I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

How to Install Garmin Mobile XT and MalsingMaps

How to search a location in MalsingMaps using Garmin Mobile XT

Predictive Text Input issue with Garmin Mobile XT

Steps to getting the lastest All-In-One MalsingMaps (v2.20) and Unlock key for Garmin Mobile XT

Known Issues for N82 Firmware (V 10.0.046)

This post has been edited by dzi921: Mar 9 2008, 08:20 PM
dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 04:31 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

A head start for those new to Symbian.

Here are some useful apps for our N82. These versions are tested working smile.gif

AgileMessenger 3.86 - Messenger to MSN/Yahoo/ICQ/Google, etc
ALON MP3 Dictaphone 2.23 - Unlimited Voice/Call Recording & Music Player
Best Calc 1.03 - Scientific Calculator
coBible NIV 3.0 - Bible (NIV)
Garmin Mobile XT 4.10.40 + MalsingMap - A better GPS Navigation for MY & SG
Opera Mobile 8.65 (9730) - Alternative better Web Browser
Papyrus 1.3 - Alternative better Calendar
ProfiMail 2.70 - Alternative better Email Client
QuickOffice Premier Upgrade 4.5.25.0 - Create/Edit Word, Excel Powerpoint
SmartMovie 3.41 - Plays video (Divx, WMA, etc)
X-plore 1.13 - Alternative better File Explorer

This post has been edited by dzi921: Dec 26 2007, 05:07 PM
dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 04:44 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Dec 26 2007, 04:39 PM)
Don't forget fring.com - ultimate skype call and ALL-IN-ONE instant messengers. It's free!

I prefer Shape Services IM+. Agile Messenger is kind of outdated and not powerful compare to IM+. Both not free though, unless....you know what I mean...
IM+ got this problem, when you type a message halfway and someone messages you. Whatever you have typed will disappear

Agile doesn't have that problem

dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 05:50 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Dec 26 2007, 05:37 PM)
Have never tried the applications you mentioned except Smartmovie, Opera, and garmin Mobile XT.
Had you experience it and recommend to our N82 users? Do u want me to put under recommend software for N82 post?? smile.gif
Yes, I have all of the apps mentioned above installed. Quite useful. Recommended to have it.

I have tested a lot and found out the one mentioned above the best for it's type (my opinion)

Added on December 26, 2007, 5:53 pmYa, feel free to add it to recommended list. It should give newbies a good start to look for apps to enhance their n82 experience smile.gif

This post has been edited by dzi921: Dec 26 2007, 05:53 PM
dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 09:23 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Ok, there is an issue with N82 hard reset (*#7370#)

It will cause the Applications -> Dictionary to give an error with the message
Dictionary word information missing. Install word database

Solution:
1) Download
http://nds1.nokia.com/files/support/apac/p...ictionaryDB.zip

2) Extract SimplifiedDictionaryDB.zip

3) Copy the extracted private\101f9cfe folder into <MCard>\private\101f9cfe
dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 10:09 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

After Hard Reset, the dictionary db is gone and so is the help.

Can someone check for me in their N82 (that has never been hard reset before)

Applications -> Dictionary
In the program, go to Help (is there help file or not?)

dzi921
post Dec 26 2007, 10:52 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Dec 26 2007, 10:50 PM)
*#7370# is Change to Factory Settings only
The Hard Reset (is this what u meant??), it's the green button+ * key+ 3, bt dun do this as this will delete ur C drive of the phone and back to 0 software
Tried the pressing button sequence. Still the same. It's not hard reset

I've done some google. Seem like this problem is same with N73. Cannot hard reset properly
dzi921
post Dec 27 2007, 08:44 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Dec 27 2007, 12:35 AM)
have to press it long enuf until the phone boot up... erm... try your n-gage game.. see you can still play them or not... mine cant after hard reset...
Yes, I have press long enough. Still the same

These are the things I found missing after Hard Reset

1) Dictionary Missing (can be fix, by my previous post)
2) 2 Ngage Demo Missing (can be fix, by going into Download option, and download again)
3) Snake Missing (can be fix, by going into Download option, and download again)
dzi921
post Dec 27 2007, 09:21 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Known Issue For Firmware:
V 10.0.046
24-10-07
RM-313
Nokia N82 (12.01)

There are a few issues with N82 hard reset. The following sequence below will not hard reset properly
*#7780#
or
*#7370#
or
Off phone -> Press and Hold 3, *, Green Button (Call) -> On phone while holding the 3 buttons

These are the things I found missing after Hard Reset
1) Applications -> Dictionary
It will cause the Dictionary to give an error with the message
Dictionary word information missing. Install word database

Solution:
Download
-http://nds1.nokia.com/files/support/apac/p...ictionaryDB.zip
-Extract SimplifiedDictionaryDB.zip
-Copy the extracted private\101f9cfe folder into <MCard>\private\101f9cfe

