49 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

jaycee1
post Mar 8 2023, 03:15 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 8 2023, 09:41 AM)
Helmets are a bunch of plastic parts slapped together to protect our precious heads.

My Index (Sirim) one finally cracked on its own after many years of use, and surviving a crash with 3 gashes on its side.

But, there are worse kind of helmets on the road.... those that look older than myself. I've seen a few, the polystyrene layer is thin as the chicken rice bungkus paper, just barely lining the shell. Oh, and the shell, is so faded and scratched exposing the plastics to the atmosphere and is almost brittle.
But some plastics are better than other plastics....tongue.gif

That's why helmets have a expiry date. Hahaha.

That said....

This was my helmet I was using for a week while in Vietnam. Cute isn't it? Hahaha. Let's just say helmets and helmet laws in Vietnam is questionable at best. Some people ride with bicycle helmets on.

My helmet that I had left in VN before COVID basically just disintegrated.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 8 2023, 03:17 PM
alexei
post Mar 8 2023, 04:28 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 8 2023, 03:15 PM)

That said....

This was my helmet I was using for a week while in Vietnam. Cute isn't it? Hahaha. Let's just say helmets and helmet laws in Vietnam is questionable at best. Some people ride with bicycle helmets on.

weyyyy, that's cute
+5hp

Got expiry date? If they chop the dates on helmets then habis lah. Masuk roadblock check helmet expiry date, hahaha.

For certification, I don't mind DOT, so SIRIM or ECE are definitely better. SHARP and SNELL are a plus. For DOTs, I'll try find them in NHTSA directory for audit results for peace of mind. We won't see Index in there, I think...

I think SIRIM more higher than DOT helmets.
mADmAN
post Mar 8 2023, 05:21 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 8 2023, 04:28 PM)
I think SIRIM more higher than DOT helmets.
It definitely is..DOT tests are outdated AF and its also based on trust system these days...manufacturers done need to send products in for testing...they just need to claim its good enough for dot n thats it.

Afaik sirim actually tests the helmets and the testing methodology is similar to ece iinm.... I've also heard some ppl saying sirim is better than ece coz sirim tests the impact point twice instead of ece's once...not sure abt the truth in this.

So yes, despite the existence of MS88, i have confidence in sirim certified helmets
jaycee1
post Mar 8 2023, 05:47 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 8 2023, 05:21 PM)
It definitely is..DOT tests are outdated AF and its also based on trust system these days...manufacturers done need to send products in for testing...they just need to claim its good enough for dot n thats it.

Afaik sirim actually tests the helmets and the testing methodology is similar to ece iinm.... I've also heard some ppl saying sirim is better than ece coz sirim tests the impact point twice instead of ece's once...not sure abt the truth in this.

So yes, despite the existence of MS88, i have confidence in sirim certified helmets
Sirim is definitely better than DOT. Assuming no hanky panky under table stuff we are so famous for.

Even the free driving school helmet feels more substantial than some Chinese helmets with a "DOT" sticker.

The New ECE22.06 and FIM will be the best, as they both test for rotational impacts.
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 8 2023, 10:35 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Mar 8 2023, 09:18 AM)
talking about fake high end products..
but then lots of ppl, a certain race especially, (not being racist, just stating fact) love to buy those AAA grade fake high end helmets..
say a Rpha 10, retail selling like what? Rm 2k++?
those AAA grade selling RM 600 or so.. lagi need to preorder. also willing to buy.. cuz of what? they look cool and identical?
but they don't know what's the material used inside. mana tau is just styrofoam. habislah kepala when crash
Ada duit pakai superbike, but then takde duit beli helmet..

There was a youtuber, riding a mt-09.. I forgot his channel name.. even he
started off with a fake helmet -.- then went on to buy a original HJC Rpha 11 Carbon I think? then after that he advised people to buy a original/ legit helmet instead of buying fakes.. but then why did he start off with a fake one though? lel.
Many dare to wear fakes because safety is not a priority to them.

Wearing a helmet is just for a show.

When it comes to safety gears, I don't buy and wear fakes.
I'll get the best I can afford

SUSskyblu3
post Mar 8 2023, 10:39 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 8 2023, 03:15 PM)

That said....

The part that do most of the impact absorption is not the plastic shell. It's the layer of EPS foam that protect your head by absorbing the impact.

