QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 06:39 PM)
Maxis : limit 3GB
Digi : limit 5GB
Celcom :unlimited but.....

It's buried under their Fair Usage Policy, the link is next to their Terms and Conditions link when you open the Celcom Broadband link.
Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !
Jan 15 2008, 06:50 PM
314 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 06:39 PM) Maxis : limit 3GB Digi : limit 5GB Celcom :unlimited but..... ![]() It's buried under their Fair Usage Policy, the link is next to their Terms and Conditions link when you open the Celcom Broadband link. |
Jan 15 2008, 07:06 PM
251 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(wr6969 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:50 PM) Ahem, you need to correct your statement about Celcom's offering, bro. LOL....ops.... correction (thanks to wr6969 ![]() It's buried under their Fair Usage Policy, the link is next to their Terms and Conditions link when you open the Celcom Broadband link. Maxis : limit 3GB Digi : limit 5GB Celcom :unlimited but.....no.... wait... it is also 5GB Jonu.... i think butthead has just given you the solution.... check his previous posting on how to maintain the HSDPA signal and not let it falls back to UTMS/EDGE.... But I personally reckons that the I2G is much better as it is not contracted (which leaves you open to better/cheaper options in the near future) and much more stable in terms of speed and gaming... |
Jan 15 2008, 07:15 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(jonu @ Jan 15 2008, 06:46 PM) No wonder. Hope u can read the FACTS before replying. err.. your 2nd name is a tongue twister... i wonder how is it pronounced?Eheh.. just kidding.. Like yor style.. Calm and resonable man(or woman etc).. PS: I'ts Jonu.. Jonu Dslugo.. QUOTE(wr6969 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:50 PM) Ahem, you need to correct your statement about Celcom's offering, bro. haha... talk about small letterings... now it is small lettering and also hidden hyperlinks... die lar our future... we'll get into deep shit just for nothing... we better start clicking on every pixel of any page before applying for anything in the future...![]() It's buried under their Fair Usage Policy, the link is next to their Terms and Conditions link when you open the Celcom Broadband link. QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 07:06 PM) LOL....ops.... correction (thanks to wr6969 it's okay... it proves that we commoners just fallen into Celcom's trap...Maxis : limit 3GB Digi : limit 5GB Celcom :unlimited but.....no.... wait... it is also 5GB Jonu.... i think butthead has just given you the solution.... check his previous posting on how to maintain the HSDPA signal and not let it falls back to UTMS/EDGE.... But I personally reckons that the I2G is much better as it is not contracted (which leaves you open to better/cheaper options in the near future) and much more stable in terms of speed and gaming... definitely... i think I2GO is better too... from my understanding and reading of others feedbacks... supposedly the old 3G datacards are quite good too... my colleague told me he can BT and reach speeds up to 50KBps... 20-30KBps is about the average with a good torrent...but need to spend RM1200 or is it RM2000 to buy the damn card and need to buy another PCMCIA slot PCI card for my desktop somemore.. |
Jan 15 2008, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 15 2008, 07:15 PM) err.. your 2nd name is a tongue twister... i wonder how is it pronounced? Just get the SierraAircard 875 = RM300+ (from LYN.net sales) not sure about the new 875U (maybe around RM600?).haha... talk about small letterings... now it is small lettering and also hidden hyperlinks... die lar our future... we'll get into deep shit just for nothing... we better start clicking on every pixel of any page before applying for anything in the future... it's okay... it proves that we commoners just fallen into Celcom's trap... definitely... i think I2GO is better too... from my understanding and reading of others feedbacks... supposedly the old 3G datacards are quite good too... my colleague told me he can BT and reach speeds up to 50KBps... 20-30KBps is about the average with a good torrent...but need to spend RM1200 or is it RM2000 to buy the damn card and need to buy another PCMCIA slot PCI card for my desktop somemore.. I manage to torrent (good seeded) at +60kBps on average but sticking to WebUI using ftp at +100kBps......i'm not sure if it is true but I followed Prasys idea by connecting to APN : *99***1# .... the latency drops to 150ms from 250ms.... did not bother to compare the TraceRT results. |
Jan 15 2008, 07:39 PM
167 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Hey, 2day i go ask maxis and they not sure my place got 3G coverage or not. They say mb use GPRS or EDGE.
