Q&A, General question on stock market

sulifeisgreat
post Nov 7 2010, 02:37 PM

1,121 posts

does the testing phase takes into account of bull, bear & neutral market conditions?
if u gonna testing in a bull market, u will get carried away with profit & meet dr doom later in bear market (unless u r buy & hold, then no worries)
furthermore, real cold hard cash & qing ming money is 2 different altogether laugh.gif
coz, u will meet mr greed, hope & fear (unless u r buy & hold, then no worries)
theory & PRACTICE is REALLY 2 seperate thing altogether whistling.gif

QUOTE(YZhu2010 @ Nov 7 2010, 11:56 AM)
Still a student:
Good that you've started thinking and worrying about your future.

Some facts. If to work for someone in future and 'makan gaji', sure EPF is not enough to sustain for old age. I hope I had earlier plan for myself.
I'm just starting to learn on investment recently, after near 10 yrs working.

Share market is not for everyone. One need to have the preparation to have possibility to lose all $$ at a start. If u r the type than can have sleepless night after losing 50% of money and resultant in lose in concentration is studies, etc. It's not worth to pursue this path for now. Wait till you have the mentality to be ok to lose some $, then it's ok to start.

If u r still a student in 2' school, and would like to venture into stock market in the future, then plan to study in financial related field (can be just elective course).

For now, invest your RM2,000-00 in ASM or Sukuk. And if you are a Bumi, invest in ASB. These have much higher return than FD.

Learn about fundamentals in share (ie what is PE, DY, ROR, ROE, etc first) and carry out 'offline' investment without using money.
You can easily do this on excel by assuming you have invested in a stock at certain price and sell it etc (and monitory the your performance).
See how far you can go. Do add RM30 to 40 on cost for every RM1700 you invest and likewise when you sell. ie every for every share you buy, you have to consider a minimum of ~ RM60 or RM90 (depending on the investment mode and company you used) cost for stamp duty and fees to be paid. In other words, if you buy 10 lots of share for RM1,700 and selling for RM1,800, your net profit is only RM10 to RM25.

Only when you are able to always make profit with you 'offline' trading do you start the real 'gambling' in the stock market.
If you lose in the offline/self trading, well - luckily you've not started with the real money.
If you've earned - well, just think that in real scenario, you are not always able to successful in buying the share (as ppl are not selling) or selling it when the price is right.

Hope this help.
sulifeisgreat
post Nov 26 2010, 06:29 AM

1,121 posts

of coz would like to spoonfeed u. but it would be handier if u type in google & do a search
then u would be able to zero in on what u really assigned to look for
I'll just give u some minor guide & u have to take it from there

unit trust/ mutual fund/ investment link fund are monies gather by the institution to invest for those passive investors
they charge u for doing the work, whether they make monies or not
they r open & closed (pls do a google search)

how is improvement defined?
due to the restriction of them, etf was created, coz indices is used as a benchmark
http://www.fool.com/investing/etf/mutual-funds-v-etfs.aspx

now, it also depends on the level of sophistication of the investors knowledge
if they have been spoonfeed that only pubic unit trust is the best in the world & cannot trust anything outside bolehland
then this is what is ingrained in their head, so no use convincing them otherwise

if u r hardworking enough to do ur own research
go buy shares & earn the returns/ dividends/ bonus & etc on ur own, provided it is ur cup of tea nod.gif
My opinion towards unit trust. well, if u need help on ur wedding night, pls pm me - otherwise do it on your own

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Nov 25 2010, 09:58 PM)
HI,
All pro and sifu in unit trust here.
I have a few question would like ask about.
1 .Do you think unit trust still need to be improve ?
if yes , why need to improve ?
if no , why no need to improve ?
2. What is your opinion towards unit trust ?

I need in doing assignment, Some more i not really clear about the unit trust , so I come here and ask some opinion for everyone in here.
Hope you guys can help me.

Added on November 25, 2010, 10:08 pmHI,
All pro and sifu in unit trust here.
I have a few question would like ask about.
1 .Do you think unit trust still need to be improve ?
if yes , why need to improve ?
if no , why no need to improve ?
2. What is your opinion towards unit trust ?

I need in doing assignment, Some more i not really clear about the unit trust , so I come here and ask some opinion for everyone in here.
Hope you guys can help me.
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 15 2011, 03:22 PM

1,121 posts

energy to sustain rclxub.gif but we're now in IT era hmm.gif

http://www.adviservoice.com/2010/11/high-f...cy-trading-hft/

http://www.wikinvest.com/wiki/High-Frequen...ading_%28HFT%29

http://highfrequencytradingreview.com/

http://seekingalpha.com/article/151173-hft...cy-trading-scam

http://hft.thomsonreuters.com/