to get 2.20, you need to contribute again. That's what I did. 1 POI, 2 corrections and antyong sent me the unlock codes and link to download 2.20 XT version.
Nokia [Nokia(tm) N82 Official Thread], Storytelling rediscovered
Feb 15 2008, 01:32 PM
527 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
to get 2.20, you need to contribute again. That's what I did. 1 POI, 2 corrections and antyong sent me the unlock codes and link to download 2.20 XT version.
Feb 15 2008, 02:26 PM
20 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Hmm, yup its look like we need to get authorise from Malsing to look at 2.20 gold version page
the current viewable downloadable are the public edition 2.20 which you can unlock by our previous code I now submited my contribution & pmed, hope got reply |
Feb 15 2008, 02:47 PM
227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang |
Last time nokia phones have this pen button for copy cut or paste, but now n82 dun have dy... how do u all copy and paste the words?
Feb 15 2008, 02:51 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(yklip @ Feb 15 2008, 02:47 PM) Last time nokia phones have this pen button for copy cut or paste, but now n82 dun have dy... how do u all copy and paste the words? Use the # button This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Feb 15 2008, 02:52 PM |
Feb 15 2008, 04:02 PM
19 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(yklip @ Feb 15 2008, 02:47 PM) Last time nokia phones have this pen button for copy cut or paste, but now n82 dun have dy... how do u all copy and paste the words? this is the following step in copy pastefor example i want to copy a word "hello world" in text message to copy 1.go to option->editing option->copy/cut then press select 2.use will see that now the option word is replace with start. 3. now move the cursor to the begining word that u want to copy and press start; 4.now move the cursor to end of the word that u want to copy and u will find that the word is been highlighted and u will see the copy option then selected it. 5. when u wan to paste the word u copy just place the cursor to the place that u want to put and go to go to option->editing option->paste then press select |
Feb 15 2008, 04:07 PM
227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang |
Oh okay thx a lot for the tips...
Feb 15 2008, 07:26 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(chtan @ Feb 15 2008, 10:56 AM) "Yea, Maxis doesnt lock the right key. Its just that I'm not willing to go through all the steps you provided above for someone who doesnt even bother exploring his phone (the other guy complaining above). I realized it went away when I soft-reset my phone so I posted that workaround for him." Yes. I am aware it restore back to factory setting because it will ask when we hit those keys. Yea, great - those proper ways sure come in handy.That is not soft-reset, thats will restored the phone back to factory setting and by doing this you can potentially kill an installed app. in your phone, not recommended. Changing the shortcuts is the proper way to customize it to your needs. QUOTE(NewKid @ Feb 15 2008, 11:50 AM) I tried to update and the software said my phone is not supported... I thought this firmware is only released for EU phones? |
Feb 15 2008, 09:16 PM
1,997 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(icecarpediem @ Feb 15 2008, 01:32 PM) to get 2.20, you need to contribute again. That's what I did. 1 POI, 2 corrections and antyong sent me the unlock codes and link to download 2.20 XT version. Is this the All-In-One? or you have to combine it yourself?Does it have the road abbreviation problem? |
Feb 15 2008, 09:30 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
anyone else get weird voice guidance from garmin?
i drove past taman tun earlier,and just to my right was an about turn.but the garmin voice guidance system told me to take the round about,3 o clock there was no roundabout there! anyone else encountered "out of place" guidance? |
Feb 15 2008, 10:22 PM
2,644 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Akatsuki |
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 15 2008, 09:30 PM) anyone else get weird voice guidance from garmin? It happen sometimes...i drove past taman tun earlier,and just to my right was an about turn.but the garmin voice guidance system told me to take the round about,3 o clock there was no roundabout there! anyone else encountered "out of place" guidance? |
Feb 15 2008, 10:27 PM
twice so far i've used it,only when im reaching my destination does it actually tell me the right directions how bout using the latest maps? still happen? |
Feb 15 2008, 10:49 PM
892 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Behind you... |
I think it's the nature of GPS, especially hand held one. I wouldn't expect great performance out of such a small device...
No offense, I still don't find the GPS any useful on the voice navigation, I'd rather look at the map or simulation and mark down all the directions. |
Feb 16 2008, 12:09 AM
296 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
use Nokia NSeries PC Suite (Cant remember. but i think need to download from the nokia website. Not from your N82 CD.). Should be version 1.4xxxx can detect the firmware update.
This post has been edited by NewKid: Feb 16 2008, 12:10 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 02:53 AM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
What you can do with your GPS is that, make sure you get decent GPS signal first before you get into your car. Try to get 3 bars, then only enter your car and drive. This way it's more accurate.
