42 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Australia Visa, Need Advice

TSGentleman_League
post Sep 1 2023, 11:50 AM, updated 3y ago

240 posts

Hello guys, i will be visiting Melbourne this coming November/December for 'The Weeknd' Concert.

i just bought the concert tickets yesterday, and i already apply my Visa yesterday. Im still waiting for my approval before i buy my flight tickets and i will be staying at my friends place .

Will i get approve within this few week? cos i did not attached my flight details the only thing i attached was my National Identical Card, Passport, my concert tickets as evidence for visiting.

Please advice.

Thank You
acbc
post Sep 1 2023, 11:54 AM

9,034 posts

Not easy if don't have family members in AU.

My parents got their visas approved within 24 hours because my sister is PR there.

I was told AU don't need visitors because the country itself is not tourist friendly.
laksamana
post Sep 1 2023, 11:57 AM

1,356 posts

The fact that you did not get instant approval means that Aus immigrations will likely need you to answer in a lot more detail

Check the app or website, as they are likely to also email you with the next steps

Approval could take anywhere between 3-4 weeks nce you have responded to their questions

laksamana
post Sep 1 2023, 11:57 AM

1,356 posts

- double -

This post has been edited by laksamana: Sep 1 2023, 11:57 AM
TSGentleman_League
post Sep 1 2023, 12:00 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 1 2023, 12:54 PM)

My parents got their visas approved within 24 hours because my sister is PR there.

I was told AU don't need visitors because the country itself is not tourist friendly.
Not sure should i proceed my flight ticket first or i will wait for my Visa. The tickets getting way expensive not. Scoot are around 3k.

QUOTE(laksamana @ Sep 1 2023, 12:57 PM)
The fact that you did not get instant approval means that Aus immigrations will likely need you to answer in a lot more detail

Check the app or website, as they are likely to also email you with the next steps

Approval could take anywhere between 3-4 weeks nce you have responded to their questions
Yes i did it on the app first (Australia ETA) and paid for 20AUD, after a short while i received an email to filled in my details which some attachment as well.
knwong
post Sep 1 2023, 12:19 PM

3,557 posts

You should have book the more expensive refundable ticket and attach that.
knwong
post Sep 1 2023, 12:22 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 1 2023, 11:54 AM)

If you never been to AU don’t comment. Very naive to say they don’t need visitors

They are very very tourist friendly with lots of facilities cater to this lucrative market

The reason they reject Malaysian visa applicants because we have bad history of Malaysian never return after their visit aka “jump aeroplane”. That’s all
PaperClip224
post Sep 1 2023, 12:26 PM

196 posts

3 things you need to show

1 ) your itinerary - what are you going to do there ?
- if you plan to visit family n friends - then you need an invitation letter (with their address and immigration details - eg, PR number etc)
- on your own visit - then best to draw out a rough itinerary (make sure logical lar, dont say you plan to visit 3 days, but go sampai sana sini)

2 ) how are you going to support your stay ?
- Bank savings - 3 months - show sufficient funds to support your stay there
- FD (if can) - in case of emergency - how are you going to pay for it ?
- If you are a student - then parents bank account + birth cert showing parents < forgot to add this

3 ) your intention to return
- if working - salary slip 3 months (plus bank account showing credited salary)
- a letter from employer confirming your job and your intention to return to work
if student - a letter from uni/school confirming you are a student there

if taukeh - no salary - then SSm certifications showing that you own the company - and if possible company bank account

*WARNING - always ask your friends what is their visa status and permission if you want to list them ...

DO NOT COMMIT to airtickets before your visa - its already stated in ETA 601 that you should never commit .. cause air tickets, hotels etc restriction on cancellation (in form 1554)

its very fluid, different people have have to show different documents proving their intention ... usually when i do - i will "interview" those people first and get to know them better before accepting ...

This post has been edited by PaperClip224: Sep 1 2023, 12:33 PM
TSGentleman_League
post Sep 1 2023, 12:42 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(PaperClip224 @ Sep 1 2023, 01:26 PM)
3 things you need to show

1 ) your itinerary - what are you going to do there ?
- if you plan to visit family n friends - then you need an invitation letter (with their address and immigration details - eg, PR number etc)
- on your own visit - then best to draw out a rough itinerary (make sure logical lar, dont say you plan to visit 3 days, but go sampai sana sini)

2 ) how are you going to support your stay ?
- Bank savings - 3 months - show sufficient funds to support your stay there 
- FD (if can) - in case of emergency - how are you going to pay for it ?
- If you are a student - then parents bank account + birth cert showing parents < forgot to add this

3 ) your intention to return
- if working - salary slip 3 months (plus bank account showing credited salary)
- a letter from employer confirming your job and your intention to return to work
if student - a letter from uni/school confirming you are a student there

if taukeh - no salary - then SSm certifications showing that you own the company - and if possible company bank account

*WARNING - always ask your friends what is their visa status and permission if you want to list them ...

