189 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

sulifeisgreat
post Nov 26 2010, 06:29 AM

1,121 posts

of coz would like to spoonfeed u. but it would be handier if u type in google & do a search
then u would be able to zero in on what u really assigned to look for
I'll just give u some minor guide & u have to take it from there

unit trust/ mutual fund/ investment link fund are monies gather by the institution to invest for those passive investors
they charge u for doing the work, whether they make monies or not
they r open & closed (pls do a google search)

how is improvement defined?
due to the restriction of them, etf was created, coz indices is used as a benchmark
http://www.fool.com/investing/etf/mutual-funds-v-etfs.aspx

now, it also depends on the level of sophistication of the investors knowledge
if they have been spoonfeed that only pubic unit trust is the best in the world & cannot trust anything outside bolehland
then this is what is ingrained in their head, so no use convincing them otherwise

if u r hardworking enough to do ur own research
go buy shares & earn the returns/ dividends/ bonus & etc on ur own, provided it is ur cup of tea nod.gif
My opinion towards unit trust. well, if u need help on ur wedding night, pls pm me - otherwise do it on your own

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Nov 25 2010, 09:58 PM)
HI,
All pro and sifu in unit trust here.
I have a few question would like ask about.
1 .Do you think unit trust still need to be improve ?
if yes , why need to improve ?
if no , why no need to improve ?
2. What is your opinion towards unit trust ?

I need in doing assignment, Some more i not really clear about the unit trust , so I come here and ask some opinion for everyone in here.
Hope you guys can help me.

Added on November 25, 2010, 10:08 pmHI,
All pro and sifu in unit trust here.
I have a few question would like ask about.
1 .Do you think unit trust still need to be improve ?
if yes , why need to improve ?
if no , why no need to improve ?
2. What is your opinion towards unit trust ?

I need in doing assignment, Some more i not really clear about the unit trust , so I come here and ask some opinion for everyone in here.
Hope you guys can help me.
Polaris
post Nov 26 2010, 08:41 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

This shareholding change part is somewhat confusing,

1. The date of change is 1 Jan 00, is that a typo for 2011? Shouldn't announcement be declared only after the change?
2. The amounts are all the same? Maybe I don't know how to read this properly
teehk_tee
post Nov 26 2010, 09:34 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Nov 26 2010, 08:41 PM)

1. The date of change is 1 Jan 00, is that a typo for 2011? Shouldn't announcement be declared only after the change?
i think #1 is an error ... like a default value on the form when you don't fill up the forms? #2 is the changes in shareholding in one of those major shareholders of the company. but they'll also list other major shareholders that collectively have an indirect interest via the shareholder whose interests have changed.

e.g: first listed is Sunway City Berhad, so that's the fella who's shareholdings have been affected, then the following are just the other major shareholders of the company who also have a stake or are affiliated with sunway city bhd.

The amount is the same to reflect that these other shareholders have an indirect interest in the company via sunway city bhd, and they are required to be listed under form 29b i think. thats how i read it.

-- i hope it helps.. sorry if it sounds confusing sweat.gif

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: Nov 26 2010, 09:39 PM
cherroy
post Nov 27 2010, 10:42 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Nov 26 2010, 08:41 PM)

1. Should be typo mistake or key in time, forget to fill in the date, and let the computer fill in by default. Just like when you start a plain computer time, the default date is 00.

2. Yes, just like teekh_tee said, it is indirect interest. A lot of time, major shareholders don't hold direct but indirect through company.
For eg.
xyz is a listed company.

A company is the major holding company of the xyz company shares,
While A company is owned by B (my personal company)

A & B will report the shareholder change.
kllau3
post Nov 30 2010, 10:40 AM

234 posts

Renounceable rights issue of up to RM77,213,675 nominal value of 7-year 7%
irredeemable convertible unsecured loan stocks (ICULS) at 100% of its nominal
value on the basis of two (2) RM0.10 nominal value of ICULS for every one (1)
existing ordinary share of RM0.20 each held in Pantech Group Holdings Berhad
("Pantech") as at 5.00 P.M. on 26 November 2010 together with up to 77,213,675
free detachable warrants (Warrants) on the basis of one (1) Warrant for every
ten (10) ICULS subscribed for.

