Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

MilesAndMore
post Oct 22 2008, 09:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2008, 09:09 PM)
I have been eyeing for AMEX from MBB for so long.
The RM1 = 2X Treatpoint is awesome. That is why i charge everything into my MBB AMEX Gold whenever possible. Shame that MAS doesn't accept AMEX for its online transaction. I have to use my CIMB Gold Mastercard to pay for tickets to KUL every month.

SUSDavid83
post Oct 22 2008, 09:20 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 22 2008, 09:12 PM)
The RM1 = 2X Treatpoint is awesome. That is why i charge everything into my MBB AMEX Gold whenever possible. Shame that MAS doesn't accept AMEX for its online transaction. I have to use my CIMB Gold Mastercard to pay for tickets to KUL every month.
That's the idea. I have applied for MBB conventional Amex. They don't want to waive my annual fee for first year. I told them to cancel my application.
hye
post Oct 22 2008, 09:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 22 2008, 10:44 AM)
Apparently many of us were wrong all this while because HSBC Premier Mastercard in Malaysia is indeed only equivalent to regular Platinum Mastercard. The only thing to distinguish HSBC Premier Mastercard holders is that the only way to get this card is to become HSBC's VIP customer (Premier Banking customer). And within the HSBC worldwide, HSBC Premier Mastercard is viewed to have a higher status than their regular Platinum credit card.

And according to one of the RMs at HSBC, HSBC is still in the process to standardize their Premier Banking across the globe. Many countries' HSBC Premier Mastercard are already known as HSBC Premier World Mastercard, one example is Australia's HSBC. Very soon all HSBC Premier Mastercard will become HSBC Premier World Mastercard regardless of the issuing country.
An interesting information. I checked the Mastercard website and you are right ... only Singapore and Indonesia are issuers of the World Mastercard in the AsiaPacific region. According to your feedback,

1. Does that means that eventually HSBC (Malaysia) Premier cc will eventually upgrade itself to be the equivalent of VISA Infinite ? (HSBC Premier World Mastercard)
2. Any indication to that timeline ?

I'm sure this info will upset some of the people I know. All these while they have been led to think that their Premier card is the equivalent of VISA Infinite. I have seen the Premier card and there's the "World" word printed on it. And if it is not a "World Mastercard yet" then it's very misleading.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 22 2008, 09:30 PM
GuyM
post Oct 22 2008, 10:52 PM

1,787 posts

off topic, how's the new finance charges imposed by BNM affecting CC users with min payment? anyone? i know a freind of mine with accumulating debt bcos of this
hye
post Oct 22 2008, 11:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 22 2008, 10:52 PM)
off topic, how's the new finance charges imposed by BNM affecting CC users with min payment? anyone? i know a freind of mine with accumulating debt bcos of this
IMHO, it shouldn't be much change as the only big impact is there's no longer the 20 interest free period if you have any outstanding balance. In the first place, CC is the last place to accumulate debts. Do advise your friend to stop using cc and restructure the cc debt. (Many ways to do this ... can search the previous posts for the answers)

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 22 2008, 11:04 PM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 22 2008, 11:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 22 2008, 09:20 PM)
That's the idea. I have applied for MBB conventional Amex. They don't want to waive my annual fee for first year. I told them to cancel my application.
Oh, when did you apply for it ? I applied mine in March this year and annual fee for the first two years is waived.

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 22 2008, 09:28 PM)
An interesting information. I checked the Mastercard website and you are right ... only Singapore and Indonesia are issuers of the World Mastercard in the AsiaPacific region. According to your feedback,

If i'm not mistaken, the Premier Mastercard issued by HSBC Singapore is also not yet officially a World Mastercard.

1. Does that means that eventually HSBC (Malaysia) Premier cc will eventually upgrade itself to be the equivalent of VISA Infinite ? (HSBC Premier World Mastercard)

Not just HSBC Malaysia alone but all HSBC worldwide will issue HSBC Premier World Mastercard eventually. Anyway, all the HSBC Premier Mastercard already bears the "world" word regardless of the issuing country and it is ranked higher than Platinum VISA within the HSBC Group.

2. Any indication to that timeline ?

Nope.

