Faking Pay Slip for Interview, Jobs and HR

TSMoneyChaser
post Jun 18 2008, 08:49 AM, updated 18y ago

386 posts

Hey Forumers,

Have u ever considered faking your Pay Slip during Interviews..

Is it ethical ?

Is it safe ?

In todays situation... will they do a background check.

Is it Legal for the Interviewing Company to Check my Details from my current company ?

Hope u guys can share some input.

earl-ku
post Jun 18 2008, 08:52 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

yea it is ethical for your interviewing comp to call up and do a check on you, so called background check ...

but whats the point in doing something like that ...
Bank
post Jun 18 2008, 08:54 AM

157 posts

its not ethical doing so. wat is the purpose of doing so? unless u r not good enough... sweat.gif
adrianocy
post Jun 18 2008, 09:00 AM

907 posts

to get higher expected pay i presume
clngu
post Jun 18 2008, 09:01 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

your career is ruined if do so.
Omage007
post Jun 18 2008, 09:02 AM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jun 18 2008, 08:52 AM)
yea it is ethical for your interviewing comp to call up and do a check on you, so called background check ...

but whats the point in doing something like that ...
He wan to get a higher salary. . . he claim his current salary is RM5K but actual salary is RM3K only. . .
oRoXoRo
post Jun 18 2008, 09:03 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

It's very risky. Although I will say that most of the time they will not check it but once they found out, you are doomed. biggrin.gif Depends on your credibility also.

ahsia80
post Jun 18 2008, 09:03 AM

989 posts

Integrity lost......
May get thru the first few months...
If found out by the HR...then bye bye to future work...
SUSHybz
post Jun 18 2008, 09:05 AM

846 posts

If the company call back to your ex company and found out ... then you'll get embarrassed too ...

its like very stupid act lol, no offend biggrin.gif
oRoXoRo
post Jun 18 2008, 09:06 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

Nothing can be proven unless you try 1st TS. Just do it. ( Nike)
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 18 2008, 09:09 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Why the interviewer wants to see your payslip?
If they think u dont deserve how much u ask for, then dont hire u.

If my interviewer ask me to produce payslip, i will say kthxbye to them.

p/s: i always say my current salary more higher than what i really getting.
kapitan
post Jun 18 2008, 09:11 AM

2,205 posts

Hahaha..

Different RM2k le? So easy to pass?
Normally my friends submit their salary as it is and then put another column expected salary. Its not your boss job to find out how much you are being paid previously, rather its you who have to prove to your boss why you think you deserve RM5k salary. Grow up...
rexis
post Jun 18 2008, 09:12 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

Unless you very good friend with your previous hr and they co-op with you, otherwise from RM3000 you say RM5000, 99% they will check you.

Its not that hard to get a yellow pages or internet you know.
pasarmalam
post Jun 18 2008, 09:16 AM

276 posts

don't do any thing fake.to be safe but i never heard of a company asking for your pay slip be4??hmm..
gtghost
post Jun 18 2008, 09:23 AM

495 posts

Most MNC do ask for salary slip and also perform the background check conducted by third party. The background check is to ensure that what you have written in your resume is according to what you have explained.

If you offend your superior or someone in the company, you can kiss your new job goodbye.
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 10:07 AM

1,127 posts

I am shocked there are some here who would even attempt to indulge in fakery and artful dodging when it comes to compensation checks by would-be employers.

For everyone that I have hired (with the exeption of fresh graduates), I have always performed referral and salary checks - any form of deviations or attempts at trickery would result in immediate rejection.

Integrity is highly valued in the corporate workplace - it would do some of you good to look it up in a dictionary and contemplate on its meaning.
mcbarney666
post Jun 18 2008, 10:27 AM

405 posts

This is just plain inane.

If you're that desperate then you don't deserve to be even called for an interview.
aero
post Jun 18 2008, 10:35 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 10:07 AM)
I am shocked there are some here who would even attempt to indulge in fakery and artful dodging when it comes to compensation checks by would-be employers.

For everyone that I have hired (with the exeption of fresh graduates), I have always performed referral and salary checks - any form of deviations or attempts at trickery would result in immediate rejection. 

Integrity is highly valued in the corporate workplace - it would do some of you good to look it up in a dictionary and contemplate on its meaning.
Just wandering how can they verify whether the pay slip is correct?
tiny
post Jun 18 2008, 11:07 AM

133 posts

Be honest, there will be a good chance your prospective employer will give a phone call to your previous employer's HR department to confirm your "payslip". Even if you say you graduated from xxx University, the employer has the right to call that University to make a confirmation.
It's not safe and not ethical.
smallbug
post Jun 18 2008, 11:08 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(aero @ Jun 18 2008, 10:35 AM)
Yes, I thought salary details were P and C. Rest of details like job designation / scope they can ask.
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 11:11 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(aero @ Jun 18 2008, 10:35 AM)
A call to the candidate's previous employer HR department will suffice. That goes for referral checks as well.

Added on June 18, 2008, 11:13 am
QUOTE(smallbug @ Jun 18 2008, 11:08 AM)
Yes, I thought salary details were P and C. Rest of details like job designation / scope they can ask.
There's no such thing.

This post has been edited by SPS: Jun 18 2008, 11:13 AM
tiny
post Jun 18 2008, 11:18 AM

133 posts

It's quite simple actually, I'll scan that payslip, then email it to the HR department's Manager to ask if the payslip genuine. Does the company not have the right to question the authenticity of a document given?
smallbug
post Jun 18 2008, 11:26 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 11:11 AM)
A call to the candidate's previous employer HR department will suffice.  That goes for referral checks as well.

Added on June 18, 2008, 11:13 am
There's no such thing.
Professionalism is dead nowdays.

Who knows what other info they might share?
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 11:33 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Jun 18 2008, 11:26 AM)
Professionalism is dead nowdays.

Who knows what other info they might share?
You might as well say that integrity amongst employees is dead or dying.

Checking a candidate's previous employer's pay is by no means unprofessional and is standard corporate practise globally.

Faking or lying about past compensation is unacceptable no matter how you look at it.
Syd G
post Jun 18 2008, 11:34 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 11:11 AM)
There's no such thing.
Sorry, salary wise is strictly P&C for me - not even my boss will know how much I'm getting paid.

They can call up my reference to ask about my work, job scope, performance etc. Can ask for salary also but I will not volunteer that information to them - they should pay me competitively. If they think I'm asking for too much then feel free not to hire me.

I'm sorry but the lack of professionalism is ticking me off. I thought only employees under job agency hv to endure this nonsense- they want to make as much money as possible from you so they sotong ur salary.