Anyone can advise what is 7-year 7% irredeemable convertible unsecured loan stocks (ICULS)?
I can get 7 % interest each year? Can it convert to mother then?
icon_question.gif
cherroy
post Nov 30 2010, 11:05 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kllau3 @ Nov 30 2010, 10:40 AM)
Renounceable rights issue of up to RM77,213,675 nominal value of 7-year 7%
irredeemable convertible unsecured loan stocks (ICULS) at 100% of its nominal
value on the basis of two (2) RM0.10 nominal value of ICULS for every one (1)
existing ordinary share of RM0.20 each held in Pantech Group Holdings Berhad
("Pantech") as at 5.00 P.M. on 26 November 2010 together with up to 77,213,675
free detachable warrants (Warrants) on the basis of one (1) Warrant for every
ten (10) ICULS subscribed for.

Anyone can advise what is  7-year 7% irredeemable convertible unsecured loan stocks (ICULS)?
I can get 7 % interest each year? Can it convert to mother then?
icon_question.gif
Yes, you will receive 7% based on Par value of the ICULS.

Yes, it can be converted to mothershare at the ratio set.
kllau3
post Nov 30 2010, 01:01 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 30 2010, 11:05 AM)
Yes, you will receive 7% based on Par value of the ICULS.

Yes, it can be converted to mothershare at the ratio set.
Where can i find the convertion ratio & exercise price?
Why Pantech-LR still continue dropping? not good meh (7% interest)? icon_question.gif
cherroy
post Nov 30 2010, 03:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kllau3 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:01 PM)
Where can i find the convertion ratio & exercise price?
Why Pantech-LR still continue dropping? not good meh (7% interest)? icon_question.gif
-LR is the right issue for the ICULS, aka the right/form for you to buy ICULS.

It is not an ICULS.

7% is definitely attractive, but you need to look exercise ratio as well as the mothershare performance.
As value of ICULS is depended on the mothershare performance.
As ICULS is irredeemable, you cannot get back the cash except convert to mothershare, if mothershare price is low, you stand a chance to lose as well.

Also the company future profitability.
popcorn513
post Dec 1 2010, 11:33 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Hi cherroy,
Could i ask you something, do you open a few trading account in different company purposely to get their latest analyst report (stock pick, TP)?
Currently i'm using the Jupiter and somehow i can see their report/analyst is not good.

Could you advice which company is best to get their report?
i plan to get this 2
1) CIMB
2) OSK
and what else?

And would it be any annual fees?
cherroy
post Dec 1 2010, 11:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Dec 1 2010, 11:33 PM)
Hi cherroy,
Could i ask you something, do you open a few trading account in different company purposely to get their latest analyst report (stock pick, TP)?
Currently i'm using the Jupiter and somehow i can see their report/analyst is not good.

Could you advice which company is best to get their report?
i plan to get this 2
1) CIMB
2) OSK
and what else?

And would it be any annual fees?
No annual fee as far as I know.

I choose broker firm based on their service quality and convenience.

I am not familiar which broker has better report than the others.

popcorn513
post Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2010, 11:43 PM)
No annual fee as far as I know.

I choose broker firm based on their service quality and convenience.

I am not familiar which broker has better report than the others.
Oh really no annual fee? Will try to ask those broker, to get free report
I saw the edge always show the CIMB OSK report so i suppose the report is quiet influencial (sure got a lot blind follower rclxms.gif )

ok thanks because my colleage suggest me to read those report, but currently he already in bunker mode
Thanks a lot
teehk_tee
post Dec 1 2010, 11:55 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM)
Oh really no annual fee? Will try to ask those broker, to get free report
I saw the edge always show the CIMB OSK report so i suppose the report is quiet influencial (sure got a lot blind follower rclxms.gif )

ok thanks because my colleage suggest me to read those report, but currently he already in bunker mode
Thanks a lot
haha, no harm doing those as long as its free tongue.gif
if you're in good relation with your broker, they'll forward you free reports.
mine forwards OSK reports, while i get RHB n HLIB.

