495 Pages « < 315 316 317 318 319 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

dev/numb
post Sep 8 2024, 11:51 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(Exoflare @ Sep 8 2024, 11:34 AM)
Hi! I created this petition and will be heading for the Monday meeting. I’m just thinking about this, but given that this is something with such huge national impact, can it be argued that this is something that should be debated on a national scale, for example in parliament?

The government can counter that MCMC has a mandate under CMA 1998 to perform internet restrictions and say that it’s ’protecting’ people say - but are there any other arguments that should be brought to bear?

If necessary, I will get personal friends in politics (ie not a random call YB situation) to raise this issue as well.
If those morons ever pull the “protect the children” card, counter them with the famous Adolf Hitler quote and ask them if PM/Fahmi/Speaker has plans to be the next Hitler?
PRSXFENG
post Sep 8 2024, 11:53 AM

2,614 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 8 2024, 11:51 AM)
If those morons ever pull the “protect the children” card, counter them with the famous Adolf Hitler quote and ask them if PM/Fahmi/Speaker has plans to be the next Hitler?
"Think of the children" is always the excuse used for anything that reduces security or privacy on the internet

Even in other countries
soonwai
post Sep 8 2024, 11:58 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 8 2024, 11:45 AM)
Just log in and say, don't overdone it, thanks.

I already discovered about it 5 years ago, and I guess this is the official allowance for allowing you to login into UniFi Portal and pay your bill, not keeping your account unpaid and abuse it.

Just, don't, we are not cheater.

Sharing between your private friends for knowledge sharing is great, this helps to deal with case of building a walled garden more prefect.
But using and sharing it out for abuse?

No, thanks.
Hi Ben, no worries lah. anime angry at TM je. You & I probably overpaid Unifi bill for next 3 mths right? Thanks to Laz voucher bill glitch 3 days ago.

Quick, 12pm Laz 60-30.
Anime4000
post Sep 8 2024, 12:02 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 8 2024, 11:44 AM)
Shhhh, fast fast delete. I remember you dropped a hint about this before, 2 yrs ago? but without the specifics. Sure TM will fix this.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5319772
Like what they did with VLAN209/VLAN400.
It appears TM doesn't care, I have told them long before.

as DNS crisis, why not we make DNS server inside Walled Garden served as relay or proxy

since Class B IP Address might be change, I plan to push new ip by discord webhook https://discord.gg/EJGGmCjY3m
BenYeeHua
post Sep 8 2024, 12:04 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 8 2024, 11:47 AM)
Wah, you are still here! Miss you lei...
Working in TM?
Nope.
Still here, just burned out too much.

Anyways, I seen a lot of smart stuff like this.
For example, 15 years ago, osu! was using CloudFlare as CDN as proxy to just forward traffic globally, via http, the kindly developer also sharing it out in his blog.
Then later I guess another guys found it out and warned him, so it is password protected after few months, lol. laugh.gif

Or the old opera mini, using http referer, by checking the referer was from telco's own website, it will be free of charge.

Doing this stuff is fine, everyone can have hard time on money, but handing double edge knife to everybody?
Nah.
Just like hacking your own device is okay, building a emulator is okay, dumping your own ROM is legal, but sharing the ROM for others in public is not.... sweat.gif

For modern example, it is steam family sharing, by some tricks you can having multiple friends playing the same game own by 1 friend, even online, yes.

Just.
Know your line, don't overdone it, even you did, don't sharing it out to public, not everybody know how to hold and use a double knife, thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 8 2024, 11:58 AM)
Hi Ben, no worries lah. anime angry at TM je. You & I probably overpaid Unifi bill for next 3 mths right? Thanks to Laz voucher bill glitch 3 days ago.

Quick, 12pm Laz 60-30.
Thanks for the info, missed, next round then, but I guess it should be patched before I use it. smile.gif
Too burned out for laz and shopee, aiya.
ahlong
post Sep 8 2024, 12:05 PM

not a debt collector
612 posts

Bahahahahahahahah!! user: jimbit
Long time not hear those words hahahahaha
PRSXFENG
post Sep 8 2024, 12:06 PM

2,614 posts

UTurn UTurn UTurn!!!

https://x.com/fahmi_fadzil/status/1832628152570679401
Epic_winner091
post Sep 8 2024, 12:07 PM

340 posts

We did it Reddit!
Anime4000
post Sep 8 2024, 12:08 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 8 2024, 12:06 PM)
welp, cancel my DNS relay hahaha
BenYeeHua
post Sep 8 2024, 12:08 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 8 2024, 12:02 PM)
It appears TM doesn't care, I have told them long before.

as DNS crisis, why not we make DNS server inside Walled Garden served as relay or proxy

since Class B IP Address might be change, I plan to push new ip by discord webhook https://discord.gg/EJGGmCjY3m
Just saying, by doing that, better you asked a lawyer check ToS and law for you, TM just keep his eyes half closed because not much profit hurt as not everybody doing it, and it take more cost to fix this stuff, that's all.

If it is legal, and no warning letter gonna sending to you, then go ahead, for fun, why not. brows.gif

Warned you.
BenYeeHua
post Sep 8 2024, 12:09 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 8 2024, 12:07 PM)
We did it Reddit!
I am very sure I am on the right website, right? hmm.gif
Khan92
post Sep 8 2024, 12:10 PM

To live is to die
558 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 8 2024, 12:04 PM)
Nope.