*edit : typo

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jun 18 2008, 11:35 AM
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 11:38 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(tiny @ Jun 18 2008, 11:18 AM)
It's quite simple actually, I'll scan that payslip, then email it to the HR department's Manager to ask if the payslip genuine. Does the company not have the right to question the authenticity of a document given?
From reading several of the postings in this thread, some forummers (pressumably the younger set) seem to be shocked that there are such things as pay and referral checks in the corporate workplace.

Welcome to the real world - there's no free lunch.
smallbug
post Jun 18 2008, 11:39 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 18 2008, 11:34 AM)
Sorry, salary wise is strictly P&C for me - not even my boss will know how much I'm getting paid.

They can call up my reference to ask about my work, job scope, performance etc. Can ask for salary also but I will not volunteer that information to them - they should pay me competitively. If they think I'm asking for too much then feel free not to hire me.

I'm sorry but the lack of professionalism is ticking me off. I thought only employees under job agency hv to endure this nonsense- they want to make as much money as possible from you so they sotong ur salary.

You don't put down your pay from your previous company in the application form? What if the interviewer asks?

aero
post Jun 18 2008, 11:42 AM

116 posts

eh, could it possible that your manager also do not know your salary? hmm.... how long you have been working already?
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 11:43 AM

1,127 posts

LOL, are you even working? The hiring manager i.e. the boss should he/she hires the job candidate, he has to agree to the pay and compensation and negotiates with the candidate accordingly - have you ever been hired before?

All employers will certainly ask for a job candidate's current or past salary - and it is their right and privilege to check with your previous employer for authencity's sake.

Syd G
post Jun 18 2008, 11:45 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Jun 18 2008, 11:39 AM)
You don't put down your pay from your previous company in the application form? What if the interviewer asks?
smallbug, I dont even put down 'religion', 'race' and my parents' name and profession. Especially my mother's name.

In America it's even illegal to ask for marital status and age.

If the interviewer ask, I'll ask back.. "how will the information be useful to you?"

Based on previous experiences, they either dont know how the market rate and doesnt wanna overpay you or just want to test your integrity.

If they really wanna test my integrity then I can give them all the numbers of my previous bosses for them to call up smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2008, 11:47 am
QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 11:43 AM)
LOL, are you even working?  The hiring manager i.e. the boss should he/she hires the job candidate, he has to agree to the pay and compensation and negotiates with the candidate accordingly - have you ever been hired before?

All employers will certainly ask for a job candidate's current or past salary - and it is their right and privilege to check with your previous employer for authencity's sake.
Sorry, I meant immediate supervisor or people who dont know the information beforehand. Manager n HR person, thats different story wink.gif

Dont get me wrong, SPS. I'm a big fan of background checks.

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jun 18 2008, 11:47 AM
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 11:50 AM

1,127 posts

Background checks with regards to past salaries, qualifications and work experience are part and parcel of today's work environment anywhere in the world.

Just accept it if you want to get hired.
zul_sur
post Jun 18 2008, 11:57 AM

125 posts

if its even illegal to ask for age, how do they know that you are underage? sorry, might be a noob question. But i think there are some company that give marital bonus or something. So far i have been to the interview, and there are some time that i forgot to put my family member name, and they ask me to put it in, it think its for some emergency purpose. correct me if im wrong since im just new to this working environment.
gtghost
post Jun 18 2008, 12:02 PM

495 posts

These are the results of a badly managed country. Ethics cannot pay for food, money does. When push comes to shove, I think the desperate ones are trying to survive.

Having said that, this case I assume was to enable him to sustain his current lifestyle without having to sacrifice, which I believe is wrong. There is no such thing as this, when the this is a global effect of oil price increase.

The brain drain is unavoidable. The good ones will leave the country for greener pasture, and all will be left is this kind of people, directly or indirectly. That is why nobody realised that the brain drain is so serious.

Wonder why these days employers says the workers are not what they used to be? Brain dumps for certification like MCSE or CCNA, no true skill, only theories applied.
Syd G
post Jun 18 2008, 12:02 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(zul_sur @ Jun 18 2008, 11:57 AM)
if its even illegal to ask for age, how do they know that you are underage? sorry, might be a noob question. But i think there are some company that give marital bonus or something. So far i have been to the interview, and there are some time that i forgot to put my family member name, and they ask me to put it in, it think its for some emergency purpose. correct me if im wrong since im just new to this working environment.
They can ask "Are over the age of 18?"
http://www.hrworld.com/features/30-intervi...estions-111507/

Emergency details are fine.

I've been asked to fill up details of my mom, dad and siblings - their age, occupation and where they're stuying/working. I often leave them empty.

SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 12:05 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(zul_sur @ Jun 18 2008, 11:57 AM)
In Malaysia, employers requesting for marital status and age of employees is not an illegal act.

If candidates are not happy with this arrangement, suggest that they work in a country where employers generally do not ask such questions.

Contrary to what a foummer here has stated with regards to the point that asking a candidate's age is an illegal act in the US, according to US Federal law, as spelled out in the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, it does not prohibit an employer from asking an applicant's age or date of birth. Federal law allows an employer to ask your age or date of birth if there is a legitimate reason for them to ask for that information -- such as to perform background checks or for identification purposes.

The age bias act clearly states that ''requests for age information will be closely scrutinized to make sure that the inquiry was made for a lawful purpose," rather than for the purpose of discriminating against potential hires based on age.

deodorant
post Jun 18 2008, 12:07 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 18 2008, 11:45 AM)
Aiyo don't compare Western countries to Malaysia la.

Anyway on the semi-related context of qualifications, my aunt recently fired a new hiree cos he faked his degree credentials. Thing is, her company (big MNC) HR does not have a policy to check qualifications -- it's only cos she suspected him (cos he dunno anything) that she forced HR to check.

Furthermore the company I work in (Bank MNC), I know for a fact from contacts in HR that they don't check either.

So uh ... is it standard market practice to not check authenticity of qualifications? hmm.gif
Syd G
post Jun 18 2008, 12:09 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 18 2008, 12:07 PM)
So uh ... is it standard market practice to not check authenticity of qualifications? hmm.gif
Apparently wink.gif
SUSSPS
post Jun 18 2008, 12:12 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Jun 18 2008, 12:02 PM)
These are the results of a badly managed country. Ethics cannot pay for food, money does. When push comes to shove, I think the desperate ones are trying to survive.

Having said that, this case I assume was to enable him to sustain his current lifestyle without having to sacrifice, which I believe is wrong. There is no such thing as this, when the this is a global effect of oil price increase.

