contractor showed me 2 type of copper wiring when I asked him what copper pipe he used. A normal copper pipe around 6 feet and another copper pipe that was only 3 feet. The 3 feet copper pipe that he was using was heavier than the other pipe double its length. It was thicker also. Initially wanted to install daikin inverter air cond, now due to its wiring configuration  , open for suggestions
iamsobloodysick
Nov 15 2011, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Nov 15 2011, 08:37 PM) Damn...I been told that Inverter / Non inverter copper cant be mixed, hence I didn't install Inverter version....but from above Inverter piping can use by Non Inverter??? If true...too late i dont think people will pay high for the inverter piping and use it for non inverter series aircond. if there is, it is only a small group of customers (price doesnt matter) would do so. Added on November 15, 2011, 10:55 pmQUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Nov 15 2011, 12:46 PM) Want to ask are non-inverter and inverter aircond using Same piping and wiring? Thx R22 gas series and R410 gas series are using different copper piping. This post has been edited by iamsobloodysick: Nov 15 2011, 10:55 PM
weikee
Nov 15 2011, 11:04 PM
For conceal, is good to have inverter for future usage, better pay extra few hundred, than later need to hack and redo.
philipcs
Nov 16 2011, 01:03 AM
Want to ask about the air con setup for 20x70 living and dining hall. Usually how is the setup?
2hp in living and 1.5hp in dining enough? Or 1 2.5hp in living only? but can dining get the cool air?
I need some advice here. Appreciate anyone can share their current setup. Thanks.
weikee
Nov 16 2011, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(philipcs @ Nov 16 2011, 01:03 AM) Want to ask about the air con setup for 20x70 living and dining hall. Usually how is the setup? 2hp in living and 1.5hp in dining enough? Or 1 2.5hp in living only? but can dining get the cool air? I need some advice here. Appreciate anyone can share their current setup. Thanks. 20x70 living and dinning hall is very big, you need lots of A/C
philipcs
Nov 16 2011, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 16 2011, 07:32 AM) 20x70 living and dinning hall is very big, you need lots of A/C Sorry, let me do some correction. The 20x70 is the size for the entire house. The built up area for living and dining area is 20x26 (including staircase) and dry kitchen area is 9x6 How should I place my air cons? This post has been edited by philipcs: Nov 16 2011, 08:40 AM
kelvyn
Nov 16 2011, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(philipcs @ Nov 16 2011, 09:38 AM) Sorry, let me do some correction. The 20x70 is the size for the entire house. The built up area for living and dining area is 20x26 (including staircase) and dry kitchen area is 9x6 How should I place my air cons? It will also depends on what is the temperature you are expecting form the AC. You have a staircase, which I presume is open to the upper floor. Thus source for cold air to escape. Unless your living & dining areas are enclosed, it will be difficult to achieve a very low temp. Added on November 16, 2011, 9:02 amQUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 15 2011, 11:52 PM) i dont think people will pay high for the inverter piping and use it for non inverter series aircond. if there is, it is only a small group of customers (price doesnt matter) would do so. The cost for the inverter copper piping is not very much from the non-inverter ones. Considering this over the total renovation cost and the need to hack and replace the piping if sometime down the road, you decides otherwise. This post has been edited by kelvyn: Nov 16 2011, 09:02 AM
philipcs
Nov 16 2011, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 16 2011, 08:59 AM) It will also depends on what is the temperature you are expecting form the AC. You have a staircase, which I presume is open to the upper floor. Thus source for cold air to escape. Unless your living & dining areas are enclosed, it will be difficult to achieve a very low temp. Thanks for replying, normally i set the temp to 23 or 24 degrees C. Since this is my 1st landed DSL House, therefore i would like to know from other forummer what is the usually placement for air con in ground floor and what is the needed horse power. Thanks again.
kelvyn
Nov 16 2011, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(philipcs @ Nov 16 2011, 10:18 AM) Thanks for replying, normally i set the temp to 23 or 24 degrees C. Since this is my 1st landed DSL House, therefore i would like to know from other forummer what is the usually placement for air con in ground floor and what is the needed horse power. Thanks again. For my case, I place the both the AC units at both ends of the living & dining.
philipcs
Nov 16 2011, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 16 2011, 09:23 AM) For my case, I place the both the AC units at both ends of the living & dining. thanks, thats the good idea !
weikee
Nov 16 2011, 09:40 AM
I use 2hp for my living hall, 1hp for dining area (with dry kitchen).
My living hall is about 21 x 16, dining area 11x 20
For me is not really cold, just enough to make it only. If I have the cash, I'll go for 3 x 2hp.
Eng_Tat
Nov 16 2011, 09:59 AM
wei kee your dry kc and dining area is together? so living hall and dining area is seperated?
papaya2
Nov 16 2011, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 16 2011, 08:59 AM) It will also depends on what is the temperature you are expecting form the AC. You have a staircase, which I presume is open to the upper floor. Thus source for cold air to escape. Unless your living & dining areas are enclosed, it will be difficult to achieve a very low temp. Added on November 16, 2011, 9:02 amThe cost for the inverter copper piping is not very much from the non-inverter ones. Considering this over the total renovation cost and the need to hack and replace the piping if sometime down the road, you decides otherwise.  maybe all brand inverter aircond can use non-inverter copper pipe in future due to advance technology coming that time, all aircond manufacturers consider this market in future as no need for consumers change thier exist copper pipe. just to my cent...
philipcs
Nov 16 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 16 2011, 09:40 AM) I use 2hp for my living hall, 1hp for dining area (with dry kitchen). My living hall is about 21 x 16, dining area 11x 20 For me is not really cold, just enough to make it only. If I have the cash, I'll go for 3 x 2hp. hmm... i cant afford 3 x 2HP too, dont forget the electricity bill Here is my floor plan, smaller than yours, hope 2HP in Living and 1HP in Dry kitchen is sufficient.