I'm sure this info will upset some of the people I know. All these while they have been led to think that their Premier card is the equivalent of VISA Infinite. I have seen the Premier card and there's the "World" word printed on it. And if it is not a "World Mastercard yet" then it's very misleading.
It is not equivalent to VISA Infinite. But it is not 100% just like a regular Platinum credit card either. HSBC Premier Mastercard, regardless of the issuing country, is viewed to be the VVIP card issue by HSBC. It is only in Malaysia that the special privileges and discounts that are available to the Premier Mastercard also extend to Platinum VISA.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 22 2008, 11:10 PM
tishaban
post Oct 23 2008, 12:28 AM

3,615 posts

Malaysia Airlines will happily accept Amex at their ticket counters. I get 5x points so I make sure I use the card. biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Oct 23 2008, 02:28 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 23 2008, 12:28 AM)
Malaysia Airlines will happily accept Amex at their ticket counters. I get 5x points so I make sure I use the card. biggrin.gif
I often buy MAS tickets online and their online booking engine does not accept AMEX.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 23 2008, 08:26 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 22 2008, 11:08 PM)
Oh, when did you apply for it ? I applied mine in March this year and annual fee for the first two years is waived.
They said that I have existing cards with MBB and therefore, it'll treat my AMEX application as additional card not a fresh application. With that, I'll be charged annual fee upon receiving the card.

boonsin23
post Oct 23 2008, 09:14 AM

132 posts

does TNB accepts credit payment at their counter? or any ways to pay their bills by cc in order to collect more points?
wuahahaha
post Oct 23 2008, 09:48 AM

13 posts

my card was loss, i use it at shopping mall and 4get to take back..... the bank tell me, the card had been used a few times..... shocking.gif
u guys know wat happen to those transaction? i need to pay?? cry.gif cry.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 23 2008, 10:05 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 23 2008, 09:14 AM)
does TNB accepts credit payment at their counter? or any ways to pay their bills by cc in order to collect more points?
Yeap. They accept cards at the counter (Kedai Tenaga).

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:06 am
QUOTE(wuahahaha @ Oct 23 2008, 09:48 AM)
my card was loss, i use it at shopping mall and 4get to take back..... the bank tell me, the card had been used a few times.....  shocking.gif
u guys know wat happen to those transaction? i need to pay??  cry.gif  cry.gif
Negligence due to the cardholder. You have to pay for it.

This post has been edited by David83: Oct 23 2008, 10:06 AM
boonsin23
post Oct 23 2008, 10:23 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:05 AM)
Yeap. They accept cards at the counter (Kedai Tenaga).

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:06 am
Negligence due to the cardholder. You have to pay for it.
hooray, one month can earn more 1000 points liao

if make a report to police uncle, still have to pay? is that possible to get CCTV recorded playback from the mall to trace the person who swiped the card??

This post has been edited by boonsin23: Oct 23 2008, 10:23 AM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 23 2008, 10:24 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:23 AM)
hooray, one month can earn more 1000 points liao
if make a report to police uncle, still have to pay? is that possible to get CCTV recorded playback from the mall to trace the person who swiped the card??
How much is the amount? Do you want to go for those hassles?
boonsin23
post Oct 23 2008, 10:29 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:24 AM)
How much is the amount? Do you want to go for those hassles?
My office average usage between RM850-RM1000 plus my home one around RM120, so can earn 1000points every month leh. (without paying a single cent at my own) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by boonsin23: Oct 23 2008, 10:44 AM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 23 2008, 10:32 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:29 AM)
My office average usage between RM850-RM1000 plus my home one around RM120, so can earn 1000points every month leh.  tongue.gif
Sorry, my question is referring to wuahahaha on the making the police report thing.
zenwell
post Oct 23 2008, 10:46 AM

1,749 posts

Hi All,

Wanna ask what is the min salary requirement for platinum card and what is the credit limit range?

For gold card, how high can the credit limit go before the bank decides to give you platinum card?

Thanks! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 23 2008, 11:02 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Use travel agent to issue ticket/e-ticket. They accept Amex. But fare maybe a bit higher due to commission. 2x TP also.

hye
post Oct 23 2008, 11:31 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 23 2008, 10:23 AM)
Here's what likely to happen if you do the report

- The bank will still ask you to pay because the authorised transactions occured before you reported your loss. Unfortunately, you are liable for it - read your card T&C and you'll see what I mean.
- Can try your luck but bank will say that either they will suspend payment for the disputed transactions (best case) or they ask you to pay first and then claim once the culprit is caught.
- Report to police and they will check the CCTV. If the CCTV capture is good and they haven't deleted the tape then maybe you can check but it'll probably take months before they can close the case. (Unless you are a VVVVIP)

Conclusion - you can try but be prepared for a very long wait and there's a chance that you will still lose in the end.
tgeoklin
post Oct 23 2008, 02:24 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 23 2008, 10:46 AM)
Hi All,

Wanna ask what is the min salary requirement for platinum card and what is the credit limit range?

For gold card, how high can the credit limit go before the bank decides to give you platinum card?

Thanks!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
minimum income for plat normally starts from 60k pa with a limit of 20K, so if yr gold card limit is above 20K, very good chance to be invited to upgrade biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:36 PM