The brain drain is unavoidable. The good ones will leave the country for greener pasture, and all will be left is this kind of people, directly or indirectly. That is why nobody realised that the brain drain is so serious.

Wonder why these days employers says the workers are not what they used to be? Brain dumps for certification like MCSE or CCNA, no true skill, only theories applied.
I agree whole-heartedly with your remark regarding ethics or the lack of it in Malaysia.

The brain drain is indeed very serious - the standard and quality of the pool of hirees available to Malaysian-based companies is far lower compared to those even from as recently as a decade ago.

Although I am no longer working in Malaysia, I have friends and relatives in their capacitiies as hiring managers will occasionally moan about the drastic drop in available talent and experience for their various fields of employment.

Added on June 18, 2008, 12:14 pm

Anyway on the semi-related context of qualifications, my aunt recently fired a new hiree cos he faked his degree credentials. Thing is, her company (big MNC) HR does not have a policy to check qualifications -- it's only cos she suspected him (cos he dunno anything) that she forced HR to check.

Furthermore the company I work in (Bank MNC), I know for a fact from contacts in HR that they don't check either.

If HR and hiring managers do not bother to check, that is their own perogative.

Bear in mind that that is their choice and privilege - hence, if a hiree has been telling fibs about his or her credentials and previous pay, there is always a risk that the employer will do a snap check.

This post has been edited by SPS: Jun 18 2008, 12:14 PM
gtghost
post Jun 18 2008, 12:15 PM

495 posts

That is another indirect reason as mentioned by me on regarding the brain drain. Modern HR personnel does pratice this kind of background checking. The HR ones that does not improve are the ones working for a long time and does not know this kind of pratice being done. You know what they do? They monitor your clock-in and clock-out time, keep track of your annual leaves and MC, give you warning if you are late, etc.

Jesus, those are old HR pratice already. The modern ones focuses on how to retain employees by providing better benefits, working with vendors to provide continous training for the workers to sharpen thiers skillset, fighting for better benefits suchs as higher EPF contribution, etc.

I'm not from HR and I know this kind of stuff.
zeist
post Jun 18 2008, 12:23 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Kena tangkap that time, you'll be embaressed. Just for few hundreds extra, you lose your face infront of everyone.

Talking about coming in work late, I know a few big companies the HR staffs are useless idiots. From what I heard, there were only 3 staffs in the HR room. Yea, only 3 people handle everything? That is why they don't even bother to check who comes in late and etc. Some with tidak-apa-attitude. These are private companies, government should be much stricter. I think they should hire more people in the HR department, don't know save cost or what shit. This is very unfair seriously.
ferricide
post Jun 18 2008, 12:24 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

@ TS,

Your payslip also confirms if your ACTUAL earnings are as per say, and also if you are EVEN employed by your current company.

So there is a good number of reasons why they ask for it. Also if they are asking for it, don't you think they will contact your current company too?
KLsooner
post Jun 18 2008, 12:45 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Jun 18 2008, 08:49 AM)
Hey Forumers,

Is it ethical ?

Is it safe ?

Is it Legal for the Interviewing Company to Check my Details from my current company ?

Please go ahead and do so and come back in two months time to update us. rclxms.gif

"This act can only be performed by skilled professional, people in front of the screen should not follow"

This post has been edited by KLsooner: Jun 18 2008, 12:46 PM
gtqr68
post Jun 18 2008, 12:49 PM

68 posts

If not found out...then this is damn smart move

If found out,...this is just plain stupid
smallbug
post Jun 18 2008, 12:52 PM

874 posts

Employee beware. biggrin.gif
rexis
post Jun 18 2008, 04:27 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

QUOTE(gtqr68 @ Jun 18 2008, 12:49 PM)
If not found out...then this is damn smart move

If found out,...this is just plain stupid
True

My father used to told me a story about a guy who fake an ACCA cert and work in a Bank for 10+ years, reaching managerial position, one day management discovered that his ACCA actually fake.

He was fired on the spot.

People hates dishonest people.
yeeshyan
post Jun 18 2008, 04:51 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(rexis @ Jun 18 2008, 04:27 PM)
True

My father used to told me a story about a guy who fake an ACCA cert and work in a Bank for 10+ years, reaching managerial position, one day management discovered that his ACCA actually fake.

He was fired on the spot.

People hates dishonest people.
Even 10yrs later they stil check on the certificates? Huh but what about pay slip? Do they still check it after a few years later?
seantang
post Jun 18 2008, 06:13 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Firstly, to TS: Why fake anything? If you want to provide info, make sure it's true. If you have some info that's unfavourable to you, then simply don't provide. To defraud or mislead is wrong, even illegal - to omit or refuse to answer is not.

Secondly, I don't believe in providing previous salary slips to future employers. Why do they want to know how much I was paid previously? If they want to hire me to do a job that pays $10,000 market rate, will they now offer me only $7000 if my salary slip shows that I earned $5000 previously? Or will they offer me $10,000 only if my previous salary was $8000 and above? If they want $10,000 of effort and skills from me, why shouldn't they pay me $10,000 even though I was paid only $5000 previously?

As someone mentioned, what purpose does knowing the hiree's previous salary serve, apart from being an excuse to underpay him below the market rate? Isn't more important to verify that this person has the education, skills, aptitude and experience to do job?

Pay me what the job is worth, regardless of what I was paid previously. A company that sets a new employee's salary based on +xx% over what the chap's previous salary, simply shows that it has no idea what its pay positions are vs the market. A company like that is demotivating and demeaning to work for because you will often find that you're doing exactly the same quantity and quality of work as your peers but each of you draws a different salary simply because your starting salaries (fudged on each individual's previous salaries) are all over the place.

Having said that, I always indirectly inform a prospective employer what my current salary is, by telling them how much they have to potentially pay me if they want me to come for an interview. I always give a number that represents my current package + 1 promotion. That's the minimum because I don't want to waste time attending interviews at companies that won't or can't even pay me enough to attract me away from than my current employer.

