Iphone 3g officially in Malaysia.... SOON?
zenith
Mar 5 2009, 04:30 PM
looking at maxis's package for phones and contract lines, if iphone really comes, it wouldn't be cheap. take for example those nokia phone already they charging so expensive even with the RM120 package. iphone can go all the way to rm2200 (even HTC are so expensive) if we sign up for the rm120 package even.
if u compare Aust, Singapore, UK and Malaysia telco when they do package with phones, Malaysia telcos don't seem to "give free" phones or cheap packages
allornothing
Mar 5 2009, 04:49 PM
The delay in launching the iPhone I believe is due to the pricing. Maxis probably wasn't willing to subsidize the hardware like other carriers internationally.
Don't hope for a nice deal, launching or not.
pehkay
Mar 5 2009, 04:55 PM

I think we can continue to dream on ..... for the launch in malaysia
allornothing
Mar 5 2009, 04:58 PM
Alot of those who got the iPhone under AT&T jailbreaked. Wonder if that will be Maxis's concern. Bye bye exclusivity
moonstone13
Mar 5 2009, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(allornothing @ Mar 5 2009, 04:58 PM) Alot of those who got the iPhone under AT&T jailbreaked. Wonder if that will be Maxis's concern. Bye bye exclusivity I personally don't think it's all about exlusiveness. If Apple had intended the iphone to be exclusive, they'd probably stamp on a ridiculously unaffordable price for 80% of the population whereby only 2 out of 10 people can afford it. I've been carefully studying the form and functionality of the iphone 3G. Weighing its pros and cons; considering whether I would be fully utilizing it (or at least 70% of it); and patiently waited till I could try a friend's set back in January. It just puts my HTC Touch Dual to shame. Singtel or Maxis, I'm quite keen on getting one to call my own. It sure beats borrowing my friend's everytime we hang out at CoffeeBean.
bajaber
Mar 5 2009, 05:19 PM
Iphone 3G for RM 300? looooooooool
Guys...I just went to Google News and typed "Iphone Malaysia" and the first result I got is this...http://klue.com.my/klassifieds/4661
They "sell" iphone 3G in Malaysia for RM 300 Haha
Please be very very very cautious. These are bloody conmen, usually from Nigeria and other West African countries.
This post has been edited by bajaber: Mar 5 2009, 05:21 PM
AegilDnvel
Mar 5 2009, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(bajaber @ Mar 5 2009, 05:19 PM) Iphone 3G for RM 300? looooooooool Guys...I just went to Google News and typed "Iphone Malaysia" and the first result I got is this...http://klue.com.my/klassifieds/4661 They "sell" iphone 3G in Malaysia for RM 300 Haha Please be very very very cautious. These are bloody conmen, usually from Nigeria and other West African countries. lol wth??? 300, i bought 3000 he sell 300....zzz anyway is funny man,this phrase: ''These are bloody conmen, usually from Nigeria and other West African countries''
bearbearhong
Mar 5 2009, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(allornothing @ Mar 5 2009, 04:49 PM) The delay in launching the iPhone I believe is due to the pricing. Maxis probably wasn't willing to subsidize the hardware like other carriers internationally. Don't hope for a nice deal, launching or not. everyone well aware that this telco tai ko never been generous and will never intend to be perhaps...  ...so i am not putting hope over their package on iphone. as some said, monthly package RM160 or above, and somemore hv to pay for the iphone for more then RM2k...  . well, if that's the real package...i will think twice to commit...if survey carried out, i will say i am willing to pay the monthly charges provided iphone is sold below RM1500 the only benefit of getting iphone from them will be the local warranty..