Need opinion how fast they will go? Compared to 3G please... |
Jan 15 2008, 09:50 PM
68 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 07:06 PM) LOL....ops.... correction (thanks to wr6969 when on earth did Digi implement a 5GB limitation on its users?Maxis : limit 3GB Digi : limit 5GB Celcom :unlimited but.....no.... wait... it is also 5GB I'm a digi unlimited user myself downloading averagely about 1.5gb per day for a total pf 40-50gb per month(according to my monthly statements) using torrentflux of course......... Care to provide a link to support your facts? |
Jan 15 2008, 10:11 PM
29 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Dec 30 2007, 10:32 PM) Let see.... That seems interesting. I've just cancelled my maxis bb 384 package(zte modem). Now searching for a new solution, only to find out that other options are not that good either. I've been reading that Internet2Go package is getting better speed and reliabilty. Only problem is, I can't use Sierra Aircard 875 because I think my laptop dont support them (only support xpress card). Maybe I'll try my luck using Sierra 875U. Any idea how much is the price? Anyway, using Internet2Go with HSDPA, can I still get connected where no 3G coverage is available (When going back to kampung where there'll be only GPRS or EDGE)Sierra Aircard 875=RM370.00 Mthly fees = RM99/mth Usage for 18mths = RM1782 Total = RM2152 (equivalent to RM119.55/mth) Cheaper than the USB package but not the ZTE..... Thanks for your help. |
Jan 15 2008, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(probiotix @ Jan 15 2008, 09:50 PM) when on earth did Digi implement a 5GB limitation on its users? Sorry must have confused it with Celcom... you are right, no limitation on BW, only subject to availability of Service in an area. I'm a digi unlimited user myself downloading averagely about 1.5gb per day for a total pf 40-50gb per month(according to my monthly statements) using torrentflux of course......... Care to provide a link to support your facts? QUOTE(max211 @ Jan 15 2008, 10:11 PM) That seems interesting. I've just cancelled my maxis bb 384 package(zte modem). Now searching for a new solution, only to find out that other options are not that good either. I've been reading that Internet2Go package is getting better speed and reliabilty. Only problem is, I can't use Sierra Aircard 875 because I think my laptop dont support them (only support xpress card). Maybe I'll try my luck using Sierra 875U. Any idea how much is the price? Anyway, using Internet2Go with HSDPA, can I still get connected where no 3G coverage is available (When going back to kampung where there'll be only GPRS or EDGE) Yes you can set it to Auto or 2G for GPRS/EDGE connection... should be fine.Thanks for your help. Added on January 16, 2008, 3:07 amJust got my antenna : Sierra Aircard 3G/HSDPA 5dB External Antenna from a LYN member.... great deal!!! [Thanks man... Eventhough it is suppose to be 5dB gain.... but with the 12 feet extension sitting at my balcony... i manage to improve the signal from -85dBm to -68dBm!!!! Equivalent to 50% gain in speed.... thus now cruising in 1.6mbps. This post has been edited by JWCheah: Jan 16 2008, 03:08 AM |
Jan 16 2008, 04:54 AM
4,688 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://127.0.0.1 |
ok i updated the patch of my maxis WBB.
but still, the interface is the same |
Jan 16 2008, 08:58 AM
323 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 11:30 PM) Added on January 16, 2008, 3:07 amJust got my antenna : Sierra Aircard 3G/HSDPA 5dB External Antenna from a LYN member.... great deal!!! [Thanks man... Eventhough it is suppose to be 5dB gain.... but with the 12 feet extension sitting at my balcony... i manage to improve the signal from -85dBm to -68dBm!!!! Equivalent to 50% gain in speed.... thus now cruising in 1.6mbps. |
Jan 16 2008, 09:25 AM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 07:30 PM) Just get the SierraAircard 875 = RM300+ (from LYN.net sales) not sure about the new 875U (maybe around RM600?). wow... out of my range... and furthermore... i am not a mobile user I manage to torrent (good seeded) at +60kBps on average but sticking to WebUI using ftp at +100kBps......i'm not sure if it is true but I followed Prasys idea by connecting to APN : *99***1# .... the latency drops to 150ms from 250ms.... did not bother to compare the TraceRT results. |
Jan 16 2008, 12:17 PM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 11:30 PM) Sorry must have confused it with Celcom... you are right, no limitation on BW, only subject to availability of Service in an area. whr u get the antenna? how much?Yes you can set it to Auto or 2G for GPRS/EDGE connection... should be fine. Added on January 16, 2008, 3:07 amJust got my antenna : Sierra Aircard 3G/HSDPA 5dB External Antenna from a LYN member.... great deal!!! [Thanks man... Eventhough it is suppose to be 5dB gain.... but with the 12 feet extension sitting at my balcony... i manage to improve the signal from -85dBm to -68dBm!!!! Equivalent to 50% gain in speed.... thus now cruising in 1.6mbps. |
Jan 16 2008, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(wedjohn57/boonboon @ Jan 16 2008) I got it for RM150... from some sales posting. It is a personal sale and not by resellers. It will be difficult to bring in thru eBay as there is a chance for it to be confiscated by Custom (w/o SiRim and stuff)... my signal used to be 3~4bars but now it is a constant 5bar (<-70dBm).... I notice a big difference in http/ftp download as it very constant(+/-10kBps) unlike previous, where the speed varies +/-30kBps. Trust me, if you not on 5-bar, you will notice the differences. Now I'm considering doing a self-installation on the new firmware to 7.2mbps as it claims to be very stable in terms of performance (slight improvement) but still watching some forums' comment before executing it. |