Thirdly, contrary to many of you folks (it seems), I work for a company that will not disclose my confidential personal details - and that includes my remuneration details etc. HR will confirm my previous employment with them and if necessary, provide a broad job scope - but no detailed information. If they call my former boss directly, on the other hand, it will of course be up to his personal discretion what and how much to say. But it will not be corroborated officially by HR.
Melon
post Jun 18 2008, 09:40 PM

394 posts

HR asking for payslip is to verify that u r a staff of ur current company and to test ur honesty only...not about salary negotiation (this is what explained by them when i asked them y)......becoz der r still many other benefits which are outside of the payslip that u can create to jack ur expected package (this is from my personal experience, hehe).....

u'll need to sign consent letter in order for the HR to vet on your previous employment (i recently sign one). The HR explained that if you never sign a consent letter and that company does a vet on u, it is deemed illegal for the company.

btw, i have frens working as HR person, they will not disclose on your salary. They will answer yes or no when asked.
J(o)y
post Jun 18 2008, 09:52 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Jun 18 2008, 08:49 AM)
Hey Forumers,

Is it ethical ?

Is it safe ?

Assuming since u ask this kinda question, i presume that your experiences is not that professional and your current work is nothing to beproud of.

In view of that presumption, you can try to fake ur payslip (altho im wondering what kinda technology you have to do a fake payslip).

Further, in your profession, i dun think u have a reputattion to spoilt to begin with. so why not try it out. let me know if u get thru,k??
Go for it!!!

and ur question "Isit ethical?". Tell me one situation lying about employment is ethical??
putramon
post Jun 18 2008, 09:58 PM

361 posts

got ask for payslip for interviews ah? never encounter that b4...

hi hybz. i tot u can print ur own payslip at home?
bluesky007
post Jun 18 2008, 10:17 PM

85 posts

i will choose credential rather than a few hundred increment!
SUSHybz
post Jun 19 2008, 10:45 AM

846 posts

QUOTE(putramon @ Jun 18 2008, 09:58 PM)

Normally MNC would request to view your original payslip and keep photocopy for reference...
Some will ask you bring your ex company offer letter too smile.gif

I suppose you're referring yourself rclxms.gif
I know you got access to make any kind of payslip and govt form brows.gif

seantang
post Jun 19 2008, 11:04 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ Jun 19 2008, 10:45 AM)
Normally MNC would request to view your original payslip and keep photocopy for reference...
Some will ask you bring your ex company offer letter too smile.gif

Depends on which MNC, I guess.

Mine wasn't interested in viewing nor keeping my old payslips. They just told me $x,xxx is their salary range for this job etc.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 19 2008, 11:06 AM
callmepaper
post Jun 19 2008, 11:26 AM

书到用时方恨少
1,319 posts

very much i agreed with your points. well said. i'm always in the same thinking as you. it's sad but a fact that prospective company's HR will 'always' ask for current payslip. if all employers were to offer you without looking at your current pay, i'm sure all of us will be very happy to quote so-called 'market price'. imagine i have worked for my current employer for 5 years and my pay is only 20% jump in 2 years say RM2,400 (RM2,000 + RM400). based on market price, i should be offerred RM4,000 or more. that's 'wow'! i can expect a mess if everyone is doing that.
yrh0413
post Jun 19 2008, 11:42 AM

12,214 posts

I recently turned down a job offer exactly because the company's HR just added 20% on top of my current pay. I questioned her back by asking her if I'm underpaid in my current job that means I'll be underpaid when I accept their job offer. The HR just kept quiet after that.

Seriously, do a survey on the market price before you accept any job offers; I have some colleagues earning less than RM3k with 5 years working experience in relevant field.
seantang
post Jun 19 2008, 02:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Jun 19 2008, 11:26 AM)
very much i agreed with your points. well said. i'm always in the same thinking as you. it's sad but a fact that prospective company's HR will 'always' ask for current payslip. if all employers were to offer you without looking at your current pay, i'm sure all of us will be very happy to quote so-called 'market price'. imagine i have worked for my current employer for 5 years and my pay is only 20% jump in 2 years say RM2,400 (RM2,000 + RM400). based on market price, i should be offerred RM4,000 or more. that's 'wow'! i can expect a mess if everyone is doing that.

Even if you and the employer do not agree on the 'market price'... then at least make sure you get the pay that the job is classified at internally within the company.

Most companies if they are well organised and/or large enough, will utilise a concept called job-sizing. Each job in the company will have a job scope and a list of required qualifications and skills/aptitudes. And according to each job's scope and requirements - it will be sized. Each job size will tied to a salary level within the company.

So if you apply for a job which job scope is sized at level 5 (which their HR has tied to salary level 5 ie. $5,000), then make sure you get an offer of at least $5,000. If they offer you less than $5,000, then make sure your new job scope (and therefore accountabilities) is less than your peer colleagues in your new company, who are doing level 5 jobs and getting paid level 5 salaries.

If the new company's HR is not transparent with their job sizing and salary slotting practices, then it's back to square one... 'market rates'.

jimmy79
post Jun 19 2008, 02:37 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:42 AM)
I recently turned down a job offer exactly because the company's HR just added 20% on top of my current pay. I questioned her back by asking her if I'm underpaid in my current job that means I'll be underpaid when I accept their job offer. The HR just kept quiet after that.

Seriously, do a survey on the market price before you accept any job offers; I have some colleagues earning less than RM3k with 5 years working experience in relevant field.
If I am HR I will ask you back:
If you think you are underpaid, why are you accepting the job offer for your current job at first place?
or
If you think you are underpaid, why don't you raise it out with your company ?

PS: Is it underpaid+20% still underpaid? I thinks is depends to situation. tongue.gif
yrh0413
post Jun 19 2008, 03:04 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jun 19 2008, 02:37 PM)
If you think you are underpaid, why are you accepting the job offer for your current job at first place?
or

PS: Is it underpaid+20% still underpaid? I thinks is depends to situation. tongue.gif
Haha bingo, I answered the same set of questions before tongue.gif

"If you think you are underpaid, why are you accepting the job offer for your current job at first place? "
- Its my first job, gaining experience is far more important than the figure printed on my payslip. I know the market price for the position I'm applying for and I know my qualifications very well.

To be frank, I was earning RM2k previously. I wrote RM3.2k as my expected salary for the job offer and the HR called up and told me I'm expecting waaay too much. I attended the interview, and with my experience I manage to bargain from RM2.5k up to close to RM3k.

