Australia Visa, Need Advice

limeuu
post Apr 1 2024, 03:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenzotaj @ Apr 1 2024, 02:55 PM)
Hmnn.. U got a valid point.  No worry..  Myself just grumbling..  but i still doubt the 25% instant approval . In my family case 0% instant approval
It's from official Oz immigration statistics. 75% got called for further documents .

Compared to the average of 1% worldwide (refers to the ETA programme, which means generally low risks countries for visa overstay.)

I got instant approval in January.
hksgmy
post Apr 1 2024, 11:39 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I hope the frequent plane jumping heroics by my fellow Malaysians won’t negatively impact my upcoming RRV renewal application….
lexta
post Apr 15 2024, 05:55 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 1 2024, 11:39 PM)
I hope the frequent plane jumping heroics by my fellow Malaysians won’t negatively impact my upcoming RRV renewal application….
I recently got approved visa 858 and it requires to spend 730 days there. If I don’t spend enough 730 days how will it affect the RRV totally can’t renew?. I see that getting a job there not as easy and salary cant compare to what I’m getting now hence not sure if I wanted to pursue further
hksgmy
post Apr 15 2024, 07:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(lexta @ Apr 15 2024, 05:55 PM)
I recently got approved visa 858  and it requires to spend 730 days there. If I don’t spend enough 730 days how will it affect the RRV totally can’t renew?. I see that getting a job there not as easy and salary cant compare to what I’m getting now hence not sure if I wanted to pursue further
Congratulations on securing the visa. However, that's not quite the same visa as the one I'm on. I'm on the old Visa 175 (Skilled independent), which has now been superseded by the 189, IINM. I don't exactly know the terms and conditions of the 858, so I'm not in the best position to advise you on the requirements.

Having said that, I've never actually fulfilled the stated requirements ... ie, I've never spent 2 years out of 5... but, what I've done is to set up a business in Australia (I have a share in a medical practice that employs nurses and doctors) and I have properties and investments and enough money in Australia that I pay substantial taxes to the ATO. And I've happily been given my RRVs (5 yearly ones until the system changed to yearly) for the past 10 years.

Hope that helps your planning.
Lucyfur
post Apr 20 2024, 06:06 PM

21 posts

If I am planning for my Australian trip in Dec 2024, how soon should I start applying for my visa?
I don't want to apply too early and then let the few months burn

hihihehe
post Apr 20 2024, 06:47 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(Lucyfur @ Apr 20 2024, 06:06 PM)
If I am planning for my Australian trip in Dec 2024, how soon should I start applying for my visa?
You cant plan without a visa confirmation

You duwan to experience a rejection after u have buy the flight and hotel tickets

hksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 06:48 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Yes. The earlier you get it the sooner you can start planning.
elm0001
post Apr 20 2024, 09:53 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

QUOTE(Lucyfur @ Apr 20 2024, 06:06 PM)
i got my visa approved within 3 working days last july. just make sure you submit as many docs as possible. i think you can maybe apply around sept?

for now can still plan for itinerary without hotel and flight first

This post has been edited by elm0001: Apr 20 2024, 09:54 PM
sadlyfalways
post Apr 20 2024, 10:07 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 31 2024, 10:20 PM)
Be careful what you wish for. At least with the ETA(601) (btw your problem has nothing to do with the App), a quarter of applicants will get instant approval for just AUD20. The rest just need to take some time to submit some documents (no need "certification") and wait a few days (at least it's down from the 6 weeks in 2022).

If Australia removes Malaysia from the ETA programme, everybody will need to apply for the 600 visitor visa and pay AUD190 each. Plus mandatory to submit supporting documents. Plus medical examination for above 60 yos.

You prefer that?
Australia can fuck off la medical examination next level discrimination. How few old people can even pass the medical test

Even I (young single unemployed) apply for American visa didn’t have much questions, and I didn’t have to show or certify ANY bank or government documents. plus they give 10 years multiple entry one shot.

If Australia wants to remove our fake eta, then by all means do it . I really wish Malaysian government will be more proactive with the reciprocal visa issues, at least more kiasu Australian citizens will have trouble coming here

Just do it
hksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 10:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Apr 20 2024, 10:07 PM)
Australia can fuck off la medical examination next level discrimination. How few old people can even pass the medical test

Even I (young single unemployed) apply for American visa didn’t have much questions, and I didn’t have to show or certify ANY bank or government documents. plus they give 10 years multiple entry one shot.