2) 2 Ngage Demo Missing
Solution:
Can be fix, by going into Download option, and download again

3) Snake Missing
Solution:
Can be fix, by going into Download option, and download again

This post has been edited by dzi921: Dec 27 2007, 09:27 AM
dzi921
post Dec 27 2007, 11:09 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Dec 27 2007, 11:00 AM)
dzi921,

why so fast reset your phone?? Ur phone still so new right?? Normally people reset when their phone start give problem and slow in response...smile.gif
Cause I installed too many rubbish in it

And it caused a problem in SMS

Added on December 27, 2007, 11:11 amPS, I would suggest to put the
Known Issue For Firmware post above to your first few post

So for those ppl who don't want to have those problem, don't hard reset lor tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dzi921: Dec 27 2007, 11:11 AM
dzi921
post Dec 27 2007, 08:52 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(tzethye @ Dec 27 2007, 02:20 PM)
er..guys..i found out some thing bad about garmin xt..after u install garminxt,your copy n paste function will malfunction...what i meant is the # button...it cannot mark the songs list in my music player after i installed garmin...but after uninstall it,the key works perfect again..anyone faced this same issue on their n82?add me in too..i bought mine for 1860...best christmas present..ehehe
I have this copy and paste problem with new message.

E.g Type a few word, then press # to change the type. Then it will go cacat. If you scroll left or right, it will try to copy
dzi921
post Dec 27 2007, 10:17 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Predictive Text Input issue with Garmin Mobile XT

After installing Garmin Mobile XT, the predictive text input will become abnormal. Once you press the # key to change the input method, the left and right direction key will auto select the word. You will not be able to browse through the sentence. In addition, the left select key will no longer accessible

Solution:
You need to hold the Menu button (switch task) and switch back to text inputing
dzi921
post Dec 29 2007, 09:43 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Announcement

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=5066

The latest updated All-in-one GMapsupp For MobileXT Symbian is out. You need to PM the moderator (antyong) with your contribution to get it smile.gif else the above link will not be opened for you

dzi921
post Dec 29 2007, 09:35 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(ddww @ Dec 29 2007, 09:14 PM)
i can't seem to find the lost n gage in the download section and also nokia webpage la.. Aiks.. Where can i get it back?

Btw, i've got a new free game, sre under the download section..
From your phone, you need to connect online via Downloads

It's there. I just check
dzi921
post Dec 31 2007, 05:16 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(PIPSGuy @ Dec 31 2007, 05:02 PM)
Bro, hw much u got for ur car charger as I oso plan to get one.
Ori or OEM?
Thx
I bought original at 58.00

And I check on pirated one. It's 6.50

dzi921
post Jan 1 2008, 12:14 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Yeah smile.gif I just got the latest Malsing Map with the Unlock Key. And I've found out that my contribution was included smile.gif

Malsing Maps 2007-06-21 (Opened) - 21,813KB

Malsing Maps 2.15 (Locked) - 25,368KB (Latest) - Based on file size, should means quite a lot of changes

Added on January 1, 2008, 12:16 amPS, no need to ask me for the unlock version cause my unlock code won't work for your device

Just head to malsingmaps.com and contribute. Very easy only. Just give them 2 POI (e.g bank, good restaurant, 7-11, park, etc etc)

This post has been edited by dzi921: Jan 1 2008, 12:17 AM
dzi921
post Jan 1 2008, 12:41 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(NewKid @ Dec 31 2007, 11:46 PM)
If anyone finds and knows how much is car mount holder and car charger, please tell us. I would like to know.

Happy New Years Bloggers
Car Charger = RM58 Ori - bought at 1 Utama
Car Mount Holder (quite flexible type, can twist a lot) = RM40 - bought at Sunway Pyramid
dzi921
post Jan 2 2008, 01:12 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(icecarpediem @ Jan 2 2008, 12:46 PM)
Has anyone tried MapKing with the N82? Apparently it supports symbian phones.

http://www.mapking.com
I have tried it. Mapking software is better than garmin but map wise malsing is better and malsing don't support mapking for symbian yet. So too bad for mapking
dzi921
post Jan 3 2008, 01:17 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

How do I know whether AGPS is working?

Yesterday when I drove into Smart Tunnel, I lost satellite fix
dzi921
post Jan 3 2008, 01:41 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

I just found a new tip for Garmin and wish to share

Tips:
To find a road name or POI (point of interest)
1) Click on Where To?
2) Do NOT use Address to search, it will not work
3) Instead click on Food, Hotels... and click on Spell Name. Key in the place to search here
4) Other than that you can use the categorized to search too

<New Tip>
If you can't find the road name or POI
1) Click on Where To?
2) Scroll down and use the Cities search
3) Search based on the Area name (e.g. Tmn Pusat Kepong or Damansara Damai)

This post has been edited by dzi921: Jan 3 2008, 01:42 PM

0.0271sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:49 AM