(1st job) RM2000 -> (2nd job) RM2800+; too bad I have higher offers that does not bother how much I earn on my previous job. To answer you, RM2000 + 20% is still severely underpaid if you ask me. sweat.gif

sosotomato
post Jun 19 2008, 03:06 PM

wah incredible this also can ar ?
yrh0413
post Jun 19 2008, 03:12 PM

12,214 posts

The HR called and told me I'm requesting too much, but its the project manager who interviewed me and he was the one who thinks that I do deserve the pay I'm requesting for. In the end it is still up to how well you sell yourself, and how close does your working experience matches their needs. For me, I know what cards I have on my deck and I'd played them well.

p.s. I don't even have to fake my payslip tongue.gif But to be frank I never like to talk to HR people sweat.gif
rockalt1292
post Jun 20 2008, 09:49 AM

67 posts

hi, ya salary slip is p&c to your friend, but not for application job when it is required (or any other official application for loan or card...etc). And they have the right to keep a copy of your payslip for verification later, it is better that you show it by yourself during interview rather than the employer call in your current company to check without informing you. and whole company know you are looking for job out there. if you wanna blame, don blame at employer, blame those ppl who cheated about their salary to new employer. as i know, these days every company practice this which every candidate should bring their payslip to the interview.
yen1022
post Jun 20 2008, 09:21 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

i can understand y ts would think of faking the salary slip. cuz most of the company will not willing to overpay u especially the economy is worse than last time. some even onli willing to pay same as per ur current company. then wat's the point to leave the previous n to join the new. well so far i've been asked to produce my salary slip for recent 3 times as its mnc. unless its a small company which normally they wont ask. but of cuz most of the time they wont pay wat u expected to get.
~^Alice^~
post Jun 20 2008, 11:50 PM

15 posts

Basically companies ask for your previous salary because they get to know 2 things in 1. The validity of you claiming to work in that company and also to push down your salary. Come on, lets be honest, if you know some poor bloke is earning Rm2.2K would you ever think of paying him RM5K eventhough his job should be paid that much?

Its an unfair world. If you want to fake, you need extreme guts and to think of all the possible ways the company can check on you. Also be prepared to let go of the job if you are found out.

If you don't want to put the salary, I think it is also OK. Some of my friends have done it and gotten bigger salary. However, the risk is that you better be super good and luck certainly plays a big role. If another bloke is a good as you and puts his salary then you are probably a goner too.
georgechang79
post Jun 21 2008, 01:28 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 11:50 AM)
Background checks with regards to past salaries, qualifications and work experience are part and parcel of today's work environment anywhere in the world.

Just accept it if you want to get hired.
Not all companies does this especially local companies. However multinationals and companies dealing in R&D with patents are some of the most vigorous companies practicing this methods.

Added on June 21, 2008, 1:37 am
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 18 2008, 09:09 AM)
Why the interviewer wants to see your payslip?
If they think u dont deserve how much u ask for, then dont hire u.

If my interviewer ask me to produce payslip, i will say kthxbye to them.

p/s: i always say my current salary more higher than what i really getting.
actually you can just present it to them in a different way. Instead of giving them montly statements. I try to show them my EA forms with tax returns.

They are normally inclusive of the basic pay+ OT allowances + bonus + EFP contribution + employer EFP + socso + income tax deduction. So for someone earning 3K can jump to 5K a month after dividing the total over 12 months.

This is important as some company doesn't give company cars or travel allowances. So all this will does add up.

I always tell them how much i make in one year and show them the EA form (original) no faking here
and tell them i hope to make similar or more in the new post. And trust me, companies are willing to pay, if you are worth the price tag.

Never sell yourself short, your time *sold* can never be bought back.

This post has been edited by georgechang79: Jun 21 2008, 01:37 AM
sting79
post Jun 21 2008, 02:46 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(~^Alice^~ @ Jun 20 2008, 11:50 PM)
Come on, lets be honest, if you know some poor bloke is earning Rm2.2K would you ever think of paying him RM5K eventhough his job should be paid that much?
Most likely not, but there will be exceptions where my ex-colleague more than doubled her salary in one jump. It's similar to the above where she is way underpaid before the jump, just that the figures is different.
I also knew someone who doubles his salary within a year in 2 jumps. His figures is somewhat similar to the above though.

When a person is seriously underpaid, exceptions could happen...
bysquashy
post Jun 21 2008, 01:11 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

It's very easy to catch someone who fakes payslip. Hr would check with EPF and there you go.
SUSStarJump
post Jun 21 2008, 09:53 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 21 2008, 01:11 PM)
It's very easy to catch someone who fakes payslip. Hr would check with EPF and there you go.
But if I am not mistaken EPF is also bounded by law to safeguard the privacy of its members. Not anyone or any company can ask for someone else's details.

Maybe I am wrong, perhaps any company HR ppl can confirm if they can ask EPF to release details to them?
kb2005
post Jun 21 2008, 10:26 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 21 2008, 01:11 PM)
Not all HR will check. I heard someone did it before and no problem. biggrin.gif
smallbug
post Jun 22 2008, 07:04 PM

874 posts

Actually, looking at it from another point of view.. if they want a look at it, let them look. BUT stick to what you claimed for. If both can't come to an agreement, then it's kthxbye.

Don't put up with nonsense like "Waaa, last time your company only paying you RM####, now you are expecting RM####... "

minthiam
post Jun 23 2008, 02:29 AM

698 posts

I think the main reason the HR ask for pay slip is not to check your existing salary...I think they did it for background check, they want to know whether you are actually working at the Co that you stated in your resume & what is your current job title...
Furthermore, as bysquashy said, it's very easy to bust pay slip faker...just check the EPF will do!
aicescko
post Jun 23 2008, 08:47 AM

115 posts

I dont think is good idea, if they find out , sure you will be gg...

edgy
post Jun 23 2008, 02:17 PM

What about someone's college grades? Can you background check that information?

I graduated from the US, and the university policy is that student records will not be revealed without consent from the student. The only thing they can reveal is whether I have completed my degree studies there. But they also provide information to http://www.degreeverify.org, not sure if it includes student grades.

My GPA is only 3.1 and there is this dream job at Intel that requires 3.5 GPA. Dunno wanna fake it or not, kinda scared =/.

kevinleng
post Jun 23 2008, 04:47 PM

147 posts

Potential employers do not have the rights to request to see your payslip. In addition to that, I do not think that your current company will release their staff's salary to the "public". You can always tell your potential employer that you are currently earning RM 4000 but your promotion is due soon and you should be getting an increment of RM X amount.
SUSSPS
post Jun 23 2008, 04:55 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(kevinleng @ Jun 23 2008, 04:47 PM)
Potential employers do not have the rights to request to see your payslip. In addition to that, I do not think that your current company will release their staff's salary to the "public". You can always tell your potential employer that you are currently earning RM 4000 but your promotion is due soon and you should be getting an increment of RM X amount.
That is not true. Would-be employers have the right to ask to view a potential employee's pay slip - the caveat being the employee also has the right to refuse to show it and it is up to the discretion of the employer whether they wish to employ the person or not.

