Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !

wr6969
post Oct 17 2007, 12:08 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Oct 17 2007, 11:32 AM)
This is the "so-called" E220 signal helper. It is a pad that connect to an antenna located outdoor. This will help those lack of 3G signal but willing to jump off the building for a single bar of HSDPA (like myself  drool.gif )

Read more:
http://www.poyntingdirect.co.za/ProductInf...K-LPDA-A0021-01
laugh.gif After you see the price of the antenna plus the antenna connector, you will come to the conclusion that you're better off just buying a new datacard with a proper external antenna connector, and buying an antenna for it doh.gif The E220's biggest weakness is its lack of an external antenna port.
wr6969
post Oct 27 2007, 10:28 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(-YS- @ Oct 26 2007, 11:00 PM)
Anyone experiencing LOW IMAGE QUALITY , especially GIF and JPEG image file while surfing, i am having the problem and i dont even know who should i complain to?

I have tested with my fren laptop and the result is the same, and i tried with different data card too.

I am an Internet2go user.
On pages where you want to see the images in better quality, perhaps hitting Ctrl-F5 to force refresh the page will help?
wr6969
post Dec 1 2007, 11:50 PM

314 posts

Sorry for barging into this thread, since I'm not a Maxis Wireless Broadband user (only their I2G product), but I find it strange that www.silenceisdefeat.org is not accessible on Celcom3G nor Streamyx. I wanted to try out the ideas here with my Celcom connection, but no go, since I can't even access that website, and since Celcom fixed their network problems, ICMP packets have apparently been blocked altogether, so I can't even do a trace to see where the packets are dying laugh.gif

Sorry for being OT blush.gif
wr6969
post Dec 18 2007, 09:44 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(unnamed @ Dec 18 2007, 09:34 AM)
Sierra 875U, which is a better usb modem than E220, can be found at lelong.com.my for just rm 600-650
Do you have personal experience with both products to make this statement? What are the advantages of the 875U over the E220 that makes it a better modem?

Added on December 18, 2007, 9:46 am
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Dec 18 2007, 09:03 AM)
Assuming 18mths usage.
Celcom will cost: Modem(E220) = RM 900
                        Mthly Fees = RM 98 x 19 = RM1,764
                        Total = RM2,664.00

Maxis will cost : Mthly+Modem+Registration = RM138x18 + RM100 = RM2,584.00

A Huawei E220 can be purchased nowadays for less than RM 650 if you are patient and good in negotiation skills. Therefore the advantage swings Celcom's way for an 18 month calculation.

Isn't the minimum contract period for Maxis broadband offering 24 months instead of 18?

This post has been edited by wr6969: Dec 18 2007, 09:46 AM
wr6969
post Dec 18 2007, 11:17 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Dec 18 2007, 10:38 AM)
I'm on 18mths not sure the latest offer duration... anyhow, i think everybody's right  rclxms.gif , it depends on how you see the value would be. Of course, i've also heard that Internet2Go from Maxis is not the same as the contracted USB package.... not sure as i've not fully tested it.

I'm not saying who's right or wrong, I apologise if I seemed like picking on your post blush.gif Anyway, I saw somewhere that the contract period was 24 months now, that's why I asked. If it was indeed 24 months, Maxis "advantage" disappears. And I2G is a standalone package without any hardware or contract period, I should know, I got one, and I'm not a Maxis voice customer.

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Dec 18 2007, 10:38 AM)
Btw, I've read some HSDPA info and realized that the base tower setting has significant influence towards our performance....
One thing I can say, having played with so many HSDPA devices, is that an external antenna does make a difference between a stable and reliable signal compared to the puny built in antenna wink.gif It's a reallly worthwhile investment; the only reason why more people have not got one is because of the cost, and availability in Malaysia.

QUOTE(unnamed @ Dec 18 2007, 10:57 AM)
i do not own either devices but i plan to get the 875U after comparing the two
-875U can be plugged in directly (standing) on usb port
-875U can work just like the E220 if u attach a usb cable
-875U has a built in battery
-i do not know which has better signal reception, but my experience with 875(pcmcia) is good
I own 5 HSDPA devices at the moment, with an E220 on the way soon, so I shall be able to see the major differences between all of them soon.