Kazachok
Mar 5 2009, 06:17 PM
I'm still hoping they'd launch an affordable plan. Limited data +talk plan for less than 100 would be great.of course must be prepaid la. 2 months of usage only
moyl_finuda
Mar 5 2009, 06:29 PM

jst checked maxis websites oso, i surveyed blackberry's price, coz i think if they were to launch it they wud probably almost as same price as blackberry curve 8900
the package is, well, not that interesting to say, lol, coz my logic is, if u get the phone with the package of value 150, it'll cost u RM2400 for the phone, and RM3600 for the bill(over 2 years contract), plus it up, maxis will get 6k from u lol
they also offer for customer to get it w/o package, which cost 3k, haha
so i was thinking, will it be worth it if i changed my plan(currently on value 80) to value 150 jst to get marked down price from maxis? which is not much?
allornothing
Mar 5 2009, 07:35 PM
With that plan, most would rather buy just the iPhone at about the same price, but pay substantially less. The only good side I see is the creation of a niche market here. Without official availability, we will still see not many iPhones around.
gengstapo
Mar 5 2009, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(bajaber @ Mar 5 2009, 05:19 PM) Iphone 3G for RM 300? looooooooool Guys...I just went to Google News and typed "Iphone Malaysia" and the first result I got is this...http://klue.com.my/klassifieds/4661 They "sell" iphone 3G in Malaysia for RM 300 Haha Please be very very very cautious. These are bloody conmen, usually from Nigeria and other West African countries. w0ot?! seriously, EVEN if i get i3g for FREE, i wont sell it at that price atleast, 1.6~1.8k
bajaber
Mar 5 2009, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 5 2009, 07:41 PM) w0ot?! seriously, EVEN if i get i3g for FREE, i wont sell it at that price atleast, 1.6~1.8k  Of course. Now I am communicating with their "Sales Manager" via email. Making him look like idiot. Asking him stupid questions. Even asking about "coming soon" Iphone 32GB version. He says they already have it loooool. I ask his company has branch in Malaysia? He says they have. It's fun making fun of conmen
PeeEl
Mar 5 2009, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(bajaber @ Mar 5 2009, 07:52 PM) Of course. Now I am communicating with their "Sales Manager" via email. Making him look like idiot. Asking him stupid questions. Even asking about "coming soon" Iphone 32GB version. He says they already have it loooool. I ask his company has branch in Malaysia? He says they have. It's fun making fun of conmen  Why don't you post those email exchanges if not to enlighten us, to let us in on the fun? Cheers.
bearbearhong
Mar 5 2009, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 5 2009, 07:41 PM) w0ot?! seriously, EVEN if i get i3g for FREE, i wont sell it at that price atleast, 1.6~1.8k  wah..rm1.6k-1.8k good price lor...if u get it then sell to me 1.7k harhar... anyway, i guess, mxs will jes launch plan like HTC HD package or even higher value plan, RM150/month and buy the phone at RM2499
AegilDnvel
Mar 5 2009, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(bajaber @ Mar 5 2009, 07:52 PM) Of course. Now I am communicating with their "Sales Manager" via email. Making him look like idiot. Asking him stupid questions. Even asking about "coming soon" Iphone 32GB version. He says they already have it loooool. I ask his company has branch in Malaysia? He says they have. It's fun making fun of conmen  hahhahahah, omg....tats fun, i can imagine how it looks...
stringfellow
Mar 5 2009, 10:46 PM
More spillage! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « March 20th. Subscription-based. 2 years. Penalties of breaking off contract during the first year RM1,000. Break the same contract on the second year, pay RM750. MNP does not apply here.
Bottomline, it will be out by the end of this month. By own bottomline? Not enticing enough to throw away my current telco to jump ship to Maxis. Take all that with whatever variety of salt you prefer, a pinch would be enough.
raptar_eric
Mar 5 2009, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 5 2009, 10:46 PM) More spillage! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « March 20th. Subscription-based. 2 years. Penalties of breaking off contract during the first year RM1,000. Break the same contract on the second year, pay RM750. MNP does not apply here.
Bottomline, it will be out by the end of this month. By own bottomline? Not enticing enough to throw away my current telco to jump ship to Maxis. Take all that with whatever variety of salt you prefer, a pinch would be enough.  Means pay 1750 for the phone? o.O?
Powerpuffs
Mar 5 2009, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 5 2009, 10:46 PM) More spillage! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « March 20th. Subscription-based. 2 years. Penalties of breaking off contract during the first year RM1,000. Break the same contract on the second year, pay RM750. MNP does not apply here.
Bottomline, it will be out by the end of this month. By own bottomline? Not enticing enough to throw away my current telco to jump ship to Maxis. Take all that with whatever variety of salt you prefer, a pinch would be enough.  any info on iPhone's pricing and plans?