HR personnel have their own network - they typically do rely on each other for reference checks and renumeration verifications.

Would-be employees who propogate lies and half-truths deserve whatever punishment they receive.
chezzball
post Jun 25 2008, 01:38 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

My friend.

First job : rm2k
2nd job : faked his 'payslip' during interview, got oferred rm6k
3rd job : told interviewer rm6k, got offered even higher pay.

what u think tongue.gif
seantang
post Jun 25 2008, 01:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 23 2008, 04:55 PM)
That is not true.  Would-be employers have the right to ask to view a potential employee's pay slip - the caveat being the employee also has the right to refuse to show it and it is up to the discretion of the employer whether they wish to employ the person or not.

Exactly.

You have the right to ask your gf to show you her tits, but it's entirely up to her whether she does so or not. Depending on her response, you make the decision whether to keep her or look for a new gf.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 25 2008, 01:44 PM
Syd G
post Jun 25 2008, 04:04 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 25 2008, 01:43 PM)
Exactly.

You have the right to ask your gf to show you her tits, but it's entirely up to her whether she does so or not. Depending on her response, you make the decision whether to keep her or look for a new gf.
LMAO! biggrin.gif

@chezzball
IF he can do his job really well then I see no problem doing that wink.gif
smallbug
post Jun 25 2008, 05:24 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 25 2008, 04:04 PM)
LMAO! biggrin.gif

@chezzball
IF he can do his job really well then I see no problem doing that wink.gif
Tit size is way down the list of criteria lar.

aero
post Jun 29 2008, 12:17 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Jun 25 2008, 01:38 PM)
My friend.

First job : rm2k
2nd job : faked his 'payslip' during interview, got oferred rm6k
3rd job : told interviewer rm6k, got offered even higher pay.

what u think tongue.gif
unbelievable. What is ur friend position title before(1 job) and after(2 job) the jump?
Irresistible
post Jun 29 2008, 01:57 AM

3,278 posts

NOt to produce a fake payslip,

They will believe if ur current FAke salary is more or less the market rate.

If the wan salary slip, u said comapny don't give. Some comapnise pay via cheque
SUS2HK
post Jun 29 2008, 02:30 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Jun 18 2008, 09:23 AM)
Most MNC do ask for salary slip and also perform the background check conducted by third party. The background check is to ensure that what you have written in your resume is according to what you have explained.

If you offend your superior or someone in the company, you can kiss your new job goodbye.
Who does the check ? private eye ?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SPS

And I wish some employers would do the same - I have known , world famous co's even in SG to turn a blind eye to info that is extremely suspect just cause the Boss liked the guy .

The words corporate and integrity do not mean the same thing .

p4n6
post Jun 29 2008, 02:52 AM

5,970 posts

I believe in the most application, it will ask you whether it's convenient to contact your current company for information. You can answer NO.

I believe payslip shall not be disclose to the company as it's P&C.

Most company will have a salary range for a position, if it's not within the range, they will careless to call you in for interview, if you are invited, it's highly possible that salary is not the issue, it's your qualification. It's the nature of HR to negotiate salary with you, that's what they are hired to do ... even though the price is right, 100-200 too they will try to push you down.

Honestly, if the HR feels a fresh grad is suitable for a position of Manager, I don't see why they cannot pay the fresh grad the paygrade of a manager.

So, I'm against showing salary slip to the target company.

If I'm not wrong, only typical local company will ask for payslip and those are the one that first look at how many years of experiences you have instead of what's your potential and capability.

I've been working for few years now and I strongly believe ... year of experience doesn't guarantee work quality and capability.
foongchinboon
post Jun 29 2008, 03:12 AM

395 posts

i think u expect ur salary deviations is too big alr....
but employer hav the right to call ur Xcompany ask for ur details.
p4n6
post Jun 29 2008, 09:03 AM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jun 29 2008, 03:12 AM)
i think u expect ur salary deviations is too big alr....
but employer hav the right to call ur Xcompany ask for ur details.
Most of the time it's based on trust and professionalism. But most Malaysians are uneducated so they will abuse it like the thread starter and his friend.

Honestly, how many people want the current company to know that you are seeking job outside?
huix
post Jun 29 2008, 12:48 PM

458 posts

Many of us are too innocent to think that the HR department in the million dollars company can be con by your simply fake payslip..... they are professional to deal with this kind of HR matter. Simple, they give u an offer letter, on the first day of work, they ask you to give them your EBF statement, or your bank account statement for the last 3 months, u can kiss your new job goodbye while you already say goodbye to your ex-company.

Btw, I am in MNC and we practice this as set by HR...sometimes, there are rules set by HR even CEO need to follow that.

This post has been edited by huix: Jun 29 2008, 12:53 PM
smallbug
post Jun 29 2008, 02:54 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Jun 29 2008, 12:48 PM)
Many of us are too innocent to think that the HR department in the million dollars company can be con by your simply fake payslip..... they are professional to deal with this kind of HR matter. Simple, they give u an offer letter, on the first day of work, they ask you to give them your EBF statement, or your bank account statement for the last 3 months, u can kiss your new job goodbye while you already say goodbye to your ex-company.

Btw, I am in MNC and we practice this as set by HR...sometimes, there are rules set by HR even CEO need to follow that.
EPF statement and bank account statement... why? I've never encountered any HR who has asked me for this..
SUSHybz
post Jun 29 2008, 03:34 PM

846 posts

Just be honest ...

If you are up to what you expected, definitely you will get it
SUS2HK
post Jun 29 2008, 07:36 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Jun 29 2008, 02:54 PM)
EPF statement and bank account statement... why? I've never encountered any HR who has asked me for this..
i agree , not legal right to this , worker can always refuse.
seantang
post Jun 29 2008, 07:46 PM

6,624 posts

I'm in MNC too, and it's nothing like yours. Does yours want credit card statements and blood tests too?

EPF and bank account statements are P&C, and the company has NO RIGHT (without your consent anyway) to demand that you furnish these documents to them. That's because these statements may contain P&C information not related to your employment by that company.

Like 2HK said, you can always refuse.
SUSSPS
post Jun 29 2008, 10:56 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(2HK @ Jun 29 2008, 02:30 AM)
SPS
And I wish some employers would do the same - I have known , world famous co's even in SG to turn a blind eye to info that is extremely suspect just cause the Boss liked the guy .

The words corporate and integrity do not mean the same thing .

Turn a blind eye to suspect activities?

Utter BS - any unethical matters will eventually be found out and dealt with accordingly by any global company worth its salt.

