495 Pages « < 313 314 315 316 317 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

isr25
post Sep 8 2024, 09:12 AM

1,263 posts

I really wish Cloudflare and Google pushback hard on this latest ruling. Our Govt needs a big smackdown
Epic_winner091
post Sep 8 2024, 09:17 AM

340 posts

Maybe there was pushback behind the scenes as they have temporarily lifted their DNS hijacking.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2024, 09:23 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Sep 7 2024, 08:12 AM)
Hear hear! Those of you who never experienced the pain of EXTREME SCREAMYX SLOWDOWNS will never know how bad it was before Unifi expanded its coverage from around 2013 onwards. Unifi came into being in 2010 but coverage was extremely limited at first.

Here is the first very Extreme Screamyx Slowdown thread on this very forum, made in 2008.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/746285

The late 2000s to mid 2010s (from 2008 to 2015) were horrific for wired ADSL internet costumers with no fiber alternatives, so desperate were people to escape the painfully slow TM network infrastructure that they resorted to subscribing to wireless alternatives like P1 WiMAX and YES 4G.

Remember the potong campaigns from P1 WiMAX which turned out to also be a POS once their towers and infra got over subscribed?

I member.
i was there when we had 56k modems. You had that unique connecting sound laugh.gif

I racked a huge bill when playing red alert online (i didn't know much IT back then).

People these days are fortunate. You got netflix, youtube, steam, nicer looking websites, less adverts (we didn't have ublock origin back then. Just tons of pop up ads)..... so much more. The only sad thing is this recent dns poisoning sweat.gif

And when streamyx slow, you couldn't do much. not much competition back then. I think there was jaring? that was about it? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 8 2024, 09:27 AM
GameSky
post Sep 8 2024, 09:27 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 8 2024, 09:09 AM)
Those are the real matlumat palsu.
All network operators consider BGP hijacking a cyber attack.
Maybe they should ask MYNOG member and listen to what they think.
that's why in X they're spreading the false info... esp the mcmc guy pretending he doesn't know IT... apparently just cytro for gomen..back up the dns hijacking is good, and those use 3rd party dns is same as those "golongan penjenayah"
kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 09:45 AM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Sep 8 2024, 09:27 AM)
that's why in X they're spreading the false info... esp the mcmc guy pretending he doesn't know IT... apparently just cytro for gomen..back up the dns hijacking is good, and those use 3rd party dns is same as those "golongan penjenayah"
MCMC already threw TM under the bus by denying they instruct anyone to hijack BGP.
No way anyone will admit this even though traceroute has been posted.
I also posted nmap scan back when they were still in field trial.
It's serious for government agency to instruct telco to conduct cyber attack.
Epic_winner091
post Sep 8 2024, 09:47 AM

340 posts

Not defending MCMC but non of the other providers employed the same type of DNS hijacking as TM.

Did they go to the extra mile?
kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 09:49 AM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 8 2024, 09:47 AM)
Not defending MCMC but non of the other providers employed the same type of DNS hijacking as TM.

Did they go to the extra mile?
TM never go the extra mile when it comes to fixing congestion.
They don't go the extra mile to make sure Free Speed Upgrade completes on time.
It baffles me why they brings the Javelin when it comes to censorship.
In fact they are quite late to the actual rollout.
Epic_winner091
post Sep 8 2024, 09:52 AM

340 posts

Fixing congestion costs money. 😅
soonwai
post Sep 8 2024, 10:01 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Sep 8 2024, 01:21 AM)
Last time when the previous government banned only a few websites, including some independent news sources, then this Madani government made big complaint and strong objection.

Now, they become the government and act even worse than their predecessors. Hijacked the DNS and banned thousands of websites instantly. Someone must be held accountable for this. Foreign investors are likely to pull out. We all should vote wisely in the next election.
Also begs the question why no or not much sound from the current opposition.
Kadaj
post Sep 8 2024, 10:02 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Sep 8 2024, 02:29 AM)
Yup, always snowballs into something bigger.
Yesterday they block "harmful" websites.
Next socmed.
Tomorrow they block Netflix.

"Daddy is protecting you."
QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 8 2024, 10:01 AM)
Do we have opposition?

This post has been edited by Kadaj: Sep 8 2024, 10:05 AM
kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 10:03 AM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 8 2024, 09:52 AM)
Fixing congestion costs money. 😅
It's true.
Doing the bare minimum saves money also.

Only TM, MCMC and potentially other telco know the truth if MCMC really ask for it.
Maybe that menteri met with TM big shot and ask for a favor.
However TM being the largest telco should know better than pulling this stunt.

Every telco draw the line, not TM.
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 8 2024, 10:09 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

Either TM don't know what does "transparent proxy" means, OR, MCMC does not know what "hijacking" means.

Potato. Potahto.