DO NOT COMMIT to airtickets before your visa - its already stated in ETA 601 that you should never commit .. cause air tickets, hotels etc restriction on cancellation (in form 1554)
its very fluid, different people have have to show different documents proving their intention ... usually when i do - i will "interview" those people first and get to know them better before accepting ...
thank you for your info bud, i might need to attached more info if this round my Visa get rejected. Usually how many days i would know the proceedings so i can prepare for my next application?
hksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 12:45 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 1 2023, 12:19 PM)
You should have book the more expensive refundable ticket and attach that.
This is an excellent idea!
TSGentleman_League
post Sep 1 2023, 12:45 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 1 2023, 01:22 PM)
If you never been to AU don’t comment. Very naive to say they don’t need visitors

They are very very tourist friendly with lots of facilities cater to this lucrative market

The reason they reject Malaysian visa applicants because we have bad history of Malaysian never return after their visit aka “jump aeroplane”. That’s all
i was quite stressful due to Visa, flight tickets are still pending doh.gif cry.gif
hksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 12:47 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Sorry to ask, but I thought Malaysians are entitled to ETA?

I’m still on my Malaysian passport but because I’m an Australian PR, visas don’t apply to me, so I tumpang tanya, thanks
PaperClip224
post Sep 1 2023, 12:50 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Sep 1 2023, 12:42 PM)
thank you for your info bud, i might need to attached more info if this round my Visa get rejected. Usually how many days i would know the proceedings so i can prepare for my next application?
currently 24 hours (1 working day, today submit, tomorrow by 12 granted d) if your documents are strong

now they have more local staff in aussie embassies to oversee this things d ... your documents can be in Malay language also no problem (last time i remember some of the documents reviewed by aussie embassy in singapore and philippines also got)

dont need to worry, relax, check your email - their respond usually very fast one - and dont attempt to call the embassy to rush them (sure kena marah one)
they will respond either
1 ) granted - lucky you, dapat visa
2 ) incomplete (forgot what is the word, but its neither reject nor granted) - can say lucky also lar, they ask you resubmit your documents cause previous submission not enough doc
3 ) reject with reasons given - you can apply again (pay another AUD 20) - and this time, submit proper documents
TSGentleman_League
post Sep 1 2023, 12:54 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(PaperClip224 @ Sep 1 2023, 01:50 PM)
currently 24 hours (1 working day, today submit, tomorrow by 12 granted d) if your documents are strong

now they have more local staff in aussie embassies to oversee this things d ... your documents can be in Malay language also no problem (last time i remember some of the documents reviewed by aussie embassy in singapore and philippines also got)

dont need to worry, relax, check your email - their respond usually very fast one - and dont attempt to call the embassy to rush them (sure kena marah one)
they will respond either
1 ) granted - lucky you, dapat visa
2 ) incomplete (forgot what is the word, but its neither reject nor granted) - can say lucky also lar, they ask you resubmit your documents cause previous submission not enough doc
3 ) reject with reasons given - you can apply again (pay another AUD 20) - and this time, submit proper documents
Noted i will keep my email on track, i thought it would refund u if your application is rejected, maybe i misread the terms and condition somewhere yikes
knwong
post Sep 1 2023, 12:56 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 12:47 PM)
Sorry to ask, but I thought Malaysians are entitled to ETA?

I’m still on my Malaysian passport but because I’m an Australian PR, visas don’t apply to me, so I tumpang tanya, thanks
That ETA is the one that need applicant to submit all the required documents
hksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 12:58 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 1 2023, 12:56 PM)
That ETA is the one that need applicant to submit all the required documents
I see. So after that they will determine whether you qualify for a visa or not?
rx330
post Sep 1 2023, 12:59 PM

11,808 posts

old folks on the eta app immediately approved after payment made

mine after eta submission, will still need to go website and attached forms of financial status n those listed as above
I did mine few months back, all in all about 10 working days to get it approved

just attached as many supporting documents u have
hksgmy
post Sep 1 2023, 01:03 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 1 2023, 12:59 PM)
old folks on the eta app immediately approved after payment made

mine after eta submission, will still need to go website and attached forms of financial status n those listed as above
I did mine few months back, all in all about 10 working days to get it approved

just attached as many supporting documents u have
Sigh. So troublesome. Wifey converted to Singapore passport decades ago and her Australian PR application was so much simpler than mine and even her application for visitor visas prior to us obtaining our PRs was so much simpler.

I remember the Australians wanting to see my bank statements and how much savings I had.
Gargamel_gibson
post Sep 1 2023, 01:05 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 1 2023, 01:03 PM)
Sigh. So troublesome. Wifey converted to Singapore passport decades ago and her Australian PR application was so much simpler than mine and even her application for visitor visas prior to us obtaining our PRs was so much simpler.

I remember the Australians wanting to see my bank statements and how much savings I had.
Blame the jokers who jump aeroplane to be bangla in Aus
Gargamel_gibson
post Sep 1 2023, 01:13 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 1 2023, 11:54 AM)

First, it's ETA not visa. Visa is 200 aud and need to take picture etc. ETA only $20 and USED TO BE instant for Malaysian, becasue it's supposed to be like the white card you fill in to Singapore. Singapore still instant without supporting docs, but guess why Msia need now? Jokers abuse the visa free policy for Msia to jump aeroplane and be bangla, so now everyone else suffer.

Family members or not no difference. It's your age profile. Your parents got approved because they old so Aus gov assume they are less risky of overstaying aka jump aeroplane. If you 20s-40s Aus gov would need proof that you will come back to Malaysia and not jump aeroplane. Don't simply say things when you don't understand.

42 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:19 PM