Q&A, General question on stock market

popcorn513
post Nov 4 2010, 11:07 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 3 2010, 11:38 PM)
The reference price for 3.06 is 3.06/7 x 5 /2 = 1.09

Opening price is the first price traded, so if the first trade is 1.14 aka the opening price, the reference is still 1.09 and it will be shown as + 0.05.

The company proposed 2 issue, bonus + share split.
First they gave you bonus issue, after you get the bonus, it split further into 2.
Why divide 7?

The reference price for 3.06 is 3.06/7 x 5 /2 = 1.09

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 4 2010, 11:08 AM
popcorn513
post Nov 10 2010, 01:12 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Hi, anyway we can check how much total amount/percentage is held/kept by EPF/institution on certain stock?
popcorn513
post Nov 10 2010, 03:26 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Nov 10 2010, 03:09 PM)
rclxms.gif Great info thanks brother, too bad they only provide the data every quarter, how about the institution like Mutual Fund?
popcorn513
post Nov 10 2010, 05:17 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

I just start trading recently but would like to know reason of some special transaction
1) I saw sometimes there are 1 lot buy/sell transaction, whats the purpose of that transaction? Are they trying to push the High/Low price? (i suspect)

2) I saw huge amoung of volume of buy/sell just before market closure (eg. 4:50pm) on certain stock, reason of they doing that? As i suppose those buy/sell will be void/cancel when market closure? Will those last minute transaction push the next day open price?

3) How we know the next day open price? As i saw sometimes the next day price is not follow the previous close.

Thanks for fellow Guru to explain tongue.gif

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 10 2010, 05:19 PM
popcorn513
post Nov 10 2010, 07:40 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 10 2010, 05:51 PM)
1) yes, especially during the end of month, whereby the price will affect the index, may influence the index futures settlement price.

2) Yes, any matched transaction won't be cancelled. Just sometimes, fund managers/investors want to clear the position, or rounded up the particular transaction, as sometimes, they have mandate/target to buy/sell x amount of stocks during that days due to various reason.

3) Next open price will follow yesterday closing price.
Open price will be adjusted :
a) ex-dividend
b) ex-bonus/split
c) etc corporate exercise, like share reduction,
Thanks, i will post my Q here, sorry for my post mistake moderator. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 10 2010, 09:15 PM
popcorn513
post Nov 11 2010, 03:42 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Hi fellow trader, I'm new to stock trading so need some advice

I'm frequently going into the trade detail page to check the trade transaction, but i'm not 100% understand them
This is the trade list i'm using, i'm not sure whether you guy using them same

So my question is, are there any user manual/guide to explain meaning of each field/value on this trading system?
I'm asking my trading firm as well on this whether they have detail explaination course on this, so just checking how you guy learn those interface. icon_question.gif

popcorn513
post Nov 11 2010, 04:07 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

haha there seems to be too much to ask, are they any online tutorial/user guide/documentation to explain them? I think maybe a bit tedious to ask in forum...

Added on November 11, 2010, 9:03 pmHi please help to explain these few term/data

1) What is B-Q and S-Q?

2) What is T-B%?

3) We only charge (Brokerage Fee, Clearing Fee, Stamp Duty) when the buy/sell is matched? Or when we submit the buy/sell (include unmatched, Odd Lots)?

Thanks a lot icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 11 2010, 09:03 PM
popcorn513
post Nov 12 2010, 08:52 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(t5t @ Nov 12 2010, 01:38 AM)
Hi!

1) B-Q is the Buy Queue. When you buy a share, your order will be queued in the Buy Queue. If someone sells you his shares, then B-Q amount will reduce and the S-Vol amount will increase in equal proportion. S-Q is the Sell Queue. When you sell a share, your order will be queued in the Sell Queue. If someone buys your shares, then the S-Q amount will reduce and the B-Vol amount will increase. (B-Vol and S-Vol mean successfully traded volume for Buy and Sell respectively)

2) I am not sure about T-B%

3) Yes. You will only be charged if your orders are matched. You will not be charged when your orders are still in queue. These charges are only for DONE trade.

Added on November 12, 2010, 1:44 am
Hi!
I don't think there is any user manual/guide four your queries. However, some or most of the fields are understandable. What you don't understand, you can post it here. I believe many people would be kind enough to explain to you. Anyway, I think you are using Public Bank share trading?
Love U brother, you solved puzzle, market going to open soon tongue.gif
Now only i know how to play queue insteaad of follow people buy stock

So anyone can explain
1) T-B%?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 12 2010, 08:57 AM
popcorn513
post Nov 12 2010, 02:47 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Ok i saw this annoucement,
Does this consider as bad news? Since i suppose those converted warrant will sell of their share to get quick profit? (provided the current share price is much higher that the issue price of 2.66)

Additional Listing Announcement 

1. Details of Corporate Proposal
  Whether the corporate proposal involves the issuance of new type and
  new class of securities? No
  Types of corporate proposal : Others
  Details of Corporate Proposal : Conversion of Warrants
  No. of shares issued under this corporate proposal: 16,900
  Issue price per share ($$) : MYR 2.660
  Par Value ($$) : MYR 1.000
  Latest issued and paid up share capital after the above corporate proposal
  in the following
  Units : 2,044,015,481
  Currency : MYR 2,044,015,481.000
  Listing Date : 15/11/2010
Remarks :

popcorn513
post Nov 12 2010, 04:31 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 12 2010, 03:44 PM)
Theorectically, yes.

