This thread has morphed into.....iPhone is coming to Malaysia!
Iphone 3g officially in Malaysia.... SOON?
Feb 24 2009, 12:39 AM
3,612 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
This thread has morphed into.....iPhone is coming to Malaysia!
Mar 2 2009, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 2 2009, 03:19 PM) i wont be surprise if maxis or celcom charging like rocket for the phones.... and the line also.....still, 2 weeks time seems.... how to say..... awkward? As an after-thought, I cannot help but wonder what marketing strategy Maxis and/or Celcom are deploying!?iPhone is such a hot commodity and I am sure they know a lot of us here are already buying from neighbouring countries. Therefore it is difficult to fathom as to why there are no teaser advertisements or even fanning of the rumour mill that they are introducing one of the hottest if not the hottest gadget of the decade, to let the buying public to wait for it and thus have a bigger market rather than let us to continue the overseas purchases, especially if, as rumoured, it is to be out at the bat of an eyelid. |
Mar 3 2009, 11:05 AM
A little more to whet everyone's appetite but I am not a bearer of good news.
A friend of mine, which I found out just last night, whose company has been a staunch supporter of Maxis and incurs thousands of ringgit every month on their subscriptions with the latter was verbally (unofficially) offered free iPhones to be launched this month. But alas it is only for loyal and 'big' supporters not any odinary men or women on the streets. But at the risk of sounding like a sour grape, to pay RM250 or even RM160 monthly on data commitment not to mention the voice plan charges with a 2 year contract, is it worth it? You do the maths. Anyway, like Bro Gen has been unfailingly mentioning, it remains a rumour until something concrete materializes. |
Mar 4 2009, 12:23 AM
I might be wrong on this but as stated in my earlier posting in this thread, not everyone will be given a free iPhone. Only some 'privileged' ones.
The rest will have to pay a probably reduced price ala their on-going mobile phone deals. However, we will know for sure soon enough if what some of you are saying is factual. |
Mar 4 2009, 06:33 PM
Mar 5 2009, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(bajaber @ Mar 5 2009, 07:52 PM) Of course. Now I am communicating with their "Sales Manager" via email. Making him look like idiot. Asking him stupid questions. Even asking about "coming soon" Iphone 32GB version. He says they already have it loooool. I ask his company has branch in Malaysia? He says they have. It's fun making fun of conmen Why don't you post those email exchanges if not to enlighten us, to let us in on the fun? Cheers. |
Mar 6 2009, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 5 2009, 11:47 PM) There are always 2 sides to a coin. Not only will they screw the consumers, they screw themselves also when the number of people opting for it is small. This will probably be so as when the buying public does the maths, they will just get the iPhone from the other avenues as currently done. |
Mar 7 2009, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(allornothing @ Mar 6 2009, 11:03 PM) I'll wait for June/July as well. Not too far away for a new model. Maxis offering it here at least provides a good indication that we will not miss the next model. As for the new model, personally I don't think even if it is launched in June/July, Malaysia will get it as fast as even S'pore.Tell you why I say that...firstly, Malaysia, in most instances on gadgets and all, get them 'last' and secondly given that Maxis is only just introducing officially the current model, they would have 'negotiated' with Apple to bring the new version in later, in order not to affect their marketing plans for the present one. Added on March 7, 2009, 12:16 am QUOTE(deepan84 @ Mar 6 2009, 11:47 PM) I don't think Maxis needs to lock the iPhone to their service as someone (was it string?) stated that there will be no out-right sale of it. It is tied to a data plan. So, Maxis would not care if you after signing up, use it with another SIM as you still have to pay for the monhly commitment.And the punitive charges for termination are high. This post has been edited by PeeEl: Mar 7 2009, 12:16 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0376sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:41 AM |