Regardless, this heartbreaking state of going-ons is only evident of a serious lack of understanding in the concept of networking and security, which both entities are supposed to grasp.
blackbox14
post Sep 8 2024, 10:10 AM

349 posts

It's a hint that they'd do the same if they were in power. We already know what kind of people they are.

That's the sad part. On the subject of internet, both sides actually sama je: a bunch of people who think 'the less of the internet there is to access, the better things would be for everyone.'
Epic_winner091
post Sep 8 2024, 10:14 AM

340 posts

https://www.reddit.com/r/malaysia/s/t8tdp970gH

Uhoh. But methinks this is a Yes issue as their network isn't the best in the best of days lol.
isr25
post Sep 8 2024, 10:32 AM

1,263 posts

Maybe:
1. They don't even understand what's going on
2. They don't want the optics of supporting Pornography
3. They support the initiative, and (if?) when they are in power, they will "enhance" the blocking
kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 10:39 AM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Sep 8 2024, 10:09 AM)
Either TM don't know what does "transparent proxy" means, OR, MCMC does not know what "hijacking" means.

Potato. Potahto.

Regardless, this heartbreaking state of going-ons is only evident of a serious lack of understanding in the concept of networking and security, which both entities are supposed to grasp.
I refuse to believe they don't know. Every telco got the memo right. When I first tested Celcom, they did everything to the dot. UDP 53, all addresses, nothing else.

TM network is huge, if people there are this incompetent, I think it would have fallen apart by now. For whatever shit they pulled, ini semua kerja orang gila...
eternity4av
post Sep 8 2024, 10:47 AM

♥ ♥ ♥ taeyeon
2,270 posts

apologies fellow seniors, been following the thread, but still having issues on understanding the best way to navigate this, please do enlighten me if im wrong yah,

used cloudflare dns, can access dns.google & tested prawn hub does load, one jp website always returns with 403
removed cloudflare dns, can access dns.google & test prawn hub doesn't load, one jp website always return with 403,

if this the case, am i being blocked or not?

not too sure on what would be best option for me, as my mother loves to watch hokkien drama from TW, tested alot paid vpn don't really work, except PIA, so subscribed, and also saw alot seniors here recommending paid dns, so not too sure which option is the best for my family,

will cont subscribing pia in long term to get cheaper discount and applied it across on router settings will be a better options? or focus on paid dns solution will be a better bet?

apologies, if these has been answered before, part of aging, felt tech these days are very hard to catchup.

kwss
post Sep 8 2024, 10:53 AM

1,208 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Sep 8 2024, 10:47 AM)
apologies fellow seniors, been following the thread, but still having issues on understanding the best way to navigate this, please do enlighten me if im wrong yah,

used cloudflare dns, can access dns.google & tested prawn hub does load, one jp website always returns with 403
removed cloudflare dns, can access dns.google & test prawn hub doesn't load, one jp website always return with 403,

if this the case, am i being blocked or not?

not too sure on what would be best option for me, as my mother loves to watch hokkien drama from TW, tested alot paid vpn don't really work, except PIA, so subscribed, and also saw alot seniors here recommending paid dns, so not too sure which option is the best for my family,

will cont subscribing pia in long term to get cheaper discount and applied it across on router settings will be a better options? or focus on paid dns solution will be a better bet?

apologies, if these has been answered before, part of aging, felt tech these days are very hard to catchup.
Hi there, you are not being blocked.
Since PIA works, continue using it. Don't need paid DNS or other paid VPN.

I suspect the website perform geo-blocking, and co-incidentally just PIA works.
haya
post Sep 8 2024, 10:54 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Sep 7 2024, 06:27 PM)

📢 [INFO] Dialog Terbuka Bersama Suruhanjaya Komunikasi dan Multimedia Malaysia (MCMC) 📢
MCMC akan mengadakan dialog terbuka mengenai isu sekatan DNS kepada semua pengguna internet. Kepada yang berminat dan prihatin, anda dijemput hadir untuk bersama-sama berbincang dan mendapatkan maklumat lanjut.
🗓️ Tarikh: Isnin, 9 September 2024
🕙 Masa: 10:00 pagi (GMT +8)
📍 Lokasi: Menara MIDA, KL Sentral, Kuala Lumpur

Join Event

Need someone to bantai MCMC kaw2.
Sold out

Let's see how many people turn up tomorrow
kingkingyyk
post Sep 8 2024, 10:58 AM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Sep 8 2024, 10:47 AM)
They lifted the stupid routing for now.
403 is forbidden, means you don't have right to access the resource from the web server. wink.gif Nothing to do with TM.

I think we should see it from higher level. Will this be misused as an political tool? Be it current government or the next term guys down the road. MCMC just opened up the pandora box, a new forbidden idea for future politicians.

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 8 2024, 10:59 AM

495 Pages « < 313 314 315 316 317 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:18 AM