Here are my comments on the 875U:

[1] yes, the 875U can be plugged standing up. But you can achieve the same result with the E220 by taping a velcro to it, and sticking it to the back (or wherever gives you the best signal) of your notebooks screen

[2] using USB extension cables will result in power loss. Devices such as these require a stable source of power to operate properly. USB ports are already notorious for not outputting a stable source of power, what will happen if you plug another USB extension cable? I typically don't use such cables

[3] actually, until today, I haven't found out what the battery is for. Really. All I know is that if I take out the battery, the device will work for about 5 seconds, then the notebook will lose all contact with the card, then find it again. This process repeats over and over. Therefore, I've discovered that if the battery dies (and all batteries will die eventually, it depends on time and your luck) the device is pretty much unusable unless you get a new battery (which is not easy or next to impossible to find at the moment vmad.gif )

[4] I do agree with you on one thing - Sierra manufactures good quality products. I use to own 3 875s and they all performed admirably, sometimes going up to two days without disconnecting from the UMTS/HSDPA service. One major advantage that the 875U has over the E220 is the ability to attach an external antenna for areas where signal reception is poor. This is, by far, the biggest advantage of the 875U over the E220.
wr6969
post Dec 18 2007, 12:11 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Dec 18 2007, 12:01 PM)

btw, do you mind sharing your performance details:

Standard IP header : 121.120.X.X ?
Average speedtest results : ?
Latency : ?
Peak speed (more than 5 mins) : ?
Ftp/http d/l speed:  ?
Torrent d/l speed:  ?

sorry if I've asked too much, just wanna understand if it is using the same family as E220 consumers.
Not a problem. But I must tell you beforehand that we are on two separate systems - you're on 121.120.x.x, while I'm on 58.71.x.x When you guys suffered that outage two or three days ago, I was unaffected, I was still downloading happily from rapidshare servers at more than 300KB/s sustained.

Where do you want me to test latency to? Just the speedtest servers? Google? Yahoo? And I won't have details for torrent speeds - I've given up on torrents, using flux/utorrent webui providers and premium file hosters instead wink.gif
wr6969
post Jan 15 2008, 06:33 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 15 2008, 06:20 PM)

i wonder if Maxis has this clause?  hmm.gif
Yes, they have this policy too. If you break the law and they come after you with a valid court order, of course Maxis and Celcom, and for this purpose, all other ISPs will release your personal information to comply with the law.
wr6969
post Jan 15 2008, 06:50 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 15 2008, 06:39 PM)

Maxis : limit 3GB
Digi : limit 5GB
Celcom :unlimited but.....
Ahem, you need to correct your statement about Celcom's offering, bro.

It's buried under their Fair Usage Policy, the link is next to their Terms and Conditions link when you open the Celcom Broadband link.
wr6969
post Jan 23 2008, 03:36 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 23 2008, 09:22 AM)
Its weird , you can get 200Kb/s (please post your RSSI) and I am getting sucky 40kb/s (my RSSI is 65 dbm)...There is something funny going on. Honestly, I think maxis is being bias  !
We have to consider the possibility that in the case of their resellers, Maxis may be "allowing" them a higher bandwidth/higher speed to help them sell the service. After all, if their speed is the same as other subscribers, ie. sucks, then how are they going to be able to "con" people into signing up? laugh.gif
wr6969
post Jan 23 2008, 04:04 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 23 2008, 03:47 PM)
Location, location, location. It is very much depends on the base station technology (version), number of users and then your signal strength. I've asked a communication engineer for Ericsson who does the maintenance for Maxis and he inform that there will be a huge differences if the base tower is newly equip for 3G/HSDPA enable or just with an upgrade. How many users they can take, i'm not sure but as compared to an upgraded ones, the newly setup towers will perform much much better will good average speed per users. So conclusion, if your area is a new area, like Damansara Perdana or so.... it should be on a WOW speed as compared to maybe SubangJaya or Cheras. There isn't enough pressure from the authorities to push for a BETTER SERVICE at the moment due to limited number of ISPs (with 3G permit). I don't think Cyberjaya and the MSC is doing enough.  sad.gif Malaysia Boleh (malas)!
Not to forget the other variable in this equation - the backhaul capacity from the base station to the backbone. Let's say you have a new RBS with a 10mbps backhaul capacity. 10 users on HSDPA capable devices get on at the same time and do active transfers; each will get 1mbps. Contrast that with an older "upgraded" RBS, with a backhaul of 100mbps, and the same 10 users get on, with active transfers; each will get 10mbps in this case. As this information is not available publicly, it could account for performance differences as well, in addition to the factors you've mentioned.

But the I2G service is somewhat slower these three days. I was accustomed to 400KB/s (+/- 10%) speeds, this has now dropped to around 300KB/s (+/- 10%) lately. Testing was done to the same file hoster. It appears that even their premier I2G service is getting a wee bit congested.
wr6969
post Feb 28 2008, 09:42 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(wrigglerr @ Feb 28 2008, 08:07 AM)
Dudes, check out this website. http://www.bandrich.com/products.aspx

It has a HSDPA usb dongle and HSDPA express card. I saw the usb dongle in Penang, ...
Mind sharing where exactly in Penang you saw this please?

Thanks...

0.0416sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:24 PM