SUS2HK
post Jun 30 2008, 12:12 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 29 2008, 10:56 PM)
Turn a blind eye to suspect activities?

Utter BS - any unethical matters will eventually be found out and dealt with accordingly by any global company worth its salt.
Global financial co. in SG here Turn a blind eye to a white Uk guy's Employ record thought is very suspect , went to lousy university and claim work for a big bank ?

How about the same company deliberately firing all one race and hiring another race to replace them enacting deliberate racism ?

I know I was there

Who is Utter BS now ?
SUSSPS
post Jun 30 2008, 01:04 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(2HK @ Jun 30 2008, 12:12 AM)
Global financial co. in SG  here Turn a blind eye to a white Uk guy's Employ record thought is very suspect , went to lousy university and claim work for a big bank ?   

How about the same company deliberately firing all one race and hiring another race to replace them enacting deliberate racism ?

I know I was there

Who is Utter BS now ?
Name the company then.

Provide the evidence that states this particular white guy fudged his credentials and let the authorities do the rest.

If these allegations were true, the company would have been hauled into the dock by now.

SUS2HK
post Jun 30 2008, 05:13 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 30 2008, 01:04 AM)
Name the company then.

Provide the evidence that states this particular white guy fudged his credentials and let the authorities do the rest.

If these allegations were true, the company would have been hauled into the dock by now.
Name the company then? why should I ? It's no big deal to me , i left already.

Why don't you name your company ?

How can they be hauled if the Co themselves don't mind ? How can the Co prosecute itself!

Use you brain .

This post has been edited by 2HK: Jun 30 2008, 05:14 AM
SUSSPS
post Jun 30 2008, 09:47 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(2HK @ Jun 30 2008, 05:13 AM)
Name the company then?  why should I ? It's no big deal to me , i left already.

Why don't you name your company ?

How can they be hauled if the Co themselves don't mind ? How can the Co prosecute itself!

Use you brain .
Apply your own advice to yourself.

If you believe that an employee fudged his credentials, then bring it up to the HR department of your employer company. Whistleblower policies exist in global corporations.

Otherwise, it's all hearsay and rumours on your part.

SUS2HK
post Jun 30 2008, 06:48 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 30 2008, 09:47 AM)
Apply your own advice to yourself.

If you believe that an employee fudged his credentials, then bring it up to the HR department of your employer company.  Whistleblower policies exist in global corporations.

Otherwise, it's all hearsay and rumours on your part.
Another silly statement without understanding or perspective .

How can it be a Whistleblower policies when the event is over ? you can't blow the whistle when the event is past tense !

Thus I can also say it's all hearsay and rumours on your part.

Answer the Q : Why don't you name your company ? if you are so bona fide ?
SUSSPS
post Jun 30 2008, 07:25 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(2HK @ Jun 30 2008, 06:48 PM)
Another silly statement without understanding or perspective .

How can it be a Whistleblower policies when the event is over ? you can't blow the whistle when the event is past tense !

Thus I can also say  it's all hearsay and rumours on your part.

Answer the Q : Why don't you name your company ? if you are so bona fide ?
Then why didn't you blow the whistle if you had evidence that a certain employee had fudged his credentials then? We are not talking about the present.

In short, you suspected the person of lying about his credentials and yet you didn't have the guts to point it out through the proper channels when you were employed with your ex-company.

What does my employer have to do with this matter?
SUS2HK
post Jun 30 2008, 07:57 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 30 2008, 07:25 PM)
Then why didn't you blow the whistle if you had evidence that a certain employee had fudged his credentials then?  We are not talking about the present.

In short, you suspected the person of lying about his credentials and yet you didn't have the guts to point it out through the proper channels when you were employed with your ex-company.

Another silly statement jumping to conclusion without understanding or knowledge .

It WAS reported to the group HR director who did nothing about it , beyond that workers can do little else if the the Co does not want to act . end of story , which part is unclear to you ?

why should I give names when you don't , do you think you deserve special treatment here ?

xXBensonXx
post Jun 30 2008, 08:19 PM

96 posts

Wonder why do your company having this policy? Too many cases of faking payslip?
SUS2HK
post Jun 30 2008, 10:04 PM

404 posts

Faking is rife even in so call law abiding Singapore , anybody who believes otherwise is a fool :

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_210724.html

AFTER working in Singapore for eight years as an engineer, Hong Tao decided to stay for the long haul.

So the China national applied for permanent residence in September 2006.

He was successful. But just over a year later, he was in hot water.

The 36-year-old was arrested last November after checks revealed that his degree from the Anhui Institute of Electro Mechanics was fake.

They include 40-year-old Sivanantham Veeran, who in March 2006 succeeded in his citizenship application. But the Indian national had lied about his 1994 convictions here for immigration offences and other crimes.

seatux
post Apr 18 2011, 09:10 PM

233 posts

Only in Malaysia where applying for jobs they ask you everything except how big your privates are.

I got into a ang moh company without even asking for IC or even getting back ground checks. Granted its a small firm, but their attitude to the thing is something i like.

Compare to the local bank ones, they ask for family member name, ic, occupation, age, gender (as if put name on separate mom and dad section not enough). Heck even Borders Malaysia also ask this question.

So to you so-called HR specialist or what not, do you really need to ask all these seemingly unrelated questions for job applications?

This post has been edited by seatux: Apr 18 2011, 09:13 PM
mea05key
post Apr 18 2011, 09:16 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(seatux @ Apr 18 2011, 09:10 PM)
Only in Malaysia where applying for jobs they ask you everything except how big are your privates are.

I got into a ang moh company without even asking for IC or even getting back ground checks. Granted its a small firm, but their attitude to the thing is something i like.

Compare to the local bank ones, they ask for family member name, ic, occupation, age, gender (as if put name on separate mom and dad section not enough). Heck even Borders Malaysia also ask this question.

So to you so-called HR specialist or what not, do you really need to ask all these seemingly unrelated questions for job applications?
Where are u working now?

I totally agree with you. The worse part is always filling the IC no and then date of birth. I guess it makes it clearer for the person who processed the information. *shrugged*
Also, there is always a tickbox for religion and race. What difference does that make?
Funny how big MNC like Shell does that also but there is always a disclaimer stating equal opportunity.
deodorant
post Apr 18 2011, 10:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(seatux @ Apr 18 2011, 09:10 PM)
Only in Malaysia where applying for jobs they ask you everything except how big your privates are.