Anyways, I seen a lot of smart stuff like this.
For example, 15 years ago, osu! was using CloudFlare as CDN as proxy to just forward traffic globally, via http, the kindly developer also sharing it out in his blog.
Then later I guess another guys found it out and warned him, so it is password protected after few months, lol. laugh.gif

Or the old opera mini, using http referer, by checking the referer was from telco's own website, it will be free of charge.

Doing this stuff is fine, everyone can have hard time on money, but handing double edge knife to everybody?
Nah.
Just like hacking your own device is okay, building a emulator is okay, dumping your own ROM is legal, but sharing the ROM for others in public is not.... sweat.gif

For modern example, it is steam family sharing, by some tricks you can having multiple friends playing the same game own by 1 friend, even online, yes.

Just.
Know your line, don't overdone it, even you did, don't sharing it out to public, not everybody know how to hold and use a double knife, thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the info, missed, next round then, but I guess it should be patched before I use it. smile.gif
Laz glitch? That's interesting

kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 12:11 PM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 8 2024, 12:04 PM)
Nope.
Be positive man... I am sure great thing will come. I really wish you all the best.
soonwai
post Sep 8 2024, 12:12 PM

11,459 posts

Ok ok take it easy. Ya, patched already, only managed to pay twice. 8% & 10% off only, not great but not bad lah.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 8 2024, 12:12 PM
blackbox14
post Sep 8 2024, 12:17 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 8 2024, 11:27 AM)
Like father of the Great Firewall is it? Whole China hates him, except The Pooh bear.
There cannot be that many of them in TM right? If I am in TM I make sure he end up in guni sack.
Hard to say if that would be the case for this person or people in TM if they succeed.

Remember Malaysians' response to censorship is different because there is also the layer of one of the 3Rs on top of it.

QUOTE(Exoflare @ Sep 8 2024, 11:34 AM)
Snip
There was a user here who seemed more familiar with the laws and proper procedure. Maybe best to wait for him.

Good, but people shouldn't stop there. Keep going.

Make sure the message is loud and clear that no government - not now, not in the future - can ever hold that much power over internet access, no matter what their reason is.
soonwai
post Sep 8 2024, 12:17 PM

11,459 posts

crap, sorry, double post. Finger still in Laz voucher mode.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 8 2024, 12:18 PM
kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 12:18 PM

1,208 posts

To be honest I didn't expect him to back down this fast.
Must be some real money at stake from data center or submarine cable operator.
Anime4000
post Sep 8 2024, 12:18 PM

2,400 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 8 2024, 12:08 PM)
Just saying, by doing that, better you asked a lawyer check ToS and law for you, TM just keep his eyes half closed because not much profit hurt as not everybody doing it, and it take more cost to fix this stuff, that's all.

If it is legal, and no warning letter gonna sending to you, then go ahead, for fun, why not. brows.gif

Warned you.
I got letters before because someone do improperly setup GPON Stick cause OLT jammed, for example GPON Stick can force TX laser always ON, and that guy selling my name and not even contact me for guide.

between that, GPON Stick has own merits which many user buy because D-Link become slow (2Gbps > 200Mbps) in some reason, so user bought my GPON Stick and happy with constant 2Gbps over a month.

Well, I often see technician mistakenly put wrong pass and saw IP Address Walled Garden and thinking got internet,

long before Walled Garden not exist, wrong PPPoE input out right not allow to connect, so user understands as wrong password or bill not paid, also make things for technician to double check password.

most everyone has mobile phone now and some basic data, they can pay bill this way,

even though Walled Garden doesn't allow Online Banking, so no point to have it
BenYeeHua
post Sep 8 2024, 12:20 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(Khan92 @ Sep 8 2024, 12:10 PM)
Laz glitch? That's interesting
Not gonna last long, as there is a lot of bot grabbing vc now.

Also lazada asking people to playing gambling game via game credit is, blah.
Always like that, Ali company, wanna jumping on the borderline, aiya...
---
Anyways, for this DNS stuff, I only agree on 1 thing.
By default, asking telco/ISP's DNS using 1.1.1.2 (No Malware) to block those malware, this benefit 99% of websurfer that know nothing about internet.

For others that need extra protection, will set up parent control supported DNS by ourselves, blocking some of the ability to do that is kind of stupid.
Or be a bit stupid, just use 1.1.1.1 and 8.8.8.8 without filtering, then use adblock with custom list, so no wrong domain blocked.

Thanks you. tongue.gif
---
QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 8 2024, 12:18 PM)
To be honest I didn't expect him to back down this fast.
Must be some real money at stake from data center or submarine cable operator.
It take a lot of cost to fix those broken DNS stuff, like zerotrust.
Just like the cost of implementing GST is higher than benefit.
axxer
post Sep 8 2024, 12:21 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

Finally backed down. We can't fix stupidity, but at least we can talk some sense into the stupids. Or even if the sense never penetrate their thick skull, its still due to the sheere amount of backlash they backed down. Well done people.

495 Pages « < 315 316 317 318 319 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:25 PM