This is proven just today. When I was going to work, I detect the GPs signal in the car. Then I travelled to work. The speed shown is wrong. When I was driving at 150kmh, it shows 80kmh. I got to work and asked my friend who's familiar with GPS device and he told me to get the signal before entering the car. I tried this on the way back and my speed showed correctly. Also try to zoom in to the MAX and then zoom out three times... Sometimes, when the road is zig zag or curvy, when you zoom out too far, its a bit hard to draw the map, therefore it will show your arrow in a wrong direction / location. For example, I drive from Kesas to Elite to Cyberjaya for work. The turning point from Kesas connecting to Elite, it showed my car in Klang River... I was like WTF?! Also, the GPS on the N82 IS a bit slow in response, I admit it cause I tried to beat the estimate arrival time by speeding up but my GPS receiver still show the older value on my travelling speed. What you can do is use less detail on the map, this generally helps but not 100%. Added on February 16, 2008, 2:54 amThe Nokia Software Updater used to update your firmware on a N82 is the version 1.4.23. Google it and you can find it from the europe.nokia.com website. This post has been edited by Pennywise: Feb 16 2008, 02:54 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 07:07 AM
296 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Consumer GPS are like that. It lack accuracy and performance.
The maps we have from malsing is also not very accurate. Imagine thousands of people giving informations such as track and POI. It is bound to have errors here and there. So far i have tested the v2.15 is quite accurate. Consumer GPS hard to get better than 10m accuracy espeacially for phones with GPS. All in all it is just a guide. Like your reverse sensor. nothing there also beep beep. Cant rely on it 100%. Need to use human judgement. ps: penny, drive safely... 150km/h????? This post has been edited by NewKid: Feb 16 2008, 07:08 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 11:58 AM
19 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
http://www.mobile88.com/mobilegallery/phon...rodid=20759&pg=
tht nokia fan say n82 black colour available...is it true?? come on come on blackie n82~~ where r u~~~?? |
Feb 16 2008, 01:22 PM
908 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 16 2008, 02:53 AM) What you can do with your GPS is that, make sure you get decent GPS signal first before you get into your car. Try to get 3 bars, then only enter your car and drive. This way it's more accurate. Go Settings>Map>Show Location change it to at GPS location instead of on road (default)This is proven just today. When I was going to work, I detect the GPs signal in the car. Then I travelled to work. The speed shown is wrong. When I was driving at 150kmh, it shows 80kmh. I got to work and asked my friend who's familiar with GPS device and he told me to get the signal before entering the car. I tried this on the way back and my speed showed correctly. Also try to zoom in to the MAX and then zoom out three times... Sometimes, when the road is zig zag or curvy, when you zoom out too far, its a bit hard to draw the map, therefore it will show your arrow in a wrong direction / location. For example, I drive from Kesas to Elite to Cyberjaya for work. The turning point from Kesas connecting to Elite, it showed my car in Klang River... I was like WTF?! Also, the GPS on the N82 IS a bit slow in response, I admit it cause I tried to beat the estimate arrival time by speeding up but my GPS receiver still show the older value on my travelling speed. What you can do is use less detail on the map, this generally helps but not 100%. Added on February 16, 2008, 2:54 amThe Nokia Software Updater used to update your firmware on a N82 is the version 1.4.23. Google it and you can find it from the europe.nokia.com website. see can help or not... |
Feb 16 2008, 04:07 PM
204 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: USJ Subang |
QUOTE(bboyjacky @ Feb 16 2008, 11:58 AM) http://www.mobile88.com/mobilegallery/phon...rodid=20759&pg= its announced only. not released yet. tht nokia fan say n82 black colour available...is it true?? come on come on blackie n82~~ where r u~~~?? Announced = yes we are sure we are going to sell this. Released = yes we are selling this already. slowly wait lar haha. there was once a great sifu here that said: "buy now, enjoy now, regret later" |
Feb 16 2008, 04:48 PM
barcode reader.
how do you use it? i tried reading a barcode on a 100plus can last night,and i waited for 10+ minutes,but nothing happened anyone know how it works? consulted the help,but to no avail |
Feb 16 2008, 05:14 PM
19 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(gigohlo @ Feb 16 2008, 04:07 PM) its announced only. not released yet. yea im goin to buy it soon...Announced = yes we are sure we are going to sell this. Released = yes we are selling this already. slowly wait lar haha. there was once a great sifu here that said: "buy now, enjoy now, regret later" so...any recommend seller? renee? vivaviva? what to see n check before buying? hey and if i bought an ap set, do i nid to upgrade the firmware or wat else? can i bring to any shop in kl for them to put applications to my n82? thx 4 replying |
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:57 PM |