Oh, I dunno. I applied for a job with a big multinational bank's singapore office, and their HR lady also asked me for a ton of stuff. As in last 3 year's total pay (wtf), the offer letter from my previous job (wtf-er), things like that. i was like wtf.
MSS
post Apr 18 2011, 10:21 PM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

You will embarrassed yourself only.
Because some company request original payslip when you join the company.
Some company also will call your company for background check up and confirmation.
No need to waste your time for editing the pay slip then you will fired by new company.
You will lost everything what you want.
dtna7
post Apr 18 2011, 10:21 PM

456 posts

again our countrymen proved that these kind of lowly minded people are still found here..

Boleh-land~
MSS
post Apr 18 2011, 10:26 PM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

If company many asking you that's means company take care about you future.
If you easy join the company, you also will not longer there.
Because company no have any worker to work for the company.
So, everyone can join, as long as you want to work.

jujubi
post Apr 18 2011, 11:23 PM

87 posts

dont do that HR normaly will have personal contact from other company you wont know if they ask personaly which law can track that ?

Better dont do that
ahrapture
post Apr 18 2011, 11:26 PM

383 posts

I actually under declare my salary in my resume haha
seatux
post Apr 18 2011, 11:33 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 18 2011, 10:09 PM)
Oh, I dunno. I applied for a job with a big multinational bank's singapore office, and their HR lady also asked me for a ton of stuff. As in last 3 year's total pay (wtf), the offer letter from my previous job (wtf-er), things like that. i was like wtf.
Correction, its very Asian indeed. My mistake. Its in our culture to know so much about your employees, if it was personal, people would think that you are a stalker.
But indeed its tough to get a decent job "without cables", I suppose its their way of knowing you "intimately" before hiring, I guess.
lexiqa
post Apr 22 2011, 02:38 AM

525 posts

i also think so. i damn hate it whenever they ask me for such details

^5!

i never fill in those areas and just tell them how many ppl in my family only.
i refuse to give my exact home address too. only the location. what for give all the personal details for them?

so ridiculous of them to ask so many irrelevant questions, nthg to do with the job scope/ur experiences

QUOTE(SPS @ Jun 18 2008, 11:38 AM)
From reading several of the postings in this thread, some forummers (pressumably the younger set) seem to be shocked that there are such things as pay and referral checks in the corporate workplace.

Welcome to the real world - there's no free lunch.
how is negotiating for ur salary is free lunch???

if they feel we're not suitable for the job, then dont call us up to go interview and waste our time lah.

QUOTE(smallbug @ Jun 18 2008, 11:39 AM)
say it's P&C loh. say, u nego with me AFTER u decided that i'm the perfect person for the job. not evaluate by how low im willing to work for (like kuli only!)

this is job interview. not contract tender. zzzzzzzzz

want to complain no good quality ppl to work for u, then be willing to pay, man.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 18 2008, 11:45 AM)
smallbug, I dont even put down 'religion', 'race' and my parents' name and profession. Especially my mother's name.

If the interviewer ask, I'll ask back.. "how will the information be useful to you?"

Based on previous experiences, they either dont know how the market rate and doesnt wanna overpay you or just want to test your integrity.

If they really wanna test my integrity then I can give them all the numbers of my previous bosses for them to call up smile.gif

Added on June 18, 2008, 11:47 am

Sorry, I meant immediate supervisor or people who dont know the information beforehand. Manager n HR person, thats different story wink.gif

Dont get me wrong, SPS. I'm a big fan of background checks.
i'm only a fan of background checks on their quality of work and personality. not salary.
salary shld be up to negotiation. if u not happy to pay more for the candidate u want, then be happy with the next best thing.

sometimes, this salary negotiation situation can be like a bullying session to see how low u're willing to slave for.

QUOTE(putramon @ Jun 18 2008, 09:58 PM)

got a lot of companies like that. then a lot of candidates willingly supply.

when i dont give, they don't insist also.

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:42 AM)

LOL!!
HR are the worst. they alw try to get u to accept the lowest possible pay.

everyone shld do their own research on the current pay scales for their own industry/work exp

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jun 19 2008, 02:37 PM)
or

ppl do that to get a foot into a diff industry usually.
or a good name company
or u dont have the necessary qualifications but want to learn

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jun 19 2008, 03:04 PM)
Haha bingo, I answered the same set of questions before tongue.gif

"If you think you are underpaid, why are you accepting the job offer for your current job at first place? "
- Its my first job, gaining experience is far more important than the figure printed on my payslip. I know the market price for the position I'm applying for and I know my qualifications very well.

To be frank, I was earning RM2k previously. I wrote RM3.2k as my expected salary for the job offer and the HR called up and told me I'm expecting waaay too much. I attended the interview, and with my experience I manage to bargain from RM2.5k up to close to RM3k.

(1st job) RM2000 -> (2nd job) RM2800+; too bad I have higher offers that does not bother how much I earn on my previous job. To answer you, RM2000 + 20% is still severely underpaid if you ask me. sweat.gif
thumbup.gif
that's the way to bargain for salary! good going!!!

i did kinda regret bargaining for a better salary and ended up suffering in a co i didnt enjoy myself in.
however, it was also testament to how everyone has the right to nego for their own salary.

my last two jobs were diff industries altogether but i managed to get almost +75% increase from 2nd last job in the last job. (mind u, the 2nd last job was paying very low)

cool2.gif

faceless
post Apr 22 2011, 09:05 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

If you learn how to sell yourself there is no need to forge payslips.
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 22 2011, 09:12 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Hi.

Dangerous behavior.

Your credibility as an employee GONE!!!!
Joey Christensen
post Apr 22 2011, 10:49 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

There's one way to Heaven, one way to Hell. Take your chance with the Devil and you'll end up in the pits.

Regards, Joey
SUSendau02
post Apr 22 2011, 12:27 PM

3,180 posts

Better dun do dat la. too dangerous. ur not safe even after u got d job
SUSdantck
post Apr 22 2011, 12:38 PM

1,004 posts

the company shouldn't ask payslip in first place. so there wont be chance of faking it.

This post has been edited by dantck: Apr 22 2011, 12:39 PM
MSS
post Apr 22 2011, 02:21 PM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

One time do, next will do again, ahahhahaha
tinkerbel
post Apr 22 2011, 03:16 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Y is there a need to be dishonest? U don't start a relationship by lying, do U?
deodorant
post May 6 2011, 06:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jeffwkh @ May 6 2011, 06:40 PM)
anyone want to buy empty salary slip pm me

lol wtf doh.gif ... isn't this advertising illegal stuff? hmm.gif
furryfluffy
post May 6 2011, 07:26 PM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

QUOTE(jeffwkh @ May 6 2011, 06:40 PM)