come to think of it, maybe i should do this too.. go sign up with CIMB etc and get their reports tongue.gif
popcorn513
post Dec 2 2010, 12:19 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 1 2010, 11:55 PM)
haha, no harm doing those as long as its free tongue.gif
if you're in good relation with your broker, they'll forward you free reports.
mine forwards OSK reports, while i get RHB n HLIB.

come to think of it, maybe i should do this too.. go sign up with CIMB etc and get their reports tongue.gif
Ya thats why i going to do, get hot latest report, my colleague suggest most important is CIMB report

Tumpang thread, for EURO currency, what you guys 6th sense of the trend to be? I think going to be downtrend?
And where i could get the trading data (in candle stick) for EURO currency and Armsterdam stock?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Dec 2 2010, 12:35 AM
yunbo
post Dec 2 2010, 10:55 AM

55 posts

can anybody assist me:
if i have 10,000 of shares X, but oversold 15,000. But I managed to buy back the extra 5,000 shares on the same day

Does the 5000 shares are considered oversold position? If not, will i get penalised for overselling in the first place? Does the broker/Bursa able to track such activities?
cherroy
post Dec 2 2010, 10:58 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(yunbo @ Dec 2 2010, 10:55 AM)
can anybody assist me:
if i have 10,000 of shares X, but oversold 15,000. But I managed to buy back the extra 5,000 shares on the same day

Does the 5000 shares are considered oversold position? If not, will i get penalised for overselling in the first place? Does the broker/Bursa able to track such activities?
They will match or balance up, if buying back on the same day.

Yes, if you are not buying back, you will be penalised and it is an offence for short-selling.

Yes. Every suspicious transaction can be tracked across.

yunbo
post Dec 2 2010, 12:50 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 2 2010, 10:58 AM)
They will match or balance up, if buying back on the same day.

Yes, if you are not buying back, you will be penalised and it is an offence for short-selling.

Yes. Every suspicious transaction can be tracked across.
thanks for the explanation
Larrylow
post Dec 2 2010, 04:16 PM

RELOADED
1,516 posts

I have a question, wondering if it is noob or not, haha

From the entitlement, if we see this statement, "Final Tax-Exempt Dividend of 5%", doest that mean the dividend is 5% of the total share price?

Eg. If the share price is 1.00, then the dividend will be 5 sen?

Thanks for the head-ups here.
cherroy
post Dec 2 2010, 04:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Larrylow @ Dec 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
I have a question, wondering if it is noob or not, haha

From the entitlement, if we see this statement, "Final Tax-Exempt Dividend of 5%", doest that mean the dividend is 5% of the total share price?

Eg. If the share price is 1.00, then the dividend will be 5 sen?

Thanks for the head-ups here.
No.

5% x Par value of stock
You need to check the par value of a stock then.

SUSGenY
post Dec 2 2010, 05:41 PM

241 posts

Hi all,

Let's say I ask my remisier to sell Stock A for RM20k and, later on the same day, ask him to buy Stock B for RM18k.

i) Can the money from the sale of Stock A be used to pay for Stock B or do I have to pay first for Stock B?

ii) Is sale of Stock A and purchase of Stock B on same day considered one contract aka cheaper than if I buy or sell on different days?

smartly
post Dec 2 2010, 05:45 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(GenY @ Dec 2 2010, 05:41 PM)
Hi all,

Let's say I ask my remisier to sell Stock A for RM20k and, later on the same day, ask him to buy Stock B for RM18k.

i)  Can the money from the sale of Stock A be used to pay for Stock B or do I have to pay first for Stock B?

ii) Is sale of Stock A and purchase of Stock B on same day considered one contract aka cheaper than if I buy or sell on different days?

i) Yes

ii) No, not a contra trade. 2 separate contracts coz 2 diff counters. Same conter buy sell same day then can.

This post has been edited by smartly: Dec 2 2010, 05:47 PM

189 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0237sec    1.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:22 AM