But the number of share converted is so trivia as compared to overall paid up and market daily transaction, so little effect.
Hmm good point there, thanks to explain, i should measure the % of converted warrant to the total volumn of stock to know how much the impact (but as you said the impact will be little effect else not fair to normal shareholder).

ya i always saw big volumn of sell before market closure at aroung 4:50PM, whats does that means/plan? (i believe they won't matched)

popcorn513
post Nov 12 2010, 05:31 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 12 2010, 05:25 PM)
1. Clear off residual unmatched intended transacted stocks, this especially during a down market day. 
2. Influence the closing price so that it will be higher/lower.
Hmmm not understand sad.gif

popcorn513
post Nov 15 2010, 06:36 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

hi got 1 question
1) Does share consolidation always means bad new for shareholder? consolidation of 4 to 1 consider bad?

Hi Need help on another thing, i found this buy back stuff
3395    BJCORP    BERJAYA CORPORATION BHD 
Notice of Shares Buy Back - Immediate Announcement

Date of Buy Back : 28/06/2010
Description of Shares Purchased : Ordinary Shares of RM1.00 each
No. of Shares Purchased : 5,000,000 shares
Minimum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 1.210
Maximum Price Paid For Each Share Purchased : RM 1.260
Total Consideration Paid : RM 6,213,551.31
No. of Shares Purchased Retained in Treasury : 5,000,000 shares
No. of Shares Which Are Proposed To Be Cancelled : 0 shares
Cumulative Net Outstanding Treasury Shares As At To-Date

The share is buy back at price from 1.21 to 1.26 on Jun 28th , but that day market price high low is 1.03 and 1.09? Why not buying at 1.03 to 1.09 instead?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 15 2010, 08:56 PM
popcorn513
post Nov 16 2010, 11:55 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Nov 16 2010, 11:39 AM)
i don't know where you found out that equity is high-risk. it can be very low risk if you want it that way.

#1: 5% over 3 months is good, but usually ppl talk about annual returns. FD is 2.8-3% a year, high-yield dividend stocks around 5-6%, REITs around 7-8.5%, if you can do 10-15% a year (and outperform the KLCI index), imo that's considered quite an achievement already.

#2: time range? from my understanding and experience so far, there's daytrading, contra trading, short term speculative/fundamental, mid/long term fundamental, growth / dividend play, cum-dividend play, bonus issue/share split play and maybe others. everything can be fully customised to your risk appetite. Profit also up to you.

in a nutshell.. there's no standard definition of good performance in a nice timeframe. it's very subjective. icon_rolleyes.gif
consolidation of 4 to 1. you're talking about KNM? laugh.gif
the perception is that reducing liquidity (by consolidating shares, and increasing the par value) is a result of reduced interest from shareholders. hence it usually isn't a popular move. there's no effect of share consolidation on the company accounts. just shareholder perception.

BJCorp on 28th June was trading between 1.21 to 1.28. I don't know where you got 1.03 to 1.09 from. smile.gif
Thanks ya i'm holding some KNM, and consolidation is approaching so wondering how much the impact.

For BJCORP hmm i check the price from the chart history... strange i go check again, thanks
But does Buy back is a bad sign? Since current price is lower than the buy back now sweat.gif
popcorn513
post Nov 23 2010, 08:17 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Shareholders of MRCB, IJM Land will have to exchange their shares with securities in the new company which will be listed on a later date.

The non-binding offer price for IJM Land and MRCB are RM3.65 and RM2.30 with premiums of 22.9% and 8.5% respectively.  A definitive merger agreement will be signed by Dec 14, 2010.
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...-be-merged.html

Would like to understand, even if MRCB price drop to RM 1.50, the merge will still continue and the exchange of share still based on RM2.30 on DEC 14th?

Example
if i got 10 lot of MRCB now
and new merge company IJCB price is RM4.00
Which means i will have 10*100*2.30/4.00=575 shares after merged....? Or they will revise if the MRCB price drop?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Nov 23 2010, 08:18 PM
popcorn513
post Dec 1 2010, 11:33 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Hi cherroy,
Could i ask you something, do you open a few trading account in different company purposely to get their latest analyst report (stock pick, TP)?
Currently i'm using the Jupiter and somehow i can see their report/analyst is not good.

Could you advice which company is best to get their report?
i plan to get this 2
1) CIMB
2) OSK
and what else?

And would it be any annual fees?
popcorn513
post Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 1 2010, 11:43 PM)
No annual fee as far as I know.

I choose broker firm based on their service quality and convenience.

I am not familiar which broker has better report than the others.
Oh really no annual fee? Will try to ask those broker, to get free report
I saw the edge always show the CIMB OSK report so i suppose the report is quiet influencial (sure got a lot blind follower rclxms.gif )

ok thanks because my colleage suggest me to read those report, but currently he already in bunker mode
Thanks a lot
popcorn513
post Dec 2 2010, 12:19 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 1 2010, 11:55 PM)
haha, no harm doing those as long as its free tongue.gif
if you're in good relation with your broker, they'll forward you free reports.
mine forwards OSK reports, while i get RHB n HLIB.

come to think of it, maybe i should do this too.. go sign up with CIMB etc and get their reports tongue.gif
Ya thats why i going to do, get hot latest report, my colleague suggest most important is CIMB report

Tumpang thread, for EURO currency, what you guys 6th sense of the trend to be? I think going to be downtrend?
And where i could get the trading data (in candle stick) for EURO currency and Armsterdam stock?

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Dec 2 2010, 12:35 AM
popcorn513
post Dec 5 2010, 08:07 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Dec 5 2010, 06:41 PM)
I tried that with Jupiter of buy sell same counter same day, but they charged me separately as 2 transactions (buy, and sell).  cry.gif
Complain lor

0.0602sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:01 AM