If Australia wants to remove our fake eta, then by all means do it . I really wish Malaysian government will be more proactive with the reciprocal visa issues, at least more kiasu Australian citizens will have trouble coming here

Just do it
When did you apply for the American visa bro? I heard nightmare stories about Malaysian applicants being knocked back multiple times for US visas...
sadlyfalways
post Apr 20 2024, 10:15 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 20 2024, 10:08 PM)
When did you apply for the American visa bro? I heard nightmare stories about Malaysian applicants being knocked back multiple times for US visas...
I applied last April bro, for travel in September of last year too.

Was a breeze, zero questions during interview, because most asked in online form already

I also heard horror stories, but was pleasantly surprised

Even at JFK they didn’t ask any intrusive questions

I was holding a UK student visa at the time, so I don’t know if the 5 eyes power sharing agreement helped me with the application and they just got all of my information from the uk 💀
hksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 10:17 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Apr 20 2024, 10:15 PM)
I applied last April bro, for travel in September of last year too.

Was a breeze, zero questions during interview, because most asked in online form already

I also heard horror stories, but was pleasantly surprised

Even at JFK they didn’t ask any intrusive questions

I was holding a UK student visa at the time, so I don’t know if the 5 eyes power sharing agreement helped me with the application and they just got all of my information from the uk 💀
Hmm... that's a valid point and an astute observation! One way you could really test the hypothesis is to apply for an Aussie ETA (it's only what, AUD20 haha) ... Australia's part of the 5 eyes powers smile.gif
sadlyfalways
post Apr 20 2024, 10:25 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 20 2024, 10:17 PM)
Hmm... that's a valid point and an astute observation! One way you could really test the hypothesis is to apply for an Aussie ETA (it's only what, AUD20 haha) ... Australia's part of the 5 eyes powers smile.gif
I might just do that! Thank you!
Lucyfur
post Apr 20 2024, 10:28 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 20 2024, 06:47 PM)
You cant plan without a visa confirmation

You duwan to experience a rejection after u have buy the flight and hotel tickets
QUOTE(elm0001 @ Apr 20 2024, 09:53 PM)
i got my visa approved within 3 working days last july. just make sure you submit as many docs as possible. i think you can maybe apply around sept?

for now can still plan for itinerary without hotel and flight first
That's the thing. I don't want to apply visa too early coz if it does get approved fast, then I would burn a few months worth of my visa

But if wait until Sept, then flight ticket will be very expensive by then cry.gif
hksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 10:32 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lucyfur @ Apr 20 2024, 10:28 PM)
That's the thing. I don't want to apply visa too early coz if it does get approved fast, then I would burn a few months worth of my visa

But if wait until Sept, then flight ticket will be very expensive by then  cry.gif
Bro, realistically do you envisage yourself visiting Australia twice in 365 days?
hihihehe
post Apr 20 2024, 10:43 PM

13,782 posts

But if wait until Sept, then flight ticket will be very expensive by then  cry.gif
Burn few months of visa or burn flight+hotel?
U decide

hksgmy
post Apr 20 2024, 10:52 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 20 2024, 10:43 PM)
Burn few months of visa or burn flight+hotel?
U decide
It’s a no brainer when you put it that way…..
elm0001
post Apr 21 2024, 03:46 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

like what hksgmy said, do you intend to go in aus twice in a year? i applied mine last july for my trip in feb this year. i applied early because i was afraid it would take long for my visa to get approved, especially post covid. but i also knew that i would only be going in aus once so it didn’t matter if i applied early or later.

btw, another matta fair will be in sept right? maybe you could get a good fare. i got mine in sept last year, it was around 2.9k to sydney

This post has been edited by elm0001: Apr 21 2024, 04:20 PM
bonkers28
post Apr 21 2024, 06:23 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 20 2024, 10:32 PM)
Bro, realistically do you envisage yourself visiting Australia twice in 365 days?
LOL, i did that.
Went in October then again in March and then again in May. All for Cuti Cuti Australia purpose icon_idea.gif
hksgmy
post Apr 21 2024, 10:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(bonkers28 @ Apr 21 2024, 06:23 PM)
LOL, i did that.
Went in October then again in March and then again in May. All for Cuti Cuti Australia purpose  icon_idea.gif
Fair enough. I visit Australia once every couple of months but that’s because we have a holiday home there…

42 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:25 AM