Jan 16 2008, 02:07 PM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 16 2008, 01:07 PM) I got it for RM150... from some sales posting. It is a personal sale and not by resellers. It will be difficult to bring in thru eBay as there is a chance for it to be confiscated by Custom (w/o SiRim and stuff)... my signal used to be 3~4bars but now it is a constant 5bar (<-70dBm).... I notice a big difference in http/ftp download as it very constant(+/-10kBps) unlike previous, where the speed varies +/-30kBps. Trust me, if you not on 5-bar, you will notice the differences. Now I'm considering doing a self-installation on the new firmware to 7.2mbps as it claims to be very stable in terms of performance (slight improvement) but still watching some forums' comment before executing it. nice~now i also planning to get 1 for my 875u. can u take some pic for ur anttena?i cant found the guide for upgrading to 7.2mbps, do u hv it? thx. |
Jan 16 2008, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(wedjohn57 @ Jan 16 2008, 02:07 PM) nice~now i also planning to get 1 for my 875u. can u take some pic for ur anttena? I've downloaded but still doubtful... most ppl claim that it will not re-lock the card but whether you can connect or not is still not confirmed....i cant found the guide for upgrading to 7.2mbps, do u hv it? thx. The firmware is originally released by Telstra Australia and even Sierra's version is still under beta.... Sierra875 upgrade to 7.2mbps firmware(Please note that this is for 875 w/o U, need to see if it is the same...) The image courtesy from the seller.... |
Jan 16 2008, 08:57 PM
279 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
maxis only good in morning
Screenshot ![]() thanks |
Jan 17 2008, 12:16 AM
136 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 15 2008, 11:19 AM) the other is to forge a fake death cert (not easy to do, ask some friends to photoshop or something)... i don't think they can do anything to a dead man right.. and i don't think they'll go through all the processes of verifying if the person is dead right? there is only a 10% chance that this will work...( i think )... and if it does work... maxis will suddenly find a lot of their subscribers dead Hi, I would like to point out that it's your right to suspend your line at your wish for a max of 3 months and resume it once again.i mean if it is an upgrade or downgrade i think it is acceptable for a contract renewal (although it is not a very rightful way)... Astro and StreamyX does this also... Don't let their consultants tell you otherwise.Insist that you want the suspension, they can't say no, if they tell you that talk to their manager or make some noise/scene. You need not tell big grandfather stories to them as there's no clause in the agreement which says you cannot.All you need is to tell them that you're going overseas for short period of time or you will not be able to use the service for a month or 2. 2 ways you can do it: 1) Walk in to their centres and do it on the spot.This method you need just to fill in a easy form and sign it. 2)The account holder can also call their cust care line and request to suspend their lines without filling any forms (easier method) You would only need to provide things like death certs or police report if you want extended suspension periods like half a year. Trick: <Suspend Line(Max 3 months)> - <Resume Line for 1 month> - <Suspend Line(Max 3 months)> - <Resume Line for 1 month>... This chain method allows you to pay only for a few months in a year without penalties for early disconnection. This post has been edited by Kukumalu: Jan 17 2008, 12:22 AM |
Jan 17 2008, 03:43 AM
279 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 16 2008, 02:55 PM) I've downloaded but still doubtful... most ppl claim that it will not re-lock the card but whether you can connect or not is still not confirmed.... I have an antenna like that all along in my store room, haha, it was used for my walkie talkie base station! I dug it out and unfortunately the connector is too big for my ZTE. I'll go and find some electronic shop tat can change the head for me tomolo, i'll test and let u guys know of my improvement. The firmware is originally released by Telstra Australia and even Sierra's version is still under beta.... Sierra875 upgrade to 7.2mbps firmware(Please note that this is for 875 w/o U, need to see if it is the same...) The image courtesy from the seller.... I've jus manage to setup my Intel Mac and somehow the connection when i'm using Mac is much more faster then those in XP or Vista, any idea why? I'm able to connect at constant 40Kb/s using Mac but while using XP or Vista it lingers around 15Kb/s, sometime spiking to 35Kb/s max.. |
Jan 17 2008, 11:25 AM
I've successfully installed the new firmware to enable 7.2mbps (Firmware_Upgrade-H2_0_3_1BL-H2_0_7_1BAP.exe) and no issue with connecting thru Maxis. Can't tell the different in terms of performance (not in Malaysia as we can't even past the 3mbps speedbarrier). The Sierra 875 original used to be at download/upload : 3.6mpbs/384kbps but I'm not sure if this software has also upgraded its upload speed...
[wow.... www.myceloteh.com is very useful for those using datacard/usbE220.... it also includes the whole list of software support (Click Here)] This post has been edited by JWCheah: Jan 17 2008, 11:41 AM |
Jan 17 2008, 01:21 PM
1,148 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Jupiter |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec