39 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Movies STAR TREK: Movies Discussion Thread, Next: ST3 for 50th Anniversary Year Film

redninja
post May 20 2009, 09:03 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 19 2009, 07:25 PM)
actually, there is an explanation, but not in the movies. it's in the tie-in comic books.

romulans is exactly the same in this movie as in the rest of the star trek world. romulans stemmed from the same biological background as the vulcans, but they moved to a different planet a couple of thousand years ago and have evolved independently ever since. during that time, the vulcans developed the logic religion, while romulans keep to their ancestor's more violent and free-for-all ways.

actually, we dont see other romulans in this movie other than those on the narada (nero's ship).

the reason why nero looks very different is bcoz after their home planet destroyed in the future, nero and his crew went on a rampage. they killed the romulans high council bcoz they failed to stop the planet from being destroyed. they wiped out a fleet of klingon ships who're defending their turf. then they wanted to kill spock bcoz he also failed to save the planet. in doing so, nero became a rogue entity. they shaved their heads to purge themselves, and tattooed themselves to remind them of their lost. also, nero has a bite mark on his face, which he got on a klingon prison planet. this will be in the deleted scenes.
Wow thanks for that. Why didn't they include that into the movie? Most people would be blur or think it's a plot hole.

I enjoyed the movie as an action movie that happens to be set in space (or the Trek universe) but I'm one of those people that don't think it's quite Trek (anymore).
technophile
post May 20 2009, 09:13 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 20 2009, 09:03 AM)
Wow thanks for that. Why didn't they include that into the movie? Most people would be blur or think it's a plot hole.

I enjoyed the movie as an action movie that happens to be set in space (or the Trek universe) but I'm one of those people that don't think it's quite Trek (anymore).
nowadays, it's part of the marketing.
too bad malaysian movie bookers always forget about this.

these kinda marketing can be attributed to the Wachowski brothers when they did their Matrix 2 and 3.
actually trekkies are kinda lucky coz Abrams only went to comic and not the whole "videogame + comic + web experience" route.
earthcrystal
post May 20 2009, 02:50 PM

293 posts

In a 2hours plus movie, there are just too many things to describe the star trek universe. Overall, it is excellent movie. For existing star trek fans, it is something different. For new star trek fan, it is fast-paced and full of actions scene.
The casting of the actors for the characters is excellent. Sadly, there was a brief introduction of the main characters in the movies. Hopefully, in the next sequel of the movie, we will be able to learn more about them.

Vanquish
post May 21 2009, 03:07 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ May 10 2009, 09:37 AM)
I certainly didn't expect to hear Beastie Boy's Sabotage in a Star Trek movie laugh.gif
Yeah, that was quite a surprise for me too... I was like blink.gif when the song started playing...
zenix
post May 21 2009, 11:53 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

hopefully there will be a series smile.gif
kroegand
post May 22 2009, 11:59 AM

Ding Ding Gale!!!
1,022 posts

Watched it yesterday and like it. Overall I give 8/10. The main thing i dun like is Sylar as Spock ... It's just seems not right at all ...
AskarPerang
post May 22 2009, 12:20 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(ItchyKlikFinger @ May 20 2009, 04:25 AM)
When Spock and young Kirk met Scotty on the ice planet. Scotty talked about how he did some transporter experiment with Admiral Archer's beagle that didn't go well  tongue.gif
i don't understand this part. how did scotty know that he needs to wait for future spoock and kirk on the ice planet?
Gr3yL3gion
post May 22 2009, 01:33 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(kroegand @ May 22 2009, 11:59 AM)
Watched it yesterday and like it. Overall I give 8/10. The main thing i dun like is Sylar as Spock ... It's just seems not right at all ...
I think he's the right cast for Spock though.

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 22 2009, 12:20 PM)
i don't understand this part. how did scotty know that he needs to wait for future spoock and kirk on the ice planet?
Maybe he was stationed there.
dokidoki
post May 22 2009, 04:24 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

huhu..this movie really best..so far the best movie (angel & lemon also) for year 2009
kobe8byrant
post May 22 2009, 04:25 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 22 2009, 04:24 PM)
huhu..this movie really best..so far the best movie (angel & lemon also) for year 2009
Are you taking the piss?
Mgsrulz
post May 22 2009, 05:48 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

LOL... Angel and lemon..
cruel_boy
post May 23 2009, 02:30 AM

BeyONd cRUelIty LieS sIVa
913 posts

i dun understand with the kelvin design. in wiki its stated that according to Gene D's rule, all star trek ship must have paired warp engines... how come kelvin only has one?

wen enterprise removed the core into da blackhole it created HUGE explosion...bt how come when kelvin rammed into nadara, only small explosion... it still had the core right... should't the core explode?
azarimy
post May 23 2009, 06:20 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ May 22 2009, 06:30 PM)
i dun understand with the kelvin design. in wiki its stated that according to Gene D's rule, all star trek ship must have paired warp engines... how come kelvin only has one?

perhaps this could shed some light.

Tehnical Development
One naccelle ships for destroyers had one big engineering problem and initially the problem was solved. The standard warp coil was replaced with a dualitic coil. This was essentially 2 sets of coils customized to fit into the one nacelle housing.
This was successful, however many felt that the power curve needed for this system was somewhat ungainly. Lacked efficiency. The problem then had been corrected to an extent by using one active coil and one "Dummy" coil in the housing. The passive, or "Dummy" coil simply reversed the polarity of the active coil's warp field, and therefore "fooled" the warp field into acting as though there were 2 nacelles. The made the power consumption rate of the early Averys and later Saladins much more satisfactory.

source

wen enterprise removed the core into da blackhole it created HUGE explosion...bt how come when kelvin rammed into nadara, only small explosion... it still had the core right... should't the core explode?
if u're talking about the red matter, when kelvin rammed into the narada, the red matter is on the narada. it's safe.

but when the jellyfish (spock's ship) rammed into the narada, it was destroyed. its destruction ignited the red matter, producing the blackhole.
sshahar9
post May 23 2009, 11:41 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 23 2009, 06:20 AM)

if u're talking about the red matter, when kelvin rammed into the narada, the red matter is on the narada. it's safe.

but when the jellyfish (spock's ship) rammed into the narada, it was destroyed. its destruction ignited the red matter, producing the blackhole.
correction... i think the red matter was inside spocks ship all along.
when kelvin rammed narada, the red matter wasnt there.

25 years later when spock's ship came through the black hole, they captured the ship, spock and the red matter inside it. but the red matter had been inside spocks ship all along.

when young spock rammed the prime spocks ship into narada, the red matter was still inside and thus ignited when it crashed into narada.

wth is the red matter anyway. its just plain preposterous.. so much for sci-fi
zenix
post May 23 2009, 03:11 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 22 2009, 12:20 PM)
who directed angel & lemon? some taiwan singer? laugh.gif

QUOTE(cruel_boy @ May 23 2009, 02:30 AM)

this was never really explained in any way as whenever there is a self destruct activated or ejected core.....it usually makes a big explosion but when the ships are destroyed as a whole this does not happen.

like when the enterprise came out of warp it had to fly thru alot of debris.....which doesn't make sense if u figure that destroying all the ships would mean that there would be alot of core explosions thus nothing much left doh.gif

QUOTE(sshahar9 @ May 23 2009, 11:41 AM)
correction... i think the red matter was inside spocks ship all along.
when kelvin rammed narada, the red matter wasnt there.

25 years later when spock's ship came through the black hole, they captured the ship, spock and the red matter inside it. but the red matter had been inside spocks ship all along.

when young spock rammed the prime spocks ship into narada, the red matter was still inside and thus ignited when it crashed into narada.

wth is the red matter anyway. its just plain preposterous.. so much for sci-fi

Red matter is a fictional substance that appears in J.J. Abrams' 2009 film Star Trek and the lead-in comic book Star Trek: Countdown. The rare mineral decalithium is processed into red matter that creates a black hole when it comes in contact with nuclear matter, and is used in an attempt to avert an impending natural disaster, and to destroy a planet.

sauce

skysherly
post May 23 2009, 03:28 PM

1,764 posts

Watched it ytday! So nais!!! xD ENjoyed it very much.
Krik look so man!!! Spock hair style damn cute.

Oh yea, not to forget that "wictor wictor" xD
sonic_cd
post May 23 2009, 03:45 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

read the countdown prequel comic already ..the narada looks very different in there .lol
Eithanius
post May 23 2009, 03:58 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ May 23 2009, 03:45 PM)
read the countdown prequel comic already ..the narada looks very different in there .lol
i've only read the first of four chapters.... doh.gif

dinodog_Jr
post May 23 2009, 04:00 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

not sure is there any non-star trek fans like me not really feel astonished by this version of star trek?!

i bought the tix cuz of JJ Abrams...And the trailer did bring out some new fashion look to me. That's why.

It turned out not really surprisingly me at all.. A pop-corn entertainment show, which can stay home and watch in DVD would be just fine, imo.

Anyway, i do really like the beastie boys car-chased part. That's the most hyped part to me. It makes me want to see more crazy stunning act in the show..

it doesn't created sparkles dat much after half an hour. And it went conventional and a classic revenge story mode.

I saw some audiences left the show after 1 hour.

I am going back to search my confidence on JJ Abrams in the lost series.

This won't be one of my best top 10 movie of the year. The action is not impactful enuff. There are not much outstanding elements to sell.

I appreciated the hardwork on visual side. In the end, story is still the key in a movie.

Why Harold is here?! Sorry dunno his real name. Just weird to see him in this movie. Is there any reason this actor is successed? He looks ordinary person and common acting to me. no offense.
Eithanius
post May 23 2009, 04:01 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(gafun @ May 19 2009, 12:22 AM)
Anybody caught the reference to admiral archer ?

his poor beagle Porthos ended up in Scotty's experiments.... laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: May 23 2009, 04:01 PM

39 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:50 PM