Many non branded helmets don't even use eps foam.
alexei
post Mar 9 2023, 08:48 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I think EPS foam is polystyrene. From what I read, the thing is recommended for one use only. Some EPS are painted black to allow for inspection, meaning if there's visible white cracks, the EPS liner is 'bad'.
jaycee1
post Mar 9 2023, 03:19 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 8 2023, 10:39 PM)
The part that do most of the impact absorption is not the plastic shell.  It's the layer of EPS foam that protect your head by absorbing the impact.

Many non branded helmets don't even use eps foam.
That's correct on the most part. EPS is just Expanded PolyStyrene. They come in different densities. All helmets will have some sort of EPS.

Shells are also elastic. They will deform or bounce back if not past the limit. After which the EPS liner takes over.

However if it cracks, the EPS performance is affected.

Cheap/fake helmets have very very thin and low density EPS. They very easily absorb light impacts, but just not a lot of it. Cheap/fake helmet shells also use ABS which tends to crack instead of flex like polycarbonate which is more flexible and resists cracking better.

Premium fiberglass/carbon/kevlar shells can deform even more before cracking spreading the force over a bigger portion of the EPS so they can afford to make do with thinner or multi-density EPS to make the helmet smaller and lighter. Premium doesn't necessarily safer, as the helmet manufacturer uses better materials to improve other attributes. Stronger shell = thinner EPS and thus smaller shell for a given size leading to lower overall weight.

The EPS on my cheap Zeus is twice as thick as the dual density EPS on my Rapha 70.... And as the result, the HJC looks noticibly slimmer. The AGV K6 has both a fiberglass/carbon/kevlar shell and 5 layer multi-density EPS...and it is so much lighter and slimmer than even my HJC.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 9 2023, 03:38 PM
jaycee1
post Mar 10 2023, 04:44 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

For those big headed bros. Serdang motorsports have the new line of LS2 22.06 up to 4xl
WH4CockcooBird
post Mar 19 2023, 10:20 AM

194 posts

Do you all use a waist pouch or something similar when you ride?
lowpro
post Mar 19 2023, 10:50 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Mar 19 2023, 10:20 AM)
Sometimes I do for short rides
mADmAN
post Mar 19 2023, 11:40 AM

10,530 posts

I wear a waist pouch all the time...riding or not
WH4CockcooBird
post Mar 19 2023, 11:43 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 19 2023, 11:40 AM)
I wear a waist that looks like a pouch all the time 🤪
Vincent6596
post Mar 19 2023, 01:57 PM

472 posts

can share what waist pouch you are using ?
is waterproof ?
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2023, 02:34 PM

157 posts

I'm using tactical type. More useful to carry my EDC

SUSskyblu3
post Mar 19 2023, 02:36 PM

157 posts

Same here.
Keep most of my edc inside.
mADmAN
post Mar 19 2023, 11:54 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Mar 19 2023, 11:43 AM)
I wear a waist that looks like a pouch all the time 🤪
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Mar 19 2023, 01:57 PM)
can share what waist pouch you are using ?
is waterproof ?
The one sold.by bikempire. Uglybros. Supposed to be waterproof but.....not really..it cant handle long periods of heavy rain..but a simple plastic bag n double sided tape can fix that n make it properly waterproof.

The uglybros are good for my use in terms of pockets etc but they dont last that long with my rough use n i actually have 2 more spare as backup. Im actually contemplating on switching to acerbis 4L pouch bags but they r twice the price n not enough pockets for me

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 19 2023, 02:36 PM)
Same here.
Keep most of my edc inside.
Whats edc?
alexei
post Mar 20 2023, 08:51 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 19 2023, 11:54 PM)
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
The one sold.by bikempire. Uglybros. Supposed to be waterproof but.....not really..it cant handle long periods of heavy rain..but a simple plastic bag n double sided tape can fix that n make it properly waterproof.

The uglybros are good for my use in terms of pockets etc but they dont last that long with my rough use n i actually have 2 more spare as backup. Im actually contemplating on switching to acerbis 4L pouch bags but they r twice the price n not enough pockets for me
Whats edc?
I thought the same, I think it means this:

Vincent6596
post Mar 20 2023, 09:10 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 19 2023, 11:54 PM)
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Whats edc?
thx for the info bro
persona93
post Mar 20 2023, 09:44 AM

1,180 posts

i use the Hypergear